Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycle infrastructure planned for south Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,930 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

If you're talking about the College Green plan, it wasn't shot down in court.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,405 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

is_that_so seems to know next to nothing about the College Green Plaza proposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭carfinder

Dont confuse my response as a rebuttal. I was merely pointing out that your post was such an obvious false equivalence that its not worthy of deconstructing or rebutting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭alentejo

I fully get this. I am all for cycle infrastructure, however the design of the majority of schemes is appalling.

I am not too sure what the alternative this though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭cletus

I'm obviously one of the slower members on this forum, because I can't really see the false equivalency, I'd appreciate if you'd lay it out for me, and any other posters/readers who may not be able to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,618 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I don't get it either.

Often the cycle lane (for a variety of reasons) is poor for high speed cycling, or access to where I'm going. In which case I have to use the road.

Very similar to motorways and alternative routes.

A clear example of this is the phoenix park where the cycle lane was often to congested with pedestrian's to use. So you'd use the road.

We've already had mandatory use of cycle tracks (with no qualification other than they meet the requirement of having the right signage and road markings), and it was removed, because it was unfair, given there were no minimum standards in terms of design or quality, and largely unenforced anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭buffalo

I should point out that I regret the choice of fastest and safest as my desired attributes. What I really want is safest and 'takes the least amount of time', i.e. doesn't necessarily have to be suitable for 30km/h road cyclists, but doesn't - as per @Chiliconkeni's example above - require you to stop multiple times while the parallel road retains priority, or else takes a more direct route compared to motor traffic.

The older Phoenix Park cycle lanes required users to yield at road crossings including car park accesses, while if you stayed on the main road you would have priority. 👎️ However, there was filtered permeability at some points elsewhere in the park, making the cycle route more direct than driving. 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

It doesn't but the Keegan plan meant 600 buses each way a day on Parliament Street.

And I stand corrected but it was shot down on the basis of its knock-on effects on transport in the city.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,763 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

doesn't sound that insane to me? one bus on average every minute would be 960 buses a day (based on 16 hours of service) so it depends on whether any would actually be stopping on the street for pickup.

For a street of that size with pinch points at either end it is and it was part of the reason it was rejected. This has been the main issue with the Keegan visions, they just don't work out what to change and how to do so properly before he ploughs on.

The author of the report by Bord Pleanála dismissed modelling by making single timed journeys by himself or herself and saying the modelling was way wide of the mark. That's not remotely convincing. And the author seemed to think that "induced demand" was a good thing, while it's never used as a good outcome academically, since it means you've spent a lot of money, increased emissions, with ultimately congestion remaining the same.

But whatever faults it had, that was three years ