Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Compulsory HCAP - Cancelled

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭ayagerard

Deer Alliance Blog
    Hunter Competence Assessment Programme
    Statement by the Minister on Certification for licensed deer hunters
    The following Statement appeared on the website of the National Parks & Wildlife Service on Tuesday 21st November 2017:

Statement by the Minister on Certification for licensed deer hunters
    Date Released: Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Certification for licensed deer hunters

Background

The Department grants some 4,700 licences annually to hunt deer during the Open Season. In March 2015 the Department along with the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine published the report Deer Management in Ireland – A Framework for Action which includes policy recommendations relating to deer conservation and management. An Irish Deer Management Forum was established to implement the various actions listed in the Report.

The Forum has issued a number of recommendations including a recommendation that mandatory certification of deer hunters should be introduced on a phased basis over a five year period from 1st January 2018 for existing licensed deer hunters and that new deer hunters should have the required certification from 1 January 2018.

Minister’s Position

The Minister acknowledges the importance of ensuring that deer hunting is carried out in a safe manner. In that context the Minister is considering how best to implement the recommendations of the group having regard to a range of factors including the fact that there are many hunters with many years of experience, knowledge and expertise and also the need to ensure and the most appropriate training and certification process would ultimately be implemented having regard to the most up-to-date safety, conservation and hunting considerations in taking account of both local and international best practice.

In that regard the Minister is satisfied that the most appropriate course of action is to consider the introduction of an appropriate training and certification process for first time applicants for deer hunting licences to commence from a date which will be determined in due course but certainly no later than 2020.

(end of statement)

COMMENT
    COMMENT

Deer Alliance HCAP is deeply concerned at this statement. It goes against the recommendation of the Irish Deer Management Forum and contradicts the Forum’s understanding of the Minister’s position as communicated to the Forum by the Minister and her representatives since the Recommendation on Mandatory Certification was submitted to the Minister some eighteen months ago. The Forum, and Deer Alliance HCAP, had been assured on several occasions that the recommendation on mandatory certification had been adopted and would be implemented with effect from 1st January 2018. In the intervening period Deer Alliance HCAP has worked assiduously to ensure a state of readiness for implementation of mandatory certification from 1st January 2018, including setting up a series of twelve HCAP MCQ dates and six HCAP Range Tests in 2018.

The Minister did not communicate with the Irish Deer Management Forum prior to publication of her statement and it remains the Forum’s position that its Recommendation in its original form is the only acceptable position, both from the viewpoint of deer welfare and from the viewpoint of safe, efficient and humane control of wild deer.

Deer Alliance HCAP understands that the Forum’s Chair will communicate this position to the Minister at the earliest time and seek clarification as to why the Minister has apparently reneged on an agreed and adopted position without consultation with the Forum.

well that will give mr nolans lungs a rest with mandatory gone off the agenda
    for now , and all i can add is i hope these pricks actually discuss any proposals with all vested parties, try to put the welfare and best interests of the deer before there own wealth ,they would not be in this position now
    any future course will have to be done in a county by county bases as this jargon about driving from one end of the country to the next is not on and creates more safety issues than hunting does, with most of the purse gone now the next few proposals are going to be interesting to say the least , the war is still to be won on this front so be vigilante https://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/icons/icon14.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭gunny123

ayagerard wrote: »

COMMENT
    COMMENT

Deer Alliance HCAP is deeply concerned at this statement. It goes against the recommendation of the Irish Deer Management Forum and contradicts the Forum’s understanding of the Minister’s position as communicated to the Forum by the Minister and her representatives since the Recommendation on Mandatory Certification was submitted to the Minister some eighteen months ago.

In other words "We were all set up ready to go, the minister gave a nod and wink that the hcrap would be mandatory, we had the bank account set to receive plenty of fees, and the minister has turned around and told us to piss off"

Delighted, i hope the Deer alliance all get explosive diarrhoea ten miles from a toilet.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,953 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Well, with the possibility of an election in the very near future too, it's easy for Heather to long finger this as more important work needs attention.IE staying in power in a comfy Dail job.
    As obviously this circus was getting a bit out of control as the monkeys are getting all Bolshie and the clowns plans are falling apart very quickly its best to let her successor deal with it if need be.

It's a battle won, not the war.We have about two years to come up with something to counter the HCAP that is appropriate in cost and methodology to Ireland.Not to mind the Joe and Jane stalkers of Ireland need a say in this IDMF.But for now IDS/WADI ,etc can go and get feck off back into your Coilte lets and stay there.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Hunter456

Now mr Nolan don't drink to much whiskey tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

So they TOLD her this needs to be implemented, they then set up additional course dates and all they can see is €. All based on them saying this is the way its going to happen without, it seems, having had any official authorisation from anyone that this would actually be the case.
    Now these are supposed to be educated, intelligent people, who put all their eggs in one basket based on a nod and a wink from an irish politician, thats just too funny.
    And now they are annoyed at the response because no one communicated or consulted with them first about a decision they have no part in other than their opinion. Jaysus they have some high ideas about their position.
    Now that they know what its like for decisions to be made without being talked to or consulted they might think twice the next time about who they engage with and what decisions they make on other peoples behalf.

(The Minister did not communicate with the Irish Deer Management Forum prior to publication of her statement and it remains the Forum’s position that its Recommendation in its original form is the only acceptable position, both from the viewpoint of deer welfare and from the viewpoint of safe, efficient and humane control of wild deer).

Sooo we are going to go ahead anyway because we are right and the Minister with responsibility is wrong.

(Deer Alliance HCAP understands that the Forum’s Chair will communicate this position to the Minister at the earliest time and seek clarification as to why the Minister has apparently reneged on an agreed and adopted position without consultation with the Forum).

Good luck with that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Seems to be kicked to touch till 2020 for new applicants and someone isn't happy.

http://deeralliance.ie/blog/statement-by-the-minister-on-certification-for-licensed-deer-hunters/
    I would be of the view that the Minister has seen sense for now but the pressure still needs to be maintained. The Deer Alliance and shooting sports Ireland were all set to go our and fleece the ordinary Joe stalker (deer) theor plans have been spoiled and they have been found out. I would like to think we all played our part.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 315 ✭✭Walter Mittys Brother

Hopefully any of the other crowds who were thinking the same thing will now too have been stopped in their tracks too :)

Time to keep on the pressure now & time to reel in these gangsters once & for all !

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Resistance is futile

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Well, with the possibility of an election in the very near future too, it's easy for Heather to long finger this as more important work needs attention.IE staying in power in a comfy Dail job.
    As obviously this circus was getting a bit out of control as the monkeys are getting all Bolshie and the clowns plans are falling apart very quickly its best to let her successor deal with it if need be.

It's a battle won, not the war.We have about two years to come up with something to counter the HCAP that is appropriate in cost and methodology to Ireland.Not to mind the Joe and Jane stalkers of Ireland need a say in this IDMF.But for now IDS/WADI ,etc can go and get feck off back into your Coilte lets and stay there.

I think it's great to see common sense prevail over greed and avarice for a change. Well done to everyone who put pressure on and kept in on,it's an amazing win for the ordinary 5/8 by all shooting groups and an added bonus that the Irish too dear society are pissed off but we can't sit on our hands because they won't let this slide and we need to be ahead and stay ahead on this one if the rights of normal sports shooters / stalkers who aren't in it for the money are too be protected but I also think Those who are in it for the money also sold be legislated for or it all goes under ground and that's good for anyone .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

gunny123 wrote: »
    .................. and the minister has turned around and told us to piss off"
    More accurately the Minister and many other TDs were swamped with PQ's, letters, e-mails, calls and other forms of contact from those who were disgusted with how this was done behind closed doors and as the NARGC proved without any consultation with other stakeholders within the FCP or shooting community.

She thought a nod and away it goes without her getting dirt on her hands. Not the case and now we have momentum we need to step up the pressure.
    It's a battle won, not the war.We have about two years to come up with something to counter the HCAP that is appropriate in cost and methodology to Ireland.
    Correct, we now have made ground, time to build on that.

As said before i don't oppose a course or training, but it must be done right, include everyones views/input from all the shooting bodies whether classed as hunting or target. There is too much overlap on shooting to exclude any group.
    (The Minister did not communicate with the Irish Deer Management Forum prior to publication of her statement and it remains the Forum’s position that its Recommendation in its original form is the only acceptable position, both from the viewpoint of deer welfare and from the viewpoint of safe, efficient and humane control of wild deer).
    Now they know how we all feel.

The NARGC's reaction to these prposals proves they did not include all stakeholders in the discussion process and only those vested groups relating to deer hunting which were a tiny percentage of the overall shooting population.

Now they and the Minister know the majority'se TRUE opinion and the sentiment of the community is being heard which rubbishes the deer alliances statement that everyone knew.
    solarwinds wrote: »
    Sooo we are going to go ahead anyway because we are right and the Minister with responsibility is wrong.
    (Deer Alliance HCAP understands that the Forum’s Chair will communicate this position to the Minister at the earliest time and seek clarification as to why the Minister has apparently reneged on an agreed and adopted position without consultation with the Forum).
    As you said good luck with that one, but the reason is simply.

People didn't know, and now they do. They're not happy that you're poorly thought out plan to privatise deer shooting in this country was attempted and the Minister's office has just realised the same thing.
    Seems to be kicked to touch till 2020 for new applicants and someone isn't happy.

http://deeralliance.ie/blog/statement-by-the-minister-on-certification-for-licensed-deer-hunters/
    I would be of the view that the Minister has seen sense for now but the pressure still needs to be maintained. The Deer Alliance and shooting sports Ireland were all set to go our and fleece the ordinary Joe stalker (deer) theor plans have been spoiled and they have been found out. I would like to think we all played our part.
    By the time 2020 comes and some sort of course introduced the deer alliance will have faded away to a bad thought.

Talk about a serious backfire.

And yes i'd like to also think that the guys here and via facebook done their part with the writing campaign. The only thing now is to not stop. Don't drop the ball otherwise the deer alliance and their ilk will have almost three years to try and convince the Minister to make it so they can once again try and seize control.
    Hopefully any of the other crowds who were thinking the same thing will now too have been stopped in their tracks too :)
    There is no doubt now a course is coming. However i believe this is the first step to making it a more open, fair and level playing field. Not a monopoly by one group.

Just need to keep the pressure on.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

The Minister acknowledges the importance of ensuring that deer hunting is carried out in a safe manner. In that context the Minister is considering how best to implement the recommendations of the group having regard to a range of factors including the fact that there are many hunters with many years of experience, knowledge and expertise and also the need to ensure and the most appropriate training and certification process would ultimately be implemented having regard to the most up-to-date safety, conservation and hunting considerations in taking account of both local and international best practice.

In that regard the Minister is satisfied that the most appropriate course of action is to consider the introduction of an appropriate training and certification process for [B]first time applicants for deer hunting licences to commence from a date which will be determined in due course but certainly no later than 2020.[/B]

as i read this any one with a licence now, is grand the npws wont be refusing his renewal in 2020 a young lad looking for a new licence will be put through the hoops and I still have a major problem with this (appropriate training & certification process ) private enterprise can have no hand act or part in this, whatsoever zero .
    (up to date safety ) has been the same seance the introduction of the gun and nothing has changed other than the distance the bullet travels
    (conservation and hunting considerations ) that is the job of the npws as is the case in Kerry where no reds are to be shot
    (local & international best practice ) what works in north co Dublin might not work in south co Dublin , this needs to be investigated by someone wilth a degree and a masters in this area! of these animals , not a syndicate looking to serve there own bank balance, arrogance is some thing they excel in and it looks like arrogance is going to cost this country another government before christmas with what cost to the people of ireland ?000,000 it is really starting to smell of what it is ++++ a young lad driving from one end of the country 200 miles mabe to put a few holes in paper with a gun in the car is a bigger saftey issue than hunting deer , two wrongs never made a write where is the common sense in this ,

