Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saoradh dissident republican march in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 66,905 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

RobMc59 wrote: »
    But more importantly will it change the minds of the gob****es who did it?

No.
    The harsh reality here is as it has always been. There will be no peace in Ireland until we deal with partition.

And that is not to condone or excuse what happened. I fully support the GFA, which is the process that will deal with it one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Unfortunately There will always be a small extreme hardcore on both sides of the conflict in NI.

It’s an ongoing job of work for the authorities to monitor them and prosecute when necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

There will be no peace in Ireland until we deal with partition.

ominous

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

El_Bee wrote: »
    Do we not have antifa over here that would beat theses guys up?

These guys are of the same persuasion as ANTIFA.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Hoboo

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I suppose the UVF have to hold a march now in Belfast?

Every year, July 12th.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

These guys are of the same persuasion as ANTIFA.

It's Antifa who show fascist traits in my experience. Try engaging one of them. They don't listen. They're minds are already made up. Communication is the problem to the answer with these guys. They want to allow free speech but only if they agree or don't object to what is being said.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

No.
    The harsh reality here is as it has always been. There will be no peace in Ireland until we deal with partition.

And that is not to condone or excuse what happened. I fully support the GFA, which is the process that will deal with it one day.

You do support the GFA but I doubt very much the neanderthals who shot that poor girl give a hoot for the GFA-we all argue and bicker about border polls,banners and brexit but this is different-these people marching in paramilitary uniform so soon after the tragic killing in Derry is an insult to the memory of that poor girl and certainly isn't anyone else's fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

To the surprise of absolutely no one, the gun used in the shooting of that journalist was apparently sourced from dublin gangsters, amazing how "republican" groups are essentially organized crime gangs who dress themselves up in a "cause" has been such an elephant in the room for decades.

No.

That is exactly what you are doing.

Partition has been dealt with. It is an accepted fact all across this island that partition exists and that is the majority in the north wanted to change it, then it will be changed.

It’s people like you, making excuses like this, that gives the young thugs justification for their actions.

If some of these marchers were 'martyred', see the reaction from Dubs then, eh?

You can't just go around creating "martyrs", you know!

Aside from that, given the amount of anger and condemnation about the march, from all over Ireland, don't you think you're being more than a tad presumptuous?
    Stovepipe wrote: »
    Within sight of the Border, being refused service by a mechanic when he heard my accent and saw the Southern plates on my car. I had to take the car up the road to another car mechanic, who was a Catholic. When I explained to him that the other guy had refused to sort me out, he laughed and said that the other guy musn't like money, given the sheer amount of Southern cars that passed that way. I've also had the "park it around the back" advice more than once. I was also refused service in a shop once, in a very Loyalist area, until I asked for directions to a well-known local's establishment and then they were suddenly helpful.....folks is strange ;-)

Agreed. I've experienced similar. The scars in N.I. still run deep, and some people are not willing to let go of hatred of people who've never done them any harm.

Sad, but true!
    But more importantly will it change the minds of the gob****es who did it?

Probably not. They seem to be too thick to understand the damage they are doing.
    You do support the GFA but I doubt very much the neanderthals who shot that poor girl give a hoot for the GFA-we all argue and bicker about border polls,banners and brexit but this is different-these people marching in paramilitary uniform so soon after the tragic killing in Derry is an insult to the memory of that poor girl and certainly isn't anyone else's fault.

Well, clearly, they don't support the GFA.

The question is, what do they think they are going to achieve? Because murdering or intimidating innocent people, by either side, will not result in either peace or a United Ireland.

So what are they trying to achieve?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

source wrote: »
    While I don't agree with them and hate that the North is hurtling back towards its old ways. I believe fundamentally in Bunreacht na hÉireann, and it is clear that they have the right to match like they did even if any right minded person agrees that it is not only in poor taste, but downright dangerous to give them a platform.
    "Bunreacht wrote:
    6 1° the state guarantees liberty for the exercise of the following rights, subject to public order and morality:

i. the right of the citizens to express freely their convictions and opinions.

the education public opinion being, however, a matter of such grave import to the common good, the state shall endeavour to ensure that organs of public opinion, such as the radio, the press, the cinema, while preserving their rightful liberty of expression, including criticism of Government policy, shall not be used to undermine public order or morality or the authority of the state.

the publication or utterance of seditious or indecent matter is an offence which shall be punishable in accordance with law.

ii. the right of the citizens to assemble peaceably and without arms.

Provision may be made by law to prevent or control meetings which are determined in accordance with law to be calculated to cause a breach of the peace or to be a danger or nuisance to the general public and to prevent or control meetings in the vicinity of either house of the oireachtas.

iii. The right of the citizens to form associations and unions. laws, however, may be enacted for the regulation and control in the public interest of the exercise of the foregoing right.

They were committing an offence under Section 264 of the Defence Act. Why weren't they arrested and taken away?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,868 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Rent a Crowd, mostly from NI I am guessing.

They would not march in Derry, so they come South for the craic, a few days after an awful murder of a young journalist.

Words fail me. But I agree, let them march and deny them the oxygen of publicity if they were banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

No.

Shame on you for encouraging the people who shot the journalist.

Aegir wrote: »

Partition has been dealt with. It is an accepted fact all across this island that partition exists and that is the majority in the north wanted to change it, then it will be changed.

It’s people like you, making excuses like this, that gives the young thugs justification for their actions.

Very well put. Thank you.

Aegir wrote: »

Can we immediately stop with the 'making excuses; nonsense. I have been saying this issue is still live and that there are those who will keep confronting it with violence since I joined this forum many moons ago.
    You have my condemnation of this latest in a long line of acts, whatever good that will do.

Partition is why this is happening, and there is absolutely no way of getting away from that.

Brexit was bringing it to a head anyhow. This is a portent of where we are going, make no mistake about that. Something I have also been saying for quite a while now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Those who marched and those who support them should be ashamed of themselves. The protest in itself may have appeared peaceful but the aim of and reasons behind it are anything but.

Saoradh, like the IRA and the UVF (or any other paramilitary outfit you care to name) are criminals and thugs, nothing more. It worries me that people are willing to turn a blind eye to the real meaning behind this and marches like it; intimidation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Rent a Crowd, mostly from NI I am guessing.

They would not march in Derry, so they come South for the craic, a few days after an awful murder of a young journalist.

Words fail me. But I agree, let them march and deny them the oxygen of publicity if they were banned.

Unfortunately no mostly dublin twats even had a couple of junkies marching with them sadly they were lovin it all dressed up in their army bargains gear bless, even got their ma's too sew on little ireland flags on their jumpers

El_Bee wrote: »
    Do we not have antifa over here that would beat theses guys up?

Yea thats what we need more self righteous twats

You have my condemnation of this latest in a long line of acts, .

Because they hit the journalist. You never condemned "the lads" when they hit the police, their intended target.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I know it is an offence to impersonate a garda.

Maybe time to make it offence to impersonate a member of the defence forces.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Let them march but they must realise that they will be crushed into the ground by the majority who have had enough of that cr@p in this country

janfebmar wrote: »
    Because they hit the journalist. You never condemned "the lads" when they hit the police, their intended target.

I have condemned this act already - whosoever was the target. Read the main thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

They cant dress up in Army gear up North so they come down here and march down O Connell street.

Leave them play soldiers :D

Pride marching down O'Connell st again will say more about a united ireland than these eejits

Those who marched and those who support them should be ashamed of themselves. The protest in itself may have appeared peaceful but the aim of and reasons behind it are anything but.

Saoradh, like the IRA and the UVF (or any other paramilitary outfit you care to name) are criminals and thugs, nothing more. It worries me that people are willing to turn a blind eye to the real meaning behind this and marches like it; intimidation.

I don't think anyone is turning a blind eye. More, as has been said previously, denying them oxygen.

If their (objectionable) march is banned, then they get to play the victim card.

If they mount a pathetic march, which shows their utter disregard for Lyra (and pretty much everyone else, too) - then they're doing their own PR image a lot of damage, which is all good, imo.

I still find it hard to stomach watching them march - but if that march shows their true colours, and helps turn people even more against them, then that has to be a positive, surely?

The other positive is that people are saying loud and clear that they do not support murder on the streets of Derry, or anywhere lse, irrespective of who those murderers pretend to represent.

Who knows, this might even be the impetus for people to join together to show their opposition to any return to violence in N.I.
    For that matter, you would think it should provide an impetus for the politicians in NI to sit down together, and look for solutions, given the very real threat to peace that these fools actually pose?

mikeym wrote: »
    They cant dress up in Army gear up North so they come down here and march down O Connell street.

Leave them play soldiers :D

I'm sure there is some rule Up North for this, and assuming there is, there really should be similar down here now I think.

Sickened by this march, but better that they are allowed to do so under our present laws, than ban them, and invite a cohort of victim supporters to their cause. Hope they just fade away into the ether frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Zaph wrote: »
    Even if there had been no trouble in Derry and Lyra McKee hadn't been killed, those people shouldn't have been allowed anywhere near the streets of Dublin. For them to march at a time like this shows exactly how little they actually care about anyone who doesn't share their ideals.

My only issue is if one decides who or who not is allowed to march yer heading down a dark road.

Sometimes we have to give scum their way for the greater good.

First they came for the socialists...

I have condemned this act already - whosoever was the target. Read the main thread.

But you never condemned attacks on the police.

janfebmar wrote: »
    But you never condemned attacks on the police.

I condemn all attacks.

Has that stopped them?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Feisar wrote: »
    My only issue is if one decides who or who not is allowed to march yer heading down a dark road.

Sometimes we have to give scum their way for the greater good.

That's exactly it. Doesn't bother me one bit they had their march, they've every right to. I don't agree with what they stand for, I didn't agree with a few other recent marches, but that's life.