Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knackers trying to scare people by shouting in faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Yep. I know loads of people who have been to Dublin as tourists and would never go back. They were appalled by the behaviour they witnessed all around the city centre, but more appalled that the police were nowhere to be seen. It just gives the impression that Dublin is a kip where anything goes and scumbag actions have no consequences, which is probably quite accurate. I'm actually embarrassed when friends go over for a weekend and come back with stories about being abused by scumbags and knackers. A lot of people who live there seem to have their heads buried in the sand about how bad it is, or are just so used to it that they think it's OK.

Well it isn't just Dublin. The centre of Cork is starting to develop this syndrome as well. And many provincial towns have become no-go zones of a Saturday night because of the new distraction of all the local ho-boys running the length of the main street kicking fourteen shades of furk out of each other and sometimes anyone in their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Yep. I know loads of people who have been to Dublin as tourists and would never go back. They were appalled by the behaviour they witnessed all around the city centre, but more appalled that the police were nowhere to be seen. It just gives the impression that Dublin is a kip where anything goes and scumbag actions have no consequences, which is probably quite accurate. I'm actually embarrassed when friends go over for a weekend and come back with stories about being abused by scumbags and knackers. A lot of people who live there seem to have their heads buried in the sand about how bad it is, or are just so used to it that they think it's OK.

Maybe a lot of people who live in Dublin actually see that this sort of behaviour is not as widespread as other people who don't live in Dublin seem to think.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,268 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

And, where are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Flimbos

Arpa wrote: »
    Happened to me and the gf in Phoenix park today by some howiya wagon with a can of bulmers and an iphone blaring out techno crap.

Alright, where is the focal point for skangers in the park, papal cross, the wellington monument?

It's a big park, might be best just to avoid the hotspots.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 743 Mod ✭✭✭✭TroutMask

Valetta wrote: »
    Maybe a lot of people who live in Dublin actually see that this sort of behaviour is not as widespread as other people who don't live in Dublin seem to think.

It is though! I went to a show in The Pint last year - a respected American band.
    The quays were covered in litter, ASBO ruffians everywhere. Drunks and people under the influence staggering around hassling people. There was even a human jobby on the sidewalk - all within close proximity to O'Connell Street. Not a Garda to be seen (though I'm sure there were undercover officers - though they don't 'blow their cover' for ASBO stuff usually). I usually reside in Dublin BTW and work in the City Centre since 1996. It's at it's lowest point since the 'gangs of glue sniffers' days of the mid-to-late 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

TroutMask wrote: »
    It is though! I went to a show in The Pint last year - a respected American band.
    The quays were covered in litter, ASBO ruffians everywhere. Drunks and people under the influence staggering around hassling people. There was even a human jobby on the sidewalk - all within close proximity to O'Connell Street. Not a Garda to be seen (though I'm sure there were undercover officers - though they don't 'blow their cover' for ASBO stuff usually). I usually reside in Dublin BTW and work in the City Centre since 1996. It's at it's lowest point since the 'gangs of glue sniffers' days of the mid-to-late 80's

I was in Camden Street last Friday night and didn't see any noticable anti-social behaviour.

This doesn't make Dublin a crime free utopia, no more than your anecdote makes it a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,991 ✭✭✭conorhal

It's not just a policing issue, it's a matter of respect that parents fail to teach their children. I was strolling around Vienna for a few days last week and it's streets are spotless, people well behaved and no messers falling about, and also no police, I didn't see one. People there just live in a society that has a certian Germanic 'follow the rules, respect others and take no BS' attitues.
    Their entire public transport system runs on the honour system, nobody seems to check tickets (and I used the trams and underground alot while there), even sunday papers (because a lot of shops don't open there on a Sunday) tend to be in bags on lamposts which have a small plastic pot attached to them into which you put the money to pay for the paper.How long do you reckon those would last on the streets of Dublin?

As to the loathesome trend of 'happy-scaring'. It's an agressive display of dominance designed to intimidate and very unplesant.

Some little scrote did this to my elderly mum a few months ago, happily the little bollix didn't know that my mum recognised him from a local apartment building and knew exactly where he lived.
    She marched right up to the front door of his snotty well to do parents and confronted them about his actions. Naturally their attitude was 'oh, perhaps it was just a joke gone wrong'. Which was pretty much the attitude you'd expect from those that raised a little brat that had no respect for anybody else.
    My mum eyeballed the parents and asked them 'do I look as if I'm laughing?, if it happens again however, I will be, as the guards drag your brat off to the station'
    That put manners on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,352 ✭✭✭✭Victor

ardle1 wrote: »
    Sounds like a touch of autism or ADHD
    No, what people are describing is (juvenile ) Conduct Disorder (not to be confused with disorderly conduct) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conduct_disorder and (adult) antisocial personality disorder (ASPD) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antisocial_personality_disorder and similar matters or 'being a scumbag'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Recently moved house to an area with a rather rough reputation and literally there about 2 hours and some kid, couldn't be any older than 10 or 11 punched the back of the car we were in and called us "Fu*king Queers" then proceeded to walk across a ridiculously busy road in front of traffic that had to slam on the breaks to avoid hitting this infant coffin dodger, who then decided the driver of the car deserved abuse and started effin and blinding towards them whilst also giving them the finger.

