Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

Murphy didn’t exactly serve his time either in a lot of people’s views. He was afforded extra remission despite the fact he never once showed remorse and he never completed any rehabilitation courses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

Putinbot wrote: »
    Mod- 4ensic15 do not post here again. Reason trolling.

Also drop the Larry Murphy stuff. Mr.Murphy was found guilty of one crime and served his time. If you want to slander and defame the man go do it on a blog somewhere but don't do it here.

Why are you defending that animal?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

Also drop the Larry Murphy stuff. Mr.Murphy was found guilty of one crime and served his time. If you want to slander and defame the man go do it on a blog somewhere but don't do it here.

Lol... defamation as in referring to a situation where a comment, statement or publication hurts a person's reputation? Larry Murphys reputation shall not be sullied under my watch I tells ye!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I will add my disgust at the mod post too .No one slandered Murphy he ruined his reputation all by himself . Talk about over modding

Yes Mam, I understand what you're saying, you're right that could be the reason, I didn't think of it that way... Yes, following it 'live' had a lot to do with how it would affect some ..... It was kinda like watching a movie and hoping for a different outcome.

Thats true , we all watched and hoped and wished all would be well and then felt a deep loss when the story broke .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

**** yourself dry

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

Read an article today from female journalist saying women in Ireland are terrified of crime and men need to do something. Well I, and no man can help someone who is so full of fear and paranoia. My suggestion would turn the internet off since it bombards you with negativity. This is a horrible crime but It's hardly normal in Ireland.

Btw men are far more likely to be attacked and murdered but those cases rarely get the same amount of media coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Read an article today from female journalist saying women in Ireland are terrified of crime and men need to do something. Well I, and no man can help someone who is so full of fear and paranoia. My suggestion would turn the internet off since it bombards you with negativity. This is a horrible crime but It's hardly normal in Ireland.

Btw men are far more likely to be attacked and murdered but those cases rarely get the same amount of media coverage.

Yes I often wonder why the inner city feud got no media coverage. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Yes I often wonder why the inner city feud got no media coverage. :rolleyes:

There's a lad found dead in a field this morning and only the smallest snippet in the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Putting all the bickering, criminal psycho analysing and other stuff on this thread aside, and even thoughts or reference to her killer and even the circumstances of her death stop for a minute and think about this time last week when so many lives changed for ever, most importantly think of Jastine and her parents and Grandmother who seems to be, to some, just a side character

I saw the scenes in Enniskerry when they played this song and it is utterly heartbreaking.

200812281_Jastine-Valdez-in-the-snow-Taken-from-Jaz-Valdez-Facebook-page-696x503.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Ann22 wrote: »
    He served the time he was given but imo he should still be behind bars and never get out for what he did to that girl. It was only by chance that she was saved. He fully intended to kill her. 'Mr' Murphy my arse.

I don't think he was convicted of attempted murder, 'only' kidnapping, assault and rape, which would be reason he was only given 10 years or whatever. Insane he couldn't be found guilty of attempted murder, that was clearly his intent. One wonders if he 'had form'. A life sentence would have been appropriate.

Probably the reason for him being mentioned in this thread - the disappeared women, some of whom look like they were killed by a serial killer, and the possibility that this person (real or imagined) also being the perpetrator of one of these high-profile cases. One hopes that if there was a serial killer, that Mark Hennessey was the one responsible, though I think it's probably unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

pablo128 wrote: »
    There's a lad found dead in a field this morning and only the smallest snippet in the news.

It's on the front page of the RTE news. The first story after the referendum. Same goes for the Irish Times and Irish Independent sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

I don't think he was convicted of attempted murder, 'only' kidnapping, assault and rape, which would be reason he was only given 10 years or whatever. Insane he couldn't be found guilty of attempted murder, that was clearly his intent. One wonders if he 'had form'. A life sentence would have been appropriate.

Probably the reason for him being mentioned in this thread - the disappeared women, some of whom look like they were killed by a serial killer, and the possibility that this person (real or imagined) also being the perpetrator of one of these high-profile cases. One hopes that if there was a serial killer, that Mark Hennessey was the one responsible, though I think it's probably unlikely.

He was convicted of attempting to murder. (amongst the rest of the crimes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,118 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

There but for the grace of God....

We seldom think of the innocent relatives of those who do monstrous things...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/god-help-the-hennessys-please-jastine-valdez-killer-cremated-after-ceremony-1.3510035

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Lovely words from his father. Very touching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭DMcL1971

Well said Tom. I feel very sorry for the Hennessy family, being left to deal with the horrendous legacy he has left them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Im happy to see the gofundme page appears to be hitting 150k soon

Its not compensation of any kind but its a gesture from people and it will help her family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,144 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Putting all the bickering, criminal psycho analysing and other stuff on this thread aside, and even thoughts or reference to her killer and even the circumstances of her death stop for a minute and think about this time last week when so many lives changed for ever, most importantly think of Jastine and her parents and Grandmother who seems to be, to some, just a side character

I saw the scenes in Enniskerry when they played this song and it is utterly heartbreaking.

200812281_Jastine-Valdez-in-the-snow-Taken-from-Jaz-Valdez-Facebook-page-696x503.jpg

I can't stop thinking about Jastine, such a sweet and innocent girl. I'm gutted for her she had to go through that and gutted for her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ginandtonicsky

LOL at "Mr Murphy"!!

I suppose it's "Mr. Bundy" and "Mr. Hitler" too then! Get a f%&king grip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Mod-Redacted, read the thread title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭Brae100

A deranged man suffering a psychotic episode kills someone. If he shouts Allahu Akbar it's a once off. If he's white, the same people will say that it's evidence of toxic masculinity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

DMcL1971 wrote: »
    Well said Tom. I feel very sorry for the Hennessy family, being left to deal with the horrendous legacy he has left them all.

It’s just horrendous. How can they even truly grieve? They will feel shame and guilt even though they did nothing wrong.
    I hope people will understand that they are victims too.
    Unfortunately I fear there are many really nasty people who will scorn and shame them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Why would anybody (100 people??) go to his funeral mass?

Should have been fed to the lions in Phoenix Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

And there we have it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

He's been cremated. They should flush his ashes down the toilet.

And there we have it...

Have what?

The only person responsible for his actions is him.

However, anybody who attended his funeral made an error in judgement which for their own sake I hope they later regret.

He doesn't deserve anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭juneg

Have what?

However, anybody who attended his funeral made an error in judgement which for their own sake I hope they later regret.

People usually attend funerals out of respect and compassion for the family without knowing the deceased personally. It's a sign of support for the family. They had a short 15 min service and he was cremated. The family have had their world turned upside down too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

To support his innocent family and friends? He's dead, there's nothing can be done with him, but he destroyed that poor young woman's family and his own with it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Have what?

Maybe others deserve something , His mother , his father and his family are allowed grieve and feel pain .Its not up to you to judge a family in turmoil . Read his fathers speech and then think about his pain .They are allowed this moment to grieve and remember that people were there to comfort and support them and reach out to a family who are broken

in a moving eulogy, dad Michael revealed the family’s heartache following his 40-year-old son’s “sudden and unexpected” death after being shot by armed gardai last Sunday.

He told the congregation: “For the past week I have been waking every morning to see my darling sweetheart wife broken, broken.

I look at my sons and my daughters and they’re broken.

“I look at Mark’s uncles and auntie, cousins, nephews, nieces and his beautiful, beautiful daughters and they’re broken and I can’t fix them.

“To all of the people who have come here today, and to all of the people who have come through our home, offering the shake of a hand, a cuddle, peck on the cheek, words of encouragement . . .

“Thank you for coming into this nightmare to help us, because you have helped us so much more.

“To every single person on this planet who has had a kind thought for us, thank you, thank you.”

A second address by a female relative offered words of comfort for the heartbroken parents of tragic Jastine.

Wibbs wrote: »
    To support his innocent family and friends? He's dead, there's nothing can be done with him, but he destroyed that poor young woman's family and his own with it.

Personally, I think you show respect to the victims family by not attending anything in his name.

Burn him and dump him.