Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New low for the Gardai? Video claims Woman refused to leave estate with sick child

• 22-10-2014 6:42pm

SHARE SHARE AHARE!!!!! Folks of all the dirty tricks Denis o briens private security firm have tried. They have blocked this road refusing access to residents in order to turn them against a peaceful protest which is not even on the road. There is a resident with a sick child pleading to go to hospital being refused exit from the street. This is a new low

Personally if I had a sick child I wouldn't stop for any person who stood blocking the road on purpose.

Gardai relations must be at an all time low.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Personally if I had a sick child I wouldn't stop for any person who stood blocking the road on purpose.

Gardai relations must be at an all time low.

Personally, I think there's more to the story here than you're letting on.

Than I'm letting on?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,248 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What's the story with the anti-Garda vids all being in portrait mode?

Based on this fact alone, I'm firmly anti-anti-Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,941 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This.

Didn't see much actual blocking going on, there was a car stopped behind the Gardai, and lots of people marching toward them in a very organised-looking way. And yer man videoing the whole thing. Smells of a set-up to me.

Was that really the only way out of wherever they were for the "sick child"?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Jesus if my child was sick and some Cnut Garda or not I'd drive through them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Looks like she was getting through near the end, the video seemed to stop short

• Registered Users Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Needs more background details. Anyone know the full story?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭sjb25

At the end the guys are saying "what's he doing checking if the child is really sick" and it stops what happend next? The child was found to be sick and allowed past??? But couldn't film that bit mmmmmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Lenny wrote: »
    Looks like she was getting through near the end, the video seemed to stop short

Shame for the OP's agenda, the video didn't run a bit longer.

From what I have seen from the video I find it disgraceful that the Gardai refuse to speak to anyone.

Who do they think they are? They are public servants and yet they refuse to even speak to the public.

No matter what you believe , The relations between the Garda force and residents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Assuming all other exit points are blocked, did they call an ambulance, which was then refused access, or did they decide to make a video about it to make a point instead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The more I think about it, the more I agree with Joan Burton about camera phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

This incident aside, were they really stopping people coming and going there today??

Shame for the OP's agenda, the video didn't run a bit longer.

My agenda? I didn't record the video nor was I there.

I saw the video posted on Facebook, thought it would be worth sharing.

If you want to see it on Facebook look for the page

Call for a revolution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

Freedom of passage. The Guards cannot stop any person going about their business unless they are under arrest. Will wait for further clarification regarding this video.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Mr.Pinchy

Why are the gardai protecting Irish water to the extent they are ? I highly doubt they would provide the amount of man hours to any other business, except shell of course.

The public have a right to protest against whatever they wamt, whether other people agree with it or not. The gardai should only get involved if crimes are being comitted, which they are not in the vast majority of cases.

It's clear the gardai are not an unbiased organisation that will uphold law and order in a neutral manner, what a disgrace.

Freedom of passage. The Guards cannot stop any person going about their business unless they are under arrest. Will wait for further clarification regarding this video.

From the video you can clearly see the guards blocking the road and a taxi trying to get past.

No matter what the situation was it is clear the Gardai were blocking the road

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭swht

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/belfast-man-guilty-of-ramming-psni-officer-with-his-wheelchair-1.1967754

Yeah just like this guy was trying to get by to help his friend to hospital... not even original they really should try harder.

From the video you can clearly see the guards blocking the road and a taxi trying to get past.

And........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

It just doesn't make sense for the gardai to block a person from leaving the area, especially with a child that needs medical attention. It also doesn't make sense that the gardai would block any-person from leaving the area, as this would be illegal for a guard to do so, regarding freedom of passage.

There's something not right.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,563 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Funny the way these videos always start at the "right" time. The rest of the abuse the gards are taking is conveniently left out when they are dealing with these trouble makers and gurriers.

sjb25 wrote: »
    And........

And what?

I know if my sick child needed to get to hospital and someone was blocking the road on purpose I would simply put the car into gear and continue my journey.

Yes they can close anywhere for safety reasons so if there is a car crash the you say the gaurds can't stop you from passing course the can or em a checkpoint the stop you!!!!!

I wonder would some people be singing a different tune If the story was

Gerry Adams refuses sick child access to pass to go to hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 28,941 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

And what?

I know if my sick child needed to get to hospital and someone was blocking the road on purpose I would simply put the car into gear and continue my journey.

Since you weren't actually there, do you know for sure there was a sick child in the car?

Or was that.... oh, I dunno.... maybe a line spun to get a rise out of the Gardai who were doing their job? While the cameras were conveniently rolling?

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

Mr.Pinchy wrote: »
    Why are the gardai protecting Irish water to the extent they are ? I highly doubt they would provide the amount of man hours to any other business, except shell of course.

I dont think theyre protecting the company. Theyre providing protection for the staff members who are being threatened and intimidated by protesters. I have to admire those workers. Not a hope would i be bothered taking on that job having to deal with the clowns that are "peacefully" protesting. Im all up for protesting at government buildings, but what theyre doing is vigilanty territory.

And what?

And the be arrested that will help the child Here's a mad notion use another road..... Call an ambulance or like what I suspect happend but the camera went of show the gaurds they are sick and be allowed trough!!!!!

I wonder would some people be singing a different tune If the story was

Gerry Adams refuses sick child access to pass to go to hospital

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

My agenda? I didn't record the video nor was I there.

I saw the video posted on Facebook, thought it would be worth sharing.

If you want to see it on Facebook look for the page

Call for a revolution

What I always find greatly amusing is that the call for this revolution tends to come from people who invariably contribute almost nothing to society. A truly nightmarish scenario for many of them would be the spectre of actually having to work in a socialist workers Republic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

Now OP. Do you take us all for fooking idiots? All I saw was guard time being wasted supervising water meters being installed. I do not see anybody blocking a mother and child.
    There is obviously an issue with the scum from this estate with water meters, they should stop being such lazy cowards and bring their issue to the government and not the contractor. Such a manufactured video to put up. Please credit otger boards users with some credit.