Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What are your funniest Irish sayings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Left her with a face like a painters radio.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

suck my left one

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

The fundementals of the economy are sound...............:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

its nearly 11 o clock an not a child in the house washed,

Get up that stairs your dirty jezebel

head on him, the price of spuds in bulgaria(as in cheap)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

"couldnt hit a cows arse with a banjo"..

refering to a bad hurler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭dermothickey

somebody looking for something..answer "its up Jack's hole picking daisies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 tomt016

What about " im so hungry, i could eat a knackers toenail"

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭horseplay

i used to work on a building site with a guy that whenever he had to level something he'd look at it for a few mins and say ....

'sure its like the fridge at home .... theres fcuk all in it'

always had to laugh:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

she has a face like a bulldog licking piss off a nettle and a fanny like a badly packed kebab

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭EI111

instructions for bathing when we were young:
    wash up as far as possible, down as far as possible, then wash possible

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 21,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭entropi

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    If I saw a girl like the 3rd picture Id think she was packing meat and veg
    You mean packing meat and VAG:p
    ya Omadorn ??
    Amadán you mean? basically means idiot As Gaelige:D

• Registered Users Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

Ill give ye a clip in the ear

Ah you're after muckin it up

I've a mouth as dry as an Arab's sandle

The show was savage
    The show was deadly
    The show was lethal

last night i was....
    pissed
    steamed
    scuttered
    hammered
    plattic
    gee-eyed
    plastered
    smashed
    shít-faced
    paralytic
    ossified
    slaughtered
    rubbered
    twisted
    gargled
    flutered
    bladdered
    tanked

god we have a lot of words for being drunk. I'm off to start a thread.........
    oh there's one already up

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055156539&referrerid=59211

The next day i had a head like an accordion

An unlucky guy:

If it was raining soup he'd have a fork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭ColaBeDamned

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Just watching the Six One news and after a news clip played, Sharon Ni Bheolain said:

"Snared rapid" .. :)

What sayings make you smile?

I don't get it, is that an expression? Thanking you in advance for your explanation! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

this is all a bit old hat

Aaarrah will ya geh ourra dah

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

You'll be sucking diesel and spittin' petrol - think that's an Irish one?

Wins for me if it is :)

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Tuesday_Girl

bigbadbear wrote: »
    Ill give ye a clip in the ear

Ah you're after muckin it up

I've a mouth as dry as an Arab's sandle

The show was savage
    The show was deadly
    The show was lethal

last night i was....
    pissed
    steamed
    scuttered
    hammered
    plattic
    gee-eyed

The next day i had a head like an accordion

An unlucky guy:

If it was raining soup he'd have a spoon

Shouldn't that be fork, as in he wouldn't catch any of the soup?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

If somebody down rural limerick gets asked a question and they dont know the answer, but want to seem like they do, stock answer is :
    "yera sure, you know yerself"

Never found out what "yera" is supposed to mean, yera sure I suppose somebody on here will know

• Registered Users Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

if id a garden full of mickeys i wouldnt let her look over the wall..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

id ate chips outta her knickers

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭Duff

I'd drag me balls through broken glass jus to **** in her shadow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Get a grip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭John-Holmes

WIDE as a gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

What does "Now we're sucking diesel" mean? It's been mentioned a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Only to be said when out foreign when caught doing something stupid by the local rozzers:

'Ah shure we're only Irish, we're great craic, hup hup...'

Whilst winking like an idiot and doing a mini Fheis on the spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I'm so hungry I'd eat a farmer's arse through a hedge.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

do you think i came up the liffey on a sponge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Yes, yes, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭pinky 06

she had a face like a busted bag of chips :)