Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part V - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users Posts: 24,934 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Well if I had a choice between Cancer or Covid , I’d pick Covid anyday.

Thankfully I’m really only interested as are the majority of people in exhibiting behavior that means I’m unlikely to get covid and hopefully cancer too.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Strumms wrote: »
    Thankfully I’m really only interested as are the majority of people in exhibiting behavior that means I’m unlikely to get covid and hopefully cancer too.

Subtle ostracisation of anyone that gets Covid - it’s your behaviours what done it and your own fault!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭road_high

So how to sit in a room...i’m out

• Registered Users Posts: 9,971 ✭✭✭normanoffside

L

Now over to how to learn how to host a tea party safely with Covid....

More fear now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

What an embarrassment of a national broadcaster.

Can every please stop paying their license fee and let them fold.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭bloopy

"We're not hyping fear, what are you talking about ya mentler"
    "Now here is a video on how should fear everything you do. Also some crazy person dinner party"

OCD TV

After highlighting people's anxiety in the first part, that 2nd part of the show was absolutely mental.
    Complete fearmongering.

After highlighting people's anxiety in the first part, that 2nd part of the show was absolutely mental.
    Complete fearmongering.

That last section was one of the weirdest things I've seen on RTE. There was a strange insanity to it.

bloopy wrote: »
    That last section was one of the weirdest things I've seen on RTE. There was a strange insanity to it.

If only we had all sanitised our hands before we touched the teapot we could have avoided the 2nd wave.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

road_high wrote: »
    Subtle ostracisation of anyone that gets Covid - it’s your behaviours what done it and your own fault!

Nothing subtle at all about it.
    They basically said in an earlier post that...careless people get Covid!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

https://twitter.com/eddiehoarefg/status/1310697801211351040?s=21

Literally using groups of young people socialising outdoors as justification for level 3...they’re doing this all the time behind closed doors.
    Where is the actual data justifying increased restrictions?
    How many hospitalisations are in Galway currently?
    How many ICU beds are taken up with Covid?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,934 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

road_high wrote: »

You want to swing that interpretation on it fine and dandy ;)

Many people get it as a result of the behavior of others and not themselves. Many too get it due to their own negligence.... being needy pricks and disassociating their want and needs from what’s ‘right’

It’s the (others) that are the issue, the ones determined to continue life as normal when things are as abnormal as they’ve been since about the start of last century...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,297 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

We're not a herd for a start. A term normally used for animals.

were not crystalised solid water either, but sometimes some of us can be awful snowflakes...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Many people get it as a result of the behavior of others and not themselves. Many too get it due to their own negligence.... being needy pricks and disassociating their want and needs from what’s ‘right’

It’s the (others) that are the issue, the ones determined to continue life as normal when things are as abnormal as they’ve been since about the start of last century...
    I think if multiple posters see what your saying its hardly putting an interpretation on it when its quite clear what your stating.

Both of your points still come back to negligence and how it has to be someones fault. The blame game or in your words "Needy pricks".

Christ no wonder people would be reluctant to come forward for testing with this sort of attitude being prevelant.

So much for everyone being in this together with posts that are condescending like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Sick pf the likes of that post by the councillor, just to try and boost his own profile! Get back to blocking housing and making traffic worse you absolute dose!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭patnor1011

It can be also said that people (like you for example) who require others to behave in a way that they will not pose risk to them are needy pricks too.

There is a way to be "safe" if you so strongly desire that. Start cocooning, cease all unnecessary contacts with other people and wait it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,739 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I really should stop listening to the radio in the morning.

- next 2 weeks are critical
    - more counties being threatened with lockdown
    - rolling restrictions for at least the next 6 months (with notifications from the Indo and IT to reinforce it)
    - selective statistics from hospitals
    - another interview with the small number of people who suffer after effects of infection
    - businesses under threat

.. And that's only in an hour! It's no wonder many are terrified of this virus. You'd think it was a flesh eating bacteria from all this, not the non-issue it is for 95% of the population.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,383 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Lundstram wrote: »
    What an embarrassment of a national broadcaster.

Can every please stop paying their license fee and let them fold.

Licence inspector doing the rounds here lately
    Actually considered putting tv in ahed for a few months

• Registered Users Posts: 28,739 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

From the Indo..
    Asked about what happens next if Dublin and Donegal manage to bring the virus under control, Dr Glynn said: "If you are asking, do we go back to normal after this, no we won't. We will have to continue to suppress this.

"I don't believe there is an alternative strategy as things stand. Things can change. There is unbelievable work going on in terms of treatments, vaccines and different types of tests. But we are not quite there yet.

"I hope news of that will evolve between now and Christmas but ­ultimately I think we are looking at a six- to nine-month timeframe here."

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/rolling-lockdowns-a-way-of-life-for-up-to-nine-months-as-more-counties-suffer-rise-in-covid-19-cases-39571393.html

There you have it folks. Our unelected, out-of-his-depth, medical overlord has no interest in getting the country back to normal, and is so suffering from tunnel vision that he can't see any alternative to the current hugely damaging "strategy", pinning all his efforts on a vaccine that may not arrive for years if at all.

And this is the guy advising a weak fractured Government that is so poor it has Eamon Ryan as a minister :rolleyes: so no leadership or real pushback expected there!

How long before we start seeing Irish Water-style mass protests I wonder, because I think what we've seen already will only increase as the financial, social and mental health impacts get worse over the next few months

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

- rolling restrictions for at least the next 6 months (with notifications from the Indo and IT to reinforce it)
    - another interview with the small number of people who suffer after effects of infection

.. And that's only in an hour! It's no wonder many are terrified of this virus. You'd think it was a flesh eating bacteria from all this, not the non-issue it is for 95% of the population.

Irish media, and RTE in particular, only trade in fear now.
    It is easy and cheap news.

https://twitter.com/eddiehoarefg/status/1310697801211351040?s=21

Literally using groups of young people socialising outdoors as justification for level 3...they’re doing this all the time behind closed doors.
    Where is the actual data justifying increased restrictions?
    How many hospitalisations are in Galway currently?
    How many ICU beds are taken up with Covid?

I was just coming here to post about that disgraceful behaviour and say how it clearly shows level 3 or more is needed to curb these idiotic gatherings.

Every single person in the group is a moron, brain dead fools. Should all be expelled from their university. Not even an ounce of respect for the fact we are in the middle of a pandemic, can’t believe I’ve come in here to find someone defending it people really have lost the plot.

About 10 different people have WhatsApp’d me that pic and commenting how is an absolute disgrace. We need to give the guards power to hit these financially and the universities need to kick them out.m

The anti restriction posters really are blind and deaf to the situation we are in, pure selfish and don’t give a damn really that we simply should not be mixing with other people at all or they simply don’t understand how serious this virus is.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

From the Indo..

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/rolling-lockdowns-a-way-of-life-for-up-to-nine-months-as-more-counties-suffer-rise-in-covid-19-cases-39571393.html

There you have it folks. Our unelected, out-of-his-depth, medical overlord has no interest in getting the country back to normal, and is so suffering from tunnel vision that he can't see any alternative to the current hugely damaging "strategy", pinning all his efforts on a vaccine that may not arrive for years if at all.

And this is the guy advising a weak fractured Government that is so poor it has Eamon Ryan as a minister :rolleyes: so no leadership or real pushback expected there!

How long before we start seeing Irish Water-style mass protests I wonder, because I think what we've seen already will only increase as the financial, social and mental health impacts get worse over the next few months

I'd say he means in the context of if/when Dublin & Donegal come out of level 3 and back to level 2 that people shouldn't change their behaviour because they'll just end up back in level 3 again if everyone goes about their business as normal.

Things will eventually go back to normal after a vaccine hopefully

You would need a “mass” of people supporting this to have a mass protest, the vast vast majority of people fully understand that the restrictions are necessary and fully support them. You only have a small number of clueless anti-restriction lunatics and the Gardai will stop their small protests fairly lively.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

patnor1011 wrote: »
    It can be also said that people (like you for example) who require others to behave in a way that they will not pose risk to them are needy pricks too.

There is a way to be "safe" if you so strongly desire that. Start cocooning, cease all unnecessary contacts with other people and wait it out.

The mess we are in now, is down to the people of our country and only us.
    We can help stop the spreading of the virus and if we lead by example we can avoid these restrictions and open up fully.

People keep saying the young need to get on with their lives, i agree but there won't be anything to get on with unless we get out of this mess and behaving the way we are won't solve this.

Right now instead of working together we working against each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

I was just coming here to post about that disgraceful behaviour and say how it clearly shows level 3 or more is needed to curb these idiotic gatherings.

Every single person in the group is a moron, brain dead fools. Should all be expelled from their university. Not even an ounce of respect for the fact we are in the middle of a pandemic, can’t believe I’ve come in here to find someone defending it people really have lost the plot.

About 10 different people have WhatsApp’d me that pic and commenting how is an absolute disgrace. We need to give the guards power to hit these financially and the universities need to kick them out.m

The anti restriction posters really are blind and deaf to the situation we are in, pure selfish and don’t give a damn really that we simply should not be mixing with other people at all or they simply don’t understand how serious this virus is.

Is level 3 good enough punishment for that behaviour. Should level 4 be considered? City only or the full county?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And all this after another day of zero deaths. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,849 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Zebra3 wrote: »
    And all this after another day of zero deaths. :rolleyes:

Is it zero deaths because we blocked off the elderly from the real world?
    Is it zero deaths because I can't take a parent out of a nursing home to see her grand children?

Is the zero deaths because elderly can't mind their grand children after school when they want to?

Do we just continue to imprison the vulnerable people and not help them at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Is it zero deaths because we blocked off the elderly from the real world?
    Is it zero deaths because I can't take a parent out of a nursing home to see her grand children?

Is the zero deaths because elderly can't mind their grand children after school when they want to?

Do we just continue to imprison the vulnerable people and not help them at all?

Will it be zero deaths from cancer as cancer screening times get pushed out?

Will it be zero deaths from suicide as they economy continues to crumble?

Vulnerable people need to look after themselves regardless of whether or not the economy is open or closed.