Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Mayo becoming a no-go area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Seems to be the same all over the country at the moment. Little scrotes out trying to make a name for themselves. Cavan town has been very bad for it this past few months...

http://www.anglocelt.ie/news/roundup/articles/2009/08/05/390163-32csm-says-it-will-put-stop-to-cavan-attacks/

This is exactly what it is. Young lads thinking they're tough and trying to live up to the reputation given to a county after a few ****ty incidents.

I was in Limerick myself last week with two friends, stopped walking to take a sip of my water and had six lads (probably between 18yrs - 22yrs) tell us they had a shotgun and we better keep moving. Obviously they didn't. And obviously we gave them no interest whatsoever but your post is bang on. Silly, frightened little boys trying to hide behind a reputation caused by a handful of wasters.

gurramok wrote: »
    You'd expect that sort of stuff to happen in cities hence its no surprise. You do not expect what happened in Mayo to all have had happened all in a week!

You never heard of Stab City?!:confused:

Everyone knows stab city, it's over sensationalised crap coined by the tabloids in an attempt to make money. I blame people like Paul Williams for this, he turns these petty criminals into big baddies and gives them nicknames which they and their like see as a mark of honour.

I don't see why people expect small towns to be safer than cities. Every town, village and city has a small undesirable element whose actions paint an area in a bad light. Yes there has been a number of incidents in Mayo the past week but no more than every other county. A few stabbings does not mean an epidemic of violence.

People in towns and villages have been getting stabbed for decades, the only difference is that not it's news worthy enough to sell a paper. People will resort to violence at the flip of a coin and this isn't some new occurrence. Violence in our society has existed since the dawn of human and will continue only these days people can make money out of it and will milk every incident of violence for all that they can.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,560 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Are you sure that's not The Playboy of the Western World you're thinking of?

It has about as much basis in reality as half of this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 sylane93

gettin rough!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 JACK_the_LAD

There are some lovely parts of Dublin. All of them in the South East of Co. Dublin.

But the rest of Dublin ****ty is a greasy armpit, especially the North and West. Unfortunately inbred knackers from these areas are now moving West, with their bad complexions, trackies, supped-up micras, and hideous haircuts.:eek:

I blame the Govt for allowing them to leave their drug-infested, litter-strewn corporation estates! They should be subject to curfews!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

People in towns and villages have been getting stabbed for decades,

They haven't though. This stuff didn't happen at all in Mayo when I lived there in the 70's and 80's. Anyone in Mayo will tell you. Sure, there were fights after the pubs closed but no one got stabbed or murdered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

akaredtop wrote: »
    Mayo is now paying the price for all those years of Sheep-Shagging.

I think you'll find that Roscommon people are stereotyped as sheep-shaggers not Mayo people.

Might I add I was amazed at how long it took for a reference to the Hardy Bucks or the Playboy of the Western World to crop up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Wake up, that happened in 1979....

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

in 20 years time they will have guns

They haven't though. This stuff didn't happen at all in Mayo when I lived there in the 70's and 80's. Anyone in Mayo will tell you. Sure, there were fights after the pubs closed but no one got stabbed or murdered.

I can find dozens of people who were stabbed with broken bottles, screw drivers and knives in Mayo during the past 30 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

It's all that hippity hop music's fault! Little skangers thinking they're fifty euro!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

99% caused by alcohol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 hughs

Why arent people talking about the real cause of stabbings in ballinrobe. Most people from Ballinrobe and the Guardai know that it was travellers who were responsible. They are animals, this is there way of celebrating a Christening.

i blame that stupid Yank david bishop for glamorizing the knacker "culture".
    since when was it clever to wipe ur baby's arse off the wheel of a cart?:confused:

dublin knackers need no lessons here!

could sterilization be the answer?

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

I can find dozens of people who were stabbed with broken bottles, screw drivers and knives in Mayo during the past 30 years.