Scumbags raise scumbags and they in turn will breed with other scumbags to produce hybrid scumbags.

Sorry but I laughed at that :D

But seriously, mandatory sterilisation of scumbags, i'm not even joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

wesf wrote: »
    Sorry but I laughed at that :D

But seriously, mandatory sterilisation of scumbags, i'm not even joking.

We pissed ourselves laughing too though :pac: literally seconds later a kid about 4 unaccompanied attempted to tricycle onto the aforementioned main road. Me mate lifted him outta the way and took him back into the estate but no one had any idea where his parents where.

I like this sterilisation idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Augmerson wrote: »
    Hit them, regardless of sex. Hit them and hit them ****ing hard as you can, and as soon as the nearest one comes for you, pull your keys out of your pocket and bury it in their face. Deep in the eye socket. Be screaming while you do this too. I mean really screaming, like Braveheart .

chuck norris just shat himself reading that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭wesf

We pissed ourselves laughing too though :pac: literally seconds later a kid about 4 unaccompanied attempted to tricycle onto the aforementioned main road. Me mate lifted him outta the way and took him back into the estate but no one had any idea where his parents where.

I like this sterilisation idea.

No surprise there, they just let get let out to roam around for the day.
    Great solution!
    Actually one night while having a few drinks with friends we were talking about this subject.
    I came up with an amazing idea, here it is:
    Choose a county nobody likes, lets say Roscommon, fence it off Jurassic Park style, take all the normal people and move them elsewhere while leaving the scumbags there.
    Round up all the other scumbags around the country and throw them in also.
    Here comes the best bit, charge people, stag do's etc, to enter the park on a hunting weekend, you get to hunt down and kill scumbags, while generating money for the country also, win win for everyone!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 743 Mod ✭✭✭✭TroutMask

I was in Camden Street last Friday night and didn't see any noticable anti-social behaviour.

This doesn't make Dublin a crime free utopia, no more than your anecdote makes it a kip.

My impression of Dublin is not based on a single anecdote. It has been built up over the 35 years that I have lived and worked in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

conorhal wrote: »
    It's not just a policing issue, it's a matter of respect that parents fail to teach their children. I was strolling around Vienna for a few days last week and it's streets are spotless, people well behaved and no messers falling about, and also no police, I didn't see one. People there just live in a society that has a certian Germanic 'follow the rules, respect others and take no BS' attitues.
    Their entire public transport system runs on the honour system, nobody seems to check tickets (and I used the trams and underground alot there),

I lived in Germany for a couple of years and because people actually respect each other you dont have the crap that Irish people put up with. The scum do what they do here because no one challenges them on it. These little scroats aren't thought repect by their scumbag parents and its just filtering down generation by generation.

Try that sh!te on the continent and like it was previously said you'll be face planted into the sidewalk fairly quick smart. Quite likely not even by a cop first, if you're lucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

Dublin is a ****hole, let's be honest. Anyone who has spent time in any other major city on this planet will agree. The statement that "Dublin is not the worse... this happens in other cities and is a normal thing" is a total copout and is bull****. There's a huge lack of respect and general "I can do whatever the f*ck I want" attitude in the youth culture here. Parenting is mostly to blame, but so is the complete and utter lack of fear of our police force and the law.

In the space of a few weeks, my missus was mugged, we had eggs thrown at us walking home one afternoon and then walking through town to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre had a full sized potato thrown at us (which missed luckily). There's been other instances such as cars pulling in because the scum sitting in it decided to "have a go" purely out of boredom. It's strange too, that this behaviour seems to increase with the nice weather. We need more Garda, and there needs to be a genuine fear of the law, not this atittude of "lol, what are the Gards gonna do?!".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Scruffles wrote: »
    experienced that a number of times when used to live in a very chavvy part of manchester, because am wearing a pair of peltor optime III ear defenders and communicating in makaton sign language,these sht faced litle inbreds think am deaf and its some how hilarious and perfectly acceptable to come up to someone and scream in their face.
    have wished for many years to be deaf-if only,am profoundly sound sensitive and will collapse to the floor due to vestibular hyperacusis,their scream and noise in general is overwhelming agony, it triggers challenging behavior, severe epileptic seizures and todds paralysis,and if that isnt enough am left with temperary blindness from the sensory overload of their bullsht- they woud not have been left standing themselves,if had not collapsed.
    havent experienced this for a long time luckily as am in a much better area.

am female but also the type who will not be anyones abuse target,and did so happen to do that yesterday when the little bstard attacked out of nowhere-was unprovokedly punched in the stomach by him,was also paralysed from the waist down at the time and sat in the wheelie ,though have not got any memory of the incident have been told that had grabbed hold of him and not let go whilst hitting so had been pulled over then had thrown the wheel chair at him whilst sprawled out on the floor going mental.:o

That is an awful experience, I'm really sorry to hear that happened, am glad you are not in the same area now. The people who were nasty to you should be locked up and tortured in my opinion - poor excuse for human beings. Hope you are much happier and safer now!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,171 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

conorhal wrote: »
    It's not just a policing issue, it's a matter of respect that parents fail to teach their children.

