Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New low for the Gardai? Video claims Woman refused to leave estate with sick child

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The more I see these idiots videos the more I want to meet some of them and literally teach them the meaning of brutality

• Registered Users Posts: 11,188 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Gatling wrote: »
    The more I see these idiots videos the more I want to meet some of them and literally teach them the meaning of brutality

By beating them at Mortal Kombat on the ps3? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Well they don't tend to get to court in the first place without Garda involvement.........

I think your missing my point.

Your creating a loop that won't stop. Garda, Court, Garda, Court and so on. Joe public looking at this videos on YouTube is going to see the Garda in action doing there job, in agreement or not with what there doing, that depends of the viewers option. Garda follow orders. I am saying this is bad for Garda relations in the community from what I am seeing.

Like Garda have better things to be doing than this. People should just respect the fact the people working installing the meters are just doing a job. Maybe if the workers just asked home owners if they want a meter installed and moved on to the next meter if not, it might cool the situation down a little. I dunno, but it seems like everyone is at logger heads and no one talking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭James esq

This is sickening on a number of levels.

If you have a sick child you get an ambulance, you don't use the child as a weapon to prevent water charges, very few people believe this pathetic attempt at indo type journalism.

The Irish Gardai are the best educated in the world, no other country has a minimum education level of equivalent of leaving cert.

In France very few people would go into a police station with a query on directions or any sort of advice because they are afraid, someone in the past has driven a wedge between the French people and their police, if you want that to happen here you are very foolish and short sighted just like the indo.

Google what happened to women when they found themselves in a police station during the Pinochet rule and get an inkling of how lucky we are to live in this Irish civilisation.

Trying to discredit the Gardai because they are doing what your elected representatives require them to do is simply ridiculous. So if you want the Gardai to allow mob behaviour just elect your local "independent mob rules" candidate at the next election and then you are sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In recent years, whenever there's a video showing the "truth" about Gardaí from some protestors, more often than not it's complete gutter tactics on behalf of those who upload the footage, people with an axe to grind and will do anything to manipulate the public to get them on their side.

Remember that disgusting rape claim from the Corrib protestors that turned out to be bogus because of twisting words and taking the selectively edited audio completely out of context?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Is this like the one were that guy has a fake epileptic fit in the middle of the road due to Garda brutality apparently, everyone crowds around him and someone pours magic liquid in his mouth in an attempt to make out they are treating him. Would love the Garda to have vest mounted cameras would stop all this “Poor Charlie was only borrowing the bike” then the Garda came had no idea it was stolen and attacked the poor law abiding citizen.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Mr.Pinchy

Fran1985 wrote: »
    I dont think theyre protecting the company. Theyre providing protection for the staff members who are being threatened and intimidated by protesters. I have to admire those workers. Not a hope would i be bothered taking on that job having to deal with the clowns that are "peacefully" protesting. Im all up for protesting at government buildings, but what theyre doing is vigilanty territory.

While on the surface it seems like that, why are the gardai standing in the middle of the road and not between the protesters and the workers ? The reason is because they are not there to protect the workers from assault;they are there to make sure they put in the meters.

If you watch the video, you can see a worker right beside some protesters, and where are the guards? about 20 feet away stopping a car from going down the street, it really is a shambles.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Mr.Pinchy

What? The guards are there because of the likelihood of people being assaulted.
    People do have a right to protest - where was it suggested they don't? The guards aren't there to stop legitimate protesting. I think Irish Water is a disgrace, but protesting is not harassing and assaulting and borderline rioting.

It seemed from previous comments that the people who disagreed with the protesters were being insulting, calling them socialists, wasters, scumbags with nothing better to do ect. inferring they did not have a legitimate right to protest and were there to cause harm, this is why I said people have a right to protest - even if other people disagreed with it.

As far as the guards not stopping legitmate protesting, what were the guards doing ? they were just standing in the street stopping traffic, and not saying a word. If the protesters were breaking the law, or threatening the workers I'm sure the guards would arrest them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Next it will be "Elderly woman couldn't attend husbands funeral. Lyk if u cryd"

"heroin addict couldn't get to methadone clinic and is back on the gear. Lyk if u cryd"

"Man couldn't attend job interview and us now on his 20th year on the dole"

"Ebola patient couldn't get to hospital, now all the protesters have it."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Or maybe "Guards stop professional protester contributing to society"

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

I'm a foreign national, living in Ireland for the last 14 years. I pay my taxes, was never on the dole, and generally stay out of Irish politics because.... well, I'm just a guest here.

About the Irish water protests, I think people have a right to protest, no question. But what shocks me, is the viciousness of the whole campaign! I honestly think, this campaign could actually do long term damage to Irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Well there is no point stopping them putting in the meters, let them,
    in my opinion I have no problem paying for clean water, but i'm have a problem paying debt that was not caused by me and thats what the water meters are really about its not about improving the water infrastructure, its nearly enough to make me leave the country again then stay here and pay off others debt

the real protest begins by not registering or paying, these water meters will just be added to the list,

underwater clock in the liffy that breaks all the time
    electronic voting machines
    water meters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Personally if I had a sick child I wouldn't stop for any person who stood blocking the road on purpose.

