Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭alan0387

tudderone wrote: »
    Is there no end to this blasted virus ? Four more months of this lockdown carp.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/lockdownireland-restrictions-enddate-level5update-leovaradkar-19806639

Ah ffs :(

My middle child, my son, has autism. Finding this lockdown far harder than the first time round. He is slowly becoming a hermit, doesn't want to go outside for a walk for fear of getting the virus. Some days its near impossible to get him out of his pj's.

I feel for my wife, she is stuck home with 3 kids and the dog with no adult conversation all day. At least I get to go to work and have some manner of normal workshop banter with the lads.

Hope everyone is doing OK here... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 761 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

Is there no end to this blasted virus ? Four more months of this lockdown carp.

This is from "S.I. No. 513/2020 - Health Act 1947 (Section 31A – Temporary Requirements) (Covid-19 Passenger Locator Form) (Amendment) (No. 7) Regulations 2020" signed on 7th November 2020

and it shows that this has been planned all along.

4. Regulation 2 of the Principal Regulations is amended by the substitution of “the 9th day of June 2021” for “the 9th day of November 2020”.

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

alan0387 wrote: »
    Ah ffs :(

My middle child, my son, has autism. Finding this lockdown far harder than the first time round. He is slowly becoming a hermit, doesn't want to go outside for a walk for fear of getting the virus. Some days its near impossible to get him out of his pj's.

I feel for my wife, she is stuck home with 3 kids and the dog with no adult conversation all day. At least I get to go to work and have some manner of normal workshop banter with the lads.

Hope everyone is doing OK here... :(

Sorry to hear it Alan. Yes i am finding it tough going. Its like a nightmare that won't end.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,101 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    YOUR Opinion...:)

Of course. All we have is our opinions.
    I didn't think that was a particularly controversial one.
    So if you want to call out hypocrisy,you have to know there is something to be
    hypocritical about nr 1 and wouldn't you also say that MSM is being hypocritical in touting one book more than the other?
    Ironically the first and only person I heard advertising the Biden book was you Grizly.
    Fear not, I won't be buying it, so you haven't put at coppers in his pocket. :P
    Unless he is really thick and writes it in his novel.He hasn't self hung himself yet, and as neither of us I presume has read his book yet,...
    So not actually self-confessed then.
    Or did that only apply to the junkie part.
    She is was a Porn star[name is a dead giveaway] and it was Trumps lawyer Cohen who paid up 130K for the "worst 90 seconds of my life" As Daniels stated in an interview. Whether Trump authorised that or not,is another question...
    Let's call a spade a spade. She wasn't making a porno with Donald in 2006.
    Assuming the obvious, She's was a prostitute by any rational definition. I'm sure there's plenty of legal gymnastic to dodge that of course.
    Cohen paid the hush money. Trump reimbursed him. Which is where the issues came from.

You missed a few
    There are at least 24 allegations.
    Strange that all these come to light in a period between 2016/20?
    Yes, there's also the teen age beauty pageant stuff. There's a lot.
    As you said, there is enough smoke about this since the 90s to suggest a fire.

Who also recanted on both of the allegations
    I referred to this as a "rape", but I do not want my words to be interpreted in a literal or criminal sense.
    She also violated a confidentiality clause,not a "gag" order, two different things, of which Trump successfully sued her for breach of contract and then won a subsequent gag order on her.
    Yes, she recanted her statement AFTER settlement.
    Settlements, confidentiality clauses, and lawsuit are not typical when somebody has nothing to hide.

An interesting one,with her then-boyfriend being involved in some business deal with Trump,and then the lawsuit being withdrawn when Trump and her boyfriend George Houraney settled out of court??? THEN this woman goes back to work for the person who "raped" her as his makeup artist
    I don't think she accused him of rape.
    Working for him 20 years later is odd I agree. Some people will go to great lengths to promote themselves.

UH huh, but that's why we have courts and a presumption of innocence, not judging people by previous actions or suppositions.
    Exactly.
    Except we only have that presumption of innocence when it suits a persons position. You literally ignored it above where it suited you to.

