Just had a bit of a barney with a neighbour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

GTA answer:

Bazooka the father, machete the offspring, live happily ever after with your dog......

win, win.... just update the father on your version, guaranteed you won't be bothered by the kids again...

The one thing I can't stop trying to figure out about all of this is the actual conversation that took place between the child and the father that convinced the father to put down his Dutch Gold and go have a shouting match with the OP. How did the child explain that he was trespassing in someones garden, staring in their window no less, then went back and did it a second time, and somehow comes away from this as the injured party?**

** No need to reply, it's just a rhetorical question, I'm just a bit intrigued by the father's perception of being the victim here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

VonLuck wrote: »
    It's fair enough asking the kids to get off your lawn, but it sounds like you did it in an aggressive way if you told them to FO the first time like you said.

Is it a regular thing with them?

I don't recall reading that the OP said FO at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Specialun wrote: »

He this boots my front door and storms off

What a massive dick.

Have you had any instances like this. Are your neighbours dicks

No suprise his sproggs are dickheads anyway

Better put his windows in tonight. Just to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Whatever you do OP, if he comes over again, dont stand at your windowsill filming him and telling him repeatedly to "go ****" himself. That tends to provoke more a la "Cuffy" style:/ :pac:

This is pure genius, the guy sounds like he's impersonating johnny depps take on hunter s thompson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

So i was up stairs an hour ago and i could hear my dog going nuts barking..a ran down, opened the door to see 3 kids staring in my living room window..they were actually leaning on the window sill. I went out a said go away..10 mins later its off again..i stormed out and shouted at them " i said go away, this isnt your house and get off my lawn" . I caught a kids bike and pushed it back into the middle of the green
    Maybe they were looking for their ball back
    Well i dont know what to get my pooch. Shes a lab/golden She has 13 teddies/squeky toys, 2 beds( unused as she kips at end of the bed) big tin of treats, three leads, collars, 3 footballs (shes nicked em off the neighbours as they booted em over the wall)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,421 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRA7i1lRdE3mtBJkxipMEGbW5tRqe6F6QmtDkUVxQUxl1CqybnsJw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

anewme wrote: »
    Things were done differently in those days allright! NO CHEEK to adults allowed.

And the other side of it too....if some owlfella from the Estate called to our Door and had the audacity to kick it for whatever reason, as someone said above, get outa that garden, a persons home was their castle , he would be picking himself up off the ground and retreating....quickly. No Gardai involved either. Have seen it happen

In my experience, if a neighbour had reason to call to your door to see your parents about you back then, they had just cause.
    And by god, you would have been pulled out of the sitting room if Mr Murphy called to the house over you doing wrong, to face him at the hall door while he spoke to your parent.
    If found to be guilty of wrong doing during this impromptu hall door trial, by hell, you would have got it goodo from your parents.

Firstly, for doing something wrong on the neighbour.
    And secondly......and much more importantly......for bringing them to the door in the first place and making a show of your parents :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

There was a similar thread to this a few months ago, I think Andy from Sligo was the OP, his dog was going berserk at nosey kids outside his house. It makes you think, what is the actual point in these neighbourhood watch scheme things if this sorta craic is happening.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

It makes you think, what is the actual point in these neighbourhood watch scheme things if this sorta craic is happening.

Neighbourhood Watch tries to prevent crime.

There is no suggestion a crime happened here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

In my experience, if a neighbour had reason to call to your door to see your parents about you back then, they had just cause.
    And by god, you would have been pulled out of the sitting room if Mr Murphy called to the house over you doing wrong, to face him at the hall door while he spoke to your parent.
    If found to be guilty of wrong doing during this impromptu hall door trial, by hell, you would have got it goodo from your parents.

Firstly, for doing something wrong on the neighbour.
    And secondly......and much more importantly......for bringing them to the door in the first place and making a show of your parents :eek:

Not always...there were two sets of people....those who had just cause...and those(who in the words of my Dad should have a dress on(i.e. Would call about kids fighting even though their own kids were as bad as everyone else's)

Said incident occurred when one moaning neighbour called to the house when the Dad was in work and only the Mam was at home. He proceeded to rant about everyone else's kids and got quite abusive to the woman(said a curse!) think he banged in the side glass as well. . Now, that was seen as just disgraceful. Abusing a woman at her own front door while her husband was in work ? Not the done thing.

Having been given short shrift by the woman, the neighbour made the big mistake of calling back when the husband came home. He got planted into next week week by the husband, "call to the door and abuse a woman(big man!) ". Well you won't abuse MY wife in MY House.

No Gards involved, no solicitors , and everyone just went back to normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Have you a daughter at home?

He proceeded to rant about everyone else's kids and got quite abusive to the woman(said a curse!) think he banged in the side glass as well. . Now, that was seen as just disgraceful. Abusing a woman at her own front door while her husband was in work ? Not the done thing.

