Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Way to go Sinn Fein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 strettyend

Bull****. We used to call this "going travelling" during the boom and parents actively encouraged their kids to do it.

There is a tiny minority of people who actually had to move for work.

Really? Well if you would like to check your facts up to 50 thousand people on average have emigrated from ireland to seek work every year during the present recession. Now if that is a "tiny minority" the population of ireland most have doubled or trebled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

• Poorer regional and local roads
    • A health service which has arguably declined further
    • Less gardai and more crime
    • Exploitation in the form of job bridge
    • Bankers who have got away with bringing the economy down
    FG/Labour have been extremely ineffective during their tenure.

Where do you propose the state get the extra cash required to correct the above?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    A vote for SF is condoning all of it and more.

Its times like this you must be fierce glad that only SF has had some violence in its past........

Oh wait........

digzy wrote: »
    Where do you propose the state get the extra cash required to correct the above?

There's loads of savings to be made elsewhere do not forget. 80 odd million went on consultant fees for Irish Water springs to mind for starters. Never mind the Siemens offer of free meters that was snubbed :confused:

Still far too much wastage going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭fran17

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    A vote for SF is condoning all of it and more.

but there's just no logic in that in 2014,this is the same old rethoric that kenny,gilmore etc. come out with on a regular basis.im not a sinn fein supporter and i think alot of there policies are mere populist babble but the past is the past and they have moved on as a democratic political party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,376 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bull****. We used to call this "going travelling" during the boom and parents actively encouraged their kids to do it.

Cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Phoebas wrote: »
    Well, I can't give you evidence of what was in the mind of every nationalist voter in N.I. but I don't think any serious person would dispute that the SDLP rejected violence as a political tool whereas SF did not.

My point exactly.
    You, nor I, know what the people who lived there endured or thought and thats is completely irregardless of how they may have voted.
    But one thing is for certain.
    People most certainly didn't just wake up of a Tuesday morning in the North and think "You know what? I think I'll go out and shot someone for no apparent reason whatsoever"
    Its incredibly facetious for people to suggest there was no real justifiable reason for retaliation against what was happening there at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Phoebas wrote: »
    Well, I can't give you evidence of what was in the mind of every nationalist voter in N.I. but I don't think any serious person would dispute that the SDLP rejected violence as a political tool whereas SF did not.

Oh and also, violence was only resorted to after many, many pleas that fell on the deaf ears of the UK government. But you already know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Hey Yitzhak, are you still singing the praises of Alan Shatter after him breaking the law on national television, misleading the Dail and blackening the name of a whistle-blower?

Bit rich for you to be calling others lunatics when you continuously ignore reality yourself.

This is the second time you've called me a Yitzhak. I have no idea what it means, but I can only assume its an insult.

This thread isn't about Alan Shatter. I have already made my views clear on him in the appropriate thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,553 ✭✭✭OldRio

Tell that to the GAA clubs that are having to merge to form teams.

Tell that to the parents whose children are leaving.

moxin wrote: »
    How many of your adult children have been forced to emigrate so far?

None. However, I am currently living and working in Germany. I don't think if people back home for some group of republican whackjobs that suddenly Ireland will have a job to match my skillset, quite the opposite in fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Ozwald

Smidge wrote: »
    My point exactly.
    You, nor I, know what the people who lived there endured or thought and thats is completely irregardless of how they may have voted.
    But one thing is for certain.
    People most certainly didn't just wake up of a Tuesday morning in the North and think "You know what? I think I'll go out and shot someone for no apparent reason whatsoever"
    Its incredibly facetious for people to suggest there was no real justifiable reason for retaliation against what was happening there at the time.

Enniskillen or Omagh ring a bell?

This is the second time you've called me a Yitzhak. I have no idea what it means, but I can only assume its an insult.

This thread isn't about Alan Shatter. I have already made my views clear on him in the appropriate thread.

Shatter is Jewish. This clown, URL, is obviously, a knuckledragging bigot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Smidge wrote: »
    And yet the majority of northern nationalists supported a party that took the position that violent retaliation wasn't justifiable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,278 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ozwald wrote: »
    Shatter is Jewish. This clown is an obvious, knuckledragging bigot.

lol

Or I could have been referring to something else entirely

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=257730

Your powers of deduction are certainly impressive though

2+2 = lemons :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

davycc wrote: »
    This might be a news flash for you but they had a need to do all these deplorable acts as the violence has escalated so much on all sides and we needed to keep up with the loyalist/uvf death squads...

So you were in the PIRA, right?

