Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giro d'Italia 2014 - no discussion of current day stage, see spoiler rules in Charter

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭slap/dash

figs666 wrote: »
    well lads , are we doing one or not ??:D

Ive posted plenty re this meself on here. Looking like ill just haveta do it on me own, but yeah lets do this

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I noticed some road works going on at Clontarf today. I was told they were just doing patchwork rather that prepping for proper resurfacing. Hope the patchwork is gonna sort out all the big holes in the road out to the causeway...

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

cdaly_ wrote: »
    I noticed some road works going on at Clontarf today. I was told they were just doing patchwork rather that prepping for proper resurfacing. Hope the patchwork is gonna sort out all the big holes in the road out to the causeway...

Have my doubts any roadworks anywhere are related to the Giro. It has not been recognised by official Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 551 ✭✭✭sbs2010

Have my doubts any roadworks anywhere are related to the Giro. It has not been recognised by official Ireland.

But would the Giro organization not inspect the route and demand a minimum standard of road surface?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Road works on the route in Skerries, going up past the Skerries Harps GAA club up until the Dublin road.

Definitely to do with the Giro.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Road works on the route in Skerries, going up past the Skerries Harps GAA club up until the Dublin road.

Definitely to do with the Giro.

I stand corrected so. Will actually be going out to Skerries to make a day of it.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,093 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I believe they have also been working on the Coast Road between Balbriggan and Skerries - much better than the Ras when we usually just get the new potholes filled - some real resurfacing has been going on this time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

For those who want to attend the Giro team presentation in Belfast on the 8th May ...register here

http://blog.visit-belfast.com/giro-ditalia-big-start-2014-belfast-northern-ireland/posts/register-for-giro-team-presentation-ticket-updates

Chance to support the race and cheer on our boys

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

For people driving upto and staying in Belfast there's a link to road closures at the bottom of this page:

http://www.belfastcity.gov.uk/events/Event-24694.aspx?E_EventGroup=Giro2014

Anyone know if Sagan is coming to Ireland for Giro....Cannondale usually support Italian races ??

Cavandish is not in Giro I believe and Greipel is injured and doubt he'll be back

Kittel is coming but would be nice to have a show down as Irish stages are for the fast men

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

figs666 wrote: »
    well lads , are we doing one or not ??:D

A local south east sportif ran last year, as a fundraiser for a local primary school , in a townsland called murrintown. Supported by the local cycling club , the event ( in 2013) was called the 'Giro del murrintowneo.....

For 2014, the use of the term 'giro' in the event title was objected to, and not permitted to be used.

just in case an event springs up in the coming weeks with a 'giro' in the title.:):):):D:D or maybe all the teams turn up , by mistake at the wrong Giro !!!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,333 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

anyone have an idea how close the Giro route is going to be with the final leg of the Cycle against Suicide... both heading down the 'coast road' that day to Dublin !

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users Posts: 13,749 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

greenspurs wrote: »
    anyone have an idea how close the Giro route is going to be with the final leg of the Cycle against Suicide... both heading down the 'coast road' that day to Dublin !

The cycle against suicide won't be as the roads will be closed for the full time of the Giro Stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

sbs2010 wrote: »
    But would the Giro organization not inspect the route and demand a minimum standard of road surface?

I wouldn't think so. Did you not see the goat trail they went up a few years ago in Italy? The average speed was in the single digits and the road surface was in bits.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,333 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

the roads arent meant to be glass smooth ...... Where would the fun be in that ? :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,093 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You can rest assured any defects in the course where I currently hold the KOM's will be corrected in advance of11th May:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Rita1

Hi folks,

Does anyone know what hotels the teams are staying at in Belfast or will this be all very QT?

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

The section of road at the O2 roundabout has been resealed - the piece where there was old tram lines

That could have caused chaos on a wet day.

bring it on! Only 5 weeks to go

Marshalling volunteering details here

Training will be provided if not already obtained via some other source, but it looks to me as if they are cutting it a bit fine (they've been working on this in Ulster for months)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Beasty wrote: »
    Marshalling volunteering details here

Training will be provided if not already obtained via some other source, but it looks to me as if they are cutting it a bit fine (they've been working on this in Ulster for months)

My exact thoughts when I got the email this morning. Shameful, the approach taken.

Unlikely to be fit enough to marshal, so van now start thinking about what poster to stick up.

Initial thought was "Beasty iz ere", but then I thought how about something like "Leave my feckin KOMs alone!":D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

looks like Sky wont have a strong team in the Giro cos now Porte is skipping it! http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/porte-to-skip-the-giro-ditalia

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    looks like Sky wont have a strong team in the Giro cos now Porte is skipping it! http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/porte-to-skip-the-giro-ditalia

Hope they still have Philip Deignan...he has had stomach problems recently along with being out alot with his collarbones....but hope he get a chance as could win a stage esp if off the hook re domestique duties

Without Henao , Kennaugh is next in line but he may be also concentrating on the Tour ....Wiggins could maybe have won this Giro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!....but he has now shifted to a cobbles specialist

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

MPFG wrote: »
    Hope they still have Philip Deignan...he has had stomach problems recently along with being out alot with his collarbones....but hope he get a chance as could win a stage esp if off the hook re domestique duties

Without Henao , Kennaugh is next in line but he may be also concentrating on the Tour ....Wiggins could maybe have won this Giro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!....but he has now shifted to a cobbles specialist

What about Nieve? he did well in the basque country today. Is a good climber.
    In other news Cavendish still to decide btw Giro and California

So who is the Movistar rider crossing the line, on the Giro bill board adverts around town.

Rui Costa?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

They're out repairing the road between Portmarnock and Baldoyle. The long (as in 2km) line of cones down the middle of the road means I've been dragging a line of cars behind me on my commute ; to be fair all well behaved.

bazermc wrote: »
    So who is the Movistar rider crossing the line, on the Giro bill board adverts around town.

Rui Costa?

Beñat Intxausti ?? ( won 2 stages last year dedicating them to his friend Xavier Tondo)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Bikerbhoy

Did yez all get your flyer in the post this morning with the bills. . .Fair play NOTHERN IRELAND Tourist board.Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭buffalo

Bikerbhoy wrote: »
    Did yez all get your flyer in the post this morning with the bills. . .Fair play NOTHERN IRELAND Tourist board.Well done.

The NI flyer has stage 3 ending in Forkhill I think. Now DCC claim the race only goes from Dundalk-Drogheda and Malahide-Dublin... how's it getting from Drogheda to Malahide?

The NI flyer barely makes reference to the stage 3 into Dublin.

I thought these tourist boards were suppose to be working together.