Gardai relations must be at an all time low.

That went well OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

paulheu wrote: »
    iPhone and no idea how to shoot videos.

Funny thing is that when you post a video you shoot in landscape it comes out in portrait by default and it seems these folks have no clue how to fix that so they just shoot everything portrait (and probably do not even know what that means..)

Maybe Joan Burton should send them on a free course of media study and film making. (free as in paid for by taxpayers).

• Registered Users Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

Pointless protest

Maybe Joan Burton should send them on a free course of media study and film making. (free as in paid for by taxpayers).

Did we not pay for their free ipads or tablets and paid for them to learn how to use them ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

TallGlass wrote: »
    Like Garda have better things to be doing than this. People should just respect the fact the people working installing the meters are just doing a job. Maybe if the workers just asked home owners if they want a meter installed and moved on to the next meter if not, it might cool the situation down a little. I dunno, but it seems like everyone is at logger heads and no one talking about it.

I agree with your idea here. It would certainly relieve alot of the hassle going on at the moment.

I believe in the UK they brought in a flat rate with so many thousands of litres of water for each person in every house. If a household thought they used less than the standard rate they requested a meter be installed. It was done over the course of 15yrs but I have heard it was done hassle free with minimum cost.

Here in Ireland we just throw them in no matter what the associated costs.

TheNog wrote: »
    I agree with your idea here. It would certainly relieve alot of the hassle going on at the moment.

I believe in the UK they brought in a flat rate with so many thousands of litres of water for each person in every house. If a household thought they used less than the standard rate they requested a meter be installed. It was done over the course of 15yrs but I have heard it was done hassle free with minimum cost.

Something something lucrative to install them....

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

TheNog wrote: »

Flat rates save no water and don't cut out waste. High volume users continue to be. Low volume users may well be encouraged by a flat rate to up their usage to "get their monies worth" . I'd say only those that know very well their usage is way down on the threshold for the fee would look for a meter.

Anyway, I thought a large part of the protests were based on paying for water being wrong and water being "a human right /god given right " or other such waffle? So flat rate or meter would be irrelevant.

Why is there no issue with gas and electricity metering but water should be different?

As in the other thread, why is it fair that a guy in an 8 bed house in the mountains with a swimming pool he likes to refill every few weeks as well as the associated usage with a large house, grounds and family, pay the same amount as a family of four in a housing estate in leitrim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

There are hundreds of meters being installed all across Dublin every day of the week, and not a Guard in sight.

I wonder why that is?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Do we know what happened to the sick child? No, of course we don't.

Funny how there's always a "sick child"; or a "diabetic emergency" when someone parks their SUV blocking a road or a disabled parking space; or "food poisoning" when someone is supposed to be on a course or start a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

If there was a sick child, and that child did actually go to hospital then there will be records/receipts.

If the child's parents support the anti-water meter campaign they would be able to produce those records (with redacted personal details) to help prove the Dublin Says No claims. Otherwise one of the following applies...

-Dublin Says No are making wild assumptions.
    -Dublin Says No are genuinely mistaken.
    -Dublin Says No are lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭timetogo

I'm getting a new found respect for the Gardai watching videos like this.
    The restraint these guys show when faced with idiots with smartphones is commendable.

Obviously the protesters are trying to goad the gards into some kind of response. They didn't even get a rolls eyes from the gards in that video. I wouldn't be able to do that. It must be a hellish job for them though. Signed up to enforce the law and when they're doing that (and nothing else) they're getting constant harassment.

Yes I know the OP of this thread says they blocked a woman from leaving the estate with a sick child. All we have to go on there is on short video with one guy giving out and a few gards standing near a car. I'm pretty sure if the gards actually did block the car the guy would have been able to get a shot of the sick kid and the video would have been longer than two minutes and we might have heard a bit more about it this morning in the media. The fact that we didn't means either it's crap or there's a conspiracy. I'd bet on the former.

Not sure why the protesters are protesting against the Gardai. Totally missing the point. I don't think they're that bright though from many of the videos I've seen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

They're all just morons. Like, in the space of a few hours the story goes from the woman having to walk with her child in her arms through the cold and rain, to them driving across a green.

And they have the gall to say they speak for the people of Ireland. F*ck off the lot of them, they in their arse represent me.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

:rolleyes: What street did this happen on? Anyone know?

Might be nice to see Google Maps and what alternative routes are available.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Has this thread galvinised support for the Gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

From what I have seen from the video I find it disgraceful that the Gardai refuse to speak to anyone.

Who do they think they are? They are public servants and yet they refuse to even speak to the public.

No matter what you believe , The relations between the Garda force and residents.

why would they speak when all they get in these estates is abuse, this anti-garda lobby is an absolute disgrace, ''share this video on facebook everyone'' and its a video of a someone arresting someone for acting the fcuk and its the guards that are wrong for doing there job, sorry for the rant but i cant stand that carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

It's not a new low for Garda- the same old low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

stoneill wrote: »
    It's not a new low for Garda- the same old low.

A well thought out and analytical post with substance to back up your point of view. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Is it just me, or does every video these idiots upload, seem to portray themselves as a bunch of **** and the Guards as models of restraint and professionalism?

Talk about shooting yourself in the foot.