Boards are fundraising to help the people of Ukraine via the Red Cross at this horrific time. Please donate and share if you can, you will find the link here. Many thanks.
To keep things clean and easy to read we're creating this thread to discuss the Prime Time TV program about the firearms review. All posts and comments relating to the program can be placed here. All Proposal posts can go into the proposal thread.
When the program is over and the discussion is finished the Mods will review the thread and if necessary:
Leave it as a stand alone thread
Merge the relevant posts into the proposal thread
Merge the entire thread into the proposal thread
Depending on which one is most appropriate. Any deviation from the prime time show should go into the relevant thread and for the sake of staying strictly on topic any non relevant posts will be moved to the appropriate thread. If this happens we will inform you of why and where it's moved to.
Yeah, but the #rtept should take priority, then the @RTE_PrimeTime address, then #guns and then #Ireland. Depends on how much room you have in the tweet (that lovely 140 character limit...)
I don't know if they could prep a program and have it swapped in that fast. Or that they'd think it worth it if the Dail has the problem sorted.
On the other hand, opening the Six-One News with "Tonight, for one night only, ecstasy, ketamine and crystal meth are all legal in Ireland"... that's kindof a big magnet of a line
Definitely on the legal aspects of it, but to be honest, there's one message that's really important to get out tonight to the audience of Prime Time, and it's something like this:
The most important thing to remember is that the law keeps the public safe. The Firearms Act prohibits the Gardai from giving out firearms licences if doing so would create a threat to the public or the peace and if that threat arises after the licence is given out, the Firearms Act empowers them to revoke the licence instantly. Firearms licence owners are vetted thoroughly by the Gardai and licences are only issued where there's a valid reason for having the firearm, where the applicant has a safe place to use it and a secure place to store it, and these things are checked by the Gardai both during the application and at random inspections after the licence is issued. While there are problems with the Firearms Act, they're problems that only affect sportspeople, they don't compromise public safety and can be readily resolved by the Oireachtas in a very straightforward manner if they so wished.
Joe Public doesn't much care about the legislation mess, or the rows or anything else, not until he or she knows about that bit first.
Problem is, I timed it and that takes 45 seconds to say, 55 if you say it without rushing. I don't think I've ever seen someone given 45 uninterrupted, unedited seconds to speak on Prime Time who wasn't a presenter.
For those who have seen Wille in action in a court room, he goes into minuete details...The credits will be rolling before he gets halfway to answering the first question..:eek:
Confucius say."He who says one man cannot change World. Never has eaten bat soup in Wuhan!"
Bit of a disagreement already between the Nargc and Wdai over this programme , not good.Everybody needs to pull together on this.
To be honest, this programme is such a high-risk activity given its previous history, I could understand people disagreeing about whether or not to do it. In fact, if nobody was saying "here lads, hold up, this could be awful", I'd have a hell of a lot more questions than if there was a row.
Whats the betting it's about the deer hunting section?And about who encroached onto whoms terrority?
Confucius say."He who says one man cannot change World. Never has eaten bat soup in Wuhan!"
Recorded aSFIK,was trying to get tickets or some info out of PT on procedures for such.Answering machine at the end of the phone and no return to emails either.Says alot already.
Any chance of putting the addresses in here to e mail and send messages to? I know it's in the proposal page somewhere but could be handy have it all to hand
People should be tweeting to @RTE_PrimeTime and using the #rtept. We should also have another one that identify the topic . something like #firearmslaw may be a bit long
About fifty-fifty with "who thought this was a good idea in the first place?" I would wager.
Along them lines alright.hard to comment on it yet till we see how the clip of the deer being culled will be used.The 2 deer where instant kills and not runners at least.
Oh here we go with AGS bullsht!Whats the point of pointing out the accessories on a restricted firearm....???Awhats amurder got todo with ligit firearms ownership//