The neighbour might have seen the OPs behaviour as abusing his kids, not the done thing, why didn't the OP call round and say it to him man to man etc. Not saying that perception would be accurate and fair. But wires get crossed, things get said.

Hence I still go back to my "call round, give bottle of wine, try to preserve good relations, draw a line and move on".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

We, as a society, seem to have accepted these "parents" who allow their kids to run amok as "ah, its kids being kids" as the norm.
    Eh no. A football going over the wall was kids being kids(and as someone who said earlier, there was actually an old dude on our road who used to put a knife in the balls over his back.....problem solved,,,,kids played ball elsewhere. Now kids just get another ball). There was always "Knick Nak" but again thats all harmless.

Kids are getting away with far too much and I'm going to be the one who says it......its due to lazy ass parenting :eek::eek::eek::D

QFE

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The neighbour might have seen the OPs behaviour as abusing his kids, not the done thing, why didn't the OP call round and say it to him man to man etc. Not saying that perception would be accurate and fair. But wires get crossed, things get said.

Hence I still go back to my "call round, give bottle of wine, try to preserve good relations, draw a line and move on".

You cant call to someones door and abuse them which the kids Father clearly did and still expect good relations.

Whatever wires get crossed, and we dont know if the kid ran home and siad, Mr. X shouted at me for nothing, the guy kicked the door thats out of order, the last thing you should do for someone who kicks your door is buy them a bottle of wine. Thats just condonding bullying and unacceptable behaviour and bowing and scraping to people who need a kick up the arse.

My point is, your home is your castle, dont call to anyones door and abuse them, you are on the wrong foot from then on.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

This will only work if the OP does it naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

You cant call to someones door and abuse them which the kids Father clearly did and still expect good relations.

Whatever wires get crossed, and we dont know if the kid ran home and siad, Mr. X shouted at me for nothing, the guy kicked the door thats out of order, the last thing you should do for someone who kicks your door is buy them a bottle of wine. Thats just condonding bullying and unacceptable behaviour and bowing and scraping to people who need a kick up the arse.

My point is, your home is your castle, dont call to anyones door and abuse them, you are on the wrong foot from then on.

Why would OP take a bottle of wine to his neighbour?

OP did absoutely nothing wrong here.

1. Asked kids to leave and they came back and had to be asked again to leave OP's property

2. Parent arrives at door to attack OP without finding out the other side of the story (because as we all know kids will always tell the truth), and then proceeds to kick the door.

If anyone should be grovelling its the parent with the kids long with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Had the man not shown violence and kicked the door maybe. But that took it to a whole different level, and it would look as if the OP was caving into threats and violence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

If your neighbour wasn't a bad fellow all along, there may be something to be said for calling round with a bottle of wine and the whole "look, didn't like the kids around my house, but not gonna fall out over it, no hard feelings"

That's assuming he's normal enough. Most would appreciate and perhaps tell the kids not to push it again. Battles with neighbours can fester and really sour living in an area.

If the desired outcome is that the kids feck off, this is probably most likely to achieve that outcome.

I don't think you're out of line OP, but sometimes you got to pull on your big boy pants and be the bigger man, coz scrote next door certainly ain't. I wouldn't be apologetic though, just assertive and want to talk about this Mano a mano, and ask he keeps the kids back in case they see something they shouldn't.

If that fails we can get really inventive.
    I've an Ak47* you could borrow a few nights, make sure you're spotted taking it on out of the car...

**BB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Options:

1. When he started shouting in your face at the door put on a full Christy Brown.
    Result: Parent won't know how to react and tell their kids to leave you alone.

2. Go out to the kids and calmly tell them you're starving the dog and that's why he barking at you, if he gets out he'll eat the first one he catches.
    Result: Kids look at each other and wonder whos the slowest.

3. Dance in your living room naked.
    Result: It will create the equivalent to a deflector shield around your home.

4. Invest in some white overalls, industrial rubber gloves, a saw and some red paint. Let your, and their, imagination go wild.
    Result: You'll be the house every kids on the block will be afraid of. As an added bonus ask the kids to help you dig a hole in your garden, look at them as though you're measuring them.

5. Put a shabby homemade cross in your front garden.
    Result: Will help as an add-on for option 4.

6. Try the Jahovah Witness tact to converting the kids.
    Result: It'll confuse their little heads and their parents will be worried the kids will either start shaving their little heads.

7. Get a clipboard and sign them up for Concern/Medicine sans Frontiers.
    Result: Parents will be worried their kids have signed them up to regular direct debits. Might result in a parental visit but you can resort to option 1 if it does.

SAMTALK wrote: »
    Why would OP take a bottle of wine to his neighbour?

OP did absoutely nothing wrong here.

