Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saoradh dissident republican march in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Don't try the snowflake schtick. The emotions may be high here, but that's not carte blanche for you to dismiss whatever you like.

Terrorists are fascists. Democracy can tolerate almost anything, but not fascism. Popper's Paradox and all that.

In this case they've made a laughable show of themselves, but there's absolutely an argument for labelling them as anti-democratic and for preventing them from marching if the harm outweighs the benefit.

They are communists not fascists. People are falling over themselves to say "not real socialism".

The are communists. Repeat, communists.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

They are communists not fascists. People are falling over themselves to say "not real socialism".

If they mean to reach their goal by armed revolution against a perfectly valid democracy, what's the practical difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭rockatansky

Ah here lads, they're not communists, Facists or whatever else you're trying to label them as.

Their rank and file members couldn't even begin to go start to explain any political idealogy, including their own.

They have 2 aims, restart the war, do as much possible to Sinn Fein. While those at the top grow rich from drug dealing and ATM theft.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,753 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They wouldn't know what communism was if it came along and bit them on the arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,437 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Gotta love the way a few of the guys at the front are wearing British DPM camo jackets. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Pissartist wrote: »
    Why shouldn't they be allowed march it was peaceful, I've seen much more aggressive and abusive marchers at something like pride marches. They had nothing to do with Derry,in fact no one has come forward to claim responsibility, it was just a young thug in my opinion.

Saoradh are filled with young thugs. They were very much so responsible for what occurred. So yep they can royally **** themselves off the planet. Been to plenty of prides over the years btw and never seen any abuse from the marchers btw. (McKee would have been one of them btw) Suspect this is your own Republican views blocking common sense.

And? Most lefties in Ireland aren't communists, the victim was left wing.She would most likely be one of those people you want rant about who are socially conscious and support the rights of others. I haven't encountered any significant support from the left of the shooter. I have on the other hand had numerous friends on the left who knew Lyra who are distraught by what occurred. So perhaps cop on and stop using the thread as a rant over the left?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Everyone of of them should be identified and placed under surveillance. If someone tells you they're a terrorist, believe them.

Nice soundbite, are you going to agree to pay higher taxes for our security services to monitor hundreds of people and build new prisons?
    There are countless armed drug lord gangs in Dublin alone and the Gardai have struggled to counter them for a couple of decades now.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Ah here lads, they're not communists, Facists or whatever else you're trying to label them as.

Their rank and file members couldn't even begin to go start to explain any political idealogy, including their own.

They have 2 aims, restart the war, do as much possible to Sinn Fein. While those at the top grow rich from drug dealing and ATM theft.

And dressing up! Let's not forget that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Dirty scum . A waste of their fathers sperm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Perhaps we could re-open the Players Lounge in Fairview, to give these high achievers something to do of an afternoon.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

Another shower of sjws dressed up as soldiers.

Probably a bunch of vegan sympathisers, you'd see the way they dress like plants.

Worthless wasters, nobody gives a **** about their cause, bunch of tossers

• Registered Users Posts: 51,493 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I’d say the takings of some border pub and bookies were well down yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Hedgelayer

God save Ireland said the heroes.....

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

I suppose it would have taken some balls from a politician be it Leo or Charlie Flanagan but in the wake of the shooting Thursday night the permission for that crew to march should have been withdrawn in the interest of public order and pending the investigation into the shooting.

I think permission for future marches should be withdrawn unless there is a completely stable non violent situation North and South. Also, if there is even a shred of evidence linking this group to the ATM thefts all privelages like this should be withdrawn.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Someone made a good point on radio just now

Apparently one brave person stood in front of the march and tried to stop it. Well done to that person

But if there had been more notice of this march there would’ve been huge numbers of ppl trying to stop the march

Of course this crowd sneaked in and sneaked out as fast as they could

• Registered Users Posts: 66,906 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It was always going to be the case that it would take a tragedy like this to waken people up to what has been growing since the GFA.

Far too many people with the power and the responsibility to keep the process moving once again ignored the signs and the warning from those who knew what was happening.

The guys marching down O'Connell street are not the ones we should be worrying about, it is those on both sides who don't believe that the GFA is the answer.

And who can argue with them, when you see the state of the GFA now.

Varadkar and May need to take action and take it very soon. Sitting around condemning is not good enough.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

There's no Martin McGuinness to help calm tensions in Derry anymore either.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,748 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

The fact that the march went ahead shows how ****ing clueless Saoradh/New IRA really are.

Public outrage across the island & political divides at Lyra's murder. Unprecedented cooperation between Creggan residents & PSNI to track down the murderer.

These guys who just murdered a lovely human being then think that a pseudo military parade is the best next step to take? Fools & thugs.

The best thing that we can do this weekend is to turn out & cheer on the brave men & women of the real Oglaigh na hEireann parading in honour of our Patriots.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭boardise

Simian
    Abject
    Oafs
    Radiating
    Anti
    Democratic
    Hatred

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

Thinking of our Patriots,they were spat on by the majority of dubs before their death/sacrifice.Interesting that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

jimd2 wrote: »
    I suppose it would have taken some balls from a politician be it Leo or Charlie Flanagan but in the wake of the shooting Thursday night the permission for that crew to march should have been withdrawn in the interest of public order and pending the investigation into the shooting.

I think permission for future marches should be withdrawn unless there is a completely stable non violent situation North and South. Also, if there is even a shred of evidence linking this group to the ATM thefts all privelages like this should be withdrawn.

March was going to be so small they didnt actually have to seek permission

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Pissartist wrote: »
    Thinking of our Patriots,they were spat on by the majority of dubs before their death/sacrifice.Interesting that.

If some of these marchers were 'martyred', see the reaction from Dubs then, eh?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

bilston wrote: »
    What have you experienced in Northern Ireland?

Within sight of the Border, being refused service by a mechanic when he heard my accent and saw the Southern plates on my car. I had to take the car up the road to another car mechanic, who was a Catholic. When I explained to him that the other guy had refused to sort me out, he laughed and said that the other guy musn't like money, given the sheer amount of Southern cars that passed that way. I've also had the "park it around the back" advice more than once. I was also refused service in a shop once, in a very Loyalist area, until I asked for directions to a well-known local's establishment and then they were suddenly helpful.....folks is strange ;-)

Stovepipe wrote: »
    Within sight of the Border, being refused service by a mechanic when he heard my accent and saw the Southern plates on my car. I had to take the car up the road to another car mechanic, who was a Catholic. When I explained to him that the other guy had refused to sort me out, he laughed and said that the other guy musn't like money, given the sheer amount of Southern cars that passed that way. I've also had the "park it around the back" advice more than once. I was also refused service in a shop once, in a very Loyalist area, until I asked for directions to a well-known local's establishment and then they were suddenly helpful.....folks is strange ;-)

You should try driving around the north with Dublin plates and an English accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,493 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I wonder how many members of this new organization hold down jobs and pay income tax? Would the fingers of one hand be enough?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

It was always going to be the case that it would take a tragedy like this to waken people up to what has been growing since the GFA.

Far too many people with the power and the responsibility to keep the process moving once again ignored the signs and the warning from those who knew what was happening.

The guys marching down O'Connell street are not the ones we should be worrying about, it is those on both sides who don't believe that the GFA is the answer.

And who can argue with them, when you see the state of the GFA now.

Varadkar and May need to take action and take it very soon. Sitting around condemning is not good enough.

One of the single biggest problems is the DUP never signed up to the GFA and the idiots currently driving the the Tory Party, most of whom wouldn’t know how to find NI on a map, have put them into a power broking position and a confidence and supply arrangement.

All this dismissal of NI border issues by senior Tories is unbelievably dangerous.

From what I can see the DUP basically saw Brexit as an opportunity to undo the GFA and ensure there was less interference from the “south”.

While there's clearly a strong majority in Westminster in favour of the GFA and I think May takes it very seriously, there's been a vocal minority who have been ranting and raving about how it's obsolete and so on and when you add in the jingoism in the tabloids and utterly uninformed online discussions etc etc it really doesn't help.

Unfortunately, you've a heady mix of the same old .... stirrers and jingoistic nonsense and it's feeding into a rhetoric on the dissident republican side who have been looking for any excuse.

The Northern Ireland Assembly needs to be running right now and it's fairly clear that's not going to happen while the DUP feel they've huge power in London.

It May had any cop on she'd just deal with the LGBT rights issues, Irish language rights and abortion issue on a UK wide level, thus removing the excuses to keep blocking the assembly.

I don't think the Tories fully realise that they're using a hornets nest as a political football.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I suppose the UVF have to hold a march now in Belfast?

• Registered Users Posts: 66,906 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Anteayer wrote: »
    One of the single biggest problems is the DUP never signed up to the GFA and the idiots currently driving the the Tory Party, most of whom wouldn’t know how to find NI on a map, have put them into a power broking position and a confidence and supply arrangement.

All this dismissal of NI border issues by senior Tories is unbelievably dangerous.

From what I can see the DUP basically saw Brexit as an opportunity to undo the GFA and ensure there was less interference from the “south”.

While there's clearly a strong majority in Westminster in favour of the GFA and I think May takes it very seriously, there's been a vocal minority who have been ranting and raving about how it's obsolete and so on and when you add in the jingoism in the tabloids and utterly uninformed online discussions etc etc it really doesn't help.

Unfortunately, you've a heady mix of the same old .... stirrers and jingoistic nonsense and it's feeding into a rhetoric on the dissident republican side who have been looking for any excuse.

The Northern Ireland Assembly needs to be running right now and it's fairly clear that's not going to happen while the DUP feel they've huge power in London.

It May had any cop on she'd just deal with the LGBT rights issues, Irish language rights and abortion issue on a UK wide level, thus removing the excuses to keep blocking the assembly.

I don't think the Tories fully realise that they're using a hornets nest as a political football.

You can be sure the death of an Irish journalist in Ireland won't change any minds in Westminster nor the level of care.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭RobMc59

You can be sure the death of an Irish journalist in Ireland won't change any minds in Westminster nor the level of care.

But more importantly will it change the minds of the gob****es who did it?

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Do we not have antifa over here that would beat theses guys up?