Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which car is better to save up for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Brian wrote: »
    M badges aren't too expensive on eBay either :pac:

Objection! Rotarymobiles have plenty of admirers.
    yes so do carina Es but I wouldnt pay M5 money to run one

Same as I wouldnt pay 23mpg money to run an rx8. Worth it for an M5? Perhaps, but for a mazda, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Max Power1 wrote: »
    yes so do carina Es but I wouldnt pay M5 money to run one

Same as I wouldnt pay 23mpg money to run an rx8. Worth it for an M5? Perhaps, but for a mazda, no.

Agree with this, while i'd love a rotary powered yoke,

the rx8 just doesnt do it for me, they dont stand out.. and are kinda girly imo...

Now an rx7, looks like it is what it is... id pay m5 money to run one of those.... with big power ofc..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Worth it for an M5? Perhaps, but for a mazda, no.

I'm glad of this attitude. The less people that appreciate Mazdas, the cheaper they are for me to buy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Brian wrote: »
    Objection! Rotarymobiles have plenty of admirers.

+ 231 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ferris

23mpg! I wish :D

I still can't see why people are so hung up on mpg when the vast majority of people don't do big miles. I bought an extremly clean '07 RX8 for the same money as a Focus from the same year and half the cost of a nice e39 M5 (which is a great car but the youngest of these is '03).

Still if somebody is looking at an M5 or a 645i, an RX8 is not really comparible. The fuel consumption and number of wheels is about all they have in common.
    Cheensbo wrote: »
    the rx8 just doesnt do it for me, they dont stand out.. and are kinda girly imo...

Girly....really!!

19270BC0.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Ferris wrote: »

Where are my words, so I can ate them :o

I guess they're just not my cup of tea, but thats just based on seeing them around, suppose a drive of one would change my opinion fairly quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ferris

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Where are my words, so I can ate them :o

I guess they're just not my cup of tea, but thats just based on seeing them around, suppose a drive of one would change my opinion fairly quick.

Fair play. I'd love a go in a 645i and an M5. Cousin has an M5 so i'll get to scratch that itch soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

The RX-8 isn't my cup of tea either. I'll stick to inline engines ;)

D'oh! Now considering this: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4878394

• Registered Users Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

140,000 km in 7 years? That car's seen a lot of use in a short time.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sobanek wrote: »
    The RX-8 isn't my cup of tea either. I'll stick to inline engines ;)

D'oh! Now considering this: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4878394

That 325 is much more along the lines of where you'd want to be.

agreed

It's a good mix of fast bmw, but also still retaining some economy. As it it's no Polo Bluemotion but it's no m5 either

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

Its madness to spend over 10k on a car at our age / income.

I could also *technically* own and run an E39 M5. But I would have zero disposable income, what about gigs, nights out, trips away, holidays, games, music, electronics? Also things do go wrong with cars, it will need all sorts of odd jobs to keep it going, suspension parts, cooling system parts, tyres and more tyres.

You would have a much higher quality of living and just as much fun in a 4000 euro car that costs half as much to tax / insure / maintain / fuel.

Get an RX8, a GTI, a 325, a 1.8T vag car etc etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭dingus12

Or some sort of type r.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Get onto a Jap' importer, source one and be amazed.

Mazda-Eunos-Cosmo_b3175.jpg

:cool:

Alright, it's been a month, I've cooled down a bit and did some thinking.

The original plan is still in operation, but I guess I will have to get some sort of a car before I move onto the big stuff.

I went down the reasonable way and thought about either the BMW E36 318is or the BMW E46 320d Saloon.

What do you guys think?

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Carnegie

if you're gonna settle just get a golf gti

Sobanek wrote: »
    Alright, it's been a month, I've cooled down a bit and did some thinking.

The original plan is still in operation, but I guess I will have to get some sort of a car before I move onto the big stuff.

I went down the reasonable way and thought about either the BMW E36 318is or the BMW E46 320d Saloon.

What do you guys think?

Don't be the typical sad sack you talked about before!

CianRyan wrote: »
    Don't be the typical sad sack you talked about before!

Hey, the plan is still intact, I'm talking about getting something before the nice car, since I don't know if I can live with another 12 months of public transport :D

Carnegie wrote: »
    if you're gonna settle just get a golf gti

Should just get a 1.4 focus :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Should just get a 1.4 focus :P

Jaysus slow down there boss :P

1.0l corsas are where it's at and I'm a great promoter of these wonderful "cars" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭JHet

OP I'm glad your coming to your senses. Showing a lot more maturity and thinking about things realistically.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

330i, 530i, 740i are all cheap and excellent. 31(anything) not so much.
    320d... for what? Are you planning some cross continental trips that might require being cheap on fuel? If not, stick to petrol.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    330i, 530i, 740i are all cheap and excellent. 31(anything) not so much.
    320d... for what? Are you planning some cross continental trips that might require being cheap on fuel? If not, stick to petrol.

Well, according to Google Maps, my trip to work and back will be 114kms everyday. Maybe it's wise to consider a diesel for some time?
    Like I said, it's a car for BEFORE I get the 645!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You are commuting 114km every day w/o a car ?

Jeez :p

You are commuting 114km every day w/o a car ?

Jeez :p

Walk + Bus + Luas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

114kms a day on public transport???! :eek: :eek: :eek:

Yup. :D

Jesus, an M5 would probably work out cheaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ok let me do some math for ya.

114km = 72miles

72 x 5 = 360 miles a week just going to and from work @ 25mpg = 15 gallons or so which is roughly 75 litres @ 1.55 a litre for arguements sake.

Soooo thats €110+ euros a weke on petrol if you opt for the 645ci + guts of 40 a week on tax and you said yourself insurance was fairly hefty.

So thats guts of 200e a week just going to and from work +servicing/tyres and it never breaking down

I hope you know I was taking the piss. :p

If he was in the likes of an S2000 it'd be cheaper and still fun.
    I don't know about the diesel though.