Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

seamus wrote: »
    Interesting take.

Surely the truth is immutable and not something that anyone "decides"?

Or are you one of those people?
    I can assure you the Political and Media establishment have been driving their TRUTH on us all for a hell of a long time .

I say , That everyone should decide the TRUTH from their own personal lives and feelings . Do not be dictated to , Do not let them silence you and do not let them control your thoughts .

Stand up and vote as you see fit .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

The caseyites thanking this should perhaps be aware that ELM really is a Trump supporter.

Already aware. I'd have voted Sanders if in the US.

You really must remind me when it became compulsory to share every belief of someone to thank their posts ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The caseyites thanking this should perhaps be aware that ELM really is a Trump supporter.

So what? Should someone be castigated for holding different opinions??

• Registered Users Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Already aware. I'd have voted Sanders if in the US.

You really must remind me when it became compulsory to share every belief of someone to thank their posts ?

Off course.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

4% turn out in Dublin so far lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

as I said before the really low turnout could cause a serious upset to the political elites

fergus1001 wrote: »
    as I said before the really low turnout could cause a serious upset to the political elites

Low rural turnout aswell. I thought everyone rural was voting Casey to save them from Travellers reading here the last week?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

ELM327 wrote: »
    Do you just watch me, or?

Many Casey supporters have been careful to point out that while they support his remarks, they are not open racists like those nasty MAGA types who support Trump.

So they might prefer not to thank you for joining their cause and muddying the waters.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Here's hoping.

The lower the turnout the better chance of a non higgins victory.
    The higgins vote is in apathy at the other candidates, from speaking to people, rather than because he's done great (he hasnt done anything of note).

Many Casey supporters have been careful to point out that while they support his remarks, they are not open racists like those nasty MAGA types who support Trump.

So they might prefer not to thank you for joining their cause and muddying the waters.

It is not, nor has it ever been, possible for a white Irish person to discriminate against a different white Irish person on the basis of race.
    So I and the populous at large will thank you to not muddy the waters.

This is not america, this is Ireland. You don't speak for me, and you - demonstrably - don't speak for Casey supporters.

As a bunch, people voting for Casey generally are tired of what they "have to say". They say what they want to say and ignore this enforced PC bull.

For clarity, while you have quoted my posted question, you have not answered it.

As a bunch, people voting for Casey generally are tired of what they "have to say". They say what they want to say and ignore this enforced PC bull.

Exactly the spiel Trump uses to justify racism.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,125 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Does yer man Casey ever pay any taxes here?

Was he not born in Derry, educated over with the Sasanachs (grand soup so it was), fecked off to Sydney, then off to America and lucky to make a heap of money? Wouldn't say the Irish tax system saw too much of it

I'd say the **** and wasters on the dole paid more tax than he did.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

"Upset the elites by voting for wealthy tax exiles"

Where's Waterford Whispers when you need them?

I wonder what goes through the mind of people who buy this "elites" nonsense. The actual "elites" are the 1%; the people who run businesses (into the ground) and use their money and position to increase their wealth at the expense of everyone else.

The goal of electing politicians should be putting in people who will balance it out, and resist the attempts by the elites to gut society for their own personal gain.

But they've managed to convince pockets of people that if you replace the politicians with the 1%, that somehow you're "sticking it to the elites", when you've actually just handed the bad guy the gun and asked him to protect you.

Surely if your goal was to "upset the elites", you'd vote for a socialist who proposes massive wealth taxes and widespread social spending?

Does yer man Casey ever pay any taxes here?

Was he not born in Derry, educated over with the Sasanachs (grand soup so it was), fecked off to Sydney, then off to America and lucky to make a heap of money? Wouldn't say the Irish tax system saw too much of it

I'd say the **** and wasters on the dole paid more tax than he did.

You dont need to pay tax to be a hero to those who whinge about tax apparently.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,125 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

pjohnson wrote: »
    You dont need to pay tax to be a hero to those who whinge about tax apparently.

He probably just knows that if he shouts loud enough about poor people not paying taxes that the voting eejits won't think to look at him

• Registered Users Posts: 21,520 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

seamus wrote:
    I wonder what goes through the mind of people who buy this "elites" nonsense. The actual "elites" are the 1%; the people who run businesses (into the ground) and use their money and position to increase their wealth at the expense of everyone else.

There's scope for Phd studies in to this phenomenon.

Trump, Brexit advocates decrying the elites and claiming to represent the common man is laughable..... and yet seems to be believed by many.

It is not, nor has it ever been, possible for a white Irish person to discriminate against a different white Irish person on the basis of race.
    So I and the populous at large will thank you to not muddy the waters.

This is not america, this is Ireland. You don't speak for me, and you - demonstrably - don't speak for Casey supporters.

For clarity, while you have quoted my posted question, you have not answered it.
    Exactly the spiel Trump uses to justify racism.

Are you incapable of replying to a full post, instead picking words or lines to justify a view or position that does not fit the context in which it was posted?

For the third time now, while you have quoted my posted question, you have not answered it.

Are you incapable of replying to a full post

Yes, it is a flaw in my character.

He probably just knows that if he shouts loud enough about poor people not paying taxes that the voting eejits won't think to look at him

Exactly

***LOUD NOISES*** = OMG he is amazing

• Registered Users Posts: 16,538 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Here's hoping.

The lower the turnout the better chance of a non higgins victory.
    The higgins vote is in apathy at the other candidates, from speaking to people, rather than because he's done great (he hasnt done anything of note).

What Irish President has ever done anything of note whilst holding the office?
    The Presidency in terms of what it represents, is basically a direct substitution of the Lord Lieutenants role.
    It is primarily a ceremonial role, one which in my opinion the incumbent should represent a manifestation of the dignity and hope of the nation, it is an office that as head of State should seek to be above the politics of government.

The President has no role in leading the country, even the power of assent is conditional.
    I would much prefer that we save any "protest" votes for an election that matters, unfortunately in Ireland those elections don't come with parties capable of forming a viable alternative government.

banie01 wrote: »
    What Irish President has ever done anything of note whilst holding the office?
    The Presidency in terms of what it represents, is basically a direct substitution of the Lord Lieutenants role.
    It is primarily a ceremonial role, one which in my opinion the incumbent should represent a manifestation of the dignity and hope of the nation, it is an office that as head of State should seek to be above the politics of government.

The President has no role in leading the country, even the power of assent is conditional.
    I would much prefer that we save any "protest" votes for an election that matters, unfortunately in Ireland those elections don't come with parties capable of forming a viable alternative government.

McAleese had a great impact on the peace process.
    Robinson steered a lot of human rights legislation and used the office to bring public conversation to rights issues.
    Two recent examples.

In 2011 we elected the head of gringotts and all I can see that he did was leech money from the taxpayer at our darkest recessionary moment in recent history. He has done nothing of note. The only benefit to electing him again is that, as he is older, he will have a shorter taxpayer funded life left than other candidates

Yes, it is a flaw in my character.
    Do you just watch me or?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

seamus wrote: »
    How did that vote for Dana work out for you? :p

Ah now, don't mock them. I'm starting to feel sorry for them now. Let's not forget Dana managed to get nearly 14% of the vote. As a result, it really sent a message out to the leftist msm communists liberal elite and we all started to adopt the idiot's ideology and politics, as can definitely be seen in the 20 years that followed that vote.

Something very familiar with the 1997 language.

DaGKvAAU0AIiBiO.jpg

VOTE NO.1 DANA! She tells it like it is.

pjohnson wrote: »

Off course.

It's "of" unless you're posting that from an oil tanker and right up to when he lost the Dem nomination, yeah.

Sorry if that fails to meet your criteria for the stereotype but the truth is rarely simple.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

dav3 wrote: »
    Ah now, don't mock them. I'm starting to feel sorry for them now. Let's not forget Dana managed to get nearly 14% of the vote. As a result, it really sent a message out to the leftist msm communists liberal elite and we all started to adopt the idiot's ideology and politics, as can definitely be seen in the 20 years that followed that vote.

Something very familiar with the 1997 language.

DaGKvAAU0AIiBiO.jpg

VOTE NO.1 DANA! She tells it like it is.

ok. i think you dont get it.....
    my signature on boards perhaps....just perhaps shouldnt be taken as gospel.....but if it is or was....i feel sorry for you

Do you just watch me or?

No.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,538 ✭✭✭✭banie01

McAleese had a great impact on the peace process.
    Robinson steered a lot of human rights legislation and used the office to bring public conversation to rights issues.
    Two recent examples.

In 2011 we elected the head of gringotts and all I can see that he did was leech money from the taxpayer at our darkest recessionary moment in recent history. He has done nothing of note. The only benefit to electing him again is that, as he is older, he will have a shorter taxpayer funded life left than other candidates

McAleese would come quite far down on any list of influencers or guiding hands on the peace process IMO.
    Granted she was very conciliatory and took steps to include unionists in her role as President many unionists would take issue with her comparison of protestent children to European anti-semites.

Similarly with Robinson, much of her good work around Human Rights was done either side of her presidency, whilst actually in the role she was constrained by what the actual office entailed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

ok. i think you dont get it.....
    my signature on boards perhaps....just perhaps shouldnt be taken as gospel.....but if it is or was....i feel sorry for you

I don't think about you at all.

Keep voting for Dana Casey every election.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,527 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

How do we know that ? Where is the proof ?

Do you know what "unvouched" means ?

Yeah, I know what unvouched means, and I know how financial systems work in public bodies. Are you seriously suggesting that someone wrote a cheque to buy property from this allowance?

Either post where I said that or retract eh ?