Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobbery towards tracksuit wearers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

later10 wrote: »
    I love the genius of high street brands.

"Here, walk around advertising our company name, and pay us €50 for the luxury"

Isn't it funny how a pair of Canterburys and a Hollister hoodie means something totally different to McKenzie tracksuit... all of equally rubbish quality.

Just the idle musings of a passing stranger...

As you were.

well mckenzie is actually expensive enough i think but yeah its weird how it is, but hollister stuff does look slicker than mckenzie. this coming from someone who still wears mckenzie stuff the odd time to college.

but like i say, a good looking guy could pull of a full adidas tracksuit and not look like a slob, a ugly guy could wear the same clothes and look slobby. its how you wear the clothes

heres JB wearin adidas trackie, hardly a slob

http://www.google.ie/imgres?q=justin+bieber+adidas+tracksuit&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&biw=1024&bih=499&tbm=isch&tbnid=roaGvxxVqiqfRM:&imgrefurl=http://surfme.wordpress.com/2011/05/05/justin-bieber-farewell-melbourne-photos-under/&docid=g-b16UT9B7Y0RM&imgurl=http://surfme.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/justin-bieber-050511-6.jpg&w=500&h=800&ei=kkD-TtKQIIKxhAfc57HWAQ&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=620&sig=117442183822737739971&page=1&tbnh=147&tbnw=92&start=0&ndsp=13&ved=1t:429,r:3,s:0&tx=36&ty=40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Arianna_26

Spread wrote: »
    Surely wearing something that neither constricts your tummy, breasts or butt is the way to go - comfort wise. Then try going around naked. You can wear a smile :D

I meant I wear what clothes I am most comfortable in

sheesh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Its odd, but I tend to go by whether their pants are tucked into their socks as to whether or not they are skangers, dunno why, but I have never been proven wrong by that method yet.

As for in general, anyone can wear any item of clothing, but generalisations will always be made!

But seriously, you will never see a person who is not a skanger wearing PJs to Tesco and the like. Maybe when they do the morning school run in the car, but thats it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Kaching wrote: »
    You know a scumbag by the walk and the demeanor! no tracksuit can change a persons characteristics
    Walk and demeanour?

I judge people on their actions, and not how they walk or look, never mind what they wear.
    You seem sexy.
    Wanna have sex?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

later10 wrote: »
    I don't particularly care what you choose to wear, OP, that's your personal choice.

However, wearing a tracksuit every day, unless you're a P.E. teacher, can give the impression that you are sloppy, don't mind being identified with ruffians (for want of a better word), or don't care to look presentable.

Rightly or wrongly, it's just a social custom.

Personally I don't care very much. I think the people most vocal in being anti-tracksuits probably try to over-compensate for something that may be lacking in their own social position.

Whole country full of people like that. Be yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

jimpump wrote: »
    And you obviously aint a man

you sound more like a vain woman

You are mistaken.
    I am a man.
    Hence the username: Johnny Foreigner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Kaching

Terry wrote: »
    You seem sexy.
    Wanna have sex?

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I wear tracksuit bottoms a fair lot. If I'm just going to college or into town or something I'm not going to get dressed up and don't see anything wrong with wearing a tracksuit. Other times I'll wear jeans, whatever I feel like on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Pretty Polly

The tourists must think we are a really sporty nation:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

You are mistaken.
    I am a man.
    Hence the username: Johnny Foreigner.

nah pal, you obviously need to grow a pair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I like to criticize both track suit wearers and people who criticize track-suit wearers.

That way I get to feel superior to everyone and that's important to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Assessing peoples character on what clothes they wear seems a bit stupid. Morbidly obese people in tracksuits do make me smile. :p
    I'm smiling a lot these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭leposean

Sky King wrote: »
    No, I just take a bit of interest in my appearance.

Nothing special mind you, I just like not looking like I am going to start hassling people at the Luas stop for change.

Watch that neck of yours Sky King. Don't want you getting a creek with your nose up so high.

So by your idea I'm not taking an interest in my appearance when I go out to do some grocery shopping or to the gym in a pair of navy Ireland Rugby Canturbry Tracksuit pants and a t.shirt?

Or when I go to the gym and am wearing sweats on the bus and a hoodie again usually canto's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I wear tracksuit bottoms a fair lot. If I'm just going to college or into town or something I'm not going to get dressed up and don't see anything wrong with wearing a tracksuit. Other times I'll wear jeans, whatever I feel like on the day.

Im the same. Some of these guys sound like they put on a suit and tie for just getting a pint of milk from the local spar!!

I like to criticize both track suit wearers and people who criticize track-suit wearers.

That way I get to feel superior to everyone and that's important to me.
    I already know I'm superior so yiz can wear what the f#ck ye like. :p
    (Superior huh? We have a special tattoo in the superior lounge. Get your ink.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I wear tracksuit bottoms about the house but if i'm going to the shop i change out of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

SIPTU boom ba yay

..and Bingo woz his name-oh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Tracksuits are for sports. The key is in the name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    -suit?

Oh come on. Better not wear the combats then. They're only for combat. ;)
    Who gives a crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,113 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The tourists must think we are a really sporty nation:D

It's the old joke about the pope and the opening of the Square!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

SAHMOM wrote: »
    Also I gym a lot and as a mum of 2 tend to do the household shop after I get a gym session in.

Are you Sweaty tesco woman? ;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

And Jeans were designed for people working in construction who needed sturdy clothes. That didn't stop people starting to wear them casually, same with tracksuits funnily enough :pac:

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I think it depends on how you wear the tracksuit on the fact you're wearing one ..

Example 1 : Full tracksuit with matching top , runners that cost more than said tracksuit and socks tucked into tracksuit = nacker

Example 2 : tracksuit with dubarrys and a labeled top = nouve riche

Example 3 : fatmans mixed with any type of clothing . Under 25 years old its ok , over 25 and youre a slob

Example 4 : tracksuit pants plus teeshirt at gym = normal person

*guide may require more work

How dare you come in here and write a guide .Sometimes I wear brown shoes and a cape with my tracksuit, Sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

woodoo wrote: »
    I wear tracksuit bottoms about the house but if i'm going to the shop i change out of them.

and into nothing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Fozzydog3

No one has ever in the history of the world been hopped on by people in jeans , no one in the history of jeans has ever played music off their mobiles at the back of a bus .

tracksuits are for lazy retards who cant dress themselves and people who do sports

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

NOT speaking for anyone else but myself. The only time I wear a tracksuit was/is when in training to keep fit and practising a number of physical martial arts.
    Other than that, I prefer to look like I haven't just stepped from a gym or possibly been sometimes too lazy to put on other more street regular clothing (which is far batter often more stylish anyway - in my opinion).

Easy there now..
    Ladies and Gentlemen.. Mr Conway Twitty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Johro wrote: »
    (Superior huh? We have a special tattoo in the superior lounge. Get your ink.)

I'm covered in tattoos from

the PC brigade
    the No-slapping-kids alliance
    the anti-agressive foreign policy Troop
    the anti-nostalgia Army
    the anti-racist renegades

but I might be able squeeze one more in. :pac: