Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The worst kid's name you've ever heard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

Omackeral wrote: »
    Kid dropped a yoghurt in the supermarket today.

''Hudson ya little bollix ya''
    Not Dublin 7 by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

stinkle wrote: »
    Not Dublin 7 by any chance?

Ha ha it actually was, you were there?

Wait, are you Hudson? If so, you're a little bollix.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Kid dropped a yoghurt in the supermarket today.

''Hudson ya little bollix ya''

Was Yoghurt ok after being dropped ?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭stinkle

Ha ha it actually was, you were there?

Wait, are you Hudson? If so, you're a little bollix.
    haha! No, not me, I know of a Hudson from there though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

Just saw someone post this on Facebook ...

"Was matter of time before my daugter realise I misspelled her name, she is 7. She is elsa but we pronounce elza. When she ask why I did not spell with a z I told her I don't like spell with a z I prefer with s :-?. And I never been good in spelling any way"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Just saw someone post this on Facebook ...

"Was matter of time before my daugter realise I misspelled her name, she is 7. She is elsa but we pronounce elza. When she ask why I did not spell with a z I told her I don't like spell with a z I prefer with s :-?. And I never been good in spelling any way"
    And she's made a bigger eejit of herself, because in lots of places in Europe it's spelled with an s but pronounced with a z.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

Spotted on Facebook - Em'a.

(I did think initially that it might be someone changing the spelling so as to avoid people searching for them & finding them, like when people change their names into the Irish version. But no, she's actually called Em'a).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Some yoke in Clearwater Tesco bellowing after "Martin-Anthony". Or Martin Anthony, either way it's ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Some yoke in Clearwater Tesco bellowing after "Martin-Anthony". Or Martin Anthony, either way it's ****e.

Patron saint of barmen and patron saint of lost things.
    For when you've lost your mind but need more drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I remember a show on RTE. Something along the lines of Come dine with me but with couples. Think it was only a pilot. One of the contestants on it named her son after her favourite pub. So she called him Tavern.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Azrel

I know it's terrible but I can't say that name in anything but a traveller accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

Nobody has mentioned Saint West yet, brother to North West and sure to have lots of other children named after him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭and still ricky villa

Nobody has mentioned Saint West yet, brother to North West and sure to have lots of other children named after him.

Next child to be called Go

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Jayden wtf?

Beibhinn?

Blathnaid?

Dylan and Ryan (always little brats)

Bradley

Phelim

Roger

Jamie

Linda

Terrible indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Azrel

Next child to be called Go

Or Fred

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Azrel wrote: »
    I know it's terrible but I can't say that name in anything but a traveller accent.

I have a few mates called John Paul,all born 1980.The papal visit clearly got the Irish people hot under the collar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,873 ✭✭✭RayCon

Probably narrowed down the Dad to either of those

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭cactusgal

Ophelia Heavenly.

Saw it on Facebook today. (No joke).

I have a few mates called John Paul,all born 1980.The papal visit clearly got the Irish people hot under the collar.

I would have been in the same year as about 15 JPs out of a class of 150!

Bridget. Not even a simplified or shortened version sounds nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Corey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,507 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,641 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

It has to be Frank Zappa's kids, Dweezil Zappa and Moon Unit.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭madmaggie

not yet wrote: »
    Yeah but in all fairness it's nuts for a little kid to be knocking around the inner city with a Norse gods name..

What ever happened to Bernie or Maggie or Kathleen..?:eek:

The last of the Maggies reporting for duty:D

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Asarlai

Heard about 1985 in Shantalla, Galway: Come here, John Paul, until I wipe your nose

Aramathea

• Registered Users Posts: 32 jefferytibbs

A friends ex missus' daughter is called Isis...

Venezuela is a pretty bad one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Asarlai wrote: »
    Heard about 1985 in Shantalla, Galway: Come here, John Paul, until I wipe your nose

I know some Karols from the same time, using his Polish birth name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

It has to be Frank Zappa's kids, Dweezil Zappa and Moon Unit.

Don't forget Diva Muffin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Axel!

Seamie

Paudie

Kayla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭George White

I know a bloke in his fifties, whose name is Anthony Martyn Clark. They wanted to call him Martyn Anthony Clark, but didn't like the ring. However, they called him Martyn as if it was his first name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Helena Christensen's son is called Mingus.

Father is Norman Reedus from the Walking Dead.
    Mingus Reedus. Poor kid.
    Named after Charles Mingus. Couldn't they have just gone for Charles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Jesus wept, Mingus Reedus sounds like something cured by anti-biotics and Canestan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Noo

Probably not the worst but heard a mother calling out to her son in the shop today.....phoenix. But im in Australia, they tend to get away with odd names here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Xeyn

Jesus wept, Mingus Reedus sounds like something cured by anti-biotics and Canestan.

I have met two women named Candida in the last month, which literally is an infection cured by Canesten

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Joey Jo-Jo Junior

Joey Jo-Jo Junior

*runs away crying*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Overheard a mother in Stillorgan Tesco call after her son Jasper...

Was in Blanchardstown shopping center yesterday and heard a mother "No, Parthenon, Santy can't afford to get you a tractor."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

There was a special request on the radio (LMFM) for Phoenix on his birthday. He was in that Navajo reservation... In Dunshaughlin! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭get a room

Clymidia Murphy

I observed a child being yelled at the other day, couldn't determine the gender, about 3 years old I suppose... "Thatcher".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

I hate anything Americanised like cody, or blatantly taken from pop culture.

Some of this is genuinely hilarious. A list of popular Irish names where no one from Ireland was consulted first

http://www.irishcentral.com/roots/most-popular-irish-baby-names-in-america-101287949-237711871.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Some of this is genuinely hilarious. A list of popular Irish names where no one from Ireland was consulted first

http://www.irishcentral.com/roots/most-popular-irish-baby-names-in-america-101287949-237711871.html

Love it!
    Kaylee: This name is a modern invention based on the names Kay and Lee, but it also sounds like “céilí,” the Irish word for a gathering.

Basically, "it's got nothing to do with the Irish, but it sounds a little bit like an Irish word so you're all set"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Deedsie wrote: »
    Overheard a mother in Stillorgan Tesco call after her son Jasper...

What's wrong with Jasper?:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

galah wrote: »
    What's wrong with Jasper?:confused:

Had a friend in england whos dog was called jasper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I graduated on Friday and cringed when a girl with the middle name "Angel" was conferred with her masters. Did her parents not foresee moments like this? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Conan, little bollox was tearing around Lidl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

_meehan_ wrote: »
    I graduated on Friday and cringed when a girl with the middle name "Angel" was conferred with her masters. Did her parents not foresee moments like this? :confused:

As cutting and uppity as this may sound, most people with names like Angel, Kayden and Ruby-Rose won't have to worry about getting their Masters. I wouldn't worry too much about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭Tunage

Uisce... because in London it sounds 'exotic' apparently... :eek: I've met said Uisce but it's just wrong... WRONG!!!!