1. Asked kids to leave and they came back and had to be asked again to leave OP's property

2. Parent arrives at door to attack OP without finding out the other side of the story (because as we all know kids will always tell the truth), and then proceeds to kick the door.

If anyone should be grovelling its the parent with the kids long with him

The OP had a go at him about his parenting skills before he did that. I think a "go f*** yourself questioning me about my ability to discipline my own children" would be a better response than kicking the door, granted. But for all the aggro in the first post here, the worst that is alleged about the kids is that they stared in a window and leaned on a sill. It's hardly a big deal, it doesn't suggest they are scrotes or whatever else was said about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Make it non-alcoholic wine though.

Then have a respectful chat about the situation over a couple of glasses, ending with a mutually acceptable outcome.

Then, right at the end, say "HAHAHA, it's only non-alcoholic wine you malignant ****" and run out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭VonLuck

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I don't recall reading that the OP said FO at all.

Well he did!
    No. the bike was in my lawn. How was i aggressive. I asked them to FO, they came back. When somebody comes to my door looking 4 a barney and having a go am i to offer them a box of butlers chocs and a spa weekend away

Well he did!

It looks like crossed wires and lots of upping the ante.

I fundamentally disagree with this whole "my castle" stuff. It's bricks and mortar. Kids will be kids, they'll be nosey. Really not worth falling out with a neighbour, and it's so easily mended.

I guess in my job I've seen neighbours fall out spectacularly, I have seen neighbours throw fortunes at legal battles, years of feuding, physical confrontations, lots of posturing and "I can't take this on my doorstep"/"he can't walk all over us" type talk. I remember one client who lost over 200k in costs after fighting a battle over an extension going a metre into neighbouring lands. He then came to me and asked would I have advised anything different, I gave him the "I'd have told you to go round with a bottle of whiskey and 2 glasses to your neighbour of 30 years"...and he said that in all the people telling him to go for injunctions and fire out writs and appeal and not to take it...not one person had suggested that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Well he did!

Thanks for pointing that out. However my original opinion still stands. The OP did nothing wrong. Some of the sanctimonious crap on this thread highlights some of the reasons kids grow up to be out of control A-holes. Then they become convicts, solicitors and politicians.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    Some of the sanctimonious crap on this thread highlights some of the reasons kids grow up to be out of control A-holes.

Yes. A combination of leaning on their neighbours windowsill and posts on an anonymous forum will ruin the next generation...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Good on you OP. The amount of rubbish being spouted on this thread about being 'abusive' to the kids - get a grip.

Kids get away with far too much these days, with little or no discipline from their parents. I would have told them the second time to get the 'f**k off my lawn' - is that 'abusive'? :rolleyes:

I see I with the kids around our neighbourhood. The parents let them run wild and couldn't give a **** what they get up to.
    So i was up stairs an hour ago and i could hear my dog going nuts barking..a ran down, opened the door to see 3 kids staring in my living room window..they were actually leaning on the window sill. I went out a said go away..10 mins later its off again..i stormed out and shouted at them " i said go away, this isnt your house and get off my lawn" . I caught a kids bike and pushed it back into the middle of the green

15 mins later i hear my door bell and its my neighbour

"What gets you off shouting at my kids" is what im greeted with
    " they were on my lawn twice pal, this is my house and not there playground" says I
    " you have no right to raise your voice at my kids" says he
    Im a bit pissed off now so I says " listen her pal dont come to my door mouthing off. Wouldnt it be more in line if you disciplined the kids. You dont own this green and they shouldnt be on my lawn. Now go away "

He this boots my front door and storms off

What a massive dick.

Have you had any instances like this. Are your neighbours dicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Good on you OP. The amount of rubbish being spouted on this thread about being 'abusive' to the kids - get a grip.

Kids get away with far too much these days, with little or no discipline from their parents. I would have told them the second time to get the 'f**k off my lawn' - is that 'abusive'? :rolleyes:

I see I with the kids around our neighbourhood. The parents let them run wild and couldn't give a **** what they get up to.

Yes it is.

The OP told the kids to "f*** off" the first time. The kids were looking in a window. If my neighbours kids were outside my house looking in, I wouldn't tell them to "f*** off" the first time. I'd probably laugh it off. There is no right reaction of course, just different strokes for different folks I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭Pretzill

I remember knick knocking on neighbour's doors and running away - climbing on neighbour's walls and been shouted at - getting the ball burst if it went into a particularly pissed off neighbour's flowers etc - basically being part of a group of little rips and often getting chastised for it.

Some would say kids will be kids and they invariably will be - but the OP's post makes me very glad I live in the middle of nowhere and the only thing that wanders into my garden is a fox or a badger! I wouldn't have any patience for other people's children hanging around, annoying me and certainly not for the conflict of their narky parents.