Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• I think the worst for me are the painfully banal ones.
    Worst sleep in a while [daughter] awake cos she couldn't get comfy then me awake from 4 with an annoying cough. Early night for me tonight x

This friend posts something like this about 5 times a day. If you had absolutely no life, why would you post about it on Facebook? Why does she think anyone needs to know this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

batistuta9 wrote: »
    If their last game was mentioned on TV, what exactly do you think's the logic of it??? It'll get people talking about it & they'll find out...

Not that cryptic or difficult really

But... instead of mindlessly posting a colour or fruit or whatever as a status in a bid to "confuse men", why not post something along the lines of:
    This is Breast Cancer awareness month.

Breast cancer affects [STATS] of {AGE GROUP].

Everyone should check their breasts regularly, and get any abnormalities checked out.

[CONTACT NUMBERS OF BREAST CANCER GROUPS]

It just seems stupid to go down this game route...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Tetra

"So. Youll add me on facebook, like my status like my pictures, then il do the same one of us will finally mail the other, we will get on great swap numbers text for days stay up all night texting get closer and closer each day, smile when we recieve a text from each other, finally we'll meet , go to each others houses watch dvds spoon kiss ect do this for a few weeks finally we like each other do we start to go out change our relationship status on facebook, start by posting hearts on each others walls, then one of use say i love you, get i love you too said back, everythings perfect for about 5 months, one of us go out one night without each other rumours will start than there was cheating let it pass, so back to being perfect back to being together 'forver' cracks show, day by day the relationship looses grip, it finally ends we both go out try make each other jealous, then we start to hate each other for no apparent reason, block each other of facebook, aim status at each other snoop from our friends facebook to see what we are both doing, we'll get jealous when we both find someone new.. that forever lasted 7 months.

usualy what happens right? and its all surronded around facebook.. moral of the story..... RELATIONSHIPS AND FACEBOOK DONT GO TOGETHER"!!!!!

Person A: What is going on xx
    Person B: lol nothin... its just true.... xx
    Person A: ok xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Tetra

Um mister I don't put my business on Facebook can you please stop posting s*** acting like your daddy of the year when you ain't been to 1 doctor's appointment for your kids until now now you're pissing me off because you're not daddy of the year and I'm not giving you a f****** cookies cuz you ain't did s*** but feed my kids dinner and buy some m************ Family Dollar diapers shut the f*** up with that b******* yeah you are good dad because you're there for them but don't make it seem like I'm a bad mom and that you do everything because you don't and you have not you ain't even been to 1 of our 1 year olds m************ doctor's appointment not 1 so shut the f*** up with that talkin that **** life is hard but you do it shut up with that s*** I'm 30 years old in been on my own since I was m************ 16th so you get it together I don't give a s*** who likes my status is yeah I'm pissed off right now so if you don't like it keeps going down if you don't feed f*** or finance me mind your business. s*** don't even know s*** about my kids medical history unless I tell u mother f***** tell Tyler. Is over one u was just. Waiting was just looking for a reason to get my kids because you didn't want to pay child support and you want your cake and eat it too don't nobody want your mother f****** fat ass is all about my kids and I don't give a f*** what nobody thinks stop puting my kids business on Facebook b**** and you know who the f*** you are if you feel some sort of way about my status then I guess that's your problem when it comes to my kids I'll speak my mind cuz them kids been and them kids came up out of me and I take care of them kids and took care of them kids since they been born and there's more to parenting the giving your kids a bath and feeding them dinner just m************ sayen!!!!!!!!!!.yeah life is hard but what don't kill your ass just makes you stronger keeping my head up don't worry cause my mother was the best mom ever just like I am to mine and I will do what I got to. Trust this BITCH IS ALL ABOUT HER KIDS ALWAYS HAVE BEEN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

^^

Jesus! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Musefan

Girl One: Actually Glad Now ii Didnt Waste 60euro Ona Ticket Too Go Too Chris Brown Tonite On Dublin, Seemly He Only Played For An HOUR & 5mins..And Said Too The Crowd "Dublin Your My Favourite City in The UK"..WDF? Some Prick...-.-

Girl Two's Reply: I*
    on a*
    to*
    to*
    tonight*
    in*
    seemingly*
    minutes*
    to*
    you're*
    what the *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

http://i.imgur.com/0V200.jpg

Posted yesterday by the main contributor of simply idiotic posts on my timeline. Post itself was grand, I commented with my sharp wit (referring to Good Friday, the feast day, haha - simple enough to grasp, yeah?)

She posts the second comment. I'm like what? Thing is, there isn't even a Friday the 13th in March, so I haven't a clue what she's on about. Don't want to hide her - some of the stuff is comedy gold. Gives me faith in myself that at least I'm not her...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

"it's not technically Friday the 13th.."

Dafuq??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    http://i.imgur.com/0V200.jpg

Posted yesterday by the main contributor of simply idiotic posts on my timeline. Post itself was grand, I commented with my sharp wit (referring to Good Friday, the feast day, haha - simple enough to grasp, yeah?)

She posts the second comment. I'm like what? Thing is, there isn't even a Friday the 13th in March, so I haven't a clue what she's on about. Don't want to hide her - some of the stuff is comedy gold. Gives me faith in myself that at least I'm not her...

Tbh I'd sooner get the Friday 13th reference when she said she's having a bad day as it's typically understood to be an unlucky calendar date.

Your "Good Friday" reference to the fact that it falls on March 29th this year would be the more obscure reference in this case, especially as we're only in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Oh I meant to post this the other day.

Friend of mine has a Facebook account for her 2 year old, his status the other day 'just did a big poo in me nappy, hate to be me ma changing me'

Christ, I need new Facebook friends
    Time to look for New friends, I'd be thinking to myself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

A girl on my tb posted a photo of herself (in the typical fb pose of a 20 something girl) standing beside the The Famine Memorial statues on the Quays with the comment, "me and my anorexic friend".

No doubt she was deleted.

• Czarcasm wrote: »
    Tbh I'd sooner get the Friday 13th reference when she said she's having a bad day as it's typically understood to be an unlucky calendar date.

Your "Good Friday" reference to the fact that it falls on March 29th this year would be the more obscure reference in this case, especially as we're only in January.

Yeah, I agree. And it's just not very funny. I'm with the friend on this one. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

py2006 wrote: »
    A girl on my tb posted a photo of herself (in the typical fb pose of a 20 something girl) standing beside the The Famine Memorial statues on the Quays with the comment, "me and my anorexic friend".

In fairness, that's gas :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Czarcasm wrote: »

I'd accept that if her comment didn't appear to be in reply to my one; as a lone comment/in the original post, I can see it may have made sense, just not the way it's done here!

Fair enough about getting the less obscure one, though.
    Yeah, I agree. And it's just not very funny. I'm with the friend on this one. :D

Humour is a subjective thing anyway :)

• In fairness, that's gas :L

Yeah - I know a lot of people who would appreciate that kind of dark humour. I wouldn't post something like that on FB but it's better than 'just watched coronation st, goin to bed now xxxx'

Me lil man is 8months old today... Happy birthday baby, love u x x

Kill Yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Was she hot!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Was she hot!?

Not bad. One of those girls who has 100's of pics of herself with the exact same pose in every photo. Very false and annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Not bad. One of those girls who has 100's of pics of herself with the exact same pose in every photo. Very false and annoying.

:D I like it!

As long as a girls hot I couldn't block them... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I think the worst for me are the painfully banal ones.

Read this wrong at first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

In fairness, that's gas :L

That was the holocaust, not the famine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Sitec wrote: »
    "nt bn racist or anythin lads but,de polish us racism as an excuse ta get wot day want"

This woman works as a secretary for an accountant.
    Might not be smart in the head but still can do the maths. I've come across people like that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Might not be smart in the head but still can do the maths. I've come across people like that before.
    Are many of them secretaries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,696 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Ficheall wrote: »
    Are many of them secretaries?

Or even understand what a vowel is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭batistuta9

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    But... instead of mindlessly posting a colour or fruit or whatever as a status in a bid to "confuse men", why not post something along the lines of:

This is Breast Cancer awareness month.

Breast cancer affects [STATS] of {AGE GROUP].

Everyone should check their breasts regularly, and get any abnormalities checked out.

[CONTACT NUMBERS OF BREAST CANCER GROUPS]

It just seems stupid to go down this game route...

I don't mean to sound harsh or ignorant given the subject it's on but...

for a lot of people it'd just come up as another post & they'd gloss over it, both females and males.

using the game (not my or your word) it involves people more, females who'll interpret it as a kind of quasi-feminist/sister/girlies thing - so they'll post about it. Males they'll be asking the girls they know - 'whats these colours about?'

so the game aspect of it actually increases the awareness for the whole thing across both genders and got TV coverage the last time as result of it

breast cancer awareness week probably would've gotten TV coverage anyway but that's not the important part as the news coverage would've been glossed over in the same way your e.g. of a post would've been, what is important is the popularity it gained through the game on social media reaching far far more people than normally would've been aware to it - thus making that fact news worthy

I didn't mean to boil it down into some kind of marketing or whatever you want to view it as but in reality it's like John Hartson (ex footballer) being diagnosed with testicular cancer, he probably had a greater effect on male awareness of that issue than all the print adds, TV coverage, suffers/survivors on the late late/saturday night show ever had or ever will have - only exceptions to this is being directly effected by it (self, immediate family, close friend)

whether or not it's stupid, seems incomprehendable that this is more effective than the normal ways or someone loses faith in humanity (again) it is what it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

That's a nice rosey interpretation of it.

But we all know the reality of it's a silly childish game invented by people who wish Bebo was still around.

Just as well these things really work. Remember when everyone changed their profile pictures to their favourite cartoon character?

Totally eradicated child abuse! HUZZZZAAAAAHHHH!!!!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    That's a nice rosey interpretation of it.

But we all know the reality of it's a silly childish game invented by people who wish Bebo was still around.

Just as well these things really work. Remember when everyone changed their profile pictures to their favourite cartoon character?

Totally eradicated child abuse! HUZZZZAAAAAHHHH!!!!

it's not rosey as you put it, simple fact is, it reached more people than a boring post/statement ever would

as for the child abuse, well that would've been up to the child abusers to stop. I'm not sure but i think cancerous cells can't read, so they'll not stop because of it - i'll google it though

but if it i gets people talking talking about it/aware of it that's what matters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Surely everyone in the world knows about breast cancer by now. Research is what it needs, not awareness!

awareness in the sense to maybe have a check up, not that it actually exists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

batistuta9 wrote: »
    it's not rosey as you put it, simple fact is, it reached more people than a boring post/statement ever would

Your logic is flawed. Like the people who say particular websites should be shut down to stop cyber bullying.

"Well, less people would be getting bullied that way"

and/or

"At least doing something is better than doing nothing"

Or the types who say "Any publicity is good publicity"

Tell that to Gary Glitter.
    as for the child abuse, well that would've been up to the child abusers to stop. I'm not sure but i think cancerous cells can't read, so they'll not stop because of it - i'll google it though

Wait, is this true? Then why did people want Facebookers to change their profile pictures? Surely it did SOMETHING though no?
    but if it i gets people talking talking about it/aware of it that's what matters

More than research? I don't think so! There are FAR more effective ways of battling Breast Cancer than playing a silly childish Facebook game which the point of is to actually NOT talk about that or any subject!