A possible solution to this could be,

Short term,
    If a range or two in each province with a cf range all get together and bring over a recognised instructor from the U.K. or another European country and offer a course. This cost for an instructor or two spread over a number of ranges who charge a nominal fee will be a lot less than the scam of a course currently being offered. Also due to the fact the instructors are from outside Ireland they have no vested interest in whether you pass or not. The course is being externally accredidated unlike now. You pass or fail simple as, none of this sure your man there is grand he just forgot to clean his rifle sure we'll pass him anyway.

Long term,
    Some of our more experienced could go and get certified to become instructors. These people could then be freelance to ranges, who employ their services with the cost spread amongst participants. The cost for one persons services will be a lot less than the present model of range hire, expenses, hotel stays, expenses, accreditation and expenses.

A weekend course where you actually learn something be it from fieldcraft, butchery, marksmanship and possibly a vet to teach on the anatomy of your target.
    Seen as we are all European and live in a common market it would be hard (but not unheard of ) for our decision makers to ignore the qualifications or authenticity of foreign qualifications considering we currently have none. Other countries have had this established a long time and it is recognised by their own countries and other countries.
    It would be interesting to see what the cost would be to bring an instructor here for a week and put them up. This cost spread over 8 ranges with 20 participants per course. That cost divided by 160 people i wonder. Split the class in 2 over two days one group range test, butchery other group anatomy and species identification. Day two they switch around. More learnt in two days and all of it pactical, meaningfull usefull knowledge unlike now how many cartridges do you carry to shoot one deer, please.
    Anyway rant over.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭garrettod

If a paid private enterprise gets to decide who does or does not get certified, then how do we know that they are not failing a certain amount of people each month / year, just to generate more fee income from those they fail and send back to repeat their course ?

One of about a dozen problems I have with this proposal tbh and it's not even top of my list....

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭ezra_

garrettod wrote: »

If a paid private enterprise gets to decide who does or does not get certified, then how do we know that they are not failing a certain amount of people each month / year, just to generate more fee income from those they fail and send back to repeat their course ?

One of about a dozen problems I have with this proposal tbh and it's not even top of my list....

This is a 'normal' issue in that many test centres are private (think NCT).

There are usually standards, inspectors and appeals processes set out as part of the condition of being granted the licence to run the course.

The problems here are:
    • The HCAP / Deer Alliance aren't even a private enterprise; they have no legal corporate body (not a company, not a charity)
    • there are no set minimum standards issued by the Minister to which the course must abide (and hence new entrants can apply once they can prove they meet these standards)
    • There is no independent oversight function / committee
    • It is unclear where current proceeds from HCAP go (you'd expect them end up back in Coilte) and no idea at all where funds would go from private shooting
    • For a minister to award a contact (exclusive or otherwise) there needs to be a tender and a fair competition. There was none of this.

garrettod wrote: »

Fair enough then lets have ideas. We now have an oppurtunity to have an input into how this should be done. Lets make the most of it.
    Regarding failure to make you resit,
    Firstly on the range test you get 2 attempts we all know **** happens. You sign off on your target you either pass or fail it can be disputed at the time but you either hit the target or not.
    You have multiple choice relevent questions. You get a certain number to pass. Again 2 attempts you pass on the first one or get an oppurtunity to correct the incorrect ones. Also signed off by you. You either get them right or not. But you know leaving. Paperwork is then sent for external accreditation. At what point here has someone the oppurtunity to make you fail. You will know leaving whether you passed or not. Accreditation just adds validity to the course to a recognised standard.
    The power to pass or fail is yours only.
    As opposed to the Safe Pass model of course that is the HCAP where you have a 100% pass rate. I have been on safe pass courses with non nationals who didnt have one word of english but yet managed to sit all day in a class listening to an instructor in english and manage to pass an english multiple choice test sheet.
    We can all have an input now rather than let some other vested interest come in and tell us how it should be done.

