Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Way to go Sinn Fein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Then again there's plenty here throwing their dummies out because SF haven't "imposed" policies in NI when they don't have a majority there... next hear people whining about how little difference the SF MEPs have made (but shhh about the 766 number)

Could they not even have campaigned to have property tax done away with in the North and the funding provided instead from central taxation.

It would be unlikely to have any effect but it would present a credible all island strategy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I have no idea what slightly better means. Or what you mean by some kind of meaningful deal. But if you think that 3 SF MEP's out of 766 will get you something slightly more meaningful then that is probably good. If I knew what it meant.

They better have a negotiation strategy ready which is more than "we want a slightly more meaningful deal". Otherwise I could be forgiven for thinking it's just the usual SF bluster.

Only 3. Sure they might as well not bother if that's all lol.

Maybe they'll have a word with the Taoisesch, he can fill them in on the masterplan he had on clawing back 25bn of taxpayers money (that he didn't get.)

Could they not even have campaigned to have property tax done away with in the North and the funding provided instead from central taxation.

It would be unlikely to have any effect but it would present a credible all island strategy.

Well they did prevent water charges being implemented, that's a start I suppose.

However, and we've tread this path before. Comparing domestic rates were a wide array of services are thrown in, including free health care, education, and refuse collection, to our LPT, where you still pay for bins to be emptied (i pay 400 a year give or take) I still pay to see my gp, or to visit A&E, and I currently pay 125 per month for my eldest preschool, which will rise nicely for books when she's in primary (among other things) is pointless.

Maybe people in Newry believe in paying for their services, I don't believe in paying for mine and paying a standing charge via LPT.

That's only a tax grab.

Only 3. Sure they might as well not bother if that's all lol.

Maybe they'll have a word with the Taoisesch, he can fill them in on the masterplan he had on clawing back 25bn of taxpayers money (that he didn't get.)

Well they did prevent water charges being implemented, that's a start I suppose.

However, and we've tread this path before. Comparing domestic rates were a wide array of services are thrown in, including free health care, education, and refuse collection, to our LPT, where you still pay for bins to be emptied (i pay 400 a year give or take) I still pay to see my gp, or to visit A&E, and I currently pay 125 per month for my eldest preschool, which will rise nicely for books when she's in primary (among other things) is pointless.

Maybe people in Newry believe in paying for their services, I don't believe in paying for mine and paying a standing charge via LPT.

That's only a tax grab.

We have trodden this path before but you must have forgotten what I told you. The property tax in the North only provides about 20% of the funding for those services. The people in Newry pay for them through their income tax and VAT and they still have the standing charge (much higher than here but then we do have to pay for bins separately) to pay. My bins are around €280, I recycle and compost a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Kippure wrote: »
    Just incase any Irish person forgets...

Alzheimers has truly set in amongst the Irish voters.

Who is still voting FF....???

Idoits. :mad:

The flip side . . . .
    LordSutch wrote: »
    Just incase any Irish person forgets...

Alzheimers has truly set in amongst the Irish voters.

Who in their right mind is voting for SF ....???

Idoits. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

FF have done quite well because a lot of disaffected FG and Lab voters would rather poke their eyes out with a rusty spoon than give the Shinners a vote - can't say I blame them.

Bad and all as FF have been for the Country, letting SF near the levers of power of our state would make the last few years of recession look like the Teddy Bear's picnic.

We have trodden this path before but you must have forgotten what I told you. The property tax in the North only provides about 20% of the funding for those services. The people in Newry pay for them through their income tax and VAT and they still have the standing charge (much higher than here but then we do have to pay for bins separately) to pay.

Dont we pay income tax here too :confused:
    Our vat rates are a wee bit higher.

How much USC are the good people of Newry paying I wonder.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

The flip side . . . .
    That makes a total of zero sense.
    When were SF in power previously for us to have collective Alzheimers over how badly they performed?
    Do tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

When were SF in power previously for us to have collective Alzheimers over how badly they performed?
    Do tell.

