Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knackers trying to scare people by shouting in faces.

167891012»

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

9959 wrote: »
    If you don't know the difference between a shoe and a boot, then you haven't a leg to stand on.

One boring anecdote concerning a 'traveller', so what?

What you sayin? The poor and the travella only wear boots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

9959 wrote: »
    The above post is gloriously redeemed by the final line, making it one of the funniest I've read in a long time.
    Good luck to you!

What's funny about it? Seriously? The fact that I don't live on the line( why would I have to. I live in a different working class area on the North side). The fact that I called the people who are complaining workers? What else would they be. The red line is not in general for the managerial classes.

It's hard to tell because you don't say. The substantive part of my argument -- that you are a middle class class warrior defending the anti socials from your rich Dublin Southside suburb, and can afford to be sanguine about anti social attacks on the working classes on the red line -- still stands.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

The people I feel most sorry for are not the educated well-employed people ( i.e. most of the people in boards ) who occasionally experience the bad behaviour recounted here, though they are indeed entitled to sympathy, but rather the decent people living in less salubrious areas ( i.e. the vast majority of people in those areas ) who have to put up with this stuff day after day, and whose existence is consequently a living hell. These are mostly vulnerable people who have neither the education nor the financial resources necessary to combat this bullying. They pack no punch in city hall. They are often poor, elderly or infirm or all three. Tis grand to be living in a nice area, saying " so what " to those who cite an isolated bad experience, and turning it into a class issue. No Marxist or Socialist state was ever as tolerant of gratuitous bullying as we are. Racist to say that of Ireland? Were liberal whites in the American South racist when they denounced their white supremacist neighbours?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

Had one this morning cycling down O'Connell street this morning... as I came up to a set of lights I saw a fella looking at me, not watching traffic but looking specifically at me... There was a moment of eye contact just before I passed him and I thought "here we go..." which is just when he took a half step forward and shouted and swung a punch into the palm of his hand. I was expecting something shouty so I didn't jerk out into the road, thankfully.
    He got no outward reaction from me and I was expecting it so I didn't get startled.
    It was just dangerous and annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I was in AMerica recently for the first time and noticed a distinct lack of this sort on the streets. NOw leaving aside America's many many many other social problems, why don't they have problems with anti social behavior from certain sections of the community. I'd be inclined to think it is because of their no nonsense policing approach. What ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

I was in AMerica recently for the first time and noticed a distinct lack of this sort on the streets. NOw leaving aside America's many many many other social problems, why don't they have problems with anti social behavior from certain sections of the community. I'd be inclined to think it is because of their no nonsense policing approach. What ye think?

No, it's because all the shouty feckers have guns over there , its a case of shoot first, shout later

• Registered Users Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭kiffer

A combination of things... different style of policing, the guns, if someone jumps out at you they're more likely to kill you so you're more likely to shoot them?
    Or maybe you just don't find yourself walking within a stone's throw of where the people hang out...?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

kiffer wrote: »
    Had one this morning cycling down O'Connell street this morning... as I came up to a set of lights I saw a fella looking at me, not watching traffic but looking specifically at me... There was a moment of eye contact just before I passed him and I thought "here we go..." which is just when he took a half step forward and shouted and swung a punch into the palm of his hand. I was expecting something shouty so I didn't jerk out into the road, thankfully.
    He got no outward reaction from me and I was expecting it so I didn't get startled.
    It was just dangerous and annoying.

Had a few incidents like this happen to me before while cycling, but thankfully not on O'Connell St.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Need to get this man over here for a while

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have Pavee Point made a statement yet on that filthy performance at the Baltinglass blessings of the graves.

Is that a time or place to air your dirty laundry? Terrible behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Have Pavee Point made a statement yet on that filthy performance at the Baltinglass blessings of the graves.

a very religious people apart from the murders,theft and dancing on peoples graves

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

gctest50 wrote: »
    Need to get this man over here for a while

Put him in the ring, Joe :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Not been to Dublin City in awhile... I'm curious now! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

What happened there D?

Rasheed wrote: »
    What happened there D?

A family feud between two traveller families broke out into violence before the ceremony started. Stones were pelted and hurleys and golfclubs were used. It terrified many of the people who were there standing by their family plot. The Gardai did a great job in dispersing them, some members suffered physical injury for their efforts. It just goes to show what kind of crap the regular guys in our police force have to put up with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

A family feud between two traveller families broke out into violence before the ceremony started. Stones were pelted and hurleys and golfclubs were used. It terrified many of the people who were there standing by their family plot. The Gardai did a great job in dispersing them, some members suffered physical injury for their efforts. It just goes to show what kind of crap the regular guys in our police force have to put up with.

That they just 'happened' to have with them? What kind of person brings a hurley or a golfclub to such a ceremony?

Sounds to me like the violence was planned in advance.

wexie wrote: »
    That they just 'happened' to have with them? What kind of person brings a hurley or a golfclub to such a ceremony?

Oh it was prearranged, they'd hidden weapons in parts of the cemetery.

A local woman described the scene very well on Joe Duffy on Tuesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Oh it was prearranged, they'd hidden weapons in parts of the cemetery.

A local woman described the scene very well on Joe Duffy on Tuesday.

culture right.....? Be awful bigoted of someone to comment they're scum

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

culture right.....? Be awful bigoted of someone to comment they're scum

"Shure, it's only the minority of them making the majority look bad. Settled society is the same".

A minority of hundreds of them. Also, i don't remember large groups of settled people planning pitched battles in graveyards any time recently.

We are all so dishonest about the traveler problem in this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

You may be on to something there Sherlock

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Don't know how new this is; it happened to be outside TCD opposite Doyles back in 2007 when I was having a particularly stressful day. I hit him. Violence is wrong, I'm not advocating it, it was just my natural reaction of someone jumping in my face and shouting.

Long story short is that I was surrounded by a group of about 6-8 knackers "cos I was startin' on their cousin" and none of the 30 odd people standing at the bus stop so much as made eye contact, they were all well contented for me to get my head kicked in at 7pm on a sunny summer's evening.

Lucky thing is two police rounded the corner before anything kicked off and detained the group while I went on my way. I got off lucky, not a nice experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

dan1895 wrote: »
    Had a few incidents like this happen to me before while cycling, but thankfully not on O'Connell St.
    Same thing, cycling down Dorset St. Saw the group eyeing me up, knew something was going to happen. Little ****s through large blocks of timber at me. Called the gardai, asked me to wait, sure after 20mins the group of feckers were long gone. Pity all the gardai are off raising money with gotcha speed checks to answer an assault call...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

AlekSmart wrote: »
    But,as usual,there was nobody to come to the aid of that Toddler.

All the high-sounding guff we currently have to wade through about the "Right to Life" etc etc,means sweet FA,when the State,with our connivance,stands back,whilst infants are dragged around our streets by the likes of the pair described by starviewadams.

i dont understand your point are you saying the child here would of been better if someone stabbed in to death in the womb?

If so wtf

• Registered Users Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭worded

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Recently moved house to an area with a rather rough reputation and literally there about 2 hours and some kid, couldn't be any older than 10 or 11 punched the back of the car we were in and called us "Fu*king Queers" then proceeded to walk across a ridiculously busy road in front of traffic that had to slam on the breaks to avoid hitting this infant coffin dodger, who then decided the driver of the car deserved abuse and started effin and blinding towards them whilst also giving them the finger.

Scumbags raise scumbags and they in turn will breed with other scumbags to produce hybrid scumbags.

I wonder are their parents proud when the kids get arrested for the first time, reminding themselves of when they were 12