Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saints Row - The Third

• Registered Users Posts: 29,678 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Class, looking forward to the review man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Gunmonkey wrote: »
    Craziest thing youve done so far?

I've been sticking to the main story first to get that out if the way for the review, but in the first 20 minutes you jump out if a plane, catch a girl mid air, decide to drop her again, jump through the cockpit window of the plane, shoot a load of lads as you travel through the plane at full speed, then kill a guy, grab his parachute and continue through the back door of the plane whereby you catch the girl again before opening the new parachute. All without stopping, at free fall speed. Which is epic

• Registered Users Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

Mine will be up later today. Have to write up this and skyrim, but I've a few business meetings to take downtown first so it might run to tomorrow unfortunately. I'll spoil the score by saying either 4.5 or 5 outta 5, depending on how it wraps up and how much mad crap I can get up to when I start exploring. It's a belter. Far better than any GTA imo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Hey guys when is this out?:) iv heard next tuesday:)

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Robby91

pudzey101 wrote: »

Steam says the 17th, but a friend of mine who works in HMV (and one of the guys who works in GAME) said it was released on the 18th I think - I'm a bit annoyed that I've forgotten already tbh :(

EDIT: The GAME and GameStop websites both say the 18th as the release date. Kinda makes me wish I'd pre-ordered on Steam, but it'd take me forever to download the game :P

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

pudzey101 wrote: »

Thats the US date, it's out the 18th here.

Lads all games ever are released here on a Friday, this will never change. Only exceptions are the big AAA high grossing games like Gears, CoD, Halo, that get world wide releases on the same day everywhere.

I just cannot wait for this!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Thats the US date, it's out the 18th here.

Lads all games ever are released here on a Friday, this will never change. Only exceptions are the big AAA high grossing games like Gears, CoD, Halo, that get world wide releases on the same day everywhere.

Thanks guys :) i got excited last night reading the posts tought it was already out haha :)
    Ill be getting this next friday:) something to keep me going till GTA :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭py2006

Fairly average review on Gametrailers

Helix wrote: »
    Mine will be up later today. Have to write up this and skyrim, but I've a few business meetings to take downtown first so it might run to tomorrow unfortunately. I'll spoil the score by saying either 4.5 or 5 outta 5, depending on how it wraps up and how much mad crap I can get up to when I start exploring. It's a belter. Far better than any GTA imo

Are the graphics as crisp in reality as they look in the gameplay videos on the gaming sites? I never trust them.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Gttrailers completely railroaded it :(

Though it really looked damn cool. Things they were bitching about sounded prety lol for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

does this run on pc this time? sr2 ran like crap

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

does this run on pc this time? sr2 ran like crap

They saying its beein done at same time and with PC in mind and not a port.

Sr2 still runs like a dog on PC.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2011-11-15-saints-row-the-third-review

7/10 from eurogamer but your man that reviewed it seems like a right dry ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

So the game got released today in AUS as well as U.S. They didn't announce it but they did say it to the retailers. I was hoping it was the same for here but it's not. :(

Can't wait for this. It will keep me tied over til V.

So the game got released today in AUS as well as U.S.
    Seems to be released in parts of Europe as well, on Steam at least. I'm chatting with a few Finnish guys at the moment and their impressions so far seem to be that it's absurdly fun :P

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Feckers! Well it's good news that folk are enjoying it at least!

Oh to buy this game or not! Didn't like the first 2 from the little bits I played of them but this one looks entertaining enough!!

Will there be a midnight release?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Main story is only 8 hours long?!

From what I've heard, it'll be 8 hours of fun though :)

I think someone mentioned that there is a reasonable amount of playtime involved in unlocking the side activities though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Robby91 wrote: »
    From what I've heard, it'll be 8 hours of fun though :)

I don't see how they are comparing it to GTA though, I know GTA IV is slated a lot but at least it had a few days of good missions.

Don't think I will be getting this for a while.

I was all ready to get this tomorrow but hearing about th 8 hours campaign and some bad user reviews online saying SR2 was much better, kind of put me off. I'm still gonna pick it up at some point but after getting ass creed, Skyrim is next on my list.

I don't see how they are comparing it to GTA though, I know GTA IV is slated a lot but at least it had a few days of good missions.
    Don't think I will be getting this for a while.

GTA IV had some of the most boring missions that have ever appeared in a sandbox game (Drive from A to B, collect something from B and drive back to A)

Give me 8 hours of constantly fun missions then 18 hours of boring missions.

I don't see how they are comparing it to GTA though
    They? If you're speaking of the developers, I was under the impression that the only comparisons they drew between the two series would be the fact that they're both open-world sandbox games (although, I could be getting mixed up in just who exactly it was who was identified that as one of the few similarities)

Still, as far as I'm concerned, a good 8 hours of fun (with the promise of co-op adding more to that count) will do me grand. Tbh, I'm more interested in the freedom to mess around and do whatever stupid **** I feel like, and a co-op partner will make that even more brilliant :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

An 8 hour campaign, while short for a sandbox game, is grand, because you can guarantee there will be at least about 20-30 hours of extra fun to be had on side missions and exploring!

Robby91 wrote: »
    They? If you're speaking of the developers, I was under the impression that the only comparisons they drew between the two series would be the fact that they're both open-world sandbox games (although, I could be getting mixed up in just who exactly it was who was identified that as one of the few similarities)

Still, as far as I'm concerned, a good 8 hours of fun (with the promise of co-op adding more to that count) will do me grand. Tbh, I'm more interested in the freedom to mess around and do whatever stupid **** I feel like, and a co-op partner will make that even more brilliant :D

Ill probably do the main missions in single player first and then do it again in co-op so that should be a good 16-18 hours and then factor in side missions and it will easily stretch to around 22-25 hours.

Anyway i think i spent more time in the last one just messing around in co-op without even doing any type of mission :D

Cant wait for insurance fraud again :pac:

Cant wait for insurance fraud again
    Neither can I :D From what I've been hearing from friends, that Escort activity with the tiger in the backseat and Professor Genki's Ethical Reality Climax(?) are great craic in co-op as well

Ye, I know it's an SR2 video, but it matters not!

Anybody buy this yet?