Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Alpha Male - does he really exist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

There's no Alpha and Omega, just Nintendo and Sega

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

begbysback wrote: »
    There's no Alpha and Omega, just Nintendo and Sega

I believe you mean Atari Jaguar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Check out that hunk, he's such a Dreamcast.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 193 ✭✭21Savage

Hardly. There is far more variety in "tastes" on the continent, where, for example, skinny guys can be just as popular as athletic guys. Ever spent any time in Italy?

The point is that what is considered less than attractive here in Ireland can be seen as attractive in other countries. And they often are. The populations are higher, and there are more opportunities to meet people with varied interests.

The exotic advantage is dying unless you're in the back of the beyond. You're more likely to be hit with the perception that westerners have a higher income potential than local guys, than being exotic.

Okay I get your point tbf, Ireland is more along the American model. If you put a guy like Groncowski(Low inhibition fun loving american football alpha male) and put him in Ireland with a Leinster jacket and shorts he would pull like crazy.(He's not a fashionable guy if you're not familiar with him( In Paris he would most likely be the source of ridicule and embarrassment and any high class girl worth her salt wouldn't be caught dead with him. However, these skinny guys will often have an attractive face. Maybe that's why Irish women preference body because Irish males don't look very good facially.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

I don't even know how this type of attitude developed amongst broads in Ireland. Sure I can understand a dimepiece in SoCal being all high and mighty about her looks and only going for bros who are swole and alpha af.

But in Ireland? Seriously?

Most of the chicks here think they look like svelt and sexy minks. In reality they look more like bucktooth beavers with frumpy arses. Dunno where the attitude comes from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭valoren

The whole thing is a mental framework and reminds me of the quote from Man on Fire, "There is no such thing as tough. You're either trained or untrained". We as a species are far too complex to warrant simplistic, narrow minded definitions.

To take the framework of being 'alpha' implies to be the leader in just about any subjective experience or situation available to humans. You could be the 'alpha' of a pub quiz team because you're intelligent with superb general knowledge where everyone defers to you for final answer, but an hour later your mate Paul and not you scored a smooch and a date but he unlike you doesn't know his Beethoven from his Bionics. The status thing is incredibly interchangeable.

You might compare Dwayne Johnson and Bill Gates and using an alpha/beta comparison conclude that The Rock is Alpha.

Yet a phone call from Gates, if he was so inclined, could realistically invoke a series of events that could financially ruin Johnson with irreparable damage made to his career. While 300 pounds of muscle Johnson could physically crush a pipsqueak like Gates, him being a billionaire to Johnson's millionaire status just turns the tide and shows how stupid it is to label humans, the dominant species on the planet, with badges of status such as Alpha and Beta. Like Don Corleone in The Godfather, he could order people killed but bring Luca Brasi in to meet him to thank him personally for a wedding invite and The 'Don' is shaking like a leaf the entire time.

That's in terms of power (physical and social) but alpha in terms of sexuality is interesting and I think where the whole cult of that belongs and going back to the whole 'trained/untrained' quote, you're either good at attracting people, getting laid or you can learn to become good at it. Mileage and quality may vary.

I don't even know how this type of attitude developed amongst broads in Ireland. Sure I can understand a dimepiece in SoCal being all high and mighty about her looks and only going for bros who are swole and alpha af.

But in Ireland? Seriously?

Most of the chicks here think they look like svelt and sexy minks. In reality they look more like bucktooth beavers with frumpy arses. Dunno where the attitude comes from?

I actually think Irish girls are attractive.

21Savage wrote: »
    Okay I get your point tbf, Ireland is more along the American model. If you put a guy like Groncowski(Low inhibition fun loving american football alpha male) and put him in Ireland with a Leinster jacket and shorts he would pull like crazy.(He's not a fashionable guy if you're not familiar with him( In Paris he would most likely be the source of ridicule and embarrassment and any high class girl worth her salt wouldn't be caught dead with him. However, these skinny guys will often have an attractive face. Maybe that's why Irish women preference body because Irish males don't look very good facially.

The problem I find with your stance is that it's all physical. Physical appearance, fashion, looking the part, etc.

However, I have learned that there are three sides to dating. The first is easily dismissed since it relates to people seeking anybody for a serious relationship leading to marriage. They tend to have their own criteria for a partner set before they even meet the person. The second and third though are different.

The second being the "play" factor. Usually, that revolves are "fun" and/or sex. The physical is definitely a strong contender to determine that, and yet, I've gone through periods of excessive casual dating, and I'm definitely not a poster child for attractiveness/sexiness. (I'm tall, skinny, bad teeth and a shaking disorder). Personality, knowledge, empathy, and humor tend to carry the day for me. And luck. Luck is an incredible factor in all of this.

Lastly, though there is the dating which is gentler. The slower development of dating mixed with friendship with sex coming later. Usually, personality is what determines this. Physical Attractiveness does often set the hook, but it's the non-physical aspects that keep the relationship going.

The thing is that I've never been able to trade on my looks to be successful with women. I turned to the NLP/Speed seduction side of things. Not exactly the PUA scene that attracts so many red pill or alpha mates (although some do turn up, but disappear later). I went sarging with Ross Jeffries, Neil Strauss, and a host of the "experts" on dating out in London on numerous nights, and the focus was never on someones (our) appearance. It was on the language we used, the tonality, the respect we gave to the women we met, etc. [Although some of those guys did turn to more the more aggressive PUA scene later in their seminars]

I think people focus too much on the physical side of attractiveness a bit too much. In my experience, making a woman comfortable to be with you, while keeping an electric current of fun or anticipation works wonders. There's always going to be some women who will never be interested in me, but I am very satsfied with the percetages that are... ;)

This Alpha Male thingy reminds me too much of the PUA and Seduction.Alt.Fast crowd. Just too extreme. Like drinking four energy drinks and thumping your chest. :D
    21Savage wrote: »
    I actually think Irish girls are attractive.

Many Irish women are extremely attractive. But I tend to prefer slim women, and that generally doesn't include a lot of the Irish girls I see around. Whereas my Italian friend loves the way Irish girls are physically, and can't get enough of them. Everyone has their own perceptions of what is attractive.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Desolate Valley

The brutal truth is that if you lost out in the looks game, you’re ****ed. Height, confidence and humour are worthless without the face (though you’ll probably have plenty of female friends).

In the old days you’d have married your looksmatch but now female hypergamy means a male 5 will have to settle for a female 3. You will NEVER have access to top tier or even mid tier women if you’re plain. If legit ugly you will likely never find a mate and you will end your life as a genetic failure. Expect to hear more on this in the coming decades as western civilisation reaches crisis point with so many men failing to find mates or even lose their virginity.

Conversely, if you are female, you are living in a golden age where you can have your pick of the alphas without leaving your home, via Tinder. Even plain women will have access to men well beyond their traditional looks potential.

Sorry to drop the black pill but the sooner some realise this the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

There is a guy called LMS who makes excellent videos on the subject, you can find them on youtube.

Stick around til Sunday morning and you'll see them all over After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Anyone else had their posts deleted out of this thread? Two of mine have gone poof for no reason I can think of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Anyone else had their posts deleted out of this thread? Two of mine have gone poof for no reason I can think of

Are you a cuck, bro?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Are you a cuck, bro?

That's a legit beta question, dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Are you a cuck, bro?

Not the last time I checked it was still there buddy-bro,though I think I'll be giving boards a permanent hiatus this time

How many legit successful puas are out there? The only one I can believe in is Paul Janka, a Harvard graduate with model tier looks.

Go with Ross Jeffries, the "Godfather" of the Speed Seduction scene. An ugly older Jewish American guy, who even when he was young wasn't very good looking, and he did very well for himself. No props. No disrespecting women. NLP, pacing, tonality, balancing inner states, etc. He also taught most of the major "players" teaching this stuff. Well past his sell by date now, but His technique/attitude still works perfectly.

On the off chance, you'd like something more balanced, check out Kim McFarland And Tom Vizzini. They approached the NLP/Speed Seduction side of things for dating and improving relationships. Less about getting laid, and more about generating measurable rapport. [Excellent explanations and approaches to anchoring too]

The problem with the PUA scene is that it's been taken over by loud-mouthed muppets who are more into peacocking, and neg-hitting than actually learning any skills in making a woman happy to be with them. It's all about the quick close, without any consideration about the woman herself. It's truly sad how deep into the gutter the Speed seduction community has fallen by embracing the PUA scene, and often mingling with the Red Pill community.

Sad. Just sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

''The brutal truth is that if you lost out in the looks game, you’re ****ed.''

100%, this doesn't just apply to the dating and mating game either, there are people whose faces 'don't fit' and are not on the guestlist to get into Club Vida, people who are mocked or smirked about everywhere they go from the schoolyard to the workplace to the supermarket and have to endure a life that's something out of a Monty Python sketch.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The immaturity, sexism, jealousy and bitterness from a few (male) posters on this thread that I started is pathetic. Really pathetic.

Get a grip lads. Or are you actually 13 years of age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

Chicks Broads have I entered a bad B 1930’s movie???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭NollagShona

Dapper Laughs wannabes in this thread lol

Can’t imagine they know what a real woman even looks like, they are glued to their computer screen so long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I have a face like a gangrenous baboon but I'm still out here living my best life to the max and killing it 24/7 on a consistent basis.

Any bros out there that doubt this should come to my seminar. If you follow the life advice I give you I guarantee you'll be a major league clunge magnet in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

I can no longer distinguish the pisstakes from the earnest posts. I'm impressed by the sheer magnitude of nonsense. It has transcended ridicule.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,192 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And you pua guys are delusional at best and snake oil sellers at worst.
    I would agree. PUA is mostly nonsense. I say mostly as like any popular idea there are kernels of truth in the middle, but taken to ridiculous extremes. Plus it's self selecting for a particular kind of woman(and man) that it may work on and for. It also has cultural biases. It's most certainly a numbers game as any of the honest PUA guys will admit. The companies and "gurus" pimping their books videos and seminars(boot camps) spoofing mostly vulnerable young men that no matter who they are or what they look like it'll work for them are exploitative repellent bastards to a man. Most of their "evidence" for successes are steps with paid models or the "guru" doing the picking up is an attractive man in the first place. Men can be notoriously bad at seeing attractive features in other men beyond the obvious Pierce Brosnan/Brad Pitt level, so usually miss this. And the more isolated and desperate the man is the more they want to believe it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,871 ✭✭✭buried

Chicks Broads have I entered a bad B 1930’s movie???

"Send dose dames ova ta Frankie Alpha in da speakeasy, den send da rest a da hooch ova ta Jimmy Beta's weyyahouse, don forget ta get da dough off dat lousy Jimmy Beta bastid"

"Shuuuwwa tiiing Boss"

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Probably because they were quoting the deleted posts of a banned rereg.

There is a certain prolific rereg that is attracted to threads like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

If you think you can read a book or watch a youtube clip to help attract women you've bigger problems than your looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's up there with sitting on the sofa eating pizza watching weight loss shows:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Some of the bros in this thread are so negative it hurts me in the gut. I know a man isn't supposed to cry but it's hard not to shed a tear when I see a daddio getting upset about a broad and talking so much jive.

It doesn't matter how you look it's how much game you bring that counts. I've got more game than one of those knockoff Gameboy Colors with 500 games built in. I straight up look like a gremlin with leprosy but I get more ass than a donkey sanctuary.

Irish Guitarist; truly the Shakespeare of his own time and place. :D

Wibbs wrote: »
    I would agree. PUA is mostly nonsense. I say mostly as like any popular idea there are kernels of truth in the middle, but taken to ridiculous extremes. Plus it's self selecting for a particular kind of woman(and man) that it may work on and for. It also has cultural biases. It's most certainly a numbers game as any of the honest PUA guys will admit. The companies and "gurus" pimping their books videos and seminars(boot camps) spoofing mostly vulnerable young men that no matter who they are or what they look like it'll work for them are exploitative repellent bastards to a man. Most of their "evidence" for successes are steps with paid models or the "guru" doing the picking up is an attractive man in the first place. Men can be notoriously bad at seeing attractive features in other men beyond the obvious Pierce Brosnan/Brad Pitt level, so usually miss this. And the more isolated and desperate the man is the more they want to believe it.

The problem with PUA is that most people are looking for instant results. There's little desire to learn and develop skills to help with their interactions with the opposite gender. Instead, the focus is on the appearance (being the pimp), targeting the weaker or damaged people, and generally being dishonest. Memorized phrases or pickup lines are used which don't reflect the person using them, and generally show the user up to be a muppet.

However, in the background, there are practical and useful disciplines to develop which will improve your interactions significantly. Most of it revolves around the areas of NLP, body language, and self-improvement. The problem with all of these areas is that it takes commitment and time to apply them to your personality.

I get that there is very little respect for PUA here on Boards. I've seen the PUA posters come online, regurgitating the material they've memorized and it is cringe-worthy.

But... the areas of anchoring, pacing, controlled tonality, identifying key language repetition do work and will improve the rapport you have with others. Affirmations and self-hypnosis to balance your own state and to remove insecurities.

TBH I'm immensely glad I found the Speed Seduction area when I did.(just over 20 years ago). It made me realize that I wasn't stuck with the mannerisms/knowledge I'd picked up while growing up in Ireland. That I could remove the hangups or negative traits I'd picked up, and increase my confidence. It also opened up the areas of psychology, NLP, meditation, Hypnosis, etc etc etc.

Lastly, I also understand that most here will roll their eyes and dismiss what I've said as rubbish. That's because most of you are unwilling to learn any of these techniques. It's easy to dismiss what you don't understand, and yes, unless you've actually performed anchoring, you really have no real conception of its effectiveness. Perhaps, you're already successful in dating, or you just don't care. But these techniques are there for those people who aren't happy with the status quo. Who don't want to rely on their appearance, and wish to improve their ability to communicate effectively.

PUA is not everything. There are more avenues towards improving your dating/relationshp experiences without turning to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Ye all bruhs should lift. Straight up good for the cranium. Sh1t's like crack yo.

Hollar at a chicka like you 'bout to steel-a. She'll dig that confidence bro. Don't be scared homie, toot that whistle. She might let you brush that bristle.

Tell her how you feel. Straight from the heart. She gunna fall for your aortic ejaculations. Worked for me bruhs. I went from an empty Pringles box and two sponges, to getting regularly tested after them soft pocket plunges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

If you try to approach a Dimepiece without any kind of plan, you will inevitably fall victim to her impenetrable Bitch Shield.

The correct technique is to ensure you have a wingman in place; one who has already infiltrated the power plant which powers the Bitch Shield, and disabled the generators.

I believe the power plant is concealed somewhere on the forest moon of Endor.

B0jangles wrote: »
    I believe the power plant is concealed somewhere on the forest moon of Endor.

One does not simply 'infiltrate' the forest moon of Endor. Its black gates are guarded by more than just her 'besties'. There is evil there that does not sleep. And the great Eye of her one true bestie is ever watchful.

It is a barren wasteland. Riddled with failed hopes and dreams and God knows what else. The very air you breathe is a poisonous perfume. Not with ten wingmen could you do this. It is folly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Ye all bruhs should lift. Straight up good for the cranium. Sh1t's like crack yo.

Hollar at a chicka like you 'bout to steel-a. She'll dig that confidence bro. Don't be scared homie, toot that whistle. She might let you brush that bristle.

Tell her how you feel. Straight from the heart. She gunna fall for your aortic ejaculations. Worked for me bruhs. I went from an empty Pringles box and two sponges, to getting regularly tested after them soft pocket plunges.

Have you been under a lot of stress lately?...

dd972 wrote: »
    Have you been under a lot of stress lately?...

Sure, I squat heavy bruh. Gotta push outward. You too busy stayin in the same lane, you never gettin that gain.

Map your goals out. I'm lifting for 6 months now and I'm seeing progress. If you too busy posting on forums, you're gonna be at a loss. Get out there, lift heavy and get a sample of nature's pink candyfloss.

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Sure, I squat heavy bruh. Gotta push outward. You too busy stayin in the same lane, you never gettin that gain.

Map your goals out. I'm lifting for 6 months now and I'm seeing progress. If you too busy posting on forums, you're gonna be at a loss. Get out there, lift heavy and get a sample of nature's pink candyfloss.

Bullhorn, is that you?

full.png

Tell her she has shiny lips if you want :facepalm:

And there goes any chance of anyone accepting what I said earlier. :D

Fourier wrote: »
    Why are there all these special techniques for attracting and interacting with women, you'd swear they were aliens. "Only adopt a relaxed posture after she has signaled her value re-balancing, immediately after increase testosterone production by 4.23%" There's no evidence for any of this stuff.

Yup, no evidence because I'm hoping you just made that stuff up. I've never heard anyone speak like that in relation to this stuff.

But there is as much evidence for NLP as many accepted Psychological facts, and NLP is the basis for a lot of the Anchoring, pacing, body-language related disciplines/theories. Ever heard Richard Bandler talk about hypnosis and trance states?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

But there is as much evidence for NLP as many accepted Psychological facts, and NLP is the basis for a lot of the Anchoring, pacing, body-language related disciplines/theories. Ever heard Richard Bandler talk about hypnosis and trance states?
    Many psychological "facts" in fact have very poor evidence scientifically and are simply widely known/popular. NLP has very little evidence in its favour, any short google search will produce multiple scientific bodies refuting it, its Wikipedia article has section running through why it is considered pseudoscience.

Here is an example metastudy in medicine:
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3481516/

That's not to say aspects of it are not correct/true and simply buried in the "random noise" of psychology experiments, but science has never proven that they really cause a systematic effect beyond random luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,844 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

1. "You have a shiny nose."

2. ???

3. Home alone.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

so many tragic snowflakes around thesedays who get alll upset and offended at the slighetst thing and young lads who dress the same as young girls with skintight jeans i doubt it....tragic

Many psychological "facts" in fact have very poor evidence scientifically and are simply widely known/popular. NLP has very little evidence in its favour, any short google search will produce multiple scientific bodies refuting it, its Wikipedia article has section running through why it is considered pseudoscience.

Here is an example metastudy in medicine:
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3481516/

That's not to say aspects of it are not correct/true and simply buried in the "random noise" of psychology experiments, but science has never proven that they really cause a systematic effect beyond random luck.

Oh, I'm not disagreeing with you. Hence why I pointed to psychology. I know it's not "proven" from a modern scientific perspective. The vast majority of areas relating to consciousness & the subconscious aren't.

But Hypnosis works. So too do various levels of trance for the planting of suggestions. It works in marketing, advertising, and sales. I also know it works personally.

But I would suggest going on Youtube and watch/listen to Bandler talking about Hypnosis & NLP. It's very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭valoren

All these techniques/routines are nothing but manipulation simple as that. Going through a intensely mental routine is an insult to anyone who finds themselves on the receiving end (e.g. make sure you mildly insult them in a nice way to show how 'alpha' you are, it increases your status....ffs). Reading that list of what to do reads completely sociopathic to me. It sounds like a slog, a complete blind alley.

Where it's a numbers game then it's dealing with rejection that is utmost not scripted banter. That's the key for most....the reality that not everyone will be receptive, not everyone will like you either but that's irrelevant. It can be soul crushing to get rejected but the trick if there is one is to keep trying but to keep trying while actually genuinely enjoying yourself. Many give up to that end and get bitter. Nothing is better for confidence than enjoyment. And if you are sincere enough to want to find a partner then confidence via enjoyment will win out. Otherwise you're just someone looking to validate themselves using manipulation.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Emailaddress

valoren wrote: »
    All these techniques/routines are nothing but manipulation simple as that. Going through a intensely mental routine is an insult to anyone who finds themselves on the receiving end (e.g. make sure you mildly insult them in a nice way to show how 'alpha' you are, it increases your status....ffs). Reading that list of what to do reads completely sociopathic to me. It sounds like a slog, a complete blind alley.

Where it's a numbers game then it's dealing with rejection that is utmost not scripted banter. That's the key for most....the reality that not everyone will be receptive, not everyone will like you either but that's irrelevant. It can be soul crushing to get rejected but the trick if there is one is to keep trying but to keep trying while actually genuinely enjoying yourself. Many give up to that end and get bitter. Nothing is better for confidence than enjoyment. And if you are sincere enough to want to find a partner then confidence via enjoyment will win out. Otherwise you're just someone looking to validate themselves using manipulation.