Where???
    i blame that stupid Yank david bishop for glamorizing the knacker "culture".
    since when was it clever to wipe ur baby's arse off the wheel of a cart?:confused:

dublin knackers need no lessons here!

Why bother to sterilize Des Bishop?
    I heard he lost his tackle in a friendly slash hook fight in Tuam....:D

Mike... wrote: »
    Where???

I know of one lad who was slashed with a glass bottle in Foxford nearly two decades ago. Several whom were stabbed in Ballina. Hell last year during the heritage day some lad was stabbed near the river in the middle of the day. One lad in college with me from Swinford has a scar across his chest from where he was got with a stanley knife.

There are numerous more examples of this over the past few decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 postmeister

the bull in the shop was tyring to hide the locals, apparently. when the:rolleyes: bulls hide away, you know you are in a rough place.

me sister was attacked in Swinford only last month. 9.30pm just walking down the main street. foreigners i believe. oops! non-nationals that is! (dont want to offend the PC crowd)
    she hasn't left the house since ffs.

the place has gone to pot i tell ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I know of one lad who was slashed with a glass bottle in Foxford nearly two decades ago. Several whom were stabbed in Ballina. Hell last year during the heritage day some lad was stabbed near the river in the middle of the day. One lad in college with me from Swinford has a scar across his chest from where he was got with a stanley knife.

There are numerous more examples of this over the past few decades.

Man stabbed in a chipper in Charlestown about 30 years ago. Man murdered in Kilkelly with a hayknife about 20 years ago. Thats just my own corner of Mayo I'm sure there were many more examples from other parts of the county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Bit extreme. At least have a kid first and we'll see if it's anything like you. If so you can then get sterilized and we'll send the kid off to TD college where he'll feel more included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭leitrim lad

does anyone know what exactly is going on in mayo ,or has willie corduff, and maura harrington got anything to do with it

or is it another midnight seige, with the mysterious hooded army

i see that lu-la that did the wickla job was from DALKEY!!!!!!

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0817/bray.html

bloody hell even the dort-heads are gettin' in on the act now.

"anything those northside boys from can do us D4 types can do too .........."

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

mayo has always been a no go area.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Man stabbed in a chipper in Charlestown about 30 years ago. Man murdered in Kilkelly with a hayknife about 20 years ago. Thats just my own corner of Mayo I'm sure there were many more examples from other parts of the county.

How about the woman who was stabbed to death by her son only a few weeks ago in castlebar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Silicate

Ballinrobe is the town where the bull ran around the supervalue. Its actually a very rough town and it doesnt surpise me that stabbings have now occurred there. Also you forgot about the Westport guard getting stabbed.
    What the fcuk are ya talking about, rough town me balls, first serious thing to happen in many many years, where are you from, you obviously havent a clue about the place:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

galwayrush wrote: »
    Mayo, taking over from Limerick, Stab County.
    Come across many stabbings in Limerick yourself have you? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

grenache wrote: »
    Come across many stabbings in Limerick yourself have you? :confused:

Been down in Limerick twice for nights out, great city..
    Was there Sat night in Clohesseys and a few other pubs.
    Nothing wrong with Limerick City, although I have been warned like most other towns there are no go area's

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Mike... wrote: »
    Been down in Limerick twice for nights out, great city..
    Was there Sat night in Clohesseys and a few other pubs.
    Nothing wrong with Limerick City, although I have been warned like most other towns there are no go area's
    Well this is it, i know its not the best city in the country but this whole stab city sh*ite is just a bit dated now. Not to mention statistically incorrect.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Simplyjoe

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    You make it sound like a bad thing.

You obviously have not seen some one dying from the effects of heroin at 30 years of age or have had to visit detox centres. Cop on drugs are fun for a few hours. Eventually they ruin everything - personally and society in general.

Dalkey is gone to hell!
    I hear Van the Man, Bono and Pat Kenny are afraid to leave their overpriced sheds!
    Enya is scared of nuthin, and can regularily be seen gettin drunk and picking fights in McDonaghs!