Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snobbery towards tracksuit wearers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

EdenHazard wrote: »
    i used to always wear trackies until i realised it looks so much better wearin jeans buttttttt loads of people who wear jeans look like absolute losers(for example people in trinity)
    Oh yes, I've heard of this.

"Trinity leg" it's called,

Aetiology: Enrolment at TCD Description: A misfortune similar to blackleg in cattle. Characterised by the inability to wear denim trousers. Symptoms: Patients appear depressed, and take to reading classical poetry alone in empty rooms, disinterested in their gruel. Other symptoms include paleness, infirmity, an overly delicate demeanour, and bandy legs. Concurrent abnormalities: Homosexuality, middle class ennui. Additional notes: this information is not factually informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

Vast majority of time I've founds its just eejits who wear tracksuits out. After about 5 mins of talking to these lads they've pretty much ticked all the boxes of a dope. Likewise with these so called metrosexuals, just another sect of group thinking wankery. Sadly, they'll have to get a sense of humour in order to look back on how ridiculous they looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

later10 wrote: »
    You have a problem with wearing flip flops to the shops? Why>

Also, most of the Tom Ford quotes you posted have nothing to do with tracksuits, and I'm slightly curious as to why you posted them. Manners have nothing to do with the clothes one wears.

Personally i think that The Queen of England and the Duke of Edinburgh (to give well known examples) are two of the most sensibly dressed figures is sartorial etiquette, as well as being scandalously rude individuals.

Flip flops are not for outdoor use. They are not proper footwear.

The Tom Ford quotes are bang on. Always look your best.
    lmfao

Glad you enjoyed that. Nothing to do with background but to do with the clothes one wears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Was in the lues an hour ago.

Seats all full.

The only 2 people wearing tracksuits (one with his bottoms tucked into his white socks. Yeah Classy.).
    Both young men talking loudly about how they nicked a car last night, got chased by the Garda, and then burned the car out at Blue Bell. Discussing that burning it was the correct thing to do.

I was thinking NOT stealing would have been the correct thing, but I guess I was wrong.

People looking at each other in the tram and thinking the same thing.

What a waste a the tax payers money to keep these young scum bags.

Made me think of this thread.

Funny most people that behave in that manner all seem to be dressed in the same outfit. like it or not OP... Its the way it is. You would need to be blind not to see it.;)

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    Flip flops are not for outdoor use.
    Where do you wear them, in bed?

Of course they're bloody outdoor wear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I personally only wear a full tracksuit when in the gym or walking or if I am at home feeling unwell and want to be comfortable.

Each to their own where clothing is concerned but I can't say I like to see a woman head to toe in tracksuit as her outfit.....to me there's very mannish and rough about it.

But again that's a personal opinion and to each his/her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Why is there even discussion on this:confused:
    Tracksuits are for sport, wearing one casually is fairly ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭bedrock#1

I bet the metro-sexual styled blokes know loads of people who wear Abercrombie or American Eagle track suits or Leinster Rugby ones.....

I'm in UCD as a mature student and there is a healthy number of D4 types who wear these

I guess its only what label is on the tracksuit that matters....

I have to agree with the OP though, some peoples obsession with what people wear is quite sad -

talk about sheeple of the highest order - X-Factor fashion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

jimpump wrote: »
    They are my choice of clothing most of the time as they are the most comfortable .But i was on the bus back from town earlier and i heard a few guys basically calling anyone that wears tracksuits as knackers. These lads were dressed very metrosexual and had a very annoying D4 accent

I was then thinking to myself how in the hell could these eejits judge people by how they look and what they wear when it looked as though these guys just raided jedwards closet!

Were you on your way to compete in the special olympics?

Where do you wear them, in bed?

Of course they're bloody outdoor wear!

Flip flops are a joke as are anybody who wears them. Unsafe and unhygienic.

Back on topic tracksuits should only be worn when jogging or competing in sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭spcw

they can wear what they like its when then insist on having their hands down the front that annoys me.