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

How about this idea:
    Let’s leave it as it is, all these societies and associations and coalitions crawl back under the rock they came out from. They don’t represent me or anybody except themselves and their own interests.

How about this idea:
    Let’s leave it as it is, all these societies and associations and coalitions crawl back under the rock they came out from. They don’t represent me or anybody except themselves and their own interests.

I agree 100% and in an ideal world that would be the case. But now that the seed of an idea has been sown in the departments head its just a matter of time before it happens and i for one would like to have some kind of input rather than being dictated to.
    Unfortunately with the country and world we now live in pretty soon you'll need a certificate to boil a kettle let alone carry a knife in the field.
    I would love to go back to the good old days but i think that has been consigned to nostalgia.

How about this idea:

well for now i think the minister has told them that , i hope they have enough room there and wont be to uncomfortable must be a big rock the numbers that will have to be dealt with now are quite small 200-300 hundred a year so as i said the purse now is quite small , with range + instructor + exam fees the return will be small or outrageously priced ??? at current proposed prices you wont see much interest in running these courses, by these privateers ,they thought this was going to be another windfall added to the money they have already gathered , where has all that gone what have they done with it, non profit my arse, coillte require hcap it for insurance purposes congratulations to any one who passed it , i wont be having any achievement tattoos saying i passed ,

Looks like the Gordon Gekko business model of Greed is Good has backfired.

FWIW.my thoughts on how things progress.
    Too much of a cold potato for the minister to worry about right now what with the possible election and Dail recess coming up, so that's the Jan 2018 nonsense sunk as of now.
    Who knows what happens between now and Jan 2020 in a place where a week is a long time in politics? it won't be Heather's[proably not] problem by then, so let someone else deal with that kicked down the road can, especially where apparently the PAC was scenting blood in the water and were starting to gather as well.

Sooo
    this will obviously have to go to tender sometime, so the plan should be let's have something put together by us for us that is adaptable to whatever demands NPWSand the Dept requires..Also, let's not forget to remind them that NOTHING changes until the Wildlife act and Data protection and qualification of the instructors is firmly established.

Now,let's start thinking outside the box for a change and lets quit cutting our own throats with outdated education methods. In a country that claims it is technology and social media advanced why can we not set up...

1] Not for profit organisation that will run this course ONLINE and will publish every quarter or whenever its accounts which are easily viewed by the public? As DAI/HCAP claimed they were not for profit and no money went back to NPWS, so could this organisation be the same.the only expenditure will be[if needed] is the range test hire fee, and running the website.

2] Base this course on the US NRA hunter safety course, learn it all at your pace online and do the theory test online too.Right after you have finished the book work if you so want.You cant progress to the next stage until you pass the online test at home with the required score. Nominal cost to the hunter and all the course charges is a small fee for web admin and such.You pass the theory part, you get informed within minutes what your score is and where you were good and where maybe you need to read up a bit more on?

Lads, I did my private pilot's license theory exam like this in the USA in the late 1990s, even before the interweb was taking off.The only difference was we did it online in a test centre.

3]Use your registered account number to book a practical test, which will be more on SAFETY rather than marksmanship, and I picture more like a STAGS type shoot, with shoot/no shoot scenarios, and none of this zero shooting stuff.That's up to you as a proper stalker to zero your rifle anyway,[and lucky for the deer if your rifle is completely off zero too.]

4] Pass that part.That's it you are qualified on paper stalker, for life!None of this "refresher" BS.You learn to stalk and hunting by being outside in the field not from a book.
    Now you have a building block to go on and do other courses, if and when you want to gain more qualifications.IE game handling, advanced stalker, High seat builder, instructor etc. This is the same way PADI scuba diving works as well.Get the foundation course then add on as you need and see fit.

How difficult to set up and run, and how much of a cost?No instructors needed.No need to travel the length and breadth of the country, or buying overpriced manuals full of inaccurate info? No panic or rush to learn it or cram the night before.All computer-based and Data protected.With an appeals protocol on all aspect of the test. You pay the RANGE on the day as well, now again there is a process of where the money goes.

Next, Joe and Jane stalker of Ireland need a seat on the IDMF, not a bunch of elitists trying to come out of state forests, or from one or two counties, or academics.but a rep who is elected by the members on their knowledge and experience of stalking and hunting by popular vote and ballot.Who only has the interests of stalkers in mind, not for personal profit or anything else.

And before any of this is done some serious debate needs to be done with NPWS, IDMF the Dept and all other interested parties[inc the aforementioned rep] on the following topics;
    1] How many deer do we actually have in Ireland?is it increasing or decreasing?
    Real on the ground figures please, not grey theory.IOW lads get your wellies on and dump the lab coat and go out up hill and down dale and count the damn things for once! HINT Drones, SMS deer cams, mineral licks, off-season feeding sites etc, can make life easier for you too.

2] Illegal game harvesting and game dealers.How about some ideas that might actually discourage such by enforcing the laws in existence and stiffening the penalties for the illegal activities, instead of trying to get the ligit stalkers to pay for this nonsense with crazy and expensive ideas like deer tags or whatever?How about forfeiture of poachers vehicles and firearms and other property /banning from holding FAC for over ten years?Shutting down game dealers for minimum four years and moving the fines up to circuit court level?Greater than 20k? Jailing those who hunt deer with dogs?Even a moratorium on wild deer being sold to game dealers, to take the "easy money" aspect from this?

3] Sect42.Is there really NO alternative?

4] Primitive weapons, bP, shotgun slugs.IF we are all going to be licensed, and qualified, why can this not be considered as well? This would be the place to have this out as all parties inc AGS are there at the table?

We now have the advantage to set this up for ourselves, by ourselves for our future selves without govt meddling and for-profit concerns.Lets Carpe Diem[Seize the day] as the lads in ancient Rome used to say.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1720302428004143&id=190104431023958
    Just spotted this statement on the nargc facebook page and it's great to see at least one shooting/hunting organization standing by and up for its members instead of getting ready to sell us out to corporate management of our sport by so many other . Shame on you The Sports coalition of vested interests and the Far too deer societies .

Blame others for your misfortune... Latest from our friends blog.

NARGC STATEMENT ON HCAP – MISLEADING OR JUST DISHONEST?
    A statement has appeared on the website of the National Association of Regional Games Councils headed “Hunter Competence Assessment Programme (HCAP)”. That statement is at best misleading and at worse just plain dishonest.

The statement addresses the requirement for mandatory certification as a prerequisite for issue of a Deer Hunting Licence (DHL), which follows a recommendation from the Irish Deer Management Forum (“the Forum”). In March 2016, after exhaustive debate, the Forum unanimously adopted the following recommendation for submission to the appointing Ministers: “That the IDMF recommend to the Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht and the Minister for Agriculture, Food & the Marine that Certification of Competency from an accredited source in knowledge of wild deer species, disease recognition, management, culling and safe methods of control, together with marksmanship and safe usage and storage of firearms, be a mandatory requirement before the grant of a licence to hunt wild deer; and that mandatory certification be introduced on a phased basis over a five year period commencing on the 1st day of January 2018 for existing holders of deer hunting licences, and with immediate effect from the same date for all new applicants for deer hunting licences”.

This recommendation was duly submitted to the Ministers concerned and confirmation of adoption of the recommendation was subsequently received by the Forum.

The NARGC statement asserts that “there was no consultation that we the NARGC were aware of and have this requirement forced upon us”. The NARGC have had a seat at the Forum table from Day One and were fully involved in all deliberations of the Forum, including representation on the Communications, Training & Best Practice Working Group which was responsible for framing the Recommendation. Training and certification for deer hunters was adopted as a priority objective for the Forum from date of appointment of the Forum and was dealt with in detail in numerous submissions made in the process of public consultation over a two-year period. It is at best disingenuous to suggest that the NARCG were not party to consultations, which were exhaustive.

