Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobbery towards tracksuit wearers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭stacexD

I've been weraring runners and tracksuit pants a lot lately cuz i sprained my ankle, never in my life have I had so many fitting room assistants take the clothes off me and count before giving me a number instead of taking my word for it when I say 3 :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Think ya might need to explain that a bit - it looks like sales assistants get you naked. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Dudess wrote: »
    I wear one when running and don't think about how it looks. They're comfortable and handy.

Well, that's what they're for.

Contrast that with this champion:
    jimpump wrote: »
    yeah i got married in a lacoste shell suit.....gotta problem with that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

It's fundamentally the sub-subculture it's tied to though really isn't it; townies n scangers n rave. all that stupid shìte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I can see the place of a track suit.

working out, wearing around the house, collecting the kids from school and so on.

But if you cant put a little effort into dressing your self properly before you go out at night, then how do you expect to pull.

Add a gold chain and a pair of white trainers . Not getting laid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

In all fairness we could say the same about most other clothing types

Skinny jeans, scarfs, thick rimmed glasses, are only worn by a) stuck up women or b) flambouyant gay men

Tracksuits are definitley bot entirely scummy , however tucking them into socks and having your hands down them while walking makes you a knacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Skinny jeans, scarfs, thick rimmed glasses, are only worn by a) stuck up women or b) flambouyant gay men

Tracksuits are definitley bot entirely scummy , however tucking them into socks and having your hands down them while walking makes you a knacker

Yeah but none of those types are likely to stab you and take your wallet.

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Tracksuits are for sports. The key is in the name.
    So what is proper attire for going to the shop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

Skinny jeans, scarfs, thick rimmed glasses, are only worn by a) stuck up women or b) flambouyant gay men.

Well it's hardly Liberace territory, unless you regard anything other than a tracksuit or pyjamas as decadent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Captain Graphite

Tracksuits don't make scumbags; a scumbag wearing an Armani suit would still be a fúcking scumbag.

Ok so wearing a full matching tracksuit looks a bit stupid unless you're an athlete but there's no problem with tracksuit pants imo; if I'm not going out or doing anything too important I'll often wear tracksuit pants or sweatpants instead of jeans 'cause they're comfy. Doesn't make me suddenly act like a knacker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Amzie

I wear a tracksuit If I'm hungover or having an off day and need to wear something comfy or if I'm going to the gym/walking the dog:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

LH Pathe wrote: »
    All I want to know is why did polyester become the new denim. The new I haven't a fücking clue so this is what I'll do?! Seems the bar was already at ground level so they began to dig.. and now I'm a fùckin fashionista in my blue jeans. A poser a cad and a dandy
    Why do you care? Who gives a **** if some one wears a tracksuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

Sky King wrote: »
    You must have been 1 of the clowns on the bus today

No, I just take a bit of interest in my appearance.

Nothing special mind you, I just like not looking like I am going to start hassling people at the Luas stop for change.
    right whatever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

gsxr1 wrote: »

Yeah but none of those types are likely to stab you and take your wallet.
    so you mean to say white collar criminals arent the types to ruin families? get a grip. there are two types of criminals. only on this site we only hear of the stereotypical lowest. anglo irish boss im sure only wore a tracksuit while jogging on a sunday morning. wake up idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

i heard a few guys basically calling anyone that wears tracksuits as knackers

Not that I necessarily think it's OK to judge people based on what they choose to wear (actually, I do, but that's of limited relevance here), but here's a thought that might illustrate another person's perspective:

If I were to walk down an Irish street wearing a Garda uniform, you could reasonably expect members of the public to assume that I'm an on-duty Garda. Now, I'm not a Garda, but let's imagine I procured a Garda uniform for purposes of whimsy. Walking down the street wearing this uniform, I might have people asking me for directions, reporting crimes, etc and I would need to explain that although I'm currently wearing the uniform of a Garda, and that would be reasonable cause for someone to assume that I was a serving member of the force, this is not actually the case. Naturally, this might cause confusion.

Now I'd like you to modify this mental image and replace me and the Garda uniform with yourself. Although simply wearing a tracksuit does not, in fact, make you a knacker, you can see how people might be confused if they saw you walking down the street, wearing a knacker's uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

I wear suits 5 days a week so at weekends when I'm kicking back / shopping, I wear tracksuits...

Each to their own I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

When I was a few stone overweight I used to feel more comfortable in tracksuit pants and be damned whoever didn't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

later10 wrote: »
    I love the genius of high street brands.

"Here, walk around advertising our company name, and pay us €50 for the luxury"

Isn't it funny how a pair of Canterburys and a Hollister hoodie means something totally different to McKenzie tracksuit... all of equally rubbish quality.

