Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Travellers jailed for attacking Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Squeedily Spooch

Wonder how quick the Mods would be swinging the Ban Hammer if the word 'Traveller' was replaced with 'Asians', 'Jews' or 'Blacks' in any of the small selection of posts above.

Seems we're all comfortable being prejudiced against Travellers though.

Travellers aren't a race, they're a group of white europeans, same as the majority of Irish people, they just choose to live how they do. I'd have zero problems with travellers who settle, work and pay tax, but they're in a minority. Take a trip to any halting site in the country and see where your tax money is going then cry the racism (they're not a race) card.

Also the irony in playing the race/bigot card, for travellers, who are some of the most outright bigoted people you'd ever meet. Prejudiced against gays, any foreigners and settled people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,593 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

smash wrote: »
    Massive healthcare burden. Travellers have high rates of CF among other genetic defects.

And there it is... they should contribute, because it's how society works.

Maybe they shouldn't pitch up and they should buy their land and earn their keep like the majority of society.
    healthcare is never a burdin.
    they do earn their keep like the majority of society. i'd be worried about the wellfare scroungers in the settled community first.
    they do buy their land where possible but if they are traveling travelers its impossible to buy land.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

they do earn their keep like the majority of society. i'd be worried about the wellfare scroungers in the settled community first.
    they do buy their land where possible but if they are traveling travelers its impossible to buy land.

If laying tarmac and selling carpets bought me a new car every year paid for with a wad of cash we'd all do it.

maybe if travellers as a whole stopped being a blight on society

they aren't a blight on society. society makes to much of an issue out of every bad thing done by a foreigner or a member of a minority group rather then treating it as the same issue as when a member of the so called "normal society" does it.
    started paying taxes, declaring where their money is made

ah come on. plenty in the settled community try riggel out of tax and declaring their money. we'd probably all try it if we got away with it. if revenue can't be bothered to chase up travelers not paying tax and declaring money thats revenues problem
    stopped wrecking the sites given to them for nothing because of their "culture" that people wouldn't have a negative image of them.

of course they would. if your not one of "them" the bigots don't want you around

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

VinLieger wrote: »
    That is such a bull**** he without sin argument, EXACTLY the same could be said for the travellers yet people like you will refuse to believe they can be racist cus they are in the minority.......
    i don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Healthcare is one of the governments biggest expenditures. Anyway, 84% of travellers are unemployed. How exactly do they earn their keep?

lots and lots of work

ah come on. plenty in the settled community try riggel out of tax and declaring their money. we'd probably all try it if we got away with it. if revenue can't be bothered to chase up travelers not paying tax and declaring money thats revenues problem

Sorry but "sure other people do it!" is a piss poor argument. It's not the revenue can't be bothered, it's that it's just a massive waste of resources, have dealt with travellers plenty and the amount of manpower that goes into dealing with them and the massive levels of fraud in their "culture" is just ridiculous. Can't be easy trying to find a few people with the exact same name as dozens of their relatives. Plus there's the intimidation aspect, same reason guards tend to avoid going after travellers for minor stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

Not read the 17 pages but has anyone mentioned this legend yet?:cool:
    http://cdn2.herald.ie/migration_catalog/article25342042.ece/81749/ALTERNATES/h342/2306_nally_h

lots and lots of work

Such as?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Radly

To use the much loved phrase of the "PC Brigade", the mask is slipping. I've been reading a lot here, and it's really slipping, the regularity with which several members defend to the hilt and shut down any discussion to do with certain minorities is unbelievable. It's almost like reading a group of politicians who are blindly toeing the party line. What with religiously thanking each others posts, and never thanking well made points from users more to the middle either I might add, just repeating the 'that's racist' mantra. It's getting old tbh and it does nothing for allowing society to progress in a way that is best for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

lots and lots of work

What part of 84% are unemployed do you not understand?

Such as?
    why don't you ask them

Radly wrote: »
    To use the much loved phrase of the "PC Brigade", the mask is slipping. I've been reading a lot here, and it's really slipping, the regularity with which several members defend to the hilt and shut down any discussion to do with certain minorities is unbelievable. It's almost like reading a group of politicians who are blindly toeing the party line. What with religiously thanking each others posts, and never thanking well made points from users more to the middle either I might add, just repeating the 'that's racist' mantra. It's getting old tbh and it does nothing for allowing society to progress in a way that is best for everyone.
    there is no much loved phrase of the "PC Brigade", as the pc brigade doesn't exist, only in the minds of those who have bigoted or racist opinions or both who can't except the days of saying what they like unchallenged by those of an opposite opinion are gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭DeadHand

why don't you ask them

They're asking you...