You know well what he means.

On a general level, there is no political party that wants people raking over their past policies, because none of them agree with them now.

You know well what he means.

The original point was about everybody forgetting how ****e FF were in power.
    Please, tell me "what he means" when he tries to shoehorn SF, who have never been in power, into that.

The original point was about everybody forgetting how ****e FF were in power.
    Please, tell me "what he means" when he tries to shoehorn SF, who have never been in power, into that.

It's about judging political parties on their past, as I understood it, and if you didn't understand it that way, well and good - but I'm sure we have more important things to discuss here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

Karl Stein wrote: »
    SF is an all island Party.

See yiz later I caught a whopper.......:D

Do tell.

The flip side refers to the two sides of the same coin, as in (SF/IRA) and the Alzheimers obviously refers to the fact that only a few years ago the public here were up in arms at the very thought of SF getting their hands on anything (other than guns and semtex). And now suddenly everybody seems to have forgotten the past & the deep connection between SF and the Provo's litany of death and destruction . . . . .

I haven't forgotten.

The flip side refers to the two sides of the same coin, as in (SF/IRA) and the Alzheimers obviously refers to the fact that only a few years ago the public here were up in arms at the very thought of SF getting their hands on anything (other than guns and semtex). And now suddenly everybody seems to have forgotten the past & the deep connection between SF and the Provo's litany of death and destruction . . . . .

I haven't forgotten.

The IRA are a defunct organisation, I.E they no longer exist.

SF urged them to give up the gun so they could engage in peaceful means only.

Thats what they have been doing, this is what they have achieved.

Maybe we shouldnt forget, maybe we should go back to how things were before?

Seriously.

I haven't forgotten.
    I haven't either.
    I voted for them.
    Ta da.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,275 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

And now suddenly everybody seems to have forgotten the past & the deep connection between SF and the Provo's litany of death and destruction . . . . .

I haven't forgotten.

Who are you to assume what others have 'forgotten'? Has it ever dawned on you that people have simply moved on, want to put the past behind them and embrace whatever future they want to see?

'I haven't forgotten'.. who gives a shite? Wallow in your bitter view of history as long as you want. Others are moving on regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,075 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

The flip side . . . .

How many sides does the coin have? It will need to have quite a lot

SF urged them to give up the gun so they could engage in peaceful means only.

Thats what they have been doing, this is what they have achieved.

Maybe we shouldnt forget, maybe we should go back to how things were before?

Seriously.

There wasn't much urging needed when it became more profitable to go into politics as well as crime. Always follow the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

as well as crime

Are you withholding information from the Gardai/PSNI or are you just talking bollocks?

'I haven't forgotten'.. who gives a shite? Wallow in your bitter view of history as long as you want. Others are moving on regardless.

Who gives a ****e, seriously?

I think it was Dan Solo who went an about the electorate and their short memories (Re FF), and yet Provo supporters like you don't want me to wake up the memory of all the hurt & death brought upon this island by the the two sides of the same Republican coin :mad:

Maybe some of us are older than you, and remember the death & destruction brought upon so many people by the PIRA, while still excused by Adams & SF to this day!

I realise that yourself, Nodin and the rest are hard line SF/PIRA followers, but you must realise that there are those of us (the vast majority) who never excepted the path of death and murder by the PIRA, to achieve what . . . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

who was it, that said with a smirk on his face at on a platform at a rally - to much applause - that "they haven't gone away you know". I appreciate that was some years ago. But do leopards change spots?
    Ask Jean McConvilles children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Albertofrog

I think it was Dan Solo who went an about the electorate and their short memories (Re FF), and yet Provo supporters like you don't want me to wake up the memory of all the hurt & death brought upon this island by the the two sides of the same Republican coin :mad:

Maybe some of us are older than you, and remember the death & destruction wrought upon so many people by the PIRA, while still excused by Adams & SF to this day!

