Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

To Mask or not to two - Mask Megathread cont.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,440 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

This is why it is important to Mask up (not visor up!) in shops.
    Study done in US before mask usage rolled out shows that customer facing staff far more likely to have contracted Covid than backroom staff or the general population.

Retail workers serving customers are five times more likely to test positive for Covid-19 than their colleagues who do not interact with the public, according to a new study. The research indicated overall there were higher rates of the virus among retail workers than in the general population. The study, published by the BMJ, looked at 104 employees from one grocery store in Boston, Massachusetts. One in five of the workers tested positive for Covid-19 in May, a prevalence of 20 per cent compared to an infection rate of just over 1 per cent in the general community at the time.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/study-finds-retail-workers-serving-customers-have-fivefold-risk-of-covid-19-1.4394867

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

robinph wrote: »
    Well this seems to suggest that there is currently 11 million with a bit of a runny nose or the covid19 equivalent and having a "mild condition". Then add on the 32 million who have recovered and think we are easily past the 25 million number.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Doctors have stated that up to 80% have zero to little symptoms. So of the current 11m, 8.8 possibly don't even have a runny nose. Of the 32m recovered @ 80% 25.6m would have had little to no symptoms.

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-up-to-80-of-covid-19-patients-have-no-symptoms-health-secretary-says-12004987

https://time.com/5842669/coronavirus-asymptomatic-transmission/

https://theconversation.com/coronavirus-bmj-study-suggests-78-dont-show-symptoms-heres-what-that-could-mean-135732

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Doctors have stated that up to 80% have zero to little symptoms. So of the current 11m, 8.8 possibly don't even have a runny nose. Of the 32m recovered @ 80% 25.6m would have had little to no symptoms.

https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-up-to-80-of-covid-19-patients-have-no-symptoms-health-secretary-says-12004987

https://theconversation.com/coronavirus-bmj-study-suggests-78-dont-show-symptoms-heres-what-that-could-mean-135732

That is 11 million currently world wide who were bad enough to get tested recently, not a guesstimate of how many are without symptoms in the community. Those with your blocked nose symptom are already excluded from that number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

That is 11 million currently world wide who were bad enough to get tested recently, not a guesstimate of how many are without symptoms in the community. Those with your blocked nose symptom are already excluded from that number.

Ireland is testing healthy people. Why wouldn't other countries?

From one of the links i sent. You don't "test positive" without getting tested :rolleyes:

"Health Secretary Matt Hancock has said up to 80% of people who test positive for coronavirus in the UK don't have symptoms."

Leaving aside the absurdity of your comparison with the plague and runny noses...

Did you actually read the reports you linked?

Different studies have a range of figures. The BMJ even say:
    Moreover, these studies typically have happened only at single points in time; other studies that have included later follow-up have shown that a significant proportion of people without symptoms upon first positive test later go on to develop symptoms.
    https://blogs.bmj.com/bmj/2020/05/04/how-much-is-covid-19-spreading-via-asymptomatic-versus-symptomatic-infections/

You have leapt upon the highest figure from one study and used that as the basis for your entire figure, completely ignoring that in other studies it ranged from as low as 20%.

How do you account for the fact that on other cruise ships, only 20% of people were asymptomatic?

Also, the articles stress the these patients are a risk for asymptomatic transmission. Asymptomatic and pre-symptomatic transmission are one of the reasons this virus is so contagious and such a threat to the public health system. If it floored the people who got it, they wouldn't be out and about spreading it to those it does send to hospital or the morgue.

Another interesting point to note from that cruise is:
    The first recorded fever on board the ship was a febrile passenger on day 8. Isolation protocols were immediately commenced, with all passengers confined to cabins and surgical masks issued to all. Full personal protective equipment was used for any contact with any febrile patients, and N95 masks were worn for any contact with passengers in their cabins.

This speaks to the theory that masks weaken the virus, in the sense that it reduces the viral load so that people are more likely to have no or mild symptoms.

