Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why would an Irish person wear a poppy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Rascasse wrote: »
    Were any lowly soldiers tried after WWII? I know there weren't at Nuremberg, if that's what you are alluding to.

....officers used it as a defence, afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Feathers

There would be no point in commemerating opposing forces. Would you expect us to commerate the Black and Tans? Also do you think its a bit unfair for families and friends to be unable to commemerate a relative killed in a post WW2 conflict because that conflict was considered in hindsight to be unjust?

Well that depends on the purported symbolic meaning of the poppy. We're being told on this thread it's to remember the bloodshed of war & the preciousness of the peace that we've gained. If so, that should be applicable to those who fought on both sides — they are just the rank & file following orders after all?

If you're agreeing that it is a patriotic symbol to remember national soldiers however, then I'd wonder why an Irish man would be expected to wear one? (Again, apart from those with direct relatives in the army)

You can't have it everyway. You know that we've had a greater British presence here than purely the Black and Tans? I wouldn't expect us to buy a poppy to honour them, whereas it seems you would :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Leinster ladyboys Bod and Kearney not wearing poppy on BBC but proud Munster man woods all decked out with the imperial red.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

What purpose do the Union flags serve exactly? I thought you guys wanted people to believe that remembrance Sunday was about showing respect for those that fought rather than anything political or nationalistic?

Now if you had ever been to St Patricks Cathedral you would know that the Union flags I speak of are all about one hundred years old, and they hang up high, threadbare and very very dusty! The poppies are in the Poppy wreaths, and are also worn by the congragation.
    No surprise really that you're more interested in the political side of it. Kinda cheapens the whole idea of 'remembrance' though.

No need for that, I have made a special effort this year to not get embroiled, and I'm not going to start now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

LordSutch wrote: »
    Now if you had ever been to St Patricks Cathedral you would know that the Union flags I speak of are all about one hundred years old, and they hang up high, threadbare and very very dusty! The poppies are in the Poppy wreaths, and are also worn by the congragation.

No need for that, I have made a special effort this year to not get embroiled, and I'm not going to start now.

Apologies then. That wasn't exactly clear from your post, and I've never been to the Cathedral so wouldn't have known that it's normally adorned with Union flags.

Wasn't clear at all, at all.

...theres only one or two, if I recall. Been decades since I was in the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

About Five dusty old ones + a brand new Tricolour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Nodin wrote: »
    .....dear o dear. You keep shifting the goal posts. Earlier you were saying

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=81680990&postcount=1243

And again - Kenya is just one example. Theres Aden, Uganda, Egypt, Iraq.....

The fact is that theres no way to differentiate between those who are and aren't when buying a poppy. That, combined with the large number of brutal colonial regimes they were involved in, means that anyone supporting the poppy appeal runs a great chance of their funds aiding those involved with those regimes.

Your first article referenced acts of torture and made no reference to them being ordered to carry out that torture so its a logical conclusion to arrive at.

Your next two article referred to officials covering up the evidence. Neither articles prove that all British soldiers or even the majority deployed there committted atrocities.

As for the conflicts you mentioned they're irrelevant given the british goverment made the decision to get involved. Not the soldiers. Nor does it change the fact the vast majority of soldiers involved in those conflicts did not commit atrocities while there.

And lets be honest its a bit unrealistic to trawl through the records of every past serviceman and women to decide if they are worthy of receivig charity from the RBL. It's safe to assume the vast majority are and rightly so. Lets not forget that even with any other charity some recipients might not be deserving of that charity either.

Feathers wrote: »
    Well that depends on the purported symbolic meaning of the poppy. We're being told on this thread it's to remember the bloodshed of war & the preciousness of the peace that we've gained. If so, that should be applicable to those who fought on both sides — they are just the rank & file following orders after all?

If you're agreeing that it is a patriotic symbol to remember national soldiers however, then I'd wonder why an Irish man would be expected to wear one? (Again, apart from those with direct relatives in the army)

You can't have it everyway. You know that we've had a greater British presence here than purely the Black and Tans? I wouldn't expect us to buy a poppy to honour them, whereas it seems you would :confused:

I dont expect any Irishman to wear the poppy if they dont want to. But in Ireland it seems that those that choose to come under a lot of criticism which isnt fair.

I never said commemerate the Black and Tans more that if we in Ireland won't commerate them why should the British be expected to commemerate the Mau-Mau?

Your first article referenced acts of torture and made no reference to them being ordered to carry out that torture so its a logical conclusion to arrive at..

....and you didn't bother to research a bit before spouting off? Bit odd.
    Your next two article referred to officials covering up the evidence. Neither articles prove that all British soldiers or even the majority deployed there committted atrocities..

