If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭watchingfromafar

Just back from a weekend in Liverpool.

No pandemic as far as they are concerned. Place was mental.

Did our tests for the flight home. Actually had everything checked at passport control last night.

Seeing irish people so timid compared to the scousers is kinda eye opening

Bits have a very carry on get on with it view of the pandemic from those I spoke with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,885 ✭✭✭Penfailed

This doesn't make sense to me. What difference does the source/timing of restrictions make with regard to acceptance?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

It's a common feature worldwide. This isn't just happening in Ireland.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Franz Ferdinand, Stereolab, Big Thief, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic

Oh I know. But just because it is happening elsewhere, doesn't make it acceptable or make me any less pissed off that it is happening here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭HalfAndHalf

Let’s hope not too many others think like you then, after the last showing if the Shinners cop on and place even more candidates, with the momentum, the shite job FF/FG are doing and some protest votes it’d end up being a landslide!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,579 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Wtf do NPHET and the Government want us to do ?

Numbers going down= more restrictions

It's mental torture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,640 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

What restrictions? The only thing I'm hearing at the moment from NPHET or government is we need to speed up the booster program

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Well they know more about antigen testing and modelling than anyone else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

Higher percentage jabbed, guard down, greater mixing, less social distancing therefore more spread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Economics101

Are the present government to blame for failing to foresee the arrival of Omicron? Arguably they might be to blame for the poor performance of the HSE in some respects, but nothing I have heard from the Shinners indicates that they would have a clue about this aspect of the problem.

You say you have no time for Mary Lou McD but would vote for her in protest. Not a very coherent stance and it shows that anger is a bad guide to reasonable action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭brickster69

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

March 2020 was a no brainer and 2,000 people in hospital meant the case was very easy to make back in January. It's a different story now with such a high level of vaccination plus the costs we have racked up from the supports. Another one now is almost beyond NPHET's pessimistic capabilities and would have a negligible effect on a very fast spreading variant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

We need to do something similar. This variant is going to be a disaster after the Xmas socialising season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭Russman

Ohh absolutely, and I don't think we're anywhere remotely near a lockdown scenario or ever will be again. TBH it was more just the constant bleating you read about "afraid to make decisions" that grates. Decisions were made, whether someone agrees with them or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Timmy O Toole

If you read it, they just shut bars for 4 weeks, like we did for 6 months last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

What makes you say that? Your last post was saying grim. Let booster roll out happen , case numbers mean nothing ,this varient is milder,boosters is the answer

The UK and other parts of Europe are ramping up their restrictions too, so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,857 ✭✭✭brickster69

Yes you are right. It is well known that the Omicrons do not infect people in a pub drinking mineral water or some ****, they only go for the alcohol drinkers. Have you heard anything so daft in your life, a pub can't sell alcohol. It's like saying a Mcdonalds cant sell burgers.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,928 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I really don't get this, the evidence for now is that it's not as bad as Delta.. yet we re all crapping ourselves.

Christ almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,579 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭MOR316

Aye yeah, removing 11 countries from their red list on travelling.

Really ramping it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Is it not blaringly obvious the reason Boris is suddenly extra worried about Omicron is to take the heat off all his controversies!

Our cases are falling.

Our hospital numbers are steady to falling.

Omicron is shown to be a less severe variant to Delta etc.

Let's not follow Boris and the UKs obsession with omicron just for the sake of it without thinking a bit more about the reasons why Boris and the UK government are suddenly extra worried about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

I'd imagine Sinn Feinn would be just as heavy - or maybe worse on restrictions.

It's only the right wing parties unfortunately that would have the balls to quit restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭PicardWithHair

Good to see some sense from the WHO.

If only govts would listen.

I won't link it because it will probably get me in trouble but check out the latest Zuby interview on the Triggernometry youtube channel.

A calm reasoned rational rock of sense on the whole thing, it's well worth the watch, is about an hour long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,928 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The WHO could declare the pandemic over tomorrow and we'd still have Tony "advising" we need to introduce more restrictions.

Falling into the media clickbait trap again. I saw an online article in the Irish Mirror at the weekend. The headline stated that the Taoiseach and Tánaiste were putting us in lockdown for Christmas. When you actually read the article, they said no such thing. Joke.