Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CoVid-19 Part VII - 169 cases ROI (2 deaths) 45 in NI (as of 15 March) *Read OP*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

bb12 wrote: »
    as a middle aged worker on a high salary, i pay a LOT of tax. as do most middle aged workers; companies have for the most part shoved down salaries for the younger generation for years...

so as a high tax payer, i would not be a happy camper if the government basically allowed my relatives to just die like that...i'd probably become a more disobedient citizen

i think the uk going down this road would lead to some type of anarchy...they dont seem to have factored in people's emotions at all while concentrating on the economy alone.

Also, how would you feel as an elderly British taxpayer being part of the herd that was culled - without any say in the matter, robbed of the pension that you worked your entire life for. Instead of enjoying your golden years, you're left to die at the behest of a Government who thought you weren't worth the investment. Talk about a kick in the balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Travel bans to the U.K. will come into effect soon if they continue this social experiment. They’ll be cut off by the rest of the world.
    Quite likely at some point but banning the Schengen area as a whole will probably need to come first.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,025 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

No it's not. Australia has 199 cases not 1.

Australia is divided into states on the map. NT currently only has one case.
    Most of the 199 are in NSW

• Registered Users Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Also, how would you feel as an elderly British taxpayer being part of the herd that was culled - without any say in the matter, robbed of the pension that you worked your entire life for. Instead of enjoying your golden years, you're left to die at the behest of a Government who thought you weren't worth the investment. Talk about a kick in the balls.

A government you most likely voted for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

screamer wrote: »
    Biggest fear we’ll have to deal with if we manage to flatten the curve here are desperately sick people from the uk flying over here in the hope of treatment. Borris plan is morally bankrupt and I see civilisation breaking down in the uk when this kicks off.

A strong possibility , the most worrying aspect of the UK strategy is that they have obviously modelled it exhaustively and concluded that the death rate will not be controllable either way as in Northern Italy at present and possibly here and Europewide.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭threeball

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Ireland is practically doing the same as the U.K. People are still at work. Absolutely loads filling pubs apparently. Don't know why Ireland gets a gold star from you for doing one small thing and U.K. doesn't because it's a 'social experiment' and not a plan with clear timings and implementation. Also the WHO said today that closing boarders wasn't necessary now.

No we've gone much further as a country. Its just the simpletons in our population can't go 5mins without going on the pish and having "the craic"

• Registered Users Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

What was the WHO's justification for saying they dont believe borders should be closed or that banning flights wont make any difference anymore? I dont see how closing borders to a country like italy with nearly 20,000 cases could not helpneighbouring coutries reduce their new cases?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭amacca

bb12 wrote: »
    as a middle aged worker on a high salary, i pay a LOT of tax. as do most middle aged workers; companies have for the most part shoved down salaries for the younger generation for years...

so as a high tax payer, i would not be a happy camper if the government basically allowed my relatives to just die like that...i'd probably become a more disobedient citizen

i think the uk going down this road would lead to some type of anarchy...they dont seem to have factored in people's emotions at all while concentrating on the economy alone.

Thats what I think about their strategy if they persist

These people they sacrifice have families/loved ones etc

You are looking at large scale social unrest...particularly if the contain/delay strategies employed by the other countries works or is even just better

I think they will step back from the brink sharpish when they realise this is coming down the tracks at them....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Ireland part of a European bloc and for past 3 years has taken a pact of solidarity with 26 other EU member states advises Irish people to avoid Europe but no such restrictions on UK. Colonialism never left us.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,925 ✭✭✭GM228

No it's not. Australia has 199 cases not 1.

Data for some countries seems to go missing when being updated, it's currently showing 1 for the Northern Territory only, not Australia as a whole which according to the WHO is 189 as of 10AM on the 13th.

Their data is taken directly from the WHO, the reason for the differences is because the WHO report the new cases on a 24 hr basis between 10AM on one day and 09.59 AM the next, whereas JH reports them on a calendar day basis.

