Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobbery towards tracksuit wearers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Tracksuit and high heels is the fashion where I live.
    Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Kaching wrote: »
    No.
    Is it because I wear a tracksuit?

That was far too easy.

I meant to quote the person who quoted me and spoke about reverse snobbery Too lazy to scroll back and copy and paste).
    You're correct, but there is far more snobbery than reverse here. It's amazing how many people who post here and come across as snobs are actually from lower class and working class backgrounds, but try to make out that they are above wearing tracksuits and drinking Dutch Gold Wouldn't touch it myself, but did drink similar crap 20 years ago).
    The hypocrisy is amazing.

I'm from Leixlip. It's a commuter town with a couple of computer factories.
    The people who work in these factories seem to think they are special. Some of them wear their ID badges to the pub on a Friday night. Christ, I'm laughing at them as I type this.

They are the type of people who post here about tracksuits and stuff.

I believe Captain Morgan rum is popular these days, so they drink that and then tell everyone on Facebook that they have drank it.
    More of them don't even know that it's rum, and that Bacardi is essentially the same thing, but they'll still tell you that they are hungover after drinking too much "of the Morgan".

It's nothing new. The same type of people spent all their time in Temple Bar during the 90's nas 00's, and then told their friends how cool it was, even though the place was always crammed, and you spent an hour trying to get a drink.

They'll get enough points in the leaving for a place in any U of I, but will go to Trinity for an orts degree just so they can say they went to Trinity.

Lizzy Caplan is really ****ing sexy.

Yes, there is the reverse too.
    The ones who are bitter about coming from a privileged background, and are bitter about not getting into Trinners, or the dudes who end up on a FÁS course, when their friends are in UCC or UCD or whatever.
    They're just as sad.

Lizzy Caplan is still sexy.

It has taken me a while to type this because I've been looking at sexy Lizzy Caplan on E4 +1
    I had more, but got bored.

People suck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

jimpump wrote: »
    nah pal, you obviously need to grow a pair

I am not your pal. You just made an enemy.
    You are getting very brave there like a keyboard warrior.
    Does it make you feel less insecure about yourself?
    You wouldn't get so brave if you met me face to face.

MOD EDIT

Poster banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Obviously, not everyone who wears a tracksuit is a scumbag.However, based on purely anecdotal evidence (the most reliable evidence:p) anytime I've had abuse shouted at me on the street ( for being a 'Kornhead goth weirdo satanist' or something similar) or people I know getting racist remarks hurled at them, it's by some little scrote in a tracksuit. Don't think it's anything to do with the tracksuit though, just with them being d1cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Mc Donalds away strip is fashionable where I live , also Garda Florescence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭SAHMOM

Are you Sweaty tesco woman? ;)
    I do shower after....but if I am just going shopping then home I'll throw back on my tracksuit!!
    Trust me, my Husband has no complaints and is in no doubt that I'm def not a sweaty tesco woman!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

What town?

SAHMOM wrote: »
    I do shower after....but if I am just going shopping then home I'll throw back on my tracksuit!!
    Trust me, my Husband has no complaints and is in no doubt that I'm def not a sweaty tesco woman!! ;)

Sweaty Lidl woman so ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

theteal wrote: »
    What town?
    Romford.

Happy now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Those mustard/yellow colour chinos are becoming the new tracksuit tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Acacia wrote: »
    Obviously, not everyone who wears a tracksuit is a scumbag.However, based on purely anecdotal evidence (the most reliable evidence:p) anytime I've had abuse shouted at me on the street ( for being a 'Kornhead goth weirdo satanist' or something similar) or people I know getting racist remarks hurled at them, it's by some little scrote in a tracksuit. Don't think it's anything to do with the tracksuit though, just with them being d1cks.

if theres anything slobbier than a trackie its goths, normally fat wearing awful clothes they look disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,113 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Terry wrote: »
    I'm from Leixlip. It's a commuter town with a couple of computer factories.
    The people who work in these factories seem to think they are special. Some of them wear their ID badges to the pub on a Friday night. Christ, I'm laughing at them as I type this.

They are the type of people who post here about tracksuits and stuff.

Really? :confused:

Can you actually back that up? Or have you just got a bee in your bonnet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭SAHMOM

mattjack wrote: »
    Sweaty Lidl woman so ?
    If I was any way delicate I'd take offense. I actually do shop in Tesco!!! :DWhatever your opinion is based on my few posts doesn't phase me because I go home every day to my hot husband who thinks I am hot!!!
    Are you single?:rolleyes:

EdenHazard wrote: »
    if theres anything slobbier than a trackie, its goths, normally fat ,wearing awful clothes, they look disgusting

I added in a few comma's for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 scotty1

jimpump;76238058]They are my choice of clothing most of the time as they are the most comfortable .But i was on the bus back from town earlier and i heard a few guys basically calling anyone that wears tracksuits as knackers. These lads were dressed very metrosexual and had a very annoying D4 accent

I was then thinking to myself how in the hell could these eejits judge people by how they look and what they wear when it looked as though these guys just raided jedwards closet
    In this country everyone is judged by what you wear where you live and what you work at. Its always been this way I don't think it will ever change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

EdenHazard wrote: »
    if theres anything slobbier than a trackie its goths, normally fat wearing awful clothes they look disgusting

Yeah, thankfully I'm not a goth.. just wear the occasional black band t-shirt, yet this translates to 'goth' to the more intellectually-challenged folk out there...

SAHMOM wrote: »
    If I was any way delicate I'd take offense. I actually do shop in Tesco!!! :DWhatever your opinion is based on my few posts doesn't phase me because I go home every day to my hot husband who thinks I am hot!!!
    Are you single?:rolleyes:

Thank the Lord you're not delicate.Happily married to general manager.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

I am not your pal. You just made an enemy.
    You are getting very brave there like a keyboard warrior.
    Does it make you feel less insecure about yourself?
    You wouldn't get so brave if you met me face to face.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

I love your threads Jimpump. Personally I don't see the problem with wearing tracksuits. I did it all the time until I was about 21 (27 now). I just changed styles then I guess. My older brother still wears tracksuits all the time. He's 37. Don't see the problem with it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭sheesh

I have read most of the thread and now where on the thread has anyone pointed out this fact: --

wait for it....

you will be amazed....

people who do not know you judge you on your appearence.

We all know the assumptions that are made about people who wear track suits
    so don't be suprised if you go out wearing a track suit that people make these assumptions about you.

just accept it and move on its no big deal really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

This is close to my heart. I was out in the sales buying a new tracksuit.

I wear them all the time, they are a very comfortable and a practicable apparel. I tend to try and at least look stylish when wearing them.

I was out in the sales buying some new ones and I was steered away from the NIKE or the 3 bars of addidas because I associate them with scumbags.

I ended up with armani, CK but also reebok and Puma, I think I look at least OK in them, but I paid extra, but at sales prices. In the new year I will be cycling everytime I can, I will be leaving the car parked up. You can't really do that in Jeans or slacks.

So yes I do judge people in trackies, or hoodies.

Marketing is really an amazing witchcraft

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Are you Sweaty tesco woman? ;)
    Mary Byrne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

jimpump wrote: »
    They are my choice of clothing most of the time as they are the most comfortable .But i was on the bus back from town earlier and i heard a few guys basically calling anyone that wears tracksuits as knackers. These lads were dressed very metrosexual and had a very annoying D4 accent

I was then thinking to myself how in the hell could these eejits judge people by how they look and what they wear when it looked as though these guys just raided jedwards closet!

Ah, this old chestnut rears its head again.

If you were wearing a bear costume, people would assume you were on your way to a fancy dress party or had just escaped from the zoo.

You would possibly be comfortable in that bear costume but would have to realise that those assumptions would be made.

A lot of people make the following assumptions with regard to tracksuits:
    Spread wrote: »
    For me, just two:

Skangers

Sportsmen/women
    Senna wrote: »
    Tracksuit wearers are just a step on the evolutionary chain above women who ware pajamas out shopping.

You may be comfortable in your tracksuit Jimpump, and that's great, but don't go whinging when people make the standard assumptions.

First impressions and all that.

44leto wrote: »
    This is close to my heart. I was out in the sales buying a new tracksuit.

I wear them all the time, they are a very comfortable and a practicable apparel. I tend to try and at least look stylish when wearing them.

I was out in the sales buying some new ones and I was steered away from the NIKE or the 3 bars of addidas because I associate them with scumbags.

I ended up with armani, CK but also reebok and Puma, I think I look at least OK in them, but I paid extra, but at sales prices. In the new year I will be cycling everytime I can, I will be leaving the car parked up. You can't really do that in Jeans or slacks.

So yes I do judge people in trackies, or hoodies.

Marketing is really an amazing witchcraft

'story bud....were you robbin' in Champion earlier...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Not to metion the folk who think wearing the 3-stripe brand is somehow hip; kids n kit washing grannies aside yes I see your stripey contour you are branded. loud and clear you fücking - twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

i would never personally wear a full tracksuit weather it was for sport or not but i would wear a track pants and t shirt or jersey and then maybe the track top with jeans but never ever together i seen a lad the other day walking in town with a full red and white nike tracksuit on and it was cringeworthy to say the least:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

mattjack wrote: »
    'story bud....were you robbin' in Champion earlier...?

Yeah bastad you sussed me, thats were I got the CK and armani

Do you know there are deprived areas in Dublin who do not have Champion sports. They don't even have Lifestyle sports.

So with a heavy heart and a feeling of guilt.

I will be doing a charity cycle down the Adriatic coast. In aid of bringing these shops to these areas with the insistence they only employ moderate security.

Turpentine wrote: »

If you were wearing a bear costume, people would assume you were on your way to a fancy dress party or had just escaped from the zoo.

You would possibly be comfortable in that bear costume but would have to realise that those assumptions would be made.

You may be comfortable in your tracksuit Jimpump, and that's great, but don't go whinging when people make the standard assumptions.

First impressions and all that.

So youre comparing a bear costume to probably the most popular items of clothing around.................O.K :o

Turpentine wrote: »

double

44leto wrote: »
    Yeah bastad you sussed me, thats were I got the CK and armani

Do you know there are deprived areas in Dublin who do not have Champion sports. They don't even have Lifestyle sports.

So with a heavy heart and a feeling of guilt.

I will be doing a charity cycle down the Adriatic coast. In aid of bringing these shops to these areas with the insistence they only employ moderate security.

You just make sure you leave Adrian's toast alone ..