You seem to be ignorant of the brutality required to subjugate a large number of people. You also seem to ignore (as do a number of others) the fact that the whole colonial enterprise was in fact criminal from the get go.
    As for the conflicts you mentioned they're irrelevant given the british goverment made the decision to get involved. Not the soldiers. Nor does it change the fact the vast majority of soldiers involved in those conflicts did not commit atrocities while there...

Thats a good one. I'd like to see the reaction if somebody tried that line regarding the Germans or Russians.
    And lets be honest its a bit unrealistic to trawl through the records of every past serviceman and women to decide if they are worthy of receivig charity from the RBL. It's safe to assume the vast majority are and rightly so. Lets not forget that even with any other charity some recipients might not be deserving of that charity either.

What makes you think that? Suez was nothing to be proud of, nor was Aden, Uganda, NI, Iraq....why should they receive anything from an Irish person, regardless of how they behaved?

I dont expect any Irishman to wear the poppy if they dont want to. But in Ireland it seems that those that choose to come under a lot of criticism which isnt fair.

I never said commemerate the Black and Tans more that if we in Ireland won't commerate them why should the British be expected to commemerate the Mau-Mau?

Exactly, so I'm taking it that you're recognising the partisan nature of the emblem itself.

I personally don't publically call people out for wearing one, though I could see how people who've suffered from British Army violence in this country wouldn't be too keen on it. I'd also presume people know in advance that wearing something symbolic of an army that caused a lot of pain in this country will possibly get people's backs up.

Feathers wrote: »
    Exactly, so I'm taking it that you're recognising the partisan nature of the emblem itself.

I personally don't publically call people out for wearing one, though I could see how people who've suffered from British Army violence in this country wouldn't be too keen on it. I'd also presume people know in advance that wearing something symbolic of an army that caused a lot of pain in this country will possibly get people's backs up.

Agreed but a lot of that criticism comes from anti-British bigotry which isnt justified in abusing people wearing a poppy.

....and you didn't bother to research a bit before spouting off? Bit odd.

I presume you have a load of time on your hands. I dont have the same luxury in which to carry out extensive research of the Mau Mau conflict.

You seem to be ignorant of the brutality required to subjugate a large number of people. You also seem to ignore (as do a number of others) the fact that the whole colonial enterprise was in fact criminal from the get go.

I agree It was a criminal enterprise one pursued by governments of several nations.
    Thats a good one. I'd like to see the reaction if somebody tried that line regarding the Germans or Russians.

Most people would agree that the average Russian or German soldier would haven't been involved in atrocitis.

What makes you think that? Suez was nothing to be proud of, nor was Aden, Uganda, NI, Iraq....why should they receive anything from an Irish person, regardless of how they behaved?
    Because that Irish person may have a relative who was killed or injured in those conflicts.

Agreed but a lot of that criticism comes from anti-British bigotry which isnt justified in abusing people wearing a poppy.

Sure, if that's the motive that's driving people; but as a symbol supporting military personnel, I'd say it's hard to tell without delving further if most people are critical of it because of an anti-British sentiment or are anti-British military action — the trouble with the topic is that everyone dismisses the second as equating with the first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Leinster ladyboys Bod and Kearney not wearing poppy on BBC but proud Munster man woods all decked out with the imperial red.
    Keith Woods grand uncle died in WW1

Because that Irish person may have a relative who was killed or injured in those conflicts.

...if they can square that with their conscience, thats their business. I won't be joining them.

If you dont want to wear it ive no problem with that. Its a pity you dont show the same tolerance towards those who do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,165 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm asking that you point out to those saying its ok to buy the poppy because of ww1 and WWII that those people are more than likely dead. Thats what I'm referring to with 'consistency'. They are, logically, far more likely to be dead than those who served in Aden, Iraq or Cyprus.

If you don't agree with what other posters say, it's not my job to question them.

I'm being polite in saying that I think we're talking at cross-purposes, and I think you've got the wrong end of the stick re the "dead people".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Were any lowly soldiers tried after WWII? I know there weren't at Nuremberg, if that's what you are alluding to.

If the Nuremberg standards were applied to British Troops there'd have been loads of BA soldiers hanged in the decades after WWII, a few British PM's and just about every US president.

Lelantos wrote: »
    Keith Woods grand uncle died in WW1

So did mine, I still would not wear one. Does he wear one around Limerick or Clare or where ever he is from or just when he is on the BBC?

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If you don't agree with what other posters say, it's not my job to question them.".

No, but its a bit odd you don't apply the same standard to others posts as you do to mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

Fair play to young McClean deciding not to wear the poppy,of course this is being portrayed as "refusing" to do it... gonna be eaten by the media. But as a derry man he knows all about the British Army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

GRMA wrote: »
    Fair play to young McClean deciding not to wear the poppy,of course this is being portrayed as "refusing" to do it... gonna be eaten by the media. But as a derry man he knows all about the British Army.

Err. Is there any difference in deciding and refusing? Its a Premier League fundraiser that the shirts have the poppy and are then auctioned. He doesn't want the poppy on his, so he's given one without.

And I doubt he will be 'eaten' by the media. If, and its a big if, players refusing to wear poppy shirts makes the media will be if the Argentinians that play for City tomorrow do the same. That may be enough to get a mention in the Express or Star. A mediocre player for a mediocre team won't garner any attention in isolation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

So did mine, I still would not wear one. Does he wear one around Limerick or Clare or where ever he is from or just when he is on the BBC?
    It's personal choice, he chose to wear one, you chose not to. End of.

Err. Is there any difference in deciding and refusing? Its a Premier League fundraiser that the shirts have the poppy and are then auctioned. He doesn't want the poppy on his, so he's given one without.

And I doubt he will be 'eaten' by the media. If, and its a big if, players refusing to wear poppy shirts makes the media will be if the Argentinians that play for City tomorrow do the same. That may be enough to get a mention in the Express or Star. A mediocre player for a mediocre team won't garner any attention in isolation.

Ye reckon?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2231071/James-McClean-refuses-wear-poppy.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Rascasse

Ah the Daily Mail. Just when you think "no they wouldn't" they do. Unbelievable.

I wonder will this be in print in the UK edition and have the Irish one praising him.

Ah the Daily Mail. Just when you think "no they wouldn't" they do. Unbelievable..

Well, when I say "most" British people aren't like that, it should be noted that those who are prefer the mail. I seem to remember the Express being far worse though....
    I wonder will this be in print in the UK edition and have the Irish one praising him.

Entirely possible, though I won't shell out to discover the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,280 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

stoneill wrote: »
    Plenty of reasons why Irish people should wear a poppy.

Not one reason why not.

one not wishing to is a perfectly valid reason

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,476 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

one not wishing to is a perfectly valid reason

How dare you point out the obvious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Poppies are used to make heroin.
    Please raise this with your local MP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

billybudd wrote: »
    Give examples please?
    An example of Irelands shame?

You really don't need to ask do you?

Staying neutral in WW11

Irelands shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

I F**king hate watching tv this time of year with that sh1t forced down your throat. No matter where you look they have the poppy. Cant even watch a football match without seeing it. I personally think its a disgrace that they are forced to wear one and if you refuse you get abuse ie James McClean. If you think about it why would any Irish person want to support this appeal? Ok, many the Irish person died in the WWs but can we remember our own way not the pushy British way.

It turns my stomach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I F**king hate watching tv this time of year with that sh1t forced down your throat. No matter where you look they have the poppy. Cant even watch a football match without seeing it. I personally think its a disgrace that they are forced to wear one and if you refuse you get abuse ie James McClean. If you think about it why would any Irish person want to support this appeal? Ok, many the Irish person died in the WWs but can we remember our own way not the pushy British way.

It turns my stomach

It will probably surprise all my nationalist 'friends' here that I find it stomach turning too - poppies wearing should be a matter of personal choice. Whoever decides these enforcement policies should be given their P45s, and, to me, its almost like a conspiracy to discredit the wearing of the poppy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

getzls wrote: »

Staying neutral in WW11

Irelands shame.

What about the Swiss? or every other country that remained neutral. Bollocks post mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The fact is that theres no way to differentiate between those who are and aren't when buying a poppy. That, combined with the large number of brutal colonial regimes they were involved in, means that anyone supporting the poppy appeal runs a great chance of their funds aiding those involved with those regimes.

Just as someone buying a Lilly is commemorating people who committed atrocities I'm the name of Ireland.

Therefore, wearing a poppy is no different to wearing a poppy and anyone who wears a Lilly bit chastises someone for wearing a poppy is a hypocrite. Yes?

Are you going to answer this time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It turns my stomach

Errr, maybe you should stop watching British tv and British football then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭round tower huntsman

there is a large minority of "bird o donnells" cap tipping quislings in ireland they can always be relied on to wear poppies and welcome british monarchs:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

...so........what's this "poppy" you speak of?

...I'm guessing some beret like device?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Tommy Dillon

Errr, maybe you should stop watching British tv and British football then.[/QUOTE

Or maybe you should take into consideration that not everyone in the world supports your murdering scumbag army.it must be something in your DNA that makes you think you should force yourselves/opinions/customs on everyone else.

