If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

iPhone launch 14th March on O2 Ireland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nikimere

I every other country they have launched in the phone hasn't ever "sold out", they seem to judge the stock levels pretty accurately. So, i wouldn't worry too much about not getting one. Although having said that i still did pre-order one! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭stiofain2005

Scottish,

When did you pre-order yours? I ordered mine last thursday in the o2 store on Henry Street. I also was told that you get first preference if you order the 8gb one. My only worry is as i had to pre-book an 8gb one how will they be able to tell who wanted to get a 16gb one. Are they going to wait till the people at the top of the list who booked theirs first decide if they want a 16gb one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Moofy

nikimere wrote: »
    I every other country they have launched in the phone hasn't ever "sold out", they seem to judge the stock levels pretty accurately. So, i wouldn't worry too much about not getting one. Although having said that i still did pre-order one! :p

I was thinking the same thing but also pre-ordered one as I didn't want a wii scenario all over again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Scottish

Scottish,

When did you pre-order yours? I ordered mine last thursday in the o2 store on Henry Street. I also was told that you get first preference if you order the 8gb one. My only worry is as i had to pre-book an 8gb one how will they be able to tell who wanted to get a 16gb one. Are they going to wait till the people at the top of the list who booked theirs first decide if they want a 16gb one?

Stiofain2005,

No idea - I'm assuming that he put some sort of mark on the order form, but he put nothing on my receipt. Seems a bit chaotic - some places saying that it's first come first served, others saying that they will reserve the 16gb for you as long as they have the numbers. He said that if they only got 3, I would get the third one, but that they couldn't put 16gb on the receipt because they have no idea how many they are getting.

I ordered mine on the 29th Feb - salesperson was Jonathan.

Scottish,

Good point, I don't think it matters when you ordered and they didn't even ask if you were interested in a 16GB.
    I would have thought they would have used the preorders to guage how many 16GB phones they need to order or at least find out the level of demand for them for Apple so they can manufacture/supply enough to meet the demand.
    Maybe they really are scarce, weren't they just announced a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭stiofain2005

Cheers.

Will probably head in tmw evening to see what the story is with it. Surely they will know by then how many they will have. Might check out carphone warehouse aswell and see what they say. Would like to pick it up before work on Friday.

Scottish wrote: »
    Stiofain2005,

No idea - I'm assuming that he put some sort of mark on the order form, but he put nothing on my receipt. Seems a bit chaotic - some places saying that it's first come first served, others saying that they will reserve the 16gb for you as long as they have the numbers. He said that if they only got 3, I would get the third one, but that they couldn't put 16gb on the receipt because they have no idea how many they are getting.

I ordered mine on the 29th Feb - salesperson was Jonathan.

I wasn't even asked he just said he could only reserve a 8GB and thats what my receipt says too:(
    Mind you he also told me to ring back on the Thursday as they would have more info then as to when it would be on sale.
    I got the impression it will be first come, first served but if it comes down to it your receipt is dated .
    Most people will probably go for the 8GB at €399 so we might be lucky:D

Cheers.

Will probably head in tmw evening to see what the story is with it. Surely they will know by then how many they will have. Might check out carphone warehouse aswell and see what they say. Would like to pick it up before work on Friday.

But if you paid a deposit to O2, I am not sure they will refund you.
    I was thinking of checking CPW too but theres no point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,406 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Moofy wrote: »
    But if you paid a deposit to O2, I am not sure they will refund you.
    I was thinking of checkin CPW too but theres no point.

Lads, from what i'm hearing you're not going to have any problems picking up any iPhone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Lads, from what i'm hearing you're not going to have any problems picking up any iPhone.

Agreed, initial reports were that the 16gb was in short supply, but i think thats been rectified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭matchthis

Deposit is refundable, but as has been mentioned stock will not be an issue. Not everyone wants 16gb, most just want it cause it's the iphone and will go for the 8gb

Agreed, initial reports were that the 16gb was in short supply, but i think thats been rectified.