There is far too much complexity going on here to simply lob out a figure of 80% asymptomatic as a general figure for covid infections.
    Even if it is 80%, it does not mean what you think it means. The other 20% is where the hospitalisations and ICU and deaths will come from.
    If we let the absolute number of cases go up, as you seem to want, inevitably so will the serious cases.

This German study (copied from main thread) has 50% asymptomatic rate for children.
    Now as we know children are less likely to experience noticeable symptoms from this, so it seems improbable that 80% of all infections could be asymptomatic - unless there is something new going on with the virus in terms of mutation or in terms of how it is responding to distancing and masks.
    https://www.cell.com/med/fulltext/S2666-6340(20)30020-9

• Registered Users Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

You just have to throw the WHO figures into a calculator.

WHO thinks that the true number of infections is 20 times higher than the reported number and therefore 10% of the world's population have been in contact with the virus to date.

One would think that these large numbers of undetected cases are undetected because these people didn't come forward with serious or any symptoms.

It is a fair assumption to make that 80% is probably too low a figure.

You just have to throw the WHO figures into a calculator.
    WHO thinks that the true number of infections is 20 times higher than the reported number and therefore 10% of the world's population have been in contact with the virus to date.
    One would think that these large numbers of undetected cases are undetected because these people didn't come forward with serious or any symptoms.
    It is a fair assumption to make that 80% is probably too low a figure.

I am not convinced. At the height of our first wave you couldnt get tested even with symptoms unless in priority group.
    You are including them in figures above.

But regardless of the real percentage, in the context of this thread all the more reason to wear a mask.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

May as well have been going bare faced.

Sometimes it's a good idea to read the entire article.
    However, she pointed to international public health advice that “any face mask is better than no face mask”.

Have you actually read the full article?
    It doesn't say what you think it says.

Did the NSAI test the majority of masks on sale in Ireland and found that they did not meet the standard?
    Or are the NSAI merely saying that the majority of masks on sale have not declared that they meet the standard?
    Note also that majority of masks it is not clear if it refers to the quantity of masks in total for sale OR the majority of different types of masks that are available for sale.

Most of the masks I see are the standard blue surgical masks.
    Zero reason to suspect that these would not meet the standard even if it is not declared on the packet.
    A mask that does not meet the standard and would be uncomfortable to wear for long periods would still do its job in terms of barrier for short uses in a shop or bus.

We have had similar situation with hand sanitiser being recalled - the majority of recalls wasn't that they didn't do the job BUT that they hadn't been ceritified.
    Entirely understandable given the contect of the pandemic and the urgency to roll out sanitiser and masks.

Does that mean we shouldn't have been sanitising our hands?
    Nope.

So your claim "may as well as been going bare faced" is without foundation.
    But of course if you accept that masks to the standard would be helpful then you have accepted the basic premise of this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭tjdaly

Similar to the main proof that the moon landings were not faked is that the Russians never disputed them, the wearing of masks being due to some global secret plan to reset the world economy can also be shown to be nonsense because nobody other than a few crazy people on the internet are making the claim.

The Russians never disputed anything because it would have undermined their own position, ie. shown up that all their own 'space explorations' were a sham also. Narratives around the cold War and other historical conflicts are just the tip of the iceberg, and in many instances there is collusion beneath the surface. Often one faction will get dragged into a lie that benefits a competing faction, as to call them out on it would acutely jepordize their own position. Just look at Trump's backpeddling on Covid for an example.

Our perception of the natural world, its materiality, and our expectations around what is possible and impossible, are all of major concern to these powers. It is the principle means by which we are controlled.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

tjdaly wrote: »
    The Russians never disputed anything because it would have undermined their own position, ie. shown up that all their own 'space explorations' were a sham also.
    Now we're through the looking glass people. Or is that Sheeple... I'm all for scepticism but good Christ there comes a point when it butts right up into uninformed paranoid daftness and that point was just crossed above.

So the Soviets didn't get into space either eh? Given the moon landing hoax types point to the Van Allen belts as a major problem with Apollo(one Van Allen himself said weren't, but never mind...), but the Soviets never left near Earth orbit in manned flight, so no issue there. There are people in near earth orbit right now as we speak. Or are they hoaxes too? Then you had the fall of the USSR and all sorts of scientists and technicians from their space agencies desperate to get some cash, so were hawking their expertise and space hardware on the market yet not a single one of them even hinted at conspiracy. What did come out were Soviets screwups on flights that happened behind closed doors, but that was it.