Seems that high blood pressure is a risk with this disease. Doesn’t help then when the Daily Mail & the Sun (who else) publish articles claiming a certain type of anti BP medication called an ACE inhibitor could worsen symptoms. Doctors groups and some scientists had to come out with statements warning people not to quit these medications without doctors advice, saying it could lead to them ending up in hospital at the same time as coronavirus patients. Utterly irresponsible journalism IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭darjeeling

Could someone explain this to a simpleton? :o
    I have read also the European cases started in Germany? How do they come to that conclusion? Is it a new strain/mutation of the virus? How can they tell there was 3 separate introductions to this country?

It's basically a family tree of the virus.

This view shows it a bit better

Everything begins at the centre in Wuhan in Nov/Dec 2019, when the virus first
    crossed into humans. Each dot is a separate genome from an individual patient.

As you go out towards the edge the genomes have picked up more and more mutations.
    There are still a tiny number in total (the most is 14 / 30,000 differences from the original), so there's unlikely to be any change in the way the virus behaves, but you can use the mutations to track it.

505483.png

Looking at the sequences from Ireland, the one from Cork is actually the same as the very earliest ones from Wuhan.

The three from Limerick are part of a big group seen in Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Netherlands (but not China) that all share the same 4 mutations.
    Those same 4 changes wouldn't happen twice, so that group must all have the same origin.

One Limerick sequence has one extra mutation, which could have happened in Limerick.
    Knowing the case histories of the patients would confirm if they are all actually linked, but it looks it from the sequences.

The Dublin sequence adds an extra 4 changes and is identical to a lot of other genomes from the Netherlands.

So the Limerick and Dublin ones came in from Europe, maybe from the Italian ski slopes, and the Cork one could have come direct from China, or via somewhere else.

505484.png

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭ITman88

amacca wrote: »
    Oh I have not missed your point at all, it was quite clear. Try re-reading the post without the drink in you.

I'm also not personally offended, its you that has missed the point imo. I wont attempt to put as much effort into responding the next time.....

My initial point was the option of isolating those at risk.
    Not school kids or teachers.
    Not business’s and employee’s.
    Those 68+ and the vulnerable.
    The 68+ are already mostly retired, the vulnerable can work from home.
    Those people do not have contact with anyone only medical personnel.
    The rest of society continue as normal and only those that get critically ill need hospital attention.
    This preserves a fragile economy(very important) limits the risk to 68+ and vulnerable, and builds immunity among the younger population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Nermal wrote: »
    It may lead to fewer deaths and less economic damage in the long run. Nobody knows. But it’s not a crazy strategy and it’s backed by senior scientists. Boris didn’t dream it up.

That **** Cummins dreamed it up and is a similar strategy to what the British used in the Famine. Can't believe Irish people think letting it spread and the rich being in the best position to pick up the pieces and grab power/property is a good thing.

Sinn Fein voters being socialist me hole, when it comes down to an existential threat they are ****ing clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

They forgot to read the pandemic policy. Must have been at the back of the lefleat in small print.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I see we’re to be blessed with the presence of the 100 prior convictions crowd if things get bad. Should be left in to rot together. https://www.thejournal.ie/prisons-ireland-coronavirus-5046229-Mar2020/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

This is a country that voted for Boris and his bulls***. You reap what you sow.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Thinking about the UK's decision- It's time to cut them off. They are experimenting with their population and ours will be affected if we dont shut the border. The world should isolate them, we don't want to be apart of their experiment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Nermal

threeball wrote: »
    In 1918 they decided to not take action either. 228,000 people died most of whom could have been saved it action. Most in their 20s. I bet if that was the version we had now you'd have a different view.

If that was the version we had now, I’d suggest those in their 20s stayed at home while the rest of us mobbed Temple Bar. One grand old-school party.

Why shouldn’t those of us who can get immunity at low risk do it? It’s actually the responsible and selfless thing to do! Blanket shutdowns are hugely costly and only a temporary solution. They can’t be maintained long-term and the virus will just flare up again when we stop them!