I realise that yourself, Nodin and the rest are hard line SF/PIRA followers, but you must realise that there are those of us (the vast majority) who never excepted the path of death and murder by the PIRA, to achieve what . . . . .

I grew up in the North during the darkest times of the Troubles.
    I've seen people killed.
    I've had friends killed.
    Do you seriously think referring to the past is going to move forward?
    You have to let your bitterness go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Lastlight.

Maybe some of us are older than you, and remember the death & destruction brought upon so many people by the PIRA, while still excused by Adams & SF to this day!

I agree with that Lord Sutch. People want to move on but it is the lunatics of the PIRA who try and stop people from doing that by reveling in murder. Ulster hasn't forgot yet.

Who are you to assume what others have 'forgotten'? Has it ever dawned on you that people have simply moved on, want to put the past behind them and embrace whatever future they want to see?

This is a noble sentiment, and could equally apply to any discussion about the British Army, the Ulster Unionists, Fianna Fáil, the Labour Party, the Catholic Church, Ryanair, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

SF/PIRA

This coming from someone who described an RUC officer who colluded with loyalist murder gangs as 'a fine policeman' (or something to that effect).

while still excused by Adams & SF to this day!

Now, that is indeed a current issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭carpejugulum

blackbaron wrote: »
    Way to go Sinn Fein, you've done extremely well for a party with absolutely no feasible policies and significant ties to terrorism in Ireland and the UK. If SF deserve a "way to go" here, so do FF. They utterly destroyed Ireland and have shouldered debt on generations of Irish people, and they've come out of this election even stronger than SF.

So well done to Ireland's protest voters. You can be proud today for having supported a bunch of no-name, no history "politicians" with ties to terrorism, and a bunch of people tied to Ireland's massive downfall which triggered job losses, suicides and mass emigration.

Today is a victory for Irish emigrants. Ireland's massively entitled welfare class and non-taxpayers, those who keep demanding more money for themselves from the pockets of everyone else despite having the second most progressive tax system in the world and one of the most generous welfare systems in the world, have shown their power today and proven, beyond doubt, that Ireland is not worth returning to. That Ireland's future is not a bright one.

Voting anti-Europe, when EU membership is entirely responsible for Ireland's success as a small island nation. Voting anti-business, when Ireland's current employment scenario is being propped up due to it being a tax haven for non-Irish companies. Voting anti-taxpayer, when those taxpayers are propping up the lives of the 2.5m people who receive a form of welfare payment every week.

"Less tax! More handouts!" cry a nation €220,000,000,000 in debt with only 2.2m people generating tax revenue. "F*ck the EU" they cry, as they come bowl in hand to their EU counterparts looking for money to keep the country running.

Embarrassing, but not unexpected.
    hear, hear

And if they end up in government, they will end up like Labour, because like Labour they won't be able to deliver their pie in the sky promises. And socialists will look for another champion, maybe Labour or FF again.

There wasn't much urging needed when it became more profitable to go into politics as well as crime. Always follow the money.

Fierce stench of sour grapes. Of course if however you have any source of a politician from SF involved in crime, following the money, please post it.

maryishere wrote: »
    who was it, that said with a smirk on his face at on a platform at a rally - to much applause - that "they haven't gone away you know". I appreciate that was some years ago. But do leopards change spots?
    Ask Jean McConvilles children.

Who said it?

When did they say it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Albertofrog

Lastlight. wrote: »
    I agree with that Lord Sutch. People want to move on but it is the lunatics of the PIRA who try and stop people from doing that by reveling in murder. Ulster hasn't forgot yet.

No ulster hasn't forgot.
    The shankill butchers
    The Glenanne gang.
    Ulster Resistance.
    We could play this game all bloody day.
    Sometimes you have to step off the roundabout and take stock.
    Should we go back to the 80s? Or move on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I think the reason why people like you can't put it in the past and move forward is that you, for some bizarre reason, see it as a one sided event.
    Its like a form of masochism at this stage. Keeping an old wound open and poking and scratching at it and generally keeping the infection spreading.