Oh and contrary to popular space flight isn't actually that complicated(getting Concorde to work was arguably more difficult). The sums are hard but Newton would understand them, hell he wrote most of them. It just requires a crap ton of cash and heavy machinery and balls.

If anyone has a hard time understanding the vary basics of spaceflight and think the world is run by some secret cabal, colour me surprised they find masks hard to figure out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

Graham wrote: »
    Sometimes it's a good idea to read the entire article.

You would be asking too much from some people. They are barely able to read title of the article.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

Oh you love to find fault when it comes to masks!

Maybe just read the article before throwing in your standard response.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭323

From one of the links i sent. You don't "test positive" without getting tested :rolleyes:

Oddly enough I know two, one in April and one last month who got the phone call that they had "tested positive".. neither had actually been tested.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Any help with fogging glasses? Nothing seems to work.

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Sealing the gaps on the face either side of the nose solved it for me. The 'V' shaped bridge piece enables the mask/covering to fit snugly against the face. Lighter wire might be easier to manage though, however it worked out fine.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=113759955&postcount=3392

If you can get the bridge of the glasses resting on or just above the metal strip (inside the surgical masks) I find it creates a snugger fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

I use a cambridge mask. It creates a proper seal so you dont get any fogging.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭Tork

I've heard surgical tape works

• Registered Users Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭amandstu

What are the best commercially available masks from the point of view of :

(a) protecting the wearer and

(b) preventing those in the vicinity of the wearer?

Is goggle wearing in combination with much practiced or effective?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭McHardcore

https://www.thejournal.ie/gardacctv-luas-protest-footage-5252925-Nov2020/

LUAS PROVIDER TRANSDEV said it will hand over CCTV to gardaí following an incident on a tram this evening involving anti-mask protesters.After they boarded the tram without face coverings, they began berating members of the public who were complying with the rules. In videos shared online, some of the men involved insulted female passengers and were engaged in what appeared to be threatening behaviour.

The video was streamed on Facebook Live by organisers of a protest called “the Freedom Rally”.

In the livestream, protesters could be seen walking up and down a busy Luas, chanting songs about face masks and waving tricolours. In another incident, a woman approaches the protesters to tell them to behave and to wear masks. One protester asks for a hug to which the woman replies “I don’t want you to touch me” to which a protester asks “why”?
    Others passengers tell them to put on a facemask.
    Gardaí confirmed that they are investigating the incident and they are aware of the social media videos. A statement read: “An Garda Síochána will investigate this matter and the advices of the Director of Public Prosecutions will be sought in respect of any further actions to be taken.“Gardaí are aware of videos circulating on social media showing a number of individuals on public transport not complying with public health regulations.”

Some videos of the alleged incident here:
    https://mobile.twitter.com/soundmigration/status/1323308792193470464

Correction #1: The title should have read: "Gardaí launch investigation after anti-mask protesters filmed berating Luas passengers"

• Registered Users Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Jeez what a bunch of asses, totally taking the piss, well they're on video now.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,169 ✭✭✭prunudo

What a shower of idiots.
    Attention seeking idiots at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Allinall

Bet they didn’t even have tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 411 ✭✭brianhere

Another expert in this area is Dr. Margarite Griesz-Brisson MD, PhD a Consultant Neurologist and Neurophysiologist with a PhD in Pharmacology, with special interest in neurotoxicology, environmental medicine, neuroregeneration and neuroplasticity:

"The reinhalation of our exhaled air will without a doubt create oxygen deficiency and a flooding of carbon dioxide. We know that the human brain is very sensitive to oxygen deprivation. There are nerve cells for example in the hippocampus that can't be longer than 3 minutes without oxygen - they cannot survive.

The acute warning symptoms are headaches, drowsiness, dizziness, issues in concentration, slowing down of reaction time - reactions of the cognitive system.

However, when you have chronic oxygen deprivation, all of those symptoms disappear, because you get used to it. But your efficiency will remain impaired and the under-supply of oxygen in your brain continues to progress.

We know that neurodegenerative diseases take years to decades to develop. If today you forget your phone number, the breakdown in your brain would have already started 20 or 30 years ago.

While you're thinking that you have gotten used to wearing your mask and rebreathing your own exhaled air, the degenerative processes in your brain are getting amplified as your oxygen deprivation continues.

The second problem is that the nerve cells in your brain are unable to divide themselves normally. So in case our governments will generously allow as to get rid of the masks and go back to breathing oxygen freely again in a few months, the lost nerve cells will no longer be regenerated. What is gone is gone.

I do not wear a mask, I need my brain to think. I want to have a clear head when I deal with my patients, and not be in a carbon dioxide-induced anaesthesia.

There is no unfounded medical exemption from face masks because oxygen deprivation is dangerous for every single brain. It must be the free decision of every human being whether they want to wear a mask that is absolutely ineffective to protect themselves from a virus.

For children and adolescents, masks are an absolute no-no. Children and adolescents have an extremely active and adaptive immune system and they need a constant interaction with the microbiome of the Earth. Their brain is also incredibly active, as it is has so much to learn. The child's brain, or the youth's brain, is thirsting for oxygen. The more metabolically active the organ is, the more oxygen it requires. In children and adolescents every organ is metabolically active.

To deprive a child's or an adolescent's brain from oxygen, or to restrict it in any way, is not only dangerous to their health, it is absolutely criminal. Oxygen deficiency inhibits the development of the brain, and the damage that has taken place as a result CANNOT be reversed.

The child needs the brain to learn, and the brain needs oxygen to function. We don't need a clinical study for that. This is simple, indisputable physiology. Consciously and purposely induced oxygen deficiency is an absolutely deliberate health hazard, and an absolute medical contraindication.

An absolute medical contraindication in medicine means that this drug, this therapy, this method or measure should not be used, and is not allowed to be used. To coerce an entire population to use an absolute medical contraindication by force, there must be definite and serious reasons for this, and the reasons must be presented to competent interdisciplinary and independent bodies to be verified and authorised.

When, in ten years, dementia is going to increase exponentially, and the younger generations couldn't reach their god-given potential, it won't help to say "we didn't need the masks".

How can a veterinarian, a software distributor, a businessman, an electrical car manufacturer and a physicist decide on matters regarding the health of the entire population? Please, dear colleagues, we all have to wake up.

I know how damaging oxygen deprivation is for the brain, cardiologists know how damaging it is for the heart, pulmonologists know how damaging it is for the lungs. Oxygen deprivation damages every single organ.

Where are our health departments, our health insurance, our medical associations? It would have been their duty to be vehemently against the lockdown and to stop it and stop it from the very beginning.

Why do the medical boards issue punishments to doctors who give people exemptions? Does the person or the doctor seriously have to prove that oxygen deprivation harms people? What kind of medicine are our doctors and medical associations representing?

Who is responsible for this crime? The ones who want to enforce it? The ones who let it happen and play along, or the ones who don't prevent it?

It's not about masks, it's not about viruses, it's certainly not about your health. It is about much much more. I am not participating. I am not afraid.

You can notice, they are already taking our air to breathe. The imperative of the hour is personal responsibility. We are responsible for what we think, not the media. We are responsible for what we do, not our superiors. We are responsible for our health, not the World Health Organisation. And we are responsible for what happens in our country, not the government."
    ( https://www.sott.net/article/442455-German-Neurologist-Warns-Against-Wearing-Facemasks-Oxygen-Deprivation-Causes-Permanent-Neurological-Damage .)

http://www.orwellianireland.com

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,719 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Wasn't her theory already debunked by multiple credible sources?

Reuters Fact Check on Dr. Margarite Griesz-Brisson's claims

VERDICT
    False. There is no evidence that face masks cause oxygen deprivation that damages brains or limits development. It is also inaccurate to say face masks have no effect on limiting the spread of COVID-19. Research shows masks can be an effective way to prevent transmission when combined with social distancing and eye wear.