None. However, I am currently living and working in Germany. I don't think if people back home for some group of republican whackjobs that suddenly Ireland will have a job to match my skillset, quite the opposite in fact.

What :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Exactly. If and/or when.

I've kept an open mind to Fine Gael/Labour but the fact is they haven't really worked out. People say the Shinners/ULA have unrealistic policies but how realistic is expecting a country with an unemployment rate which peaked at 14% (currently around 12% i think) to pay the following

• Increased Vat on goods
    • Water charges
    • Property tax
    • Increased motor tax
    • Increased fuel charges
    All the while we still have

• Poorer regional and local roads
    • A health service which has arguably declined further
    • Less gardai and more crime
    • Exploitation in the form of job bridge
    • Bankers who have got away with bringing the economy down
    FG/Labour have been extremely ineffective during their tenure.

Life is harder now. Work hard - oops jobs are scarce, **** you, ha ha ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

The irony, you working abroad, surprise surprise.

Republican whackjob you say? Well, you better tell this republican whackjob who just got elected as a councillor of your concerns :rolleyes::D http://www.thejournal.ie/edmond-lukusa-will-run-for-election-for-sinn-fein-in-2014-1198380-Nov2013/

Shatter is Jewish. This clown, URL, is obviously, a knuckledragging bigot.

With Ill informed idiotic posts like this one, I for one would welcome more comedy gold, from you.

11posts in 4 years isn't nearly enough :pac:

Your powers of deduction are certainly impressive though

If it quacks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,278 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If it quacks...

You'd probably assume it was an anti-semetic giraffe

11posts in 4 years isn't nearly enough :pac:

I prefer the outdoors, Deliverance boy.

moxin wrote: »
    The irony, you working abroad, surprise surprise.

Republican whackjob you say? Well, you better tell this republican whackjob who just got elected as a councillor of your concerns :rolleyes::D http://www.thejournal.ie/edmond-lukusa-will-run-for-election-for-sinn-fein-in-2014-1198380-Nov2013/

What's ironic about it? I'm a realist. When the economy melted down in 2008 in the worst depression in history I wasn't expecting an overnight fix.

As much as I'm loathe to admit it, FG policies are working. Sure they're not easy, and not as appealing to the entitlement class as SFs free money for everyone manifesto, but they are stabilising the economy and creating jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

frimpong wrote: »
    As I have said, young people in this country by and large do not have the same hang ups about Sinn Fein people like yourself have. They have only ever known Sinn Fein as another political party.
    While the situation the country has been in over the last 6 years has helped, I don't think it is a coincidence that Sinn Feins support has seen a dramatic increase as people who were only children as the troubles were coming to an end have become old enough to vote.

Anyway time will tell.

So you're saying these young people won't know or remember the kneecapping, bullet in the back of the head, etc. side of sinn fein..

Tell me what makes these young people so different from all the young people over the years that can't vote for FG or FF because of what happened 70, 80 and now 90 years ago because its what their parents tell them.

Any way what really is the potential size of sinn fein? 20% i'd say, also i'd guess that's the amount of people who live in council houses....:)

digzy wrote: »

How do you propose we will ever get the cash to pay back the debt? Generations down the line will be saddled for the sins of a minority of fat cat bankers.

Other then job creation and trade agreements there is still many efficiencies occurring in the civil/public service bodies. The token gestures made at reform is fooling no one.
    I believe also that they could have sought a better deal from Europe to ease the burden on the tax payer. In Britain for one we have a valuable ally. Do you think the EU are going to let us collapse? If we go, so does the whole tower of cards. We definitely could have sought a better deal. The gutless wimps arent even trying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

LordSutch wrote: »
    The need to put a(*.................)on the TV I heard Adams defending the bombing of the Grand Hotel in Brighton < he actually defended the attack.

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

LordSutch wrote: »
    So you were in the PIRA, right?

Of course not I dont think Id have had the stomach for killing personally. Im glad there were enough fearless PIRA to do the hard necessary evils on my behalf that was the only solution back then:)

caught between a rock and a hard place as you well know-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

So you're saying these young people won't know or remember the kneecapping, bullet in the back of the head, etc. side of sinn fein..

Tell me what makes these young people so different from all the young people over the years that can't vote for FG or FF because of what happened 70, 80 and now 90 years ago because its what their parents tell them.

Any way what really is the potential size of sinn fein? 20% i'd say, also i'd guess that's the amount of people who live in council houses....:)

...and its back to the social snobbery and elitism.

I prefer the outdoors, Deliverance boy.

The gift that just keeps giving. :D