In fact, as can be seen from the Recommendation, certification is not limited to Deer Alliance HCAP. So far as Deer Alliance HCAP is concerned, “HCAP or equivalent” has always been and continues to be, the criterion for certification. By no means does mandatory certification place Deer Alliance (HCAP) “at the centre of what is a commercial venture, with no viable alternatives open […]”. Deer Alliance HCAP is a not-for-profit body, operating on a break-even basis and with full disclosure of all finances. It is open to any third party to put forward a programme for training, assessment and certification, with HCAP as a valid benchmark for measurement of equivalency. HCAP has processed some 2400 candidates since 2005, when certification became a mandatory requirement for hunters wishing to hunt deer on Coillte forest property. HCAP des not consist of merely of “answering 30 multi choice questions and attending a range test”. Candidates must answer a minimum of forty questions correctly, and then passing a rigorous test of firearms handling and marksmanship. Both stages are demanding of ability and generally, only those candidates who engage in optional Training Workshops and careful study of the Deer Alliance Stalker Training Manual, and then show up for the Range Test with firearms correctly zeroed, safe to use and being capable of putting the requisite number of rounds onto the target on their first attempt, achieve maximum results.

It may be the case that internal dissension and seismic change interfered with the NARGC’s involvement with the different processes and debates engaged in by the Forum in recent months. That is no excuse for misleading their membership as to consultation, or for denigrating a process of assessment and certification recognised as fit for purpose by Coillte Teoranta and National Parks & Wildlife Service; or for disrespecting the voluntary work of all those engaged in Deer Alliance HCAP, including the different deer organisations such as the Irish Deer Society and the Wild Deer Association of Ireland, which have done far more for deer and for deer hunters than any other shooting organisation over the last forty years.

I'd say your right but we need to ignore it and take it for what it is a major attempt to gain back lost credibility. As a group I'd say they are finished.
    It doesnt really matter now, What matters is its kicked down the line the Minister has seen sense. You know what it didn't cost the NARGC a penny, no threats of court nothing....just a well thought out statement and I assume a letter. Wow how things have changed.

These shower are now as damaged as the Sports Coalition of vested interests. They were blatantly trying to screw the ordinary shooting man over and they have been found out, also Look how quick country sports Ireland was bailing in behind them with training courses.....damage done to reputations and cards marked.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Only those who take part in optional training workshops achieve full marks ? Very interesting point that..What's the cost of one of those "optional" workshops ?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

This recommendation was duly submitted to the Ministers concerned and confirmation of adoption of the recommendation was subsequently received by the Forum.
    Not any more.
    It is at best disingenuous to suggest that the NARCG were not party to consultations, which were exhaustive.
    So were the NARGC present at these meetings, who was there as a rep for the NARGC and what involvement did they have?

If they were involved in any amount they have the same questions to answer such as why not inform your membership. I'm getting a little tired of these groups making submissions and acting on the agenda of the few people at the meeting which usually is in stark contrast the best interests of the sport. If the NARGC had a hand in it, time to come clean as it'll come out at some point. A simple FOI request for the minutes of all meetings will identify the people and groups involved.
    In fact, as can be seen from the Recommendation, certification is not limited to Deer Alliance HCAP.
    As can be seen from the LAW certification is not a prerequisite.
    So far as Deer Alliance HCAP is concerned, “HCAP or equivalent” has always been and continues to be, the criterion for certification.
    "or equivalent" is part of the Coilte handbook and has no basis in law so meaningless to non Coilte shooters.
    By no means does mandatory certification place Deer Alliance (HCAP) “at the centre of what is a commercial venture
    Yet they have scheduled 12 MCQs at 100 per test, with 6 range tests at 200 per test for 2018 alone. Guess that'll take a hit now.
    Deer Alliance HCAP is a not-for-profit body, operating on a break-even basis and with full disclosure of all finances.
    Then disclose them.

