Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Discussion Thread Mod Warning Post # 5885 #4894 & #5202

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Connorzee wrote: »
    Moving to KK from Cork in 2 weeks, what are the club(s) in the city?

I've circled where the clubs are on the map.
    James Stephens are also known as The Village.

52ej.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

You lucky devil!

(Go to the Boro)

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Hamstrings59

Kilkenny Town my friend, Kilkenny isn't a city!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭Grats

randd1 wrote: »
    Yeah, great result, hopefully the new lads will keep up the good work and put pressure on the regulars for starting places, which should maintain high standards.

I felt one of the problems with last year was that having so many injuries lads maybe weren't pushed as hard as they could have been, which might explain why there was a lethargy in some games. Lads would hurl better in my view if they knew they really earned their place on the team in place of 5/6 challengers in training and the confidence that would give them, and if there was 5/6 lads there to take their place if they dropped their standard. We never really had that level of competition for places last year.

I agree with you regarding the level of competition. The injuries last year derailed everything. Cody knows he has to build up the panel this year. Great if we don't have the same number of injuries but the new lads will have been blooded and ready to challenge the regulars.

Interesting to see Michael Walsh getting so much game time at full back. Very little is known about him but he's doing fine up to now. Two other Kilkenny players line out at full back for their Fitzgibbon Cup teams and to my knowledge haven't been considered - Pauric Gahan for WIT and David Glynn for UCC. In fact Glynn was picked at full back for the Fitzgibbon Team of the year 2013. It was reported in a daily newspaper that Gahan dealt very capably with none other than Cork County star Conor Lehane. We do need cover for JJ and Brian Hogan.

what club in Gahan?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Kilkenny Town my friend, Kilkenny isn't a city!

nicest and cleanest city in Ireland...........actually! ;)

what club in Gahan?

Mullinavat I think.

Hitchens wrote: »

lol...it was the tidy TOWNS...sure tis all ye won last year!!!:D:D:D

You're a howl!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

Hitchens wrote: »

Nicest cleanest friendliest City actually......... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

What did Waterford win last year? It certainly wasn't the tidy towns, being a filthy dirty kip and everything... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,533 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Was sure Kilkenny won the league last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭randd1

We won the league.

Which is more than can be said for most :D. Throw in the tidy towns and only Dublin have won more national titles than us last year!!

What do Kilkenny followers think of Michael Walsh at full back?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Grats wrote: »

he looks promising so far, the League campaign will tell us more (about other new men as well)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭deadybai

yeah definitely looking forward more of him in the league. Hes looked very good so far. What date is the Clare game again? Hopefully he'll get a start for that game.

deadybai wrote: »
    yeah definitely looking forward more of him in the league. Hes looked very good so far. What date is the Clare game again? Hopefully he'll get a start for that game.

16th - Sunday week.

I've seen him in four games now and find it difficult to assess him. I suppose if you don't notice your full back he must be doing his job! Also we've conceded just two goals since he slotted in there - one of which was from a twenty one yard free and the other was a dodgy goal against DIT when Herity was clearly fouled. As was said, we'll know more in the league. Similarly with Brian Kennedy, Padraig Walsh, Mark Kelly,, JJ Farrell, Joey Holden, Joe Brennan etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

Mullinavat I think.

Thats correct Gahan is Mullinavat

What did Waterford win last year? It certainly wasn't the tidy towns, being a filthy dirty kip and everything... :)

Minor all ireland champs ;);) and if it is such a filthy kip, maybe your fellow kilkenny brethern can stay out of it for a change!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Minor all ireland champs ;);) and if it is such a filthy kip, maybe your fellow kilkenny brethern can stay out of it for a change!!

Maybe you could stick to talking about GAA on this thread?

any reports on the Kilkenny players playing today for their colleges?

Only heard that Padraig Walsh scored 4 points for UL. He's UL captain.

6 KK players named in the Leinster squad for the Inter-pro semi-finals this weekend: Paul Murphy, Tommy Walsh, Eoin Larkin, Colin Fennelly, Eoin Murphy, and Aidan Fogarty.

pity the interpros arent utilised better, could be a great competition if all players were available and it played at the right time of year.

where and when are the inter-pro games being played ?

pity the interpros arent utilised better, could be a great competition if all players were available and it played at the right time of year.

Doesn't seem to work no matter what they do with it. They should play it off over a weekend and open up the gates to the public. Also send out passes to all the schools in the area.

Regarding the Kilkenny contingent, seems like Tommy, Larkin and Colin Fen can't get enough of the action. Fen is on a roll at present so hopefully it continues throughout the year.

where and when are the inter-pro games being played ?

Leinster vs Ulster, Trim, 2pm on Sunday.
    Connacht vs Munster, Ballinasloe, 2pm on Sunday.

Regarding the Kilkenny contingent, seems like Tommy, Larkin and Colin Fen can't get enough of the action. Fen is on a roll at present so hopefully it continues throughout the year.

Tommy can never get enough. He always seems to play the Inter-pros and the hurling-shinty matches. Fair play to him.

Read somewhere that Tommy played in Inter Firms Final also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 pa Dillon

Is it the first time in the history of the gaa championship that a team were beaten twice still won the all Ireland minor hurling championship 2013.