The UK strategy is logical, not callous. It’s just hard to sell.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

threeball wrote: »
    Conors not too bright. Hes going to beat the virus to death when it lands on his doorstep. It'll do fcukin nuttin

According to instagram he lost his Aunt, implies she got the virus so that explains it. I haven't had a lot of respect for him lately but poor guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,025 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

GM228 wrote: »
    Data for some countries seems to go missing when being updated, it's currently showing 1 for the Northern Territory only, not Australia as a whole.

1 for Northern Territory is correct.
    Vice and Tas also there.
    Looks like NSW is missing/updating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

ITman88 wrote: »
    Micheal where’s you spirit gone, we can beat this

Dev, Dev, we need you here licking shopping trolley to see did everyone infect them. Dev don't feck off now when things get tough

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Clarence Boddiker

cloudatlas wrote: »
    WHO said today at their press conference that this wasn't necessary anymore.

If it is going to be as bad as Italy for example then it is complete madness to continue importing people from affected areas. Makes no sense at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Shn99

Have we implemented these drastic measures too early?

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Equium

https://twitter.com/bellabee13/status/1237958981966061569

Continued...

Australia burns, work from home, Boris Johnson got it wrong
    Italy fecked, Donald Trump, Wall Street takes a slump

Dettol, death cults, bat soup, bad results
    Sinn Féin, Tehran plane, no more tapas in Spain

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

darjeeling wrote: »
    It's basically a family tree of the virus.

This view shows it a bit better

Everything begins at the centre in Wuhan in Nov/Dec 2019, when the virus first
    crossed into humans. Each dot is a separate genome from an individual patient.

As you go out towards the edge the genomes have picked up more and more mutations.
    There are still a tiny number in total (the most is 14 / 30,000 differences from the original), so there's unlikely to be any change in the way the virus behaves, but you can use the mutations to track it.

505483.png

Looking at the sequences from Ireland, the one from Cork is actually the same as the very earliest ones from Wuhan.

The three from Limerick are part of a big group seen in Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Netherlands (but not China) that all share the same 4 mutations.
    Those same 4 changes wouldn't happen twice, so that group must all have the same origin.

One Limerick sequence has one extra mutation, which could have happened in Limerick.
    Knowing the case histories of the patients would confirm if they are all actually linked, but it looks it from the sequences.

The Dublin sequence adds an extra 4 changes and is identical to a lot of other genomes from the Netherlands.

So the Limerick and Dublin ones came in from Europe, maybe from the Italian ski slopes, and the Cork one could have come direct from China, or via somewhere else.

505484.png

Somebody told me its surrounded by a layer of fat, thats what insulates it from the cold, and how it can survive in cold conditions and lives longer than usual viruses.

I've no clue about molecular biology but the fat bit makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭BLIZZARD7

Shn99 wrote: »
    Have we implemented these drastic measures too early?

Absolutely not. Look at Italy or Spain for an example of too late.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

The UK strategy of building up herd immunity is depressing for over 65s.

Its almost a new norm of saying elderly are expendable.
    I know one of its aims is it gives the medical system a chance but it doesn't sit right with me- something very euthanasia and depressing about it.

Edit: I seem to be wrong about one of the aims giving the medical system a chance (i'm so confused by the whole lot) so i cant see any good in this at all

• Registered Users Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭threeball

Nermal wrote: »
    If that was the version we had now, I’d suggest those in their 20s stayed at home while the rest of us mobbed Temple Bar. One grand old-school party.

Why shouldn’t those of us who can get immunity at low risk do it? It’s actually the responsible and selfless thing to do! Blanket shutdowns are hugely costly and only a temporary solution. They can’t be maintained long-term and the virus will just flare up again when we stop them!

The UK strategy is logical, not callous. It’s just hard to sell.

Sacraficing an entire section of society is a hard sell.... no sh1t !

As i said, disaster in 1918, disaster in the offing 102yrs later.
    But stiff up lip and all that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

If it is going to be as bad as Italy for example then it is complete madness to continue importing people from affected areas. Makes no sense at all.

I'm not an expert, that's what they said: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqoV9Rjs_lk&t=17m0s