Trump: "Lots of allegations, and out of courts settlements. But innocent until proven guilty."
    Hunter Biden": "Lots of rumors online, must be all true"

Anyway, just an observation. You're entitled to treat people however you like.
    But FWIW complaints about media bias lose all punch when you do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,101 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Anyway not trying to keep this the perpetual USA politics thread.

How's the weather where everyone is?

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Mellor wrote: »

Good question :) It was hailing and snowing for 30 minute windows for the last few days here, but nothing was sticking. No sight of any snow now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭Feisar

Zero degrees but the ReelFeel is saying -6.

I've noticed the past few days a real bitterness when out.

In other news what I wouldn't give to set up a few empty cans and have at them with the iron sights on my 22.

First they came for the socialists...

Sorry to hear it Alan. Yes i am finding it tough going. Its like a nightmare that won't end.

I think everyone is finding it harder now than before. Its easier said than done to keep spirits up, but you just gotta try for your families sake. We will get through it though, just think of all those rounds you have waiting to be sent into paper :)

Similar as above, on and off snow for 30 mins or so. Again nothing really sticking. Absolutely baltic this morning, can't get the heat into me at all!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I think everyone is finding it harder now than before. Its easier said than done to keep spirits up, but you just gotta try for your families sake. We will get through it though, just think of all those rounds you have waiting to be sent into paper :)

Yep, people are fcuked up of the restrictions at this stage. Socially, I don't miss the pubs etc. but I do miss calling to see friends and going to the range. I could also do with some new clothes too, feckin working from home is hard on the waistline. :(

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Yep, people are fcuked up of the restrictions at this stage. Socially, I don't miss the pubs etc. but I do miss calling to see friends and going to the range. I could also do with some new clothes too, feckin working from home is hard on the waistline. :(

I'm living off toastie sambo's when at home. I've an old cast iron one the used to belong to my Grandmother, does some job on a toastie.

I don't miss the pubs as I wasn't really going to them that much anymore. Although at the same time it would be nice to go for a meal and a few pints after with herself or go for a pint with my Father or Father-in-Law. Life has moved on from the sesh being the focus of the week.

I was never a big drinker to begin with but I do miss a nice fresh Guinness and I've been comfort eating to beat the band. Even with going to work. Ill be swapping JiuJitsu for Sumo by the time I go back! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Seen an news article the other day where some silly cow had covered her hair with a pretty potent 2 part adhesive. She had mixed it up with conditioner or something like that. Hospital job i'd wager.
    Spoke about it the other day.

She used it on purpose. Ran out of hair gel and figured the glue would do the same job and is now soncidering suing the glue company for not putting on the label that it cannot be used for hair.

I sh*t you not.
    Cass wrote: »
    Any wonder tort law in America needs reform.

This is why there are instructions on shower caps.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Ball freezingly cold.

Seriously. Step around a corner, out of the wind, and its not bad. Weather shows temp as 2 to 3 degrees but apparent temp is -5 with wind chill.

Only one place for it:

97c7142d0427bef0d72270a27b6f37e4.jpg
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Feisar wrote: »
    I don't miss the pubs as I wasn't really going to them that much anymore.
    I was never a big drinker to begin with .......
    I stopped drinking about 11 years ago. I wasn't a big drinker and only went out once a week, if that, but one quiet day i went into the pub and other than it being dead quiet i looked around (it was late) and said "n'ah, feck it, i won't bother".

That was 11 years ago and never touched a drop since.

Now if i could only apply that to the cigs. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

This should make for some light hearted entertainment tonight...

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/world-news/donald-trumps-toe-curling-meltdown-23482000

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Cass wrote: »
    I stopped drinking about 11 years ago. I wasn't a big drinker and only went out once a week, if that, but one quiet day i went into the pub and other than it being dead quiet i looked around (it was late) and said "n'ah, feck it, i won't bother".

That was 11 years ago and never touched a drop since.

Now if i could only apply that to the cigs. :o

I've a friend the same, just pulled the pin one day and that was that. Like yerself he wasn't a lunatic for the sauce, just decided not to bother anymore.