Flip flops are a joke as are anybody who wears them.
    What you shovelling there, shoveller?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

i used to always wear trackies until i realised it looks so much better wearin jeans buttttttt loads of people who wear jeans look like absolute losers(for example people in trinity)

Hey man. I love all you're fashion tips, I really do, I bet you're a really snazzy dresser, I mean you must be...right?

*Looks up Know Your Nerds thread*

Finds this.

Nope.jpg

How do you look like a loser by wearing jeans:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

FearDark wrote: »
    Hey man. I love all you're fashion tips, I really do, I bet you're a really snazzy dresser, I mean you must be...right?

Finds this.

Nope.jpg

I get your point, but most jeans dont look like that.

Whats wrong with a pair of 501s style. Im sure the vast majority of jeans sold are regular boot cut jeans, not those weird lookin yokes in your pic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

FearDark wrote: »

Finds this.

Nope.jpg

:rolleyes: your opinion. i bet i pull way more than you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

bedrock#1 wrote: »
    I bet the metro-sexual styled blokes know loads of people who wear Abercrombie or American Eagle track suits or Leinster Rugby ones.....

I'm in UCD as a mature student and there is a healthy number of D4 types who wear these

I guess its only what label is on the tracksuit that matters....

A tracksuit is a tracksuit to most people, but I'd say if you wore them all day every day you'd have different ones for casual and formal wear.

Also, are you trying to imply that anyone who doesn't wear a tracksuit is a "metro-sexual"?
    bedrock#1 wrote: »
    I have to agree with the OP though, some peoples obsession with what people wear is quite sad -

talk about sheeple of the highest order - X-Factor fashion

The thread was started by a guy who says he wore a tracksuit on his wedding day. Fair play to him if that's what makes him happy.

You could go around wearing a potato sack if you wanted, but you have to realise that what you wear will give those around you an impression of who you are and your outlook on life. To think otherwise is naive, and there's no real point in complaining about it.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I get your point, but most jeans dont look like that.

Whats wrong with a pair of 501s style. Im sure the vast majority of jeans sold are regular boot cut jeans, not those weird lookin yokes in your pic.

i dont like the ends of the jeans but i wear high tops so its not apparent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

You should always look your best. While that doesnt mean wearing a tin to the shop it also doesnt mean wearing flip flops, sandals or tracksuits.

Tom Ford:

"1. You should put on the best version of yourself when you go out in the world because that is a show of respect to the other people around you.

2. A gentleman today has to work. People who do not work are so boring and are usually bored. You have to be passionate, you have to be engaged and you have to be contributing to the world.

3. Manners are very important and actually knowing when things are appropriate. I always open doors for women, I carry their coat, I make sure that they're walking on the inside of the street. Stand up when people arrive at and leave the dinner table.

4. Don't be pretentious or racist or sexist or judge people by their background.

5. A man should never wear shorts in the city. Flip-flops and shorts in the city are never appropriate. Shorts should only be worn on the tennis court or on the beach."
    Who was/is Tom Ford? A professional tosser?

I understand the social message wearing a tracksuit can portray, but no shorts in the city? He sounds like the sort of loon who'd glare at you for holding a fork in your right hand.

:rolleyes: your opinion. i bet i pull way more than you

Thread just got interesting. Post you're latest conquest for us all.

can't do that but shes a solid 7

that look pulls

can't do that but shes a solid 7

that loo

A solid 7.

Right.

You'll do well here kid.

post yours

post yours

You know her very well actually.

my ma?

my ma?

You heard so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Oh it's so on.

really tho, what age are you? im more than likely much younger so ur not gonna dig my fashion style!!! i get people being like u look like ur in jls haha so im happy enough

What you shovelling there, shoveller?

The truth
    Pace2008 wrote: »
    Who was/is Tom Ford? A professional tosser?

I understand the social message wearing a tracksuit can portray, but no shorts in the city? He sounds like the sort of loon who'd glare at you for holding a fork in your right hand.

Try google. Its surprisingly good: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tom_Ford

really tho, what age are you? im more than likely much younger so ur not gonna dig my fashion style!!! i get people being like u look like ur in jls haha so im happy enough

I don't want to interrupt this argument and I don't really care what it is you have just said but please for the rest of us just use proper spelling and punctuation while you're on Boards or back to facebook with you.