... 'Cos you told them this...
    lots and lots of work

You're making a clown of yourself, I'm afraid.

why don't you ask them

You're the one championing travellers not me, or are you scared to walk into a halting site and ask where they get their money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

lots and lots of work

Doing nixers under the radar isn't contributing to society.

there is no much loved phrase of the "PC Brigade", as the pc brigade doesn't exist, only in the minds of those who have bigoted or racist opinions or both who can't except the days of saying what they like unchallenged by those of an opposite opinion are gone

G'wan out of that. It doesn't exist. Of course it does. I'd count you in it for one, Nodin, The Parrot Joey off the top of my head. A politically correct crowd. The brigade bit suits as it paints a picture of something rolling in. Like the usual suspects do every time a thread like this comes up. I just wish you guys would step back for once and consider the possibility that the constant shutting down of discussions like this may damage society in the long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Heres some statistics then. 80% are unemployed, 21.8% have completed lower secondary level, 0.1% of the population make up 5% of the prison population, 37% of women seeking refuge from domestic violence were travellers. Cant find an exact number but they also have a high rate of disability.

Im sure you'll find anyone else to blame for it though.

Funny how everyone calling people racist and bigot ignore statistics.

You're the one championing travellers not me, or are you scared to walk into a halting site and ask where they get their money?
    no . but its none of my business

EazyD wrote: »
    Doing nixers under the radar isn't contributing to society.
    its contributing to their families, thats more important then society

So the dozens of posts on here from ordinary people detailing negative experiences with Travellers... Those posters are all lying bigots and you're right?

The dozens of newspaper articles in various publications each week detailing the obvious and rampant criminality in the Travelling community... Those are lying, bigoted publications and you're right?

The statistics that have been produced here time and again to show there are serious problems within the Travelling community and how they behave as regards work and taxation... Those are all produced by bigoted statisticians and you're right?

If the main reason people complain about the appalling behavior of a large section of the Travelling community is bigotry and racism (Travellers are not a seperate race) why don't we hear even a fraction as many complaints about the Chinese, Polish, Nigerian, English communities?

Isn't it possible that most of the undeniable problems existing within the Travelling community is caused by the community itself and that they themselves have done most to earn their abysmal reputation?

Radly wrote: »
    G'wan out of that. It doesn't exist. Of course it does. I'd count you in it for one, Nodin, The Parrot Joey off the top of my head. A politically correct crowd. The brigade bit suits as it paints a picture of something rolling in. Like the usual suspects do every time a thread like this comes up. I just wish you guys would step back for once and consider the possibility that the constant shutting down of discussions like this may damage society in the long run.
    nothing is being shut down

Funny how everyone calling people racist and bigot ignore statistics.
    well, they can be twisted to suit ones agenda whatever that may be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

What part of 84% are unemployed do you not understand?

ah here now, there's nobody saying that they're sitting around doing nothing, they're just busy with things they don't want revenue to know about.

And sure, if they can collect a bit of free money as well....why wouldn't you, it's not like they're likely to face any consequences like a regular 'civilian' would now is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

And how would one twist statistics like the ones I found? Groups like the CSO are up to something?

Where the women asking for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

really? tell me then quite how the numbers of 80% unemployed, 49% of admissions to womens refuges, 40% of marriages between first cousins, can be twisted to suit your agenda?

Go on, explain to the great unwashed how these numbers are misunderstood and they're an example of quite how fine and upstanding citizens they really are?

If we all thought like that, where would the massive amounts of tax money needed to prop up the Travelling community come from?

Scratch that, where would money for schools, roads, policing, hospitals, trains, nurses, etc... Come from?

You're obviously at least semi-literate... Do you not understand how nonsensical that statement is?

nothing is being shut down

Discussions are always shut down here. Go check out a thread similar to this which has been closed and then see who thanks the mod closing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

That's your response........really?
    Sure why don't we all adopt the same approach and see how that works out.