Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Is it zero deaths because we blocked off the elderly from the real world?
    Is it zero deaths because I can't take a parent out of a nursing home to see her grand children?

Is the zero deaths because elderly can't mind their grand children after school when they want to?

Do we just continue to imprison the vulnerable people and not help them at all?

Hmmmm

Lockdown a tiny percentage of people and let the economy get on with it.

OR

Lockdown all of the people and let the economy collapse.

Only an idiot picks option B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

https://twitter.com/eddiehoarefg/status/1310697801211351040?s=21

Literally using groups of young people socialising outdoors as justification for level 3...they’re doing this all the time behind closed doors.
    Where is the actual data justifying increased restrictions?
    How many hospitalisations are in Galway currently?
    How many ICU beds are taken up with Covid?

I said months ago that they couldn't keep young people suppressed for long. The herd has moved on... thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

polesheep wrote: »
    I said months ago that they couldn't keep young people suppressed for long. The herd has moved on... thankfully.

Then stop complaining about the economy. The young are having their fun regardless of the economic damage they cause so thats something to be thankfull for?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,858 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Hmmmm

OR

A selfish idiot at that.

Strumms wrote: »
    You want to swing that interpretation on it fine and dandy ;)

Many people get it as a result of the behavior of others and not themselves. Many too get it due to their own negligence.... being needy pricks and disassociating their want and needs from what’s ‘right

It’s the (others) that are the issue, the ones determined to continue life as normal when things are as abnormal as they’ve been since about the start of last century...

From what you deem to be right, you mean. The tail has wagged the dog for long enough. As is always the case, it's young people that are bringing change and good luck to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,846 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Will it be zero deaths from cancer as cancer screening times get pushed out?

Will it be zero deaths from suicide as they economy continues to crumble?

Vulnerable people need to look after themselves regardless of whether or not the economy is open or closed.

Hospital treatments are back on, but if the cases keep rising they will stop, so that is one reason for us to halt the spread.

Suicide also happens when love ones die, incase you haven't noticed. So far there is no rise in number of suicide death in 2020 compare to 2019.

Its our job to look after the vunlerable and our job to look after the elderly. They deserved that considering most of them work their hearts out to get us to college, to get us an education, given us an easier up bringing than they had.

Its our turn to look after them, they looked after us long enough.

Doesn't mean lockdown but it also doesn't mean we behave like we don't care which we are right now

I was just coming here to post about that disgraceful behaviour and say how it clearly shows level 3 or more is needed to curb these idiotic gatherings.

Every single person in the group is a moron, brain dead fools. Should all be expelled from their university. Not even an ounce of respect for the fact we are in the middle of a pandemic, can’t believe I’ve come in here to find someone defending it people really have lost the plot.

About 10 different people have WhatsApp’d me that pic and commenting how is an absolute disgrace. We need to give the guards power to hit these financially and the universities need to kick them out.m

The anti restriction posters really are blind and deaf to the situation we are in, pure selfish and don’t give a damn really that we simply should not be mixing with other people at all or they simply don’t understand how serious this virus is.

You are correct there. More and more young people don't give a damn about your continual nagging at them to suppress their lives indefinitely because you are not willing to suppress yours.

pjohnson wrote: »
    Then stop complaining about the economy. The young are having their fun regardless of the economic damage they cause so thats something to be thankfull for?

Young people aren’t doing any economic damage. Our government is doing all the damage

Hmmmm

OR

Where did i say lockdown was the answer?

You would need a “mass” of people supporting this to have a mass protest, the vast vast majority of people fully understand that the restrictions are necessary and fully support them. You only have a small number of clueless anti-restriction lunatics and the Gardai will stop their small protests fairly lively.

The tide has turned. Thanks to young people.

Hospital treatments are back on, but if the cases keep rising they will stop, so that is one reason for us to halt the spread.

Suicide also happens when love ones die, incase you haven't noticed. So far there is no rise in number of suicide death in 2020 compare to 2019.

Its our job to look after the vunlerable and our job to look after the elderly. They deserved that considering most of them work their hearts out to get us to college, to get us an education, given us an easier up bringing than they had.

Doesn't mean lockdown but it also doesn't mean we behave like we don't care which we are right now

No rise??? Where are you getting your figures from?? This will be interesting,

Young people aren’t doing any economic damage. Our government is doing all the damage

Keep dreaming mate. We are only in lockdown because we can't behave.

We can't follow guidelines like the Swedes, sure you are having house parties, not doing that in Sweden

The government have clearly shown when case numbers rise the level of restrictions will increase to match.

If these youths are to be celebrated for doing their part to keep numbers up then its only logical that ye also celebrate the consequences of their actions.

See its that old chestnut again "actions have consequences". The young people have their fun, everyone in the county gets the consequence as a result. If you celebrate the behaviour then accept the consequence.

The mess we are in now, is down to the people of our country and only us.
    We can help stop the spreading of the virus and if we lead by example we can avoid these restrictions and open up fully.

