Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SuperDry Japan Jackets?

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    Who decides whats fashionable?

The buying public really I suppose.
    I've not seen many people wear Levi stuff in the last 5 to 10 years so I'd reckon it's most definitely not in fashion.

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    Who decides whats fashionable?

The buying public really I suppose.
    I've not seen many people wear Levi stuff in the last 5 to 10 years so I'd reckon it's most definitely not in fashion.
    Nike, Adidas, Tommy Hilfiger, Levi's.. A few brands who make good quality clothes and will never go out of fashion.
    Augeo wrote: »
    Surely Levi's aren't in fashion ......... some folk still wear them of course but they aren't at all fashionable.
    GT89 wrote: »
    The fashion police

Folk can't have opinions?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,407 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

tampopo wrote: »
    Nothing to with Japan, it's owned by an American
    British I think?

I like their stuff tbh, jeans are a good fit for me and have some jackets they are excellent.
    I tend to avoid the stuff emblazoned with the logos though

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I presume they're considered a good brand, but something about the Chinese symbols (which are actually Japanese) make them look cheap to me. It may as well say 'made in China'.

And they're everywhere!

It's called Superdry Japan but you think the symbols are Chinese?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭eggy81

When you arrive back in Ireland you are always struck by how appallingly dressed most Irish men are compared to their continental cousins.

Lots of Superdry or North Face jackets, badly cut jeans with far too much distress detailing on them, a big beer gut hanging out over a load-bearing belt, cheap brown leather shoes from somewhere like Burton, those hideous grandfather style shirts, jumpers with logos splashed on them.

Some of the younger and older generations are more fashionable, but there’s a group of Irish men from their early 30’s to late 40’s who dress like they found what to wear in a skip behind a charity shop.

Compared to where?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

L1011 wrote: »
    The tshirt printing failing/cracking was, weirdly, intentional.

At their peak popularity, the quality was top notch. Not so much so now

Any "youth" clothing brand (especially menswear) has 5-10 years lifespan - American Apparel gone from Europe, Jack Wills hit the wall, Hollister/Abercrombie are a shell of what their were and the same hit Superdry. And Crosshatch in the cheaper shops about the same time. The non big two sportswear brands go through phases - Ellesse were everywhere five years ago and not popular now etc.

North Face will have the same slide in a year or two; accelerated here by it being drug dealer chic; if they're unlucky they'll have repelled their old core customer base.

North Face are strange, always had a decent brand and sales but they chased the quick and easy dollar and let JD sports stock it. Could end up doing more harm than good.

Champion seems to be back too, you could pay 60 quid for a jumper that would have cost you less than half that twenty years ago.

FWIW Jack Wills is still decent and quite subtle if you go for just the logo and not the name.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Their T-shirts are very good quality, I have approx. 7 or 8 of them but I have one that must be near 10 years old now and still in very very good condition and its been worn hundreds of times over the years. The print on the front is a little faded but the material has kept its colour and shape very well. I don't have any of their jackets but do have a SD hoodie which gets lots of use also and IMO is very good quality.

eggy81 wrote: »
    Compared to where?

He says the continent so I'd imagine France, Germany, Austria, Italy etc etc.

Many American folk would be worse than the "group of Irish men from their early 30’s to late 40’s who dress like they found what to wear in a skip behind a charity shop" lads he describes. Many of whom probably style themselves from US TV or youtubers who fnck about with ole American sh1t heaps (vice grip garage for example)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

razorblunt wrote: »
    North Face are strange, always had a decent brand and sales but they chased the quick and easy dollar and let JD sports stock it. Could end up doing more harm than good.

Champion seems to be back too, you could pay 60 quid for a jumper that would have cost you less than half that twenty years ago.

FWIW Jack Wills is still decent and quite subtle if you go for just the logo and not the name.

Fila is another that seems to be back in fashion. Reebok which is owned by Adidas comes in and out of fashion as well remember it was trendy for a while with the UFC bandwagon.

It sort of seems to have paid off for North Face mind you as it seems it has been popular in JD for some time now as it's been sold there for about 4 or 5 years now which is longer than most brands that come into fashion for a while.

It's called Superdry Japan but you think the symbols are Chinese?

It's English not Japanese

• Registered Users Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

It's English not Japanese

The symbols?

The company is English and it has no connection to Japan other than the Japanese theme

• Registered Users Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Imagine being so insecure that you relied on another adult from the Internet to tell you how you should dress!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,650 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Folk can't have opinions?

Just don’t say anything about bootcut jeans or unkempt beads, A. There seems to be a number of “sensitive” souls, with very poor fashion sense, on here.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

Nike, Adidas, Tommy Hilfiger, Levi's.. A few brands who make good quality clothes and will never go out of fashion.

