Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Preview Thread -RaboDirect Pro12 Final - RDS, 25th May, 1645 - live on RTE2/TG4/BBCNI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

bilston wrote: »
    Weather set fair as well, that will suit both sides and should make for a cracking contest.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2964574?day=2

The atmosphere should be brillant. Leinster fans can correct me but I imagine the RDS will have seen nothing like it before given the 50/50 mix of fans.

Can't remember the last game that was so 50/50 at the RDS. I love the fact they've split the allocation between north and south, and ofcourse the nordies get the north and the D4 brigade get the south. Hilarious. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

.ak wrote: »
    Can't remember the last game that was so 50/50 at the RDS. I love the fact they've split the allocation between north and south, and ofcourse the nordies get the north and the D4 brigade get the south. Hilarious. :P

Is that correct? So if I'm in the north stand, I'm going to surrounded by Ulster fans? Riiiight, guess I'll have to tone it down a bit this week so.

I suppose that was probably the easiest way to distribute tickets but one of the best things about going to matches is everyone mingling in together.

Is that correct? So if I'm in the north stand, I'm going to surrounded by Ulster fans? Riiiight, guess I'll have to tone it down a bit this week so.

I suppose that was probably the easiest way to distribute tickets but one of the best things about going to matches is everyone mingling in together.

There'll be no toning it down. Just grab yourself one of these.

8394sombrero.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,847 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Leinster to lay their Rabo final hoodoo to rest?

I'm sure you'll be grand. I was with a group of six Ulster fans at the HEC final last year surrounded by Leinster fans and the craic was brillant. Of course the fact that we were getting hammered (and I'm not just talking about Ulster on the pitch:D) probably helped.

I'll bring an extra hip-flask to smooth inter-provincial relations so.

First time being in the north/south stand and being out of my grandstand comfort zone. Not looking forward to going to the jacks and some lad nicking my seat :(

• Administrators Posts: 54,256 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Toning it down or not, they'll still be able to smell that southern musk off of you. You'll stick out like a sore thumb. :P

awec wrote: »
    Toning it down or not, they'll still be able to smell that southern musk off of you. You'll stick out like a sore thumb. :P

That's called deodorant. DEO - DOR - ANT. :cool:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,185 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'll bring an extra hip-flask to smooth inter-provincial relations so.

First time being in the north/south stand and being out of my grandstand comfort zone. Not looking forward to going to the jacks and some lad nicking my seat :(

If they have the extra seats in like last weeks amlin there will be no big screen for you to see replays in the south stand, so bring a radio to hear what's happening. I found it hard last week as it got dusky to know what was going on (no smart sure that's normal for you :)). I've a proper seat this week, ah its the little things :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Class....and so it begins.

Are there many going with the sombrero look? I know a couple of lads who always do for the Ulster games. Was wondering how widespread it would be....

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭chris_d

As an Ulster fan I'm hopeful but not confident. It's a home game for Leinster and they've shown that they have the bottle for big games.

Im happier than i would have been if Ulster had of lost the game in March, but Sexton being back is a huge lift for them.

Really hope Ulster step up and put in a big performance. Fingers crossed for a great game.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Class....and so it begins.

Are there many going with the sombrero look? I know a couple of lads who always do for the Ulster games. Was wondering how widespread it would be....

Not very. Not sure if everyone even gets the joke. I'd love it if that guy who made a poncho out of his STH scarfs wore one tho!

If yous know what it is why the lack of wearing it? :P

What's with this sombrero thing? Explain the joke!

Cuz we're south of the border gringos! Started on the Ulster boards I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'm afraid you are going to have to explain it to us as a proud Ulsterman.

UAFC call Leinster the mexicans and usa a smiley of a man in a sombrero rather than saying Leinster fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

darraghm.jpg

If yous know what it is why the lack of wearing it? :P

Leinster are Mexicans and Ulster are Gringos.

Ah, the Mexicans. That makes sense.

that's a general term for southerners :P

Ah, the Mexicans. That makes sense.

that's a general term for southerners :P

I think this makes Munster Colombia or perhaps Guatemala is a more realistic comparison.

Connacht must be the Galapagos.

I think this makes Munster Colombia or perhaps Guatemala is a more realistic comparison.

Connacht must be the Galapagos.

Dunno, people from Cork are still called mexicans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I think Leinster will win by 10pts +.

For Ulster though for 2 reasons:
    They topped the league.
    Need the silverware more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Is it going to be split Ulster in the Nth Stand and Leinster in the Sth?

Loved that at the Twickers game last year, but would almost prefer it to be split.

Is it going to be split Ulster in the Nth Stand and Leinster in the Sth?

Loved that at the Twickers game last year, but would almost prefer it to be split.

Yep the allocation split, literally across the middle of the stadium, all the seats north of the halfway line are Ulster's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It would be amazing to see 9,000 sombrero's south of the halfway line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Yep the allocation split, literally across the middle of the stadium, all the seats north of the halfway line are Ulster's.

Feck that should be interesting!

Wonder would that impact on a team's coin toss decision, weather pending obviously.

