Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Way to go Sinn Fein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Kippure wrote: »
    Well done to SF.

But who in there right minds are still voting for FF????
    They must have Alzheimers.....

Lets pick on Naas.

Some FF guy in Naas topped the poll there with 16% of the vote( http://www.rte.ie/news/election2014/#/local/A13 ) and FF got 30% of the vote, guess Alzheimers is rampant in that town!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

Clearly you do need to be spoon fed though

Nothing wrong with my mental capabilities, but do go on, I need a giggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

LordSutch wrote: »
    The need to put a bomb on a boat in Sligo.

The need to put a bomb in a pub.

The need to put a bomb on a bus.

The need to kneecap people.

The need to blow up shops, restaurants, police stations, etc etc etc.

The need to murder policemen.

The need to murder anybody who got in their way.

The need to make people disappear.

Sorry Bannasidhe, but I just never saw the need at the time, and in retrospect I still don't see why they did a lot of what they did. Yes they're all politically suited up and clean of guns & semtex now, but they still defend their past actions, and I for one cannot forgive them, even if they don't persue those actions anymore. Only recently on the TV I heard Adams defending the bombing of the Grand Hotel in Brighton < he actually defended the attack.

I didn't see the need either until I took a bus from Cork to Belfast in 1981 and found myself staying on the Donegal Road. I have literally circumnavigated the world and lived on three continents but I have never felt fear like I did then. Walking the streets with the horrible realisation that some of these perfectly ordinary, perfectly friendly people would gladly beat me to death just because I happen to be from the republic - not because I am a Catholic - because I'm not, but I am a Fenian Taig.

People in the 'South' like to take this high moral stance claiming that they would certainly not have reacted violently to the naked hatred on display in NI. Easy to say when it's not you or your family being interned, you or your family being denied basic rights, you or your family treated like terrorists by the authorities just because of your address or name.

How quickly the Shankill Butchers are forgotten.

How quickly the fact that the army was first brought in to protect the nationalist community from the Loyalist paramilitaries and their buddies in the Orange Order, The RUC, Stormont.

How quickly it is forgotten that those on the receiving end had no one to turn to because it was their government, their police force, their army who helped place the boot on their neck.

How quickly we forget the Birmingham 6, The Guildford 4 and the Maguire family - the only thing any of those were guilty of was being Irish.

How quickly it is forgotten that loyalists murdered 120 people in 1975 in a tit-for-tat killing spree. The difference being that among those carrying out the murders on the loyalist side were police officer. A member of the RUC Special Patrol Group, Billy McCaughey, admitted taking part in sectarian murders and implicated a fellow officer.

Tell me - who do you turn to when the police are the murderers and your government not only turns a blind eye, but colludes? When your government has a shoot to kill policy aimed at your community?

Tell me - who do you turn to when your fellow nationalists down the road turn a blind eye because hey, they got their republic, tough on you for being born on the wrong side of an invisible line.

Tell me - who do you turn to?

You turn to the people who are literally fighting back - you join a gang you think can protect you from the other gang - and you fight with every means at your disposal because you have no choice as the police are those murders you need protection from and no one else gives a flying Easter Lily about you ...

The British government created the PIRA by it's own lack of action. Would it have killed them to protect their own citizens?

And why? Because some of them didn't consider themselves to be 'British' or want to be part of the Union.
    Does this mean depending on the referendum we could see the British army getting ready to move into the streets of Glasgow? After all, quite a few people there want out of the Union and don't consider themselves to be British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

LordSutch wrote: »
    The PIRAs victims ranged from policemen to soldiers to politicians, to the judiciary, nit forgetting Lord Mountbatten & his family & friends to all manner of civilians, both in their own community plus civilians from other communities from all walks of life, that's what I mean by "those people".

Most were killed by the IRAs actions, but many of those who survived are missing limbs & eyes courtesy of IRA bombs, most of which comprised of semtex (Thank you Gaddafi) or fertiliser, plus as many 6" nails as they could pack in . . .

And likewise the British army indiscriminately murdered innocent civilians, unarmed clergy, men, women and children. The blew holes in the back of childrens heads at close range, murdered women while they hung out washing on the line in their backyard and and gunned down clergy men while waving white flags of surrender.

It was WAR.
    How long are people going to harp back to what one side did as if there was simply no reason for it? There was blood on both sides.
    And as for Gaddafi?
    You don't need to look that far a field for people who supplied arms to them ;)

Time to look forward and stop with rehashing the past with such bias and keeping old wounds open in order to deflect from the gangsters who have turned the country into a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

my guess is it is the people letting ff, fg, labour, and others know there is more than them,
    now that fg has put huge home taxes, water, septic tank, and wages and work hours gone down, less money in our pockets and more bills,
    it would have been far better to charge less for these,
    so for me it is like turkeys voting for christmas, they know they are going to be slaughtered,
    we are getting an auful slaughtering in the pockets, lets hope fg come to their senses and bring down charges for water to at least take sting out of it,
    i cannot understand why they cannot put our bin collection in to the charges they have put on us,
    i am paying 400 euro for my bins, and find it hard to cover everything.
    so of course i will not vote for people who think they can charge what they like for little or no services

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Kippure wrote: »
    Well done to SF.