Just the idle musings of a passing stranger...

As you were.

There are so many clothes I cant wear because they make me feel like a billbowrd

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

There's nothing worse than the clothes some "men" get from Topwoman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

stacexD wrote: »
    I had so many fitting room assistants take the clothes off me and count before giving me a number instead of taking my word for it when I say 3 :rolleyes:

I see where youre coming from but on the other hand giving out numbers without checking is a rather pointless exercise surely ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

I'm afraid if you wear a track suits all the time out in public people are going to assume that you are a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

later10 wrote: »
    -suit?

Track
    yoyo wrote: »
    And Jeans were designed for people working in construction who needed sturdy clothes. That didn't stop people starting to wear them casually, same with tracksuits funnily enough :pac:

Nick

The thread is about tracksuits.
    stacexD wrote: »
    So what is proper attire for going to the shop?

You should always look your best. While that doesnt mean wearing a tin to the shop it also doesnt mean wearing flip flops, sandals or tracksuits.

Tom Ford:

"1. You should put on the best version of yourself when you go out in the world because that is a show of respect to the other people around you.

2. A gentleman today has to work. People who do not work are so boring and are usually bored. You have to be passionate, you have to be engaged and you have to be contributing to the world.

3. Manners are very important and actually knowing when things are appropriate. I always open doors for women, I carry their coat, I make sure that they're walking on the inside of the street. Stand up when people arrive at and leave the dinner table.

4. Don't be pretentious or racist or sexist or judge people by their background.

5. A man should never wear shorts in the city. Flip-flops and shorts in the city are never appropriate. Shorts should only be worn on the tennis court or on the beach."

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I see where youre coming from but on the other hand giving out numbers without checking is a rather pointless exercise surely ?
    I always have them seperated so you can clearly see how many I have and that there's nothing hidden inbetween them, they have a look and give me a number.
    Meh small price to pay for comfort anyways :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

You should always look your best. While that doesnt mean wearing a tin to the shop it also doesnt mean wearing flip flops, sandals or tracksuits.
    You have a problem with wearing flip flops to the shops? Why>

Also, most of the Tom Ford quotes you posted have nothing to do with tracksuits, and I'm slightly curious as to why you posted them. Manners have nothing to do with the clothes one wears.

Personally i think that The Queen of England and the Duke of Edinburgh (to give well known examples) are two of the most sensibly dressed figures is sartorial etiquette, as well as being scandalously rude individuals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Tom Ford:

"1. You should put on the best version of yourself when you go out in the world because that is a show of respect to the other people around you.

2. A gentleman today has to work. People who do not work are so boring and are usually bored. You have to be passionate, you have to be engaged and you have to be contributing to the world.

3. Manners are very important and actually knowing when things are appropriate. I always open doors for women, I carry their coat, I make sure that they're walking on the inside of the street. Stand up when people arrive at and leave the dinner table.

4. Don't be pretentious or racist or sexist or judge people by their background.

5. A man should never wear shorts in the city. Flip-flops and shorts in the city are never appropriate. Shorts should only be worn on the tennis court or on the beach."

lmfao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

Yesterday i was wearing my favourite Adidas originals tracksuit, today i'm wearing my favourite skinny jeans. Turns out i'm still the same person because its only some clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

i used to always wear trackies until i realised it looks so much better wearin jeans buttttttt loads of people who wear jeans look like absolute losers(for example people in trinity)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

am always in shorts or jogging bottoms/track suit pants whatever want to call them.
    cannot tolerate most materials like jeans for example due to sensory issues.
    have never understood why people wear things for other people by proxy but it is the same way why people do not understand why jogging/tracksuit bottom wearers love wearing them often-we all experience the world differently.

people have a lot more obvious points on mine to judge than jogging pants but they can judge out loud all they want as the only value that comes from it is to show others how immature they are and how they lack an open mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Patri

Sky King wrote: »
    Only three types of people wear tracksuits

1) Knick-knacks
    2) Athletes / Sportspeople
    3) The mafia guys who choose not to wear suits.

Made my day with that call, just got an image of Paulie Walnuts in all his glory http://www.icollector.com/images/1111/19518/19518_0235_5_lg.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

focus_mad wrote: »
    I wear suits 5 days a week so at weekends when I'm kicking back / shopping, I wear tracksuits...

Each to their own I suppose

Honestly if I see someone out in public, especially in the city centre, I'd immediately think you're just a lazy b*stard with no interest in his appearance. And you're embarrassing the rest of us as tourists look on in Dublin at hoardes of tracksuit wearers. I don't care if I'm snobby or judgemental or what, they look awful and cheap and classless, just like pajamas in public do. You need to brush up fella.