1,200 people they had planned to go through next year at €150 per head. That is €180,000 in one year. Please explain to me how 5 lads (because that is all that turn up at the range and i'm assuming the same at the MCQ) need €180,000 to run such a course.

I've done the math and being overly generous in costs for conference rooms, range fees, administration costs, website costs, wages/costs for the men attending (deer alliance only), etc. The best i can make up is €50,000. That leaves €130,000. So lets do something weird and double the cots of everything even things i know to be a certain amount. that is €100,000. So at best there is €80,000 left and on the higher end some €130,000 left.
    HCAP des not consist of merely of “answering 30 multi choice questions and attending a range test”. Candidates must answer a minimum of forty questions correctly,
    Right so it's 40, not 30. Big difference.
    and then passing a rigorous test of firearms handling and marksmanship
    This one i'll call out having been present for dozens of them over the years. I've seen lads fail to hit a 6 inch sighting disc at 100 yards, fail to hit an 8" heart lung area at 40 yards, and then repeat the test time and again until they passed, for an additional fee if i'm not mistaken. I've never seen one person leave without a cert. In the sake of fairness i'll say i have not attended all the tests, but i can speak to the ones i've attended.
    ........ or for denigrating a process of assessment and certification recognised as fit for purpose by Coillte Teoranta and National Parks & Wildlife Service;
    But no one else. As in no one else recognises the course. Not the Gardaí, DoJ, Dept of A.H.G.RA, etc.
    or for disrespecting the voluntary work of all those engaged in Deer Alliance HCAP,
    Which volunteers? By their [lads from deer alliance] own admission from speaking to them on the range the lads present on each range test get, and the amount varies depending on who you talk to, paid for their day.
    including the different deer organisations such as the Irish Deer Society and the Wild Deer Association of Ireland, which have done far more for deer and for deer hunters than any other shooting organisation over the last forty years.
    Such as?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »

So were the NARGC present at these meetings, who was there as a rep for the NARGC and what involvement did they have?

If they were involved in any amount they have the same questions to answer such as why not inform your membership. I'm getting a little tired of these groups making submissions and acting on the agenda of the few people at the meeting which usually is in stark contrast the best interests of the sport. If the NARGC had a hand in it, time to come clean as it'll come out at some point. A simple FOI request for the minutes of all meetings will identify the people and groups involved.

Going by the minutes of the meetings published on the forum that are public the NARGC rep was at two of them in the foundation and at the 2nd meeting. So what was Mr Doris doing in the meantime for NARGC?It seems this is another place of trilouges all right.With working groups publishing stuff internally.

"
    or equivalent" is part of the Coilte handbook and has no basis in law so meaningless to non Coilte shooters.
    Bit of a joke saying this, as they have been trumpeting for years that HCAP is THE only acceptable and recognised certification[for Coilte lets].

Quote:including the different deer organisations such as the Irish Deer Society and the Wild Deer Association of Ireland, which have done far more for deer and for deer hunters than any other shooting organisation over the last forty years.

Absolutely nothing for me or the deer i shoot.
    Again this has no relevance at all except to the few in these organisations who want to shoot coillte lands.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭.243

solarwinds wrote: »
    Quote:including the different deer organisations such as the Irish Deer Society and the Wild Deer Association of Ireland, which have done far more for deer and for deer hunters than any other shooting organisation over the last forty years.

Absolutely nothing for me or the deer i shoot.
    Me neither of the 20+ yrs of hunting them

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1937378139915534&id=1937363159917032

The race to be the king of the hill has just started . A group across the border are leading the race see link above

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1937378139915534&id=1937363159917032

The race to be the king of the hill has just started . A group across the border are leading the race see link above
    I would bet thats Country Sports Ireland, they have been very active in the last year or so they apparently were down south canvassing for members, don't quote me but they have a "guest speaker" at a few of the events and if my mate is right that same "Guest Speaker" was absolutely destroyed in Cork, for a while they were rumored to become the new NARGC again allegedly.