But who in there right minds are still voting for FF????
    They must have Alzheimers.....
    Most of the people they're voting for seem to have severe memory problems too...
    "Who gave me all that money in an envelope?"
    "Can't remember yer honour."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭OldRio

Anecdotal heart string tugging garbage.

These same parents would have been pushing them out the door in 2006 telling them to "go off and see the world". Young people like to travel.

Deary me. I live in a rural community. Nearly every weekend there is a gathering around some neighbours house because young people are moving abroad. No work to be had.
    Dismissing this as you did says an awful amount about yourself.

But don't let the truth get in the way of your bitterness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Tell me - who do you turn to when the police are the murderers and your government not only turns a blind eye, but colludes?

You're trying to talk sense to someone who unconditionally supported the RUC/UDR/BA.

Someone who refuses to recognise the systemic collusion of those groups with the degenerate, mass murdering, filth who killed hundreds of innocent unarmed Catholic civilians.

Someone who described the British Army as 'our army' i.e. the army of all of Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

OldRio wrote: »
    Deary me. I live in a rural community. Nearly every weekend there is a gathering around some neighbours house because young people are moving abroad. No work to be had.
    Dismissing this as you did says an awful amount about yourself.

But don't let the truth get in the way of your bitterness.

More anecdotes. I myself live in a rural area in the Southeast (supposedly the hardest hit area in the country) and i know of only one of these get togethers in recent memory that was for a young couple going off to Canada for a year and a half which was years in the planning.

They both left good jobs to go to Canada, one of them was even offered sponsorship to do a management course before she went to try to keep her in the job because she would be difficult to replace.

They are now both back and both working again in different jobs.

I'm not bitter, i just don't swallow the pandering ****e that gets put out there about individuals "having" to leave the country because people want yet another thing to whinge about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

More anecdotes. I myself live in a rural area in the Southeast (supposedly the hardest hit area in the country) and i know of only one of these get togethers in recent memory that was for a young couple going off to Canada for a year and a half which was years in the planning.

They both left good jobs to go to Canada, one of them was even offered sponsorship to do a management course before she went to try to keep her in the job because she would be difficult to replace.

I'm not bitter, i just don't swallow the pandering ****e that gets put out there about individuals "having" to leave the country because people want yet another thing to whinge about.

I live in a rural area inn the south east and outside of farmers children there is literally no one left...are you in all honesty trying to suggest that no one young in your area hasn't had to emigrate for work???

youd want to come down and around here...there is some difference:(:(

no work for anyone my age around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,386 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I have seen many elderly people cry in airports as they bade their sons and daughters goodbye and not knowing if they'd come home alive or if they would be alive themselves when their children returned. I have had two brothers and a sister die in other countries they emigrated to but they wanted to be buried at home and they were. As the old saying goes "there's no place like home".

While there may be many who want to travel and work abroad there's plenty who are abroad against their wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

An awful shame people in this country can be so stupid and unintelligent.

Even forgetting about the recent past and their mates murdering innocent people, their policies are pie in the sky.

I have seen many elderly people cry in airports as they bade their sons and daughters goodbye and not knowing if they'd come home alive .....

Ah stop would you, FFS?

They aren't going off in coffin ships or heading off to fight the Führer.

yes it is to be pitied people voting FG/FF/LP;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

People in the 'South' like to take this high moral stance claiming that they would certainly not have reacted violently to the naked hatred on display in NI. Easy to say when it's not you or your family being interned, you or your family being denied basic rights, you or your family treated like terrorists by the authorities just because of your address or name.

I don't know to be honest.

Both sides behaved abominably.

Republicans like to have the air of "but they started it" - which is arguably the case; claiming the sectarian policies of the North as ample reason for dissent. Unionists, of course, respond likewise, saying that these policies were defensive and a consequence of trying to protect the state from subversive elements who would seek to undermine the state - a state which had been hard fought for, and nearly denied in the 1920s. Republicans and Unionists both like to go even further back in history, with Unionists quoting the siege of Derry and Republicans likewise delving into the war of Three Kingdoms because... why not drag up anachronistic analogies for the sake of self-legitimisation?

Don't actually know who was ultimately less legitimate. Probably the sectarian Unionists as they both had a duty (and opportunity) to extend a hand to the Catholic community; but neither side covered themselves in glory in the end.
    How quickly the Shankill Butchers are forgotten.