It's not a slog at all, you are simply building good habits, habits that will come naturally so you are in the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Oh, I'm not disagreeing with you. Hence why I pointed to psychology. I know it's not "proven" from a modern scientific perspective. The vast majority of areas relating to consciousness & the subconscious aren't.

But Hypnosis works. So too do various levels of trance for the planting of suggestions. It works in marketing, advertising, and sales. I also know it works personally.

But I would suggest going on Youtube and watch/listen to Bandler talking about Hypnosis & NLP. It's very interesting.
    As you say, hypnosis certainly does work, it has been scientifically proven. NLP has not, as you also said.

As science has shown little related to "consciousness & the subconscious" as you said, all we can go on is our own heuristics and experiences, so I'm not going to criticise you for that, as you may in fact be right.

Thanks for the discussion.

These lads are a complete joke. How can a lady possibly find these vanity queens/completely into themselves types to be attractive? I always question the psyche of the woman that actually gets with these type of airheads.

They are generally like minded :)

As you say, hypnosis certainly does work, it has been scientifically proven. NLP has not, as you also said.

And yet, in many US states, it is still illegal to advertise yourself or practice as a hypnotist, probably because of the scientific community or rather, the psychology community were so hell-bent against allowing it.

The problem with Hypnotism is that it really comes down to the practitioner and the manner in which he/she practices it. I have studied hypnosis on practitioner courses, and I suck at it. :D However, on the other hand, I've been hypnotized into deep trance, with suggestions planted which have seriously helped my shaking disorder. My shaking disorder is scientifically/medically connected to too much adrenaline being produced by my body, but hypnosis works better than the drug treatments.

NLP is based on Hypnosis. It's just a further step.
    As science has shown little related to "consciousness & the subconscious" as you said, all we can go on is our own heuristics and experiences, so I'm not going to criticise you for that, as you may, in fact, be right.

I'd suggest that conventional science has gone out of its way to discredit anything that doesn't fall within its more traditional areas. We see so much "science" based on mathematics which we are told is proven... but its only proven based on the level of the maths of the time.
    Thanks for the discussion.

Sure. I like to talk. And I like minds open to possibilities. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'd tick a lot of the boxes for being alfa.. Military career, bouncer for over 20 years, Judo black belt, 6'1'' and built, biker (rarely ride less than a 1000cc).

But I can be soft as hell, for example the end of the movie 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas'. I was absolutely bawling and couldn't look up at the screen.

Although I'm very straight and have never had a single gay thought I'd consider myself 'gay friendly' and have always said that if I was single and met a guy who made me happy I'd like to think I'd go with that.

I do believe in Alfa males, I think I'm alfa.. Dunno, OP you recently said a photo I posted of myself was how you imagined I'd look, do I come across as alfa?.

Oh, I'm not a natural leader but I find a lot of people look to me for leadership.

[I'm 52 in March if that matters]

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Feels Good Man

Adopt an attitude of 'I don't give a ****'. See yourself as the prize. Never apologise for yourself and your masculinity.

Believe you are an alpha and you will start to act like an alpha.

I'd tick a lot of the boxes for being alfa.. Military career, bouncer for over 20 years, Judo black belt, 6'1'' and built, biker (rarely ride less than a 1000cc).

But I can be soft as hell, for example the end of the movie 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas'. I was absolutely bawling and couldn't look up at the screen.

Although I'm very straight and have never had a single gay thought I'd consider myself 'gay friendly' and have always said that if I was single and met a guy who made me happy I'd like to think I'd go with that.

I do believe in Alfa males, I think I'm alfa.. Dunno, OP you recently said a photo I posted of myself was how you imagined I'd look, do I come across as alfa?.

Oh, I'm not a natural leader but I find a lot of people look to me for leadership.

[I'm 52 in March if that matters]

Dear GOD!
    Did you slay those club *insert expletive for sexually promiscuous female* back in the day? I'm guessing you struggled with high class women though, aye?

Adopt an attitude of 'I don't give a ****'. See yourself as the prize. Never apologise for yourself and your masculinity.

Believe you are an alpha and you will start to act like an alpha.

Ughh please.... I think 'prize pr1ck' is a more appropriate term for that sort of mindset.