This. Plain and simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

Thankfully I never encounter these type of issues. Scumbags grow on the fear of others. I never show fear so I never get bothered. As for others, keep taking it and they'll keep dishing it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

This is an old school one. If you grew up on an estate it might not have been so out of the blue. The whole random shout is a staple of younger scumbags. Also, this happened to me in Germany of all places a few years back when I had a bottle of wine...it went up in the air and I had to make a last ditch superhero rescue.

Birneybau wrote: »
    And, where are you?

What does it matter? What does that have to do with Dublin being a kip and tourists not wanting to go there?
    Thankfully I never encounter these type of issues. Scumbags grow on the fear of others. I never show fear so I never get bothered. As for others, keep taking it and they'll keep dishing it out.

Are you small, foreign or disabled? If not, that might be why. Scumbags like to pick on people who look out of place and/or would have difficulty defending themselves, not those who 'show fear'. :rolleyes: Victim blaming is just another way of trying to dismiss how serious this issue is getting.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

kyub wrote: »
    Dublin is a ****hole, let's be honest. Anyone who has spent time in any other major city on this planet will agree. The statement that "Dublin is not the worse... this happens in other cities and is a normal thing" is a total copout and is bull****. There's a huge lack of respect and general "I can do whatever the f*ck I want" attitude in the youth culture here. Parenting is mostly to blame, but so is the complete and utter lack of fear of our police force and the law.

In the space of a few weeks, my missus was mugged, we had eggs thrown at us walking home one afternoon and then walking through town to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre had a full sized potato thrown at us (which missed luckily). There's been other instances such as cars pulling in because the scum sitting in it decided to "have a go" purely out of boredom. It's strange too, that this behaviour seems to increase with the nice weather. We need more Garda, and there needs to be a genuine fear of the law, not this atittude of "lol, what are the Gards gonna do?!".

It is no wonder so many people think Dublin is a grand place. All the aggravation seems to revolve around you and your missus - the rest of us aren't getting a look in.

In 25 years of living in Tallaght and Inchicore I haven't experienced so many incidents as you have in a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Violence porn makes me hard

Are you small, foreign or disabled? If not, that might be why. Scumbags like to pick on people who look out of place and/or would have difficulty defending themselves, not those who 'show fear'. :rolleyes: Victim blaming is just another way of trying to dismiss how serious this issue is getting.

Oh, it didn't take long for the "victim blaming" bs to roll out. Society is the problem, we are a nation with a high percentage of cowards. That is a serious issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,275 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Of course not.

Divide everything on boards.ie by 10.

Standard formula.

There's another handy AH formula, used to work out the 'IQ' of the thread. Well, IQ probably isn't the best measure of a thread, but how and ever...

You simply take the average IQ of the posters, divide be the number of posts, and as soon as the 'IQ' drops to single digits, abandon thread! You're down to reading dribbles at that stage.

endacl wrote: »
    There's another handy AH formula, used to work out the 'IQ' of the thread. Well, IQ probably isn't the best measure of a thread, but how and ever...

You simply take the average IQ of the posters, divide be the number of posts, and as soon as the 'IQ' drops to single digits, abandon thread! You're down to reading dribbles at that stage.

This is the post that got my calculation to single figures.

Bye.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,275 ✭✭✭✭endacl

This is the post that got my calculation to single figures.

Bye.

Dribble...

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Oh, it didn't take long for the "victim blaming" bs to roll out. Society is the problem, we are a nation with a high percentage of cowards. That is a serious issue.

Oh I am well able to break some ****er's jaw with a fast clatter. I know how to hit someone hard. As a civilized, educated man I expect to not have to Chuck Norris my way down an ordinary street or road in broad daylight, mind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 jaykay12

Augmerson wrote: »

Scumbags are scumbags because ordinary people don't do anything.

True dat. It's usually not worth the bother, but that only makes them more likely to keep doing it....so someone's gotta throw something at some stage!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,268 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Well Done Charles Bronson.

"No Dice"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

Recently moved house to an area with a rather rough reputation and literally there about 2 hours and some kid, couldn't be any older than 10 or 11 punched the back of the car we were in and called us "Fu*king Queers" then proceeded to walk across a ridiculously busy road in front of traffic that had to slam on the breaks to avoid hitting this infant coffin dodger, who then decided the driver of the car deserved abuse and started effin and blinding towards them whilst also giving them the finger.

Scumbags raise scumbags and they in turn will breed with other scumbags to produce hybrid scumbags.

I've noticed this type of thing in the last few months myself. Kid will just swagger across the road deliberately to make a car slow down without even pausing at the kerb:mad: