Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

After Hours Presidential Election Poll

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

seamus wrote: »
    fergus1001 wrote: »
    as I said before the really low turnout could cause a serious upset to the political elites

"Upset the elites by voting for wealthy tax exiles"

Where's Waterford Whispers when you need them?

I wonder what goes through the mind of people who buy this "elites" nonsense. The actual "elites" are the 1%; the people who run businesses (into the ground) and use their money and position to increase their wealth at the expense of everyone else.

The goal of electing politicians should be putting in people who will balance it out, and resist the attempts by the elites to gut society for their own personal gain.

But they've managed to convince pockets of people that if you replace the politicians with the 1%, that somehow you're "sticking it to the elites", when you've actually just handed the bad guy the gun and asked him to protect you.

Surely if your goal was to "upset the elites", you'd vote for a socialist who proposes massive wealth taxes and widespread social spending?

You don’t know what an elite is.

Elite

“a group or class of people seen as having the most power and influence in a society, especially on account of their wealth or privilege.”

Look at the high number of the current cabinet who went to fee paying schools.

Irish journalists are almost exclusively white, middle class and liberal.

A high number of current politicians have relatives that were also politicians, the current president, Tanaiste, minister for justice, minister for education, to name but a few are related to former or current politicians.

There is a clear elite in Irish society.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 28,656 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

You still don't get it. PC winning is not the victory people are after, it's the change in conversation that they want.

People want to be listened to, not talked down to and be told you can't be having those bad thoughts, let almost say them out aloud, even if they are their own experiences.
    There is no restriction on free speech in Ireland. But you seem to be looking for a 'not getting called out for my BS' option.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Lamentable that we are having a referendum to remove blasphemy from our constitution the day after the ECHR decides that blasphemy is indeed a crime.

So.... pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭irishproduce

wonder will we get any exit polls?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,656 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

emo72 wrote: »
    None of them are good candidates. Need to look at the system that allows these ones through. It's almost as if councils controlled by large political parties wanted weak candidates.

Councils don't decide what candidates come forward

• Registered Users Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    There is a clear elite in Irish society.

And Casey (if he moves here permanently) will be right there in it.

Do you think he is part of the elite?

I think Michael D is much more a scion of the elite than Casey.
    A professional paid politician for 45 years, with multiple state pensions,on numerous boards, with a daughter a senator.

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    A professional paid politician for 45 years, with multiple state pensions,on numerous boards, with a daughter a senator.

Politicians are not the elite. The people who pay the politicians and tell them what to do are the elite.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭RandomName2

dav3 wrote: »
    I don't think about you at all.

Keep voting for Dana Casey every election.

When choosing his avatar to pursue truth and justice in the form of dav3, God reached into the kitchen drawer and took out a butter knife.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Politicians are not the elite. The people who pay the politicians and tell them what to do are the elite.

So we're just looking to cut out the middle man #VoteCasey

Every definition would disagree with you but don’t let reality interfere with your prejudices.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

pjohnson wrote: »
    Low rural turnout aswell. I thought everyone rural was voting Casey to save them from Travellers reading here the last week?

Haven't voted yet myself.

Work gets in the way you see.

Left home before 7am, last Friday of the month to invoice etc.

Be home 5, sharpish.

I expect there's many like me out there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

ELM327 wrote: »
    ...all I can see that he did was leech money from the taxpayer at our darkest recessionary moment in recent history...

Yeah, if only he hadn't leeched that money he was entitled to as president we could have sorted the housing crisis, the banking collapse and the health system in one fell swoop.

Damn you Michael D!!

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 21,672 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

A little song, if I may, to mark the day.

No.

Ok so you are capable of responding to one line questions so if I hold my metaphorical breath and ask this with no pauses periods or full stops you might grace me with another answer so you just seem to "comment" whenever I'm around dragging in Trump into non Trump related threads as if you think it will in some way denigrate me when in fact I'm a loud and proud Trump advocate and have been on the train since 2016 and before.

***breathe***

banie01 wrote: »
    McAleese would come quite far down on any list of influencers or guiding hands on the peace process IMO.
    Granted she was very conciliatory and took steps to include unionists in her role as President many unionists would take issue with her comparison of protestent children to European anti-semites.

Similarly with Robinson, much of her good work around Human Rights was done either side of her presidency, whilst actually in the role she was constrained by what the actual office entailed.

So, while I have presented tangible work done while in office by the prior two presidents, what has the incumbent done?

Except from this of course:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭enricoh

Yeah they're just normal Joe soaps, with whopper pensions after a few years in the job. N then a few plum gigs as board directors or on a quango or two.
    You're spot on, that stuff happens the average Joe soap all the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,672 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Hermy wrote: »
    Yeah, if only he hadn't leeched that money he was entitled to as president we could have sorted the housing crisis, the banking collapse and the health system in one fell swoop.

Damn you Michael D!!
    Over €3 million during the term.
    Wouldn't have solved world hunger but if we had evaluated in 2011 the best use for €3 million we'd have found a much better place I'm sure.