People keep saying the young need to get on with their lives, i agree but there won't be anything to get on with unless we get out of this mess and behaving the way we are won't solve this.

Right now instead of working together we working against each other.

It's interesting to see the change in some posters comments. Now that the youth of the country has decided that it's time to move on I have noticed a subtle change in the rhetoric from online posters and those in authority, from demanding to appealing.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭facehugger99

It's been clear for months that the Government are too cowardly to lead us out of this mess.

Widespread flouting of the 'restrictions' by young people is the only thing that will work.

I think we are starting to see more and more of this and I'm hopeful it will continue and escalate.

No rise??? Where are you getting your figures from?? This will be interesting,

Considering it takes up to six months to get a verdict on suicide, we are still in Sept. Virus is only here around 6 months

Sadly i went through it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

The economic damage has been caused by the government... if anything, the young getting on with life is helping the economy not damaging it!

It's interesting to see the change in some posters comments. Now that the youth of the country has decided that it's time to move on I have noticed a subtle change in the rhetoric from online posters and those in authority, from demanding to appealing.

I couldn't care less what the youth do, Covid has allowed me to get on with a higher quality of life.

I fear for other people though.

The young are tomorrow's economy. Remember that when you are collecting your pension.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭robbiezero

We can't follow guidelines like the Swedes, sure you are having house parties, not doing that in Sweden

So all countries with rising cases are due to people misbehaving?
    Apart from the Swedes.

What misbehaving are meat factory workers doing? Or health care workers?

We are in lock-down because our health service is a pile of ****. Cases were always going to rise with restrictions eased and schools back

The economic damage has been caused by the government... if anything, the young getting on with life is helping the economy not damaging it!

Really so the pubs and restaurants in Dublin are currently booming? Thats news to me. Really goes against the narrative of the supposed economic ruin that is so prevalent in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I couldn't care less what the youth do, Covid has allowed me to get on with a higher quality of life.

I fear for other people though.

And there you have it. Another selfish one who is making out like a bandit with lockdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,187 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

So far there is no rise in number of suicide death in 2020 compare to 2019.

What evidence are you basing that on?

The young are tomorrow's economy. Remember that when you are collecting your pension.

Then great. Why are complaining about the relics of the old economy then? The youth are leading us to a new economy.

What evidence are you basing that on?

Samaritans released a statement denying the scaremongering that there is a current rise in suicides.

robbiezero wrote: »
    So all countries with rising cases are due to people misbehaving?
    Apart from the Swedes.

What misbehaving are meat factory workers doing? Or health care workers?

We are in lock-down because our health service is a pile of ****. Cases were always going to rise with restrictions eased and schools back

All the cases we have are not made up from meat factories or health care workers. Now if we all isolate when in contact, cases would drop.

Cases were rising before kids when back to school.

Other countries are rising, but alot at a lower rate that Ireland when you compare populations.

So why are we rising at a quicker rate than Hungary are now where there is no social distancing or lockdown ?

And if some people behave as if they don't care is that not a result of restricting them until they were forced to that point? We could have handled this so much better if it had been admitted from the start that the old and vulnerable would have to be treated differently from everyone else. Treated as best as possible, but differently nonetheless. Instead it had to be the same treatment for all. For how long did you expect young people to go along with that?

Of course we can’t, sure we’re Irish. You really seem to hate the Irish. Serious chip on your shoulder.

I’ll continue to have house parties. As will thousands of students around the country, as will thousands of thirty-something’s around the country, as will thousands of fifty-somethings around the country.

We can see that the emperor has no clothes on. We aren’t under our beds thinking the virus is going to get us. We know “the next two weeks” aren’t “crucial”. We are getting on with life, and each week that passes, more and more people are getting onboard with this. Soon, thankfully, you and the rest of the chicken littles and mask zealots will be in the tiny minority. Will be interesting to see what cause you take up once the religious fervour of Covid has worn off.

Of course we can’t, sure we’re Irish. You really seem to hate the Irish. Serious chip on your shoulder.

I’ll continue to have house parties. As will thousands of students around the country, as will thousands of thirty-something’s around the country, as will thousands of fifty-somethings around the country.

We can see that the emperor has no clothes on. We aren’t under our beds thinking the virus is going to get us. We know “the next two weeks” aren’t “crucial”. We are getting on with life, and each week that passes, more and more people are getting onboard with this. Soon, thankfully, you and the rest of the chicken littles and mask zealots will be in the tiny minority. Will be interesting to see what cause you take up once the religious fervour of Covid has worn off.
    Then enjoy that certain businesses wont be able to open, you will cause businesses to collapse.

Maybe when the rates and mortgage breaks stop, people may have to grow up and focus on more than house parties.

robbiezero wrote: »
    And there you have it. Another selfish one who is making out like a bandit with lockdown.

Selfish is people who don't care about the old etc.

Lockdown is wrong but not caring about the people that looked after is pure selfish