Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobbery towards tracksuit wearers?

• 30-12-2011 11:11PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

They are my choice of clothing most of the time as they are the most comfortable .But i was on the bus back from town earlier and i heard a few guys basically calling anyone that wears tracksuits as knackers. These lads were dressed very metrosexual and had a very annoying D4 accent

I was then thinking to myself how in the hell could these eejits judge people by how they look and what they wear when it looked as though these guys just raided jedwards closet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Only three types of people wear tracksuits

1) Knick-knacks
    2) Athletes / Sportspeople
    3) The mafia guys who choose not to wear suits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Do you smell jimpump?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

Sky King wrote: »
    Only three types of people wear tracksuits

1) Knick-knacks
    2) Athletes / Sportspeople
    3) The mafia guys who choose not to wear suits.

You must have been 1 of the clowns on the bus today

jimpump wrote: »
    You must have been 1 of the clowns on the bus today

No, I just take a bit of interest in my appearance.

Nothing special mind you, I just like not looking like I am going to start hassling people at the Luas stop for change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

These lads were dressed very metrosexual and had a very annoying D4 accent

So you're giving out about people who judge others on what they wear and judging people on what they wear at the same time?

Classic AH material really.

Nice job.

Do you smell jimpump?

I do after a workout with your ma

Do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

For me, just two:

Skangers

Sportsmen/women

No, I just take a bit of interest in my appearance.

Nothing special mind you, I just like not looking like I am going to start hassling people at the Luas stop for change.

Go back to spraying on your fake tan and plucking your eyebrows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

Do you?

.... so you're a personal trainer? Don't worry about the tracksuits then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Tracksuit wearers are just a step on the evolutionary chain above women who ware pajamas out shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Do you?
    You have the agressive mentality of a skanger.I asked a simple question.

Go back to spraying on your fake tan and plucking your eyebrows

Sure, right after I go spraying on yer oul wanz face!

Jaysus good one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

I don't particularly care what you choose to wear, OP, that's your personal choice.

However, wearing a tracksuit every day, unless you're a P.E. teacher, can give the impression that you are sloppy, don't mind being identified with ruffians (for want of a better word), or don't care to look presentable.

Rightly or wrongly, it's just a social custom.

Personally I don't care very much. I think the people most vocal in being anti-tracksuits probably try to over-compensate for something that may be lacking in their own social position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

This thread has backfired a bit I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Kaching

Only time I'll be found in a tracksuit is if I'm dying sick or if its a miserable day and im only going to the shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    So you're giving out about people who judge others on what they wear and judging people on what they wear at the same time?

Classic AH material really.

Nice job.

:confused: he didn't judge them. they said people who wear tracksuits are knackers, he said they were dressed in a metrosexual style. how is that a judgement?

I sometimes wear tracksuits, and I'm far from a knacker. I really don't see what the big deal is about them. You can tell a knacker easy enough, it's not just down to the tracksuit.

fat__tony wrote: »
    This thread has backfired a bit I think...

not really. i was expecting it from the posh snobs on this forum....and theres plenty of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

:confused: he didn't judge them. they said people who wear tracksuits are knackers, he said they were dressed in a metrosexual style. how is that a judgement?

Read his full post. He clearly does judge them on what they wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭TT09

A lot of large people i see wearing tracksuits around maybe they like wearing them cause they don't feel comfortable wearing jeans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

not really. i was expecting it from the posh snobs on this forum....and theres plenty of them

After Hours... posh?
    Think you're in the worng forum mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Christ if AH is posh snobs, its not going to be long before were all hanging out of trees flinging poop at each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

ah yes, I did miss the rest of that.

Still though, the OP isn't on here complaining about people wearing skinny jeans or whatever it is that metrosexuals wear. of course he's going to be defensive. the response isn't the most mature, but it's natural.

Unlike skinny jeans....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

posh snobs vs knackers

it's like the american civil war.

"which side are you on"

I think Bob Dylan wrote a song about this once.

Where did i judge them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

yeah those poshos and there shoes and coats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Why do people give a **** about what other people wear? Who gives a ****?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

depends really on the person and the type of tracksuit, anyone young can pull them off. wearing a full mckenzie tracksuit is nackery but wearing some hoodie with adidas original bottoms isnt knackery

Why do people give a **** about what other people wear? Who gives a ****?

Thats my whole point

obviously a lot of ppl here care about what other ppl wear.....sad really