I'm the last person to advocate for social welfare expenditure but it would have been better there than in the pockets of Michael D

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,647 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Well, I just did my democratic duty and voted...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭RandomName2

enricoh wrote: »
    Yeah they're just normal Joe soaps, with whopper pensions after a few years in the job. N then a few plum gigs as board directors or on a quango or two.
    You're spot on, that stuff happens the average Joe soap all the time!

The Taoiseach isn't the leader, it is the politicians who vote him in that are the leader. The CEO of a company isn't the boss, it's the employees who run his business who are the boss. :rolleyes:

Edit: had to add in an emoticon

you just seem to "comment" whenever I'm around dragging in Trump into non Trump related threads

You think very highly of yourself, don't you? I was posting in this thread before you showed up here, I am not following you around.

And I mentioned for the benefit of the Caseyites that you are an actual Trump supporter precisely because most of the Casey supporters have been careful to claim that they are not racist jackasses. Your post with hashtag #MIGA might be taken as a light hearted parody of American dumbassness, but it really isn't.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Over €3 million during the term.
    Wouldn't have solved world hunger but if we had evaluated in 2011 the best use for €3 million we'd have found a much better place I'm sure.

I'm the last person to advocate for social welfare expenditure but it would have been better there than in the pockets of Michael D

If we're in such dire straits that we need to raid the presidential purse - and in the grand scheme of things €3 million is feck all - then the question is why?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

The Taoiseach isn't the leader, it is the politicians who vote him in that are the leader. The CEO of a company isn't the boss, it's the employees who run his business who are the boss.

What world do you live on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

The Taoiseach isn't the leader, it is the politicians who vote him in that are the leader. The CEO of a company isn't the boss, it's the employees who run his business who are the boss.

Do you live in a fantasy world?

You think very highly of yourself, don't you? I was posting in this thread before you showed up here, I am not following you around.

And I mentioned for the benefit of the Caseyites that you are an actual Trump supporter precisely because most of the Casey supporters have been careful to claim that they are not racist jackasses. Your post with hashtag #MIGA might be taken as a light hearted parody of American dumbassness, but it really isn't.

For someone who doesn’t think politicians are part of the elite, throwing around insults like jackass and dumb ass is a little rich.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭ESMITH29

Right so, I'm off on a half day today then and there's not a thing can be done about it, as I'm the boss up in this bitch now.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭✭banie01

So, while I have presented tangible work done while in office by the prior two presidents, what has the incumbent done?

But you have presented nothing, tangible or otherwise?
    I pointed out that President's pertinent work was done whilst not in office?

What has a sitting President done that would be considered "of note"?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,562 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Out and about this morning. Bit of a buzz around.

I met a broad cross section, didn't meet anyone who had actually voted
    Looks like a two horse race.
    Those intending to vote MDH said things like "safe pair of hands" or won't let us down".
    Those intending to vote Casey exclusively quoted his traveler stance.
    The rest nowhere.

Worrying confusion about which is Yes and which is No on the blasphemy issue.

I'm known as having an interest in politics and not in any way attached to any party or candidate.

All above comes with the usual health warnings. Just one persons experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭enricoh

Just voted there, in a commuter area so probably be plenty later. I'd say 1 in 15-20 names had been a line going through them.
    What's a good turnout 40%?

• And even if it did cost €3k, no-one has any proof that Higgins had any role in choosing the hotel.

So I guess the Geneva convention decides? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

I must admit, and there may be others like me, but I am getting a bit of satisfaction (it might even be a bit perverse) that my vote today for Casey is going to drive some on here bonkers.
    I've noticed a number of posters on these threads that are almost exuding delirium due to the fact that those of us without a voice a government is now actually going to be able to get that voice heard.

There are Sinn Fein/ultra-liberals/leftists on here that believe Margaret Cash is a Joan-of-Arc type figure, that Erica Fleming should get triple-glazed windows, that Travellers are deserving of stables and a field with their free 300K-400K houses, that Ireland has a homeless problem worst than can be depicted by a Charles Dicken era workhouse, that there should be welfare for all who come to our country and do not want to work, and most of all they want those who work in Ireland to pay more taxes in order for the "entitled" to live as if they do work.

If Peter Casey gets more than 2% of the vote today, then I'll have a wry smile, as I know there will be heads exploding due a voice other than liberal/leftist being finally heard in this country. You never know, it might even start a political party that will address the concerns of Irish workers/contributors.

RTE and other Irish liberal media outlets will make up excuses for the Casey vote; they may even call us bigots and racists ................ BUT WE DON'T CARE.

Kivaro wrote: »
    If Peter Casey gets more than 2% of the vote today, then I'll have a wry smile, as I know there will be heads exploding

2%? I thought he had 2nd place in the bag and was challenging for the Áras?

I will be disappointed if he gets better than 12.5%, but only because he gets his money back. After that, I don't care what he gets as long as he loses.