Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Way to go Sinn Fein

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

maryishere wrote: »
    who was it, that said with a smirk on his face at on a platform at a rally - to much applause - that "they haven't gone away you know". I appreciate that was some years ago. But do leopards change spots?
    Ask Jean McConvilles children.

Is that the ONLY name that anyone knows?
    Was she the only woman who was murdered during the whole of the troubles?
    Time to build a bridge Mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Smidge wrote: »
    I think the reason why people like you can't put it in the past and move forward is that you, for some bizarre reason, see it as a one sided event.
    Its like a form of masochism at this stage. Keeping an old wound open and poking and scratching at it and generally keeping the infection spreading.

I must mark this post down for future reference for when the next "will you wear/buy a poppy" thread comes along

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Sinn Fein will have a combined vote north and south larger than FG or FF at the end of these elections.

Won't that make them the largest party in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

William F wrote: »
    Sinn Fein will have a combined vote north and south larger than FG or FF at the end of these elections.

Short answer?

No

Long answer?

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I can see the possibilities. SF FF DUP coalition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Let's have a heated debate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

bumper234 wrote: »
    I must mark this post down for future reference for when the next "will you wear/buy a poppy" thread comes along

What are you talking about?
    I've never bought a poppy in my life.
    My point is that certain people just will not leave the past in the past.
    It suits their agenda to keep trotting out half the story. I'm addressing it from a HISTORICAL point of view.
    It was a WAR!! Conflict between two sides.
    And its over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

I made the decision . Its time to move home.

FF has been voted the biggest after they caused the biggest tragedy in Ireland since the famine. What knob end voted FF?? Baffles me..

I need to sell this gaff at a lose and get out of this kip.

Bye bye Ireland. morons..

Sinn Fein should have beat everyone hands down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,372 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yesterday's vote was an eye opener for many particularly FG/Labour.
    They were arrogant and sneery, Hogan, Rabbitte, Noonan, Kenny and Howlin in particular.

They ignored the vox pops, opinion polls and protest marches because they were arrogant. The people were not having that. Both parties suffered as a result and many seats were lost.

Labour is now in turmoil and have a very rocky road ahead. The party of the workers turned their back on the workers and have suffered. I actually thought it would have been even worse for them.

The chickens have come home to roost. No point blaming the parties that gained lads. The signs were there but were ignored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

FF have done quite well because a lot of disaffected FG and Lab voters would rather poke their eyes out with a rusty spoon than give the Shinners a vote - can't say I blame them.

Bad and all as FF have been for the Country, letting SF near the levers of power of our state would make the last few years of recession look like the Teddy Bear's picnic.

and I suppose it wouldn't be too much to ask for proof like??

LordSutch wrote: »
    The flip side refers to the two sides of the same coin, as in (SF/IRA) and the Alzheimers obviously refers to the fact that only a few years ago the public here were up in arms at the very thought of SF getting their hands on anything (other than guns and semtex). And now suddenly everybody seems to have forgotten the past & the deep connection between SF and the Provo's litany of death and destruction . . . . .

I haven't forgotten.

nobody has forgotton...particulary sinn fein...its just for once people are sick of being lied to/screwed over by the other parties...particulary labour
    everyone has a fair idea what to expect from FF/FG...labour have been a huge let down

its just if those who have most to complain about the ira campaign in the north can find away to stomach sinn fein...surly its not unreasonable to expect people in the south to do likewise??

do people in all honesty want to see a return to violence in the north so as sinn fein would not be as successful in the south...leaving FG/FF to crave up the south between each other and there cronies??with a kind of a wink a nod to politics...surly having a viable opposition regardless of there background is better than a return to the bad old days

il give 1 example...a few years ago...a grant for farm equipment came out...I was advised the best way I could secure said grant was to join the local FF organisation around here (obviously I didn't)
    now...don't tell me that this normal carry on for a 21st century country to be run??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

and I suppose it wouldn't be too much to ask for proof like??

We've seen what the Shinners will do when given the run of a stationary cupboard.

Probably best we keep them away from anything more important eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Yesterday's vote was an eye opener for many particularly FG/Labour.
    They were arrogant and sneery, Hogan, Rabbitte, Noonan, Kenny and Howlin in particular.

They ignored the vox pops, opinion polls and protest marches because they were arrogant. The people were not having that. Both parties suffered as a result and many seats were lost.

Labour is now in turmoil and have a very rocky road ahead. The party of the workers turned their back on the workers and have suffered. I actually thought it would have been even worse for them.

The chickens have come home to roost. No point blaming the parties that gained lads. The signs were there but were ignored .

Indeed. How many times I heard "you will get a chance at the next elections" sneered at every opportunity. Blinded by their own short sightedness.

Kenny himself admits it's time to reevaluate things. Too little too late Enda.

Their will be a general election before they make it full term. Guaranteed.

No, there won't.

Guaranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

No, there won't.

Guaranteed.

Well when Rabbite and Gilmore concede it's quite possible, I tend to take notice of that.

Of course though, we could always go by your say so, I however suspect the two labourers know something we dont.

Bookmark this post ;)

We've seen what the Shinners will do when given the run of a stationary cupboard.

"WOLF TONER!" was the best headline on that story. I'm not sure if any of them used "A PAPIST NEVER REFUSED INK", but I'm sure it was on the shortlist if they didn't.

Can anyone remember the name of the Labour woman on Prime Time who kept interrupting and who seemed to lose the plot. She was sitting on the end of the lefthand row of seats. She is very skinny.
    I am just wondering how she got on.

I feel your pain.

"WOLF TONER!" was the best headline on that story. I'm not sure if any of them used "A PAPIST NEVER REFUSED INK", but I'm sure it was on the shortlist if they didn't.

Yep.

Wonder how many medical cards all that stationary would have paid for.

Because that's what all the Shinners really care about isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

All the parties are not attaching Sinn Fein's weak point "the economy" and their policies on the economy that are not realistic; demand everything, pay for nothing, salt the supposed rich (over 100K) earners, give every lay about and bum top dole, benefits and a luxury healthcare system; how this is all going to be paid for after we give Europe the two fingers and burn all the bond holders (the source of money), bring back a worthless Punt. Oh yeah we will have to come running back to the olde enemy the British for the funds (really ironic)

Their economics are a cross between Argentina and Zimbabwe, you think the country is bad now, elect sinn fein to power and let them loose then come back in 2 years...

The hood winked the nation with the "time for change" slogan. I should say I have no issue with forgetting the historic IRA struggles we have to move on on that front. Its their reckless economic policies I have serious issues with...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

bumper234 wrote: »
    Short answer?

No

Long answer?

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

The biggest party on Belfast City Council

The biggest party on Dublin City Council

The party with the most local councilors north and south.

I think they deserve a border poll for that

ya...that was beyond disgrace....I wonder how the other parties didn't destroy him that time

what are they fiddling out of the country that they half turned a blind eye to that...as politica;lly it is more damaging to SF than digging up jean mcconvilles name for enda Kenny to childishly get out of answering Gerry adams questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Hayes getting a rubbing, long way to go yet.

All the parties are not attaching Sinn Fein's weak point "the economy" and their policies on the economy that are not realistic; demand everything, pay for nothing, salt the supposed rich (over 100K) earners, give every lay about and bum top dole, benefits and a luxury healthcare system; how this is all going to be paid for after we give Europe the two fingers and burn all the bond holders (the source of money), bring back a worthless Punt. Oh yeah we will have to come running back to the olde enemy the British for the funds (really ironic)

Their economics are a cross between Argentina and Zimbabwe, you think the country is bad now, elect sinn fein to power and let them loose then come back in 2 years...

The hood winked the nation with the "time for change" slogan. I should say I have no issue with forgetting the historic IRA struggles we have to move on on that front. Its their reckless economic policies I have serious issues with...

are there budget proposals not vetted and checked over the dept of finance...same as any other parties...indeed same as the govments as soon as the germans have seen it first??
    are you saying the dept of finance are incompetent???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

*snort*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

are there budget proposals not vetted and checked over the dept of finance...same as any other parties...indeed same as the govments as soon as the germans have seen it first??

Well they did lose a couple of billion a while back. They found it later though.

ya...that was beyond disgrace....I wonder how the other parties didn't destroy him that time

what are they fiddling out of the country that they half turned a blind eye to that...as politica;lly it is more damaging to SF than digging up jean mcconvilles name for enda Kenny to childishly get out of answering Gerry adams questions

We've seen what happens when they're given the run of a stationary cupboard.

I think we'll not risk letting them near anything more important.

Thanks anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,075 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Well done to Lynn Boylan, first MEP that will be elected from Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Their pre-budget statements are given the run over by the finance dept to ensure accuracy only.

Critically though, that doesn't mean they do anything regarding closing the budget deficit.
    (SF stated before they had no intention of closing the deficit anyway),

Wonder how many medical cards all that stationary would have paid for?

That is a good question, and one which the tabloids FAILED to address.

Most people cannot understand big figures, so we need them quantified in terms of medical cards, nurses, loaves of bread for starving pensioners, etc.

The satanic bit-coins in this equation are Harney hairdos, TD daily expenses, RTE presenter salaries, etc.

It's a big issue, probably somewhere between the size of Wales or an Olympic-sized swimming pool - according to "experts", "boffins" or "sources".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭andrewdeerpark

Yes. Proven is spectacular fashion in September 2008!

Cormac Lucey has a column in today's Sunday times; basically the figures do not add up and the salting the rich is being done and that well is going to go dry. Sinn Fein have an isolationist policy that really does not work if we want to export and trade out of our economic difficulties. I could go on...