Quality is getting harder and harder to find. We now often have to pay for premium for what should be standard.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,404 ✭✭✭✭road_high

North Face is gone scangery alright - seem to be going for mainstream volume which usually damages a brands appeal as they lose that kind of added value “exclusivity”. I still quite like their stuff though

Tokyo Laundry isn't left behind clothes, flogged off after a year either.

Reminds me of stuff from market stalls!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,987 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The company is English and it has no connection to Japan other than the Japanese theme

Still doesn't explain why the OP thought the symbols were Chinese.

Barbour is a brand I’ve seen around a bit more lately, my local menswear shop started stocking it recently. Nice stuff

• Registered Users Posts: 68,502 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Adidas and Hilfiger (at least) sell 'outlet grade' products - deliberately made cheaper - through Sports Direct etc that would be lower quality than Penneys. Insoles that seem to dissolve, zips that break etc etc.

Not a good thing to keep a quality reputation.
    But Nike and Adidas clothing will never go out of fashion

That would be the "big two" I was referring to in sportswear. Although they do have highs and lows. Both consistently sell very old designs (Airmax 90s, Adidas selling 1970s stuff) which nobody else really does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Biker79

Feisar wrote: »
    Quality is getting harder and harder to find. We now often have to pay for premium for what should be standard.

Exactly. There are still brands making quality durable clothes, that can be brought to a tailor and mended, for example. But people don't want to pay those sort of prices, despite the poor economy of 'fast fashion'.

Paul Smith (.co.uk) is a good example. Designed in England, made in Italy and they last a long time. Pricey though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

Still doesn't explain why the OP thought the symbols were Chinese.

Chinese is the go to standard for anything Asian.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,992 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Surely Levi's aren't in fashion ......... some folk still wear them of course but they aren't at all fashionable.

Maybe not their jeans but their t shirts and denim jackets are most definitely in fashion.
    L1011 wrote: »
    Adidas and Hilfiger (at least) sell 'outlet grade' products - deliberately made cheaper - through Sports Direct etc that would be lower quality than Penneys. Insoles that seem to dissolve, zips that break etc etc.

Yeah they do and the quality can be terrible but I was referring to their normal stock.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭shawki

Can't wear any tracksuits as I have a big scummy head on me.

• Administrators Posts: 53,659 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

road_high wrote: »
    Barbour is a brand I’ve seen around a bit more lately, my local menswear shop started stocking it recently. Nice stuff

Barbour is really hit and miss. Their jackets are quality and will literally last you your entire life. Their clothing can be nice or awful.

Some of the stuff is obviously geared toward football hooligan types.

As for SuperDry jackets, they're as culchie as brown loafers and dress shirts tucked into jeans.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭E mac

Saw a local undesirable recently wearing a Helly Hansen jacket, feck there gonna ruin that brand now...I've always liked H/H ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭1874

touts wrote: »
    Tried one. Cheap rubbish. Tried Regatta slightly cheaper equally rubbish. Now I buy my coats in outdoor stores and go for the likes of North Face. If they wear them on Everest they'll do fine in Ennis. You have to pay a little extra for quality.

Didnt realise Regatta was cheap rubbish altogether, probably less fashionable but thought it was geared more towards outdoor but at a very reasonable budget. Depends what you want something for, ie practical or fashionable. Have a PeterStorm jacket, didnt think they were expensive, but its quality made imo, waterproof, windresistant, but not particularity fashionable, very much outdoor wear, probably wouldnt find similar now and not even sure if the Barand are still on the go.
    Had Columbia and a Discreetly labelled NF jacket, neither as good, the former was not wind/rain proof, the later lasted a good few years but didnt hold out as well as the Peter Storm.

Hardly much different from many other brands, how different can jeans get from one another? in my experience they were always good quality.
    Wouldnt rule them out, but have stuck to Next, Penneys, later being for work wear.

Always thought the SuperDry Japan were a bit too naff, could look ok, but used to be everywhere you looked, at least North Face is a bit more discreet. HH on anyone not sailing makes them look like a nob,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭beachhead

I thought the initial post here was for SuperDry.Miniature sizes for minitature people.Though I have seen sum hefty boyos and gals in them.Chinese metric sizing is used not the international metric measurement as stored in Paris.Everything listed in this topic has a chinese origin not matter the name on the label.

Regetta stuff is actually quite nice. They’ve gone into more stylish stuff rather than purely functional as they would have been before with raingear. Reasonable prices too.

No one has mentioned Penney’s!- but a lot of their stuff is really nice and stylish now, cheap as hell. I think they’ve eaten into the more mid range brands

1874 wrote: »
    .........HH on anyone not sailing makes them look like a nob,

To be fair they have a OUTDOOR & HIKING JACKETS range also :)
    I'd not wear them though as I associate the brand with the folk you mention :pac: