Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knackers trying to scare people by shouting in faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

NS77 wrote: »
    True, other cities have their rough areas, but by-and-large, the tourist/commercial areas are protected / policed. This is not the case in Dublin. I rarely go into the city centre now.

Me neither. I like meeting friends up there but I feel like we have to stick to certain pockets of the city only for safety-during daylight hours I mean.

Almost every time I'm in Dublin I see some form of intimidating anti-social behaviour, or I'm the victim of it, and yes, it seems to be getting worse. It really puts me off the place.
    NS77 wrote: »
    .. and there's no point saying: "sure it's no different to any other large city". We should not accept other peoples standards, we should set our own based on the type of city / society that we want. Why not be the city that other aspire to??

People who say that obviously haven't lived in other, quite frankly more civilised large cities. Or they're trying to convince themselves it's not so bad because they have to live there and don't want to face the truth.

I lived for 8 years in a Swedish city. Not once did I ever feel unsafe walking around it on my own as a woman. The only problem I ever had was on occasion a drunk sitting down next to me on a bus or tram to have a chat, but they were never aggressive or violent.

I can count on one hand the number of times I personally witnessed any kind of aggression, violence or anti-social behaviour in my 8 years there, at any time of day or night.

Sure there are certain parts of Gothenburg I wouldn't have wandered around at night on my own but they're not in the city centre, they're in the suburbs and so easy to avoid as none of my Swedish friends lived there anyway.

The type of random acts of intimidation and violence that happen on a daily basis in Dublin simply don't happen in the city centres there. And if they did the police would take swift action to deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

It's full of dirty little disrespectful, Ill mannered, miseducated and prejudiced toe rags. Living here years and like others, I've never seen anything, anywhere, even approaching the dirtballs that are rampant here.

The mad thing is, put any of them in Istanbul, Karachi, Madrid, Casablanca or basically any other city you can expect to walk through and be left alone, if they tried their sh!t they'd be picking their teeth up with stumps.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭thefasteriwalk

Links234 wrote: »
    totally right! and then set their house on fire and kill their family pets

scumbags are scumbags because ordinary people don't become idiot scumbags themselves and sink to violent thuggery far worse than what the original "scum" did.

Do what you want with them, but leave the animals alone!

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Flimbos wrote: »
    Alright, where is the focal point for skangers in the park, papal cross, the wellington monument?

It's a big park, might be best just to avoid the hotspots.

It's my city my park too. the last thing i would do is go out of my way trying to avoid them...fair enough i wouldnt go near sheriff street at 11pm at night but phoenix park, full of families at 7 in the evening on a beautiful sunny day? feck off...ill walk where i want and next time something happens...ill lash out and suffer the consequences in court. who will win? jacinta/deco or I? im thinking me because i can string a sentence together and wasnt the one running around screaming in peoples faces with a can of bulmers in my hand.

It is all about a lack of respect for others and authority brought about by a lack if quality parenting.

I think that's certainly part of it, yes, but the problem there is that in the most part the parents themselves didn't have good role models in the home and so the dysfunction gets passed on to the next generation unless there is some kind of intervention. The problems become multi-generational and entrenched.
    I think the social welfare system in combination with the justice system here is a big part of it.

The justice system doesn't work as it should and seems to be no deterrent whatsoever to those who commit crime, but I don't think the social welfare system is to blame. There are other countries, such as the one I mentioned in my previous post that have far more generous welfare states that our own that do not have the same level of social problems or youth violence and crime we have in this country.
    Two words that might put a little manners on them: food stamps.

That doesn't work in the U.S. as a deterrent to crime, why should it work here?

Without addressing and solving the root causes of crime measures, restricting income and instead giving food stamps to generationally poor and marginalised people only incentivises many to commit crime to sustain themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

My experience of Dublin was absolutely fine, to be honest. I lived there for two years near the city centre - northside and southside - and didn't encounter a fraction of the trouble people are talking about here. Maybe I'm just not very observant.

But the stuff about people who don't stand up to scumbags being responsible for scumbags (rather than, y'know, the scumbags being responsible for themselves) is hilarious. :)
    I won't stand up to violent thugs myself, because I don't want to be badly assaulted. Ta.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Greentopia wrote: »
    I think that's certainly part of it, yes, but the problem there is that in the most part the parents themselves didn't have good role models in the home and so the dysfunction gets passed on to the next generation unless there is some kind of intervention. The problems become multi-generational and entrenched.

The justice system doesn't work as it should and seems to be no deterrent whatsoever to those who commit crime, but I don't think the social welfare system is to blame. There are other countries, such as the one I mentioned in my previous post that have far more generous welfare states that our own that do not have the same level of social problems or youth violence and crime we have in this country.

That doesn't work in the U.S. as a deterrent to crime, why should it work here?

