Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knackers trying to scare people by shouting in faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Stephen_Forest

Ye that happened to me when I was walking to the Phoenix park a while back, Three young scutts jumped out in front of me and my wife and shouted something or other. We were walking down from the NCR and it is a bit of a kip down beside the O'Devaney gardens. As frustrating as it is there is nothing you can do but ignore them.

Do you honestly believe that a kick in the arse is worth the assault that kid got? And do you think if you saw a grown man doing that to a 12-year old that you'd happily just walk on by?

I'm much more concerned about people who'd react like Crockholm did, people taking their revenge porn fantasies out of the online realm and into the real world, than I am about the minor problem of anti-social behaviour.

It was a kick in the arse for f*ck's sake!

What is the proper response? "That's quite alright, m'lord. I actually enjoyed your kick up the arse, now back to servitude I go while you head off to multiply and live off my taxes."

Honestly...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭con___manx1

one of my friends got a head butt paddy's day in Waterford he was wearing a tall hat the knacker took it off my mates head.
    none of us are the fighting type especially my friend who got headbutted. he honestly wouldn't say boo to a goose.
    me and my mate went over to the knack and said he better give the hat back.he laughed in our faces. at the exact same time me and my mate threw a punch at him both striking his face. i got the hat and walked off. he will think twice next time knacker.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    What is the proper response? "That's quite alright, m'lord. I actually enjoyed your kick up the arse, now back to servitude I go while you head off to multiply and live off my taxes."

Honestly...
    I'm not sure what he should've done but molesting him with a trowel would actually be pretty far down on my list of appropriate responses.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Do you honestly believe that a kick in the arse is worth the assault that kid got? And do you think if you saw a grown man doing that to a 12-year old that you'd happily just walk on by?

I'm much more concerned about people who'd react like Crockholm did, people taking their revenge porn fantasies out of the online realm and into the real world, than I am about the minor problem of anti-social behaviour.

It was a kick in the arse for f*ck's sake!

Jesus h christ! :mad:
    Some random stranger walks by you, invades your personal space and basically assaults you, unprovoked and for no reason at all except to "have the craic wi me mates", "look cool" or whatever, then yeah your basically entitled to defend yourself in whatever way you can imho.

Maybe Im wrong, but if anyone makes the first punch/kick what have you intentionally towards you for little/no reason then you can go to town on them as self defense tbh.

It seems to be only a few areas left in the city where you can just go about your business without any hassle from scangers/scumbags, or maybe Ive just been living in the area im in too long :p

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Maybe Im wrong

Legally it is wrong.

Ethically or morally it's... eh... well it's probing a 12 year old in the balls with a trowel.

I'm not sure where that fits in terms of morals to be honest. Anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Seachmall wrote: »
    Legally it is wrong.

Ethically or morally it's... eh... well it's probing a 12 year old in the balls with a trowel.

He stabbed the lad in the sack with a trowel, Not unzipped his jeans, whipped out his shlong and sucked him off. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Seachmall wrote: »
    Legally it is wrong.

Maybe he was starting his own private forced sterilisation scheme like so many here are advocating.

I think initiative like that needs to be applauded

• Registered Users Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Honestly...

How about not hitting kids in the balls? Apart from the size and maturity difference involved there is also the possibility of the kid telling his parents some adult went near his balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

steddyeddy wrote: »
    How about not hitting kids in the balls? Apart from the size and maturity difference involved there is also the possibility of the kid telling his parents some adult went near his balls.

Said kids parents were probably too high on bath salts to care

wexie wrote: »
    Maybe he was starting his own private forced sterilisation scheme like so many here are advocating.

I think initiative like that needs to be applauded

I'm all for initiative but... but... 12 year old... balls... trowel...

I just can't get over the absurdity of the whole thing. I'd genuinely piss myself laughing if I saw the headline "Man arrested after exacting revenge on bum-kicker by prodding minor's genitals with gardening device" in some paper.

Ah, I can't get over how great, but still wrong, the entire situation is.

When your on all fours getting a boot in the hoop, i think your at about balls level...Seems reasonable to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Lelantos wrote: »

Ah c'mon now with the prejudice, there's no reason to assume his parents were druggies.

They could have been good ol' honest, god fearing alcoholics

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

This was also my only gripe with the issue. Whatever if you were under 18 giving someone younger a quick lesson with a swift kick to the goulies, but an adult + young lads genitals = a no go area.

I wish parenting bad or good was a prediction of a childs behaviour. There's plenty of kids with good parents who turn out !"holes and vice versa.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

wesf wrote: »
    Yes I do, don't interfere with anyone else and you won't be interfered with, it's simple.
    Where do you think the dirtbags that could rob your house or car etc start off?!

In deprived circumstances in which they're poorly brought-up by unfit parents because they themselves were raised in similar circumstances. In situations where crime and drug abuse are normalised, and they're faced with peer pressure to get involved in both. In situations where people call them "skanger," "scumbag," "howiya" based on their appearance and accent.

So you see, we really need to be out there sterilising, beating up, and eye gouging poverty if we really want to get rid of these scary people who shout at us.
    If a 12yo kicks a full grown man in the arse, what's he going to do to a 10yo boy?

Kick him in the shin?

Give him a Chinese burn?

Something equally trivial?
    ...he won't be kicking anyone up the hole while they're trying to work any time soon.

I agree, he might be coming back with his big brothers.

Honestly...

Now that's just silly! Honestly, I'd probably do nothing. I think I'm more than capable of taking a kick in the bottom from a child (also, being a child, I'd say he'd be too young to fully get the "multiply and live off my taxes" bit. I wouldn't use it), and it wouldn't be personal, so why bother giving him the reaction he wants.
    Maybe I'm a bit more level-headed than some of the wannabe Charles Bronsons on this thread, but I think the worst thing I'd do would be to call him "a little pr*ck" or some such, and maybe grab him by the collar.
    But I honestly can't fathom a right-minded adult wanting to assault a child for giving him a kick up the bottom.
    Especially if you're on your hands and knees! If ten 12-year olds pass you while in such a position, one of them is going to kick you!
    one of my friends got a head butt paddy's day in Waterford he was wearing a tall hat the knacker took it off my mates head.
    none of us are the fighting type especially my friend who got headbutted. he honestly wouldn't say boo to a goose.
    me and my mate went over to the knack and said he better give the hat back.he laughed in our faces. at the exact same time me and my mate threw a punch at him both striking his face. i got the hat and walked off. he will think twice next time knacker.

What do you expect walking around Waterford wearing a top hat?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

We're already spending billions in supporting the ne'er do wells. How many more billion shall it take?

Billions spent on what? I think you're thinking of the banking white collar criminals, not blue collar juveniles ;). Welfare spending has nothing to do with early childhood intervention and crime prevention measures.

And however much is spent on prevention saves the State multiples on criminalising and incarcerating people.

Kick him in the shin?

Give him a Chinese burn?

Something equally trivial

Dunno, Jamie Bolger springs to mind,

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Jesus h christ! :mad:
    Some random stranger walks by you, invades your personal space and basically assaults you, unprovoked and for no reason at all except to "have the craic wi me mates", "look cool" or whatever, then yeah your basically entitled to defend yourself in whatever way you can imho.

Maybe Im wrong, but if anyone makes the first punch/kick what have you intentionally towards you for little/no reason then you can go to town on them as self defense tbh.

It seems to be only a few areas left in the city where you can just go about your business without any hassle from scangers/scumbags, or maybe Ive just been living in the area im in too long :p

Hyperbole is all well and good, but all that happened is a child kicked his bottom when it was a very visible target, not a serious assault.
    0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    He stabbed the lad in the sack with a trowel, Not unzipped his jeans, whipped out his shlong and sucked him off. :rolleyes:

*raises eyebrows, adds "stabbing child in the groin with a trowel" to list of things it's apparentl ok to do*

If I get "attacked" by some twelve year old am I to go for his private parts too?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

wesf wrote: »
    It's attitudes like yours and that old mans that has the scum knowing they can get away with anything.
    Crockholm was dead right, bet that dirtbag thought twice before doing anything like that again.

The only lesson he probably learned is in future to pick on people more his own size or those who look smaller, weaker or more vulnerable than him.

Violence begets violence and solves nothing.

Hyperbole is all well and good, but all that happened is a child kicked his bottom when it was a very visible target, not a serious assault.

*raises eyebrows, adds "stabbing child in the groin with a trowel" to list of things it's apparentl ok to do*

Yes when the little scum bag boots you up the hole, anything goes.

Dunno, Jamie Bolger springs to mind,

Bottom-kicking to child-murder?

Wild leaps of logic spring to mind.

If I get "attacked" by some twelve year old am I to go for his private parts too?

No Father, prob a bad idea in your case

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Of course not! Behead him with a Bushman saw. That gets their attention big-time.

scopper wrote: »
    I'm curious where you are walking? Do you mean getting asked for change/smokes, etc.? That's pretty common anyway. And it's the price of living in a big city. You'll have the experience in London or Barcelona or Paris. It's part of life and surely always has been. You just ignore them.

No, I mean several instances of being randomly punched/slapped, a mugging and quite a bit of serious harassment. I don't consider being asked for smoke or change a problem.

And no, it's NOT the price of living in a big city. This is something Irish people love to say to make themselves feel better. It's NOT NORMAL to walk around your city half-expecting to get a slap from some random knacker. I've lived in London, New York, Brussels, Toulouse and Seville among other places and not once have I ever experienced the level of mindless, inane violence I regularly witness in Dublin. I do watch myself in London more than I would elsewhere, but even there, there's way less hassle in the centre of the city.

In fairness, heat of the moment & all that, the guy was assaulted, reactions are expected, to what degree, opinions differ

I know! Isn't this discussion great!

Where else on the internet will you come across people arguing in favour of "interfering" with children with trowels as a form of punishment?!

Oh God, I love AH sooooooo much.

In fairness, heat of the moment & all that, the guy was assaulted, reactions are expected, to what degree, opinions differ
    But what sort of man's first response is to grab a trowel and think "groiny-stabby! groiny-stabby!" when eyeing up a child?!

Dear lord, I think I might cry! :D

Bottom-kicking to child-murder?

Wild leaps of logic spring to mind.

Maybe, but an a teen that has no fear attacking an adult will certainly have none attacking a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

We need vigilantes in this country and we ****ing need them now.