Presume both teams would prefer to play into their own fans in the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,805 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Can't bloody wait for this. Trying to source a sombrero now :D

Leinster fans come 7pm on Saturday:

not-so-happy-sombrero.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

Ah, that's not fair. I think we still enjoy a win. Repeated success hasn't made us so cocky as to be unexcited by victory

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Ah the great jaundice epidemic of 2013.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

This would be hilarious, it should actually be done. None of the commentators will know what the hell is going on.

"Weird hat? What? Dont know what you're talking about."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Anyone know where I could get a few sombreros?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 escape m1

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/591005270/high_quality_sombrero_straw_hat.html

If only we had a bit more time. This would have been an amazing supporters initiative!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

The only time I ever give it socks is when I'm surrounded by the opposition. I really get a kick out of being the token away supporter. I almost lost my voice a few weeks back surrounded by red down in Thomand.

escape m1 wrote: »
    http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/591005270/high_quality_sombrero_straw_hat.html

If only we had a bit more time. This would have been an amazing supporters initiative!

A dollar a piece? Amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Grimebox wrote: »
    The only time I ever give it socks is when I'm surrounded by the opposition. I really get a kick out of being the token away supporter. I almost lost my voice a few weeks back surrounded by red down in Thomand.

The last time I did that at an away game (we won't mention the venue), they waited for me to go and get a pint, and then threatened my girlfriend.

I was not happy, and it was the women who threatened her.

But, we won the game, at which point I was politely told to feck of back to where I had come from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

P.C. wrote: »
    The last time I did that at an away game (we won't mention the venue), they waited for me to go and get a pint, and then threatened my girlfriend.

I was not happy, and it was the women who threatened her.

But, we won the game, at which point I was politely told to feck of back to where I had come from.

I had a very different experience it seems. They took the piss out of my south dublin accent, I called them filthy bog-monsters, we made a bet on next try scorer (Zebo v Isa) and we all shook hands at the end. Munster fans are very accommodating in my limited experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Dunno if many of you missed out on tickets, but I picked up mine today and I was just checking where they were. I noticed two pairs of seats still available in the anglesea stand block D. Now I texted my mates, and they're gone. But I'd say it's worth a check every few hours.

For example.

There are two available RIGHT NOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Sean O'Brien 'not ruled out' for Saturday by Gibbs on RTE news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

vienne86 wrote: »
    Sean O'Brien 'not ruled out' for Saturday by Gibbs on RTE news.

He's just trying to recover the situation after Gatland opened his mouth, again.
    On an unrelated note, I'm pleased with Lacey's appointment as ref, especially as it means G. Clancy is confined to the touchline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Leinster are taking the home dressing room. Interesting.

Anyway, Ulster are flagging the shit out of their fans for tomorrow, so any Leinster fans attending need to bring every bit of blue kit they can possibly get their hands on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

This business with SOB is a mess.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Leinster are taking the home dressing room. Interesting.

Anyway, Ulster are flagging the shit out of their fans for tomorrow, so any Leinster fans attending need to bring every bit of blue kit they can possibly get their hands on.

That's interesting. Is it done based on a coin toss?

Also apparently Ulster are trying to get Ulster fans to join in the biggest Guard of Honor ever by paving the route from the Shelbourne to the RDS with Ulster fans with flags for when the team bus makes its way to the grounds. Ambitious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

That's interesting. Is it done based on a coin toss?

Also apparently Ulster are trying to get Ulster fans to join in the biggest Guard of Honor ever by paving the route from the Shelbourne to the RDS with Ulster fans with flags for when the team bus makes its way to the grounds. Ambitious...
    That's very far!!

Why the hell have Leinster got the home dressing room?

I'd have took the home dressing room and declared the away dressing room out of order, and made yous change in a portacabin in the field out the back of the anglesea. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Why the hell have Leinster got the home dressing room?
    Maybe ulster didn't want to be in a dressing room full of pictures of Leinster's greatest achievements?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Swiwi

Off to this game, first time I see Ulster play live, that'll tick the box for the 4 provinces. Am hoping for a cracking atmosphere...and dry weather! Love the RDS compared to the Aviva, I must say.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 escape m1

Ulster as the home team apparently had the choice of dressing rooms and were perfectly in their rights to move Leinster to the away one, which i can only imagine isn't as nice.

My only guess is that they have had some good times in that away dressing room recently and want to keep it.

escape m1 wrote: »
    Ulster as the home team apparently had the choice of dressing rooms and were perfectly in their rights to move Leinster to the away one, which i can only imagine isn't as nice.

My only guess is that they have had some good times in that away dressing room recently and want to keep it.

Or that Leinster have had bad times in the home dressing room, particular in finals! :P

Swiwi wrote: »
    Off to this game, first time I see Ulster play live, that'll tick the box for the 4 provinces. Am hoping for a cracking atmosphere...and dry weather! Love the RDS compared to the Aviva, I must say.

I hope you'll be wearing white and red Swiwi, flying your flag and joining in with the "GIMME A U".

So annoying that this is on a bank holiday (UK). Meant that it was cheaper for me to fly home and attend both finals last weekend than it was to get flights and tickets for this one!

Will be nervously watching on BBC NI cursing those biased commentators!

(probably the least biased ones about, but when it's "them" vs "us" it's a different bag of tricks)

Will be nervously watching on BBC NI cursing those biased commentators!

You could always try listening to RTE commentary on 2FM via the web and mute the tv, might be tricky to get it sync'ed properly though...