If the weather was warmer it wouldn't be so bad, i could do the garden, or paint the gates or something, sweep up, mess around in the shed - which i do a lot normally but knock it on the head during the cold months. All this is something i will never forgive the Chinese for, not that it would worry them much.

How about a french politics thread ? Macron taking a lurch to the right :p

https://www.dw.com/en/frances-macron-under-fire-for-political-lurch-to-the-right/a-55775773

If the weather was warmer it wouldn't be so bad, i could do the garden, or paint the gates or something, sweep up, mess around in the shed - which i do a lot normally but knock it on the head during the cold months. All this is something i will never forgive the Chinese for, not that it would worry them much.

My Dad's garage is like something from an post apocalyptic film, washing machine motors running belt sanders, with dimmer switches to alter speed!

There will always be a civilisation, so long as there are men with dirty hands messing around in sheds, hiding from the women in the house !

I am halfway through rebuilding a Jones and Shipman surface grinder, That came out of a barn in Yorkshire, but its too cold to go out and work on it just now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

I am halfway through rebuilding a Jones and Shipman surface grinder, That came out of a barn in Yorkshire, but its too cold to go out and work on it just now.

I am unspeakably jealous - fitting a DRO to an Adcock & Shipley mill at the moment, but would love a surface grinder (and the skills to use it).

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

Some snow here but it's not sticking it's bitterly cold outside took the .22 Hornet our for a stroll In the nearby fields because that ground is so hard the .22lr would bounce off it like a ping pong ball , no fox out unfortunately
    Lit the big open fire just because it was warm to look at on the cold days :D
    mrPD8Jm.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,857 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Had a couple of fox tails sealed in a container of meths for the last couple of months, took them out today and washed them, then used shampoo and conditioner before blow drying them. Drilled some .270 shells and glued them in for a couple of novelty key rings.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

civdef wrote: »
    I am unspeakably jealous - fitting a DRO to an Adcock & Shipley mill at the moment, but would love a surface grinder (and the skills to use it).

Fitted a DRO to my mill last year. It was a fiddily business, but you can do all manner of little details with it, pocket milling, PCD's etc. Keep an eye on Harrison Brothers website, they have cheap enough machines on sale from time to time.

http://www.kenequip.com/miscellaneous.html

Some snow here but it's not sticking it's bitterly cold outside took the .22 Hornet our for a stroll In the nearby fields because that ground is so hard the .22lr would bounce off it like a ping pong ball , no fox out unfortunately
    Lit the big open fire just because it was warm to look at on the cold days :D
    mrPD8Jm.jpg

That's not a bad description!

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

That's not a bad description!

Aye its about 5 foot wide:D Still has the crane in it as you can see in the pic if you look closely :p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,946 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

It breaks my heart to have to accept PIAB awards of between €15k and €20k for lads who had minor injuries and were only out of work for one or two weeks on full pay.

The sad part is that it's cheaper to accept the awards than to go to court.

Talk to me about it.The number of blatant chancers I caught in flagrante in my previous life and job as a PI that was never brought to court because the insurance/solicitor/client bottled it at the end at the court would sicken your shte. :mad:

The high court in those cases was doing a better line in miraculous cures than the shrine at Knock and Lourdes.
    Coming into court in neck braces and crutches and prescripted lines and coming out of the courtroom with a nice cheque and a fully flexible [thick] neck:,with the crutches over the shoulder rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 14,946 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Seen an news article the other day where some silly cow had covered her hair with a pretty potent 2 part adhesive. She had mixed it up with conditioner or something like that. Hospital job i'd wager.

Do you mean this future SPACE X rocket scientist material??:rolleyes:
    I didn't realise she was 40 FFS!!! I thought she was some dopey teen of the generation who eats laundry detergent pods for hits on social media.:eek::eek::eek:But 40..Forty years of age doing dumb sht like this??

https://globalnews.ca/news/7634615/gorilla-glue-girl-hair-surgery/

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Seemingly there's a hair gel called Gorilla Snot (love to have sat in on that marketing brainstorming session) that may have confused things a bit:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Moco-Gorila-Extreme-Hold-Yellow/dp/B00500HMRO