The world would have been a better place if it wasnt for your armies. i really dont know why people would support them. Im baffled

No, but its a bit odd you don't apply the same standard to others posts as you do to mine.

Other posters didn't ask to me to post on their behalf, and I hate being told what to do.

Just as someone buying a Lilly is commemorating people who committed atrocities I'm the name of Ireland.

So you're saying that fighting for Ireland is the same as fighting to preserve a racist colonial regime?

You still haven't explained how references to the Kenyan conflict are "deflection".........any reason, or will you give of your wisdom now?

Lelantos wrote: »
    It's personal choice, he chose to wear one, you chose not to. End of.

maybe he feels the need to wear it so he can earn a few bob off the BBC. If he also wears it around Limerick and Clare I would have more respect for him.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Other posters didn't ask to me to post on their behalf, and I hate being told what to do.

I never told you what to do. I merely point out that when I justify boycotting the poppy by referring to a particular conflict (that took place the 1950's) you say they're all dead, but when others justify the poppy appeal by reference to ww1 and 2, you fail to make the same observation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Aodh Rua

getzls wrote: »

Staying neutral in WW11

Irelands shame.

And how is that a "source of shame"?

If I were British it would be much more a source of shame that the Royal British Legion which organises the poppy fascism today to ostensibly honour "those who fought against Nazism" was, ironies of ironies, supporting Adolf Hitler and the fascists of the Nazi party as recently as autumn 1938 when it organised hundreds of British Nazi sympathisers to help the Nazis run their newly conquered Czech territory of the Sudetenland.

And it's not as if the British state finally declared war on Nazi Germany, after years of collaboration/appeasement, in order to defend the Jews, although this seems to be a common myth among certain nationalistically-minded people in Britain. There's no evidence for that quite silly idea.

Royal British Legion's support for Nazism

Here's a photo of the leaders of the [Royal] British Legion meeting Nazi leaders to offer them support in the late 1930s:

Royal British Legion's alliance with Nazi Germany

How do all these pro-poppy/imperialist people get away with such wholesale revisionism and outright denial of British alliances with Nazi Germany right up to 1939?

wearing apoppy isnt just about supporting vets from ww1or ww2 its about supporting british imperialsim andthe brit war machine. not only will the brave vets from the fields of france recieve cash from poppy wearers but also the vets that were in derry THAT sunday, as well as vets from every british imperial adventure from ww1 right up to iraq and afghanistan.
    if you wear a poppy,your a quislng FACT!

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭seanpjs93

I wouldn't think of it as for the British Army, more so for those who died fighting a cause that was a threat to Britain and it's empire of which we were apart of like it or not, it's to show respect for people who died protecting people as a whole, not just one country or another, they deserve respect for fighting to protect their fellow man, there are monuments around Ireland paying tribute to those who died in WWI from Ireland, they shouldn't be ignored just because they fought under the British Army.

I never told you what to do. I merely point out that when I justify boycotting the poppy by referring to a particular conflict (that took place the 1950's) you say they're all dead, but when others justify the poppy appeal by reference to ww1 and 2, you fail to make the same observation.

You fail to make the observation that what happened in WW1 and 2 was completely different to what happened in a colonial conflict where atrocities were committed.

As far as you're concerned, the "evil" Brits were the villains no matter what fight they were involved in.

seanpjs93 wrote: »
    I wouldn't think of it as for the British Army, more so for those who died fighting a cause that was a threat to Britain and it's empire of which we were apart of like it or not, it's to show respect for people who died protecting people as a whole, not just one country or another, they deserve respect for fighting to protect their fellow man, there are monuments around Ireland paying tribute to those who died in WWI from Ireland, they shouldn't be ignored just because they fought under the British Army.

money raised by poppy wearers goes to brits that served in ireland,iraq,afghanistan,zimbabwae, etc..............from 1914 right uo to 2012. its not a sign of respect for vets from the somme its a fund raiser for all vets from all the imperialist conquests of the brit war machine. wearing a poppy says i support the "empire" and its armed killers.

any irish person, of which there is approx 3,000, in the british forces, are supported by the british legion.

should, god forbid, something bad happen to a member of my family that was a member of the british forces, it would be nice to think that someone, somewhere, would actually help. as much as they can.
    the british legion do that, they help irish people that were/are a member of the english royal forces.

cant see whats wrong with that??

if your family are serving members of the BA they are traitors to ireland. post 1916 no self respecting irish man would don a british uniform. only a serf would support em and only a serf would join em.