Without addressing and solving the root causes of crime measures, restricting income and instead giving food stamps to generationally poor and marginalised people only incentivises many to commit crime to sustain themselves.
    Im suggesting food stamps as a penalty. Commit crime while on social - some of your social is now paid in form of vouchers redeemable for food/utility. Im suggesting introducing something which seems to be lacking - consequences. The justice system and SW system should certainly interact in this way.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

The scum are out in their droves in the Phoenix Park today. Is it not possible to have a relaxing hour lying in the sun without some toerag making it a misery for everyone else?

Dublin and Ireland generally has a serious problem with anti-social violent behaviour in public places.

This city needs an enema...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I really do wonder where some of ye do end up in Dublin. Like most Dubliners I don't fear any part of the city beyond obvious pockets that have been no-go for as long as anyone remembers. We are a capital city and that means anti-social behaviour will happen. Sure, I've lived in smaller European cities and felt safe, but that would be true for any smaller city relative to a capital.

As someone who walks the city daily I do see the junkies, but do things happen to me very often? No, you just keep your head on and refuse to engage the obvious dodgeballs.

scopper wrote: »
    I really do wonder where some of ye do end up in Dublin. Like most Dubliners I don't fear any part of the city beyond obvious pockets that have been no-go for as long as anyone remembers. We are a capital city and that means anti-social behaviour will happen. Sure, I've lived in smaller European cities and felt safe, but that would be true for any smaller city relative to a capital.

As someone who walks the city daily I do see the junkies, but do things happen to me very often? No, you just keep your head on and refuse to engage the obvious dodgeballs.

I've had countless negative incidents, all in the city centre. It's not about no-go zones, it's about scumbag behaviour in places we all need to go. Things tend to happen when you're standing waiting for a bus or even walking down the street minding your own business.

Fridge wrote: »
    But once you're in your car, lock the doors and you're pretty safe. I don't feel safe taking taxis with all the things that have happened to people I know and just waiting around for buses etc you can get dragged into fights or anything.

That's a laughable degree of paranoia for a grown-up to have.

I've had countless negative incidents, all in the city centre. It's not about no-go zones, it's about scumbag behaviour in places we all need to go. Things tend to happen when you're standing waiting for a bus or even walking down the street minding your own business.

I'm curious where you are walking? Do you mean getting asked for change/smokes, etc.? That's pretty common anyway. And it's the price of living in a big city. You'll have the experience in London or Barcelona or Paris. It's part of life and surely always has been. You just ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Sometimes though you can't win either way. A few years back, my brother and his mate were out one night in Dublin when a couple of drunk scumbags started on them for no reason. Not once did he or the friend ever provoke them, they even said how they just walked away, with their arms up to cover their faces from the blows. Not once did they ever hit back. My brother ended up having his tooth knocked out and I still remember that morning when he showed up his shirt, covered with spots of blood.

Since I was young, I didn't understand the whole situation but now I am angry over how they attacked my brother, could have ended up killing him and his mate.
    Being drunk is no excuse, it takes a couple of real scumbags to start on people for absolutely no reason.

Im suggesting food stamps as a penalty. Commit crime while on social - some of your social is now paid in form of vouchers redeemable for food/utility. Im suggesting introducing something which seems to be lacking - consequences. The justice system and SW system should certainly interact in this way.

Now it's food AND utilities?

Cut peoples SW like that and the only consequence would be more crime-people stealing, selling drugs and so on to pay other bills, taxes and charges, clothing and all everyday living expenses. It would do nothing to help turn their kids away from crime.

If all some kids know is a lifetime of criminal activity without consequences they're not going to suddenly turn into educated, law abiding tax paying model citizens, even under threat of punishment for their crimes by their parents.

What's needed in the first instance is early childhood intervention and state services directed to help, support and educate parents to prevent their kids growing up to be juvenile and then adult criminals. Punishing parents by the methods you propose achieves none of this and would be counter-productive and short sighted.
    Even some conservative think-tanks understand this and endorse a preventative strategy rather than punitive one.

Greentopia wrote: »
    Now it's food AND utilities?

Cut peoples SW like that and the only consequence would be more crime-people stealing, selling drugs and so on to pay other bills, taxes and charges, clothing and all everyday living expenses. It would do nothing to help turn their kids away from crime.

If all some kids know is a lifetime of criminal activity without consequences they're not going to suddenly turn into educated, law abiding tax paying model citizens, even under threat of punishment for their crimes by their parents.

What's needed in the first instance is early childhood intervention and state services directed to help, support and educate parents to prevent their kids growing up to be juvenile and then adult criminals. Punishing parents by the methods you propose achieves none of this and would be counter-productive and short sighted.
    Even some conservative think-tanks understand this and endorse a preventative strategy rather than punitive one.

We're already spending billions in supporting the ne'er do wells. How many more billion shall it take?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Rezident

Haven't noticed this yet but sadly not surprised. The lads I go to lunch with (from Galway and the states) were just talking today about the Dublin skanger phenomenon, it's comical when it's not so depressing.

If someone does surprise you like that I think you're well within your rights to hit them in self-defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

crockholm wrote: »
    Have to disagree with you here based on my experiences.

I was working on the LUAS line at ballyogan road,repairing a damaged kerb,ergo, on all fours.Just from a cursory glance,I could see 2 12-13 year olds going by,all of a sudden I got a boot up the arse from one of them.

After a brief Bishop Brennan wtf moment I grabbed the wee scrote,pinned him to the wall whilst stabbing the lil' facker in the balls with my pointing trowel,some old bastaad who was passing and who had seen the episode warned me that if I didn't let him go he would get the guards and my employers straight away.

As I had infinitely more to lose than the punk kid,I left him go, but the fact that a 5 foot 3 scobe fancies his chances against a 6"1, 16 st man,and that there will be no consequences,says it all.As for the old man-I just hope that little weasel has robbed him by now

In response to getting a kick in the bottom, you pinned a minor against a wall, stabbed his groin with a trowel, and now hope than an elderly man who tried to stop your assault gets robbed!?

You're a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

In response to getting a kick in the bottom, you pinned a minor against a wall, stabbed his groin with a trowel, and now hope than an elderly man who tried to stop your assault gets robbed!?

You're a scumbag.
    It's attitudes like yours and that old mans that has the scum knowing they can get away with anything.
    Crockholm was dead right, bet that dirtbag thought twice before doing anything like that again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Rezident wrote: »
    Haven't noticed this yet but sadly not surprised. The lads I go to lunch with (from Galway and the states) were just talking today about the Dublin skanger phenomenon, it's comical when it's not so depressing.

If someone does surprise you like that I think you're well within your rights to hit them in self-defence.

I haven't seen this happen to anybody but with the amount of scum hanging around town i well believe it happens. If anyone invades my personal space like that unexpectedly im striking out nearly every time and hopefully teach them a lesson in the process.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭con___manx1

wesf wrote: »
    It's attitudes like yours and that old mans that has the scum knowing they can get away with anything.
    Crockholm was dead right, bet that dirtbag thought twice before doing anything like that again.

i agree the little fecker will think twice next time

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Do you honestly believe that a kick in the arse is worth the assault that kid got? And do you think if you saw a grown man doing that to a 12-year old that you'd happily just walk on by?

I'm much more concerned about people who'd react like Crockholm did, people taking their revenge porn fantasies out of the online realm and into the real world, than I am about the minor problem of anti-social behaviour.

It was a kick in the arse for f*ck's sake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

scopper wrote: »
    I'm curious where you are walking? Do you mean getting asked for change/smokes, etc.? That's pretty common anyway. And it's the price of living in a big city. You'll have the experience in London or Barcelona or Paris.

Head to Howth, Phoenix Park or across the river to Memorial Gardens or over to the green in Fairview tomorrow. Just to name a few places where this subclass will surely gather in droves.

I say go about 4/5 and just watch and listen. You won't see the behaviour in similar places in the 3 cities you list.

My experience of Dublin was absolutely fine, to be honest. I lived there for two years near the city centre - northside and southside - and didn't encounter a fraction of the trouble people are talking about here. Maybe I'm just not very observant.

Maybe you've become accustomed to avoiding large parts of your city especially after the hours of darkness.

Or/and maybe you look like a hard nut who most people wouldn't want to mess with? :D
    But the stuff about people who don't stand up to scumbags being responsible for scumbags (rather than, y'know, the scumbags being responsible for themselves) is hilarious. :)
    I won't stand up to violent thugs myself, because I don't want to be badly assaulted. Ta.

Indeed. Easy for blokes who are physically able and confident enough to take these violent people on to tell people like me to stand up for ourselves.

The best strategy I have to deal with potentially dangerous situations and individuals is to avoid walking in certain areas, avoid eye contact completely with trouble makers, look straight ahead, and walk purposefully and confidently thereby making myself look like less of an easy target.

That still won't stop some acts of random assault, muggings, or worse happening of course but it's the best I can do in a city like Dublin :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

Do you honestly believe that a kick in the arse is worth the assault that kid got? And do you think if you saw a grown man doing that to a 12-year old that you'd happily just walk on by?

I'm much more concerned about people who'd react like Crockholm did, people taking their revenge porn fantasies out of the online realm and into the real world, than I am about the minor problem of anti-social behaviour.

Yes I do, don't interfere with anyone else and you won't be interfered with, it's simple.
    Where do you think the dirtbags that could rob your house or car etc start off?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

If a 12yo kicks a full grown man in the arse, what's he going to do to a 10yo boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Are we now in the self hate cycle of after hours?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Just to add, I think it was more than a kick in the arse, it was entirely degrading to the man working and he might have went too far but I agree he won't be kicking anyone up the hole while they're trying to work any time soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...he won't be kicking anyone up the hole while they're trying to work any time soon.

Proper order too. Who does the wee sh!te think he is - the Gummint?? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Only in AH would you be criticised for not supporting a 6'1" 16 stone adult's decision to prod a 12 year old in the balls with a trowel while holding him against a wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 pussychowmein

Boo, did i frighten ya?