How quickly the fact that the army was first brought in to protect the nationalist community from the Loyalist paramilitaries and their buddies in the Orange Order, The RUC, Stormont. [...]

Ah here, that's in the past. We need reconciliation after all.

If these people, guilty of these crimes, were to engage in mainstream politics, shure we'd have the same auld moaners saying "here come the loyalist-bots" and other guff such as "terrorists shouldn't be elected"
    People in the 'South'

Well here is really the rub. Any way you look at it The Troubles were a complicated and muddied affair, the problems of which were centralised in the six counties of Northern Ireland. Sure the issues were felt in Ireland, England, and elsewhere, but the conflict was wholly one based upon and within the country of Northern Ireland.

Sinn Fein 5/6 as a consequence of that conflict is totally bound up with its course and consequences. The two are inseparable.

You say that people from the... 'South'... have no real comprehension of this conflict, having been involved only at a distance. I'd say you're right, although perhaps for slightly different reasons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

I keep hearing about these disastrous SF policies. Anyone care to mention a few cases in point?

Even forgetting about the recent past and their mates murdering innocent people, their policies are pie in the sky.

I think most people now know that we are in a time of peace and want to move on. It is much better for the entire country. I also think that Sinn Fein will do even better when the old guard retire and youth has it's fling.

As regards their policies I wonder if they will cause the same problems as FF policies or even Fine Gael/Labour did and have as much effect on the people.

You seem a very bitter person with little sense of empathy for your fellow man. Pointless discussing this further. You seem to know it all.

Ah stop would you, FFS?

They aren't going off in coffin ships or heading off to fight the Führer.

Just wait until you are bidding your son or daughter goodbye.
    You lack empathy but there will come a time when it will hit home and then the penny will drop.

NipNip wrote: »
    I keep hearing about these disastrous SF policies. Anyone care to mention a few cases in point?

these are the same policies that are costed by the dept of finance...(same as all other polititical budget proposals...but because there SF they must be economically illiterate:rolleyes::rolleyes:)
    and also the not too unreasonable proposal that tds only get the avg industrial wage (this may indeed be why other tds go out of there way to critize SF)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lol. :pac:

OldRio wrote: »
    You seem a very bitter person with little sense of empathy for your fellow man. Pointless discussing this further. You seem to know it all.

You seem like a person who'll swallow any auld ****e that rabble-rousing populists tell you that backs up your doom and gloom view of the alleged "desolation" that the country is experiencing.

The reason that further discussion is pointless is because you don't really have a whole lot of substance to your argument outside of that.

Just wait until you are bidding your son or daughter goodbye.
    You lack empathy but there will come a time when it will hit home and then the penny will drop.

I think yer man is very young and trying to sound tough on a messageboard.
    Anyway goodnight and may your God go with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

1) You're bitter. Get over it.

2) The idea that tens of thousands of Irish nationals are leaving this country every year simply because they like to travel (as opposed to being forced out due to lack of opportunities) is absolutely nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

NipNip wrote: »

Having Gerry Adams as leader.

He's great value for the rest of us in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Ah hold on, signing a book on condolence for Hitler is a non story?

Right so...

Of course it's a story, I'm sure it made page one of the London Times in May 1945.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Karl Stein wrote: »
    You're trying to talk sense to someone who unconditionally supported the RUC/UDR/BA.

Someone who refuses to recognise the systemic collusion of those groups with the degenerate, mass murdering, filth who killed hundreds of innocent unarmed Catholic civilians.

Someone who described the British Army as 'our army' i.e. the army of all of Ireland.

And who has no problem with the vandalisation of Republican graves belonging to those who fought in the war of independence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Having Gerry Adams as leader.

He's great value for the rest of us in fairness.
    Poor auld Frank Black. :mad:

You seem like a person who'll swallow any auld ****e that rabble-rousing populists tell you that backs up your doom and gloom view of the alleged "desolation" that the country is experiencing.

The reason that further discussion is pointless is because you don't really have a whole lot of substance to your argument outside of that.

but to suggest as you have that no one is leaving due to no oppurtunities is wrong....ive a lot of family members and friends emigrated...some are gone for 4+ years at this stage
    you are naïve in the extreme if you don't think it is happening...do you think people my age are suddently interested in travelling on a scale not seen before

HINT: there aren't any jobs for young people...who wants to sit around all day and do nothing...no one the only ones who are...are those who cant afford to emigrate....I know this as so many of my friends have sold cars everything to get money together for deposit on bedsits in London etc....the amount going over sleeping on couches/sleeping bags on floors till they get set up would surprise you

how do you not know this is happening??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Is Mary Lou married?