Thats great, do you know this for sure?
    I reckon most people will go for the 8GB too ::: crosses fingers:::
    Still not taking any chances though :pac:

matchthis wrote: »
    Deposit is refundable, but as has been mentioned stock will not be an issue. Not everyone wants 16gb, most just want it cause it's the iphone and will go for the 8gb

So the deposit is refundable,
    So If by chance O2 cant give me a 16GB and CPW has lots of them I can get my deposit back and head over there and not have to get into an argument to get my deposit back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭redkid

Ray Foley has one, now I definitely don't want one. :D

i taught you had your mind up all ready oafley, i dont think anyone else has been as negative towards it as you

ps. ray foley is class, but he is a pup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭redkid

well in the o2 shop in carlow the girl said i could pay with cash on friday and wouldnt take any money as a deposit only took my name and contact details also she said i could pick which one i wanted on the day, when i said i might not be able to get there on friday that it might be sat she said she would ring me to see if i wanted an 8 or 16 and she had them in stock as i saw several of them in the boxes behind her and this was monday, somehow i dont think they will run scarce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭ratsam

As mentioned earlier in the thread i have also pre-ordered one... an 8 suits me grand.... thing is I have a gold upgrade at the moment that will be wasted as soon as I pick it up on Friday... do ye think i would be able to use the upgrade and order another phone for the missus (or a colleague) before Friday...? May be cheeky but I earned that upgrade and would prefer not to waste it...!

Rats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭whisht

CPW Liffey Valley :D

iphone.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

ratsam wrote: »
    As mentioned earlier in the thread i have also pre-ordered one... an 8 suits me grand.... thing is I have a gold upgrade at the moment that will be wasted as soon as I pick it up on Friday... do ye think i would be able to use the upgrade and order another phone for the missus (or a colleague) before Friday...? May be cheeky but I earned that upgrade and would prefer not to waste it...!

Rats

Don't see why not. Depends how they work the contracts.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Rats

I think they were using that a a "Selling point", using your upgrade to get another phone.

they have more cheek not offering an upgrade option, than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭slegs

Rats

absolultely you can...in fact you would be mad not to...a gold upgrade is worth quite a bit in real money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭ratsam

Just did it...! Now have a Nokia 6300 as well as an iPhone..! Happy days. Called O2 just to be on the safe side beforehand and they said no probs..!

Rats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭brianblaze

Yeah, we'll be raking in the commission. woo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 philip_tyrrell@

SwirlyMMS has had the ability to send and receive MMS's for the past few days now its buggy but it works

I have downloaded this package in the last few days but can't seem to get it working.

I have got a couple of conflicting settings for O2 Ireland MMS bill pay.

Who are you with and did you get it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,448 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

whisht wrote: »
    CPW Liffey Valley :D

iphone.jpg
    didn't take them long to rob it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭matchthis

The eagle has landed...everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Moofy wrote: »
    Thats great, do you know this for sure?
    I reckon most people will go for the 8GB too ::: crosses fingers:::
    Still not taking any chances though :pac:

actually I've heard since that whatever 16 gigs are in stock now are all that's available till early April

Thats pretty much what O2 were saying , that they would be scarce on launch date.
    They didn't mention the early April part though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭decsramble

nikimere wrote: »

After all the bad press O2 got for the tarrif they would be crazy to pass up the opportunity to prove the critics wrong. Since they are taking pre orders they know exactly how many each shop needs so I half expect that they will be "sold out" on Friday for an O2 press release but rushed back into stock on Saturday or Tuesday at the latest :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭TheBlackThing

I just got a call from the shop where I ordered my phone saying that they have arrived and wondering did I want the 8gb or 16gb, so they're keeping a 16gb for me! Happy Days!

They're not allowed release them till the morning though :(

I just got a call from the shop where I ordered my phone saying that they have arrived and wondering did I want the 8gb or 16gb, so they're keeping a 16gb for me! Happy Days!

They're not allowed release them till the morning though :(

Lucky you :)
    I can't even get through to the O2 store I ordered from, tried a few times on and off but seem to busy to answer the phone .
    Am at work at the moment and there is someone outside my office earwigging so sent an email earlier but still nothing.
    They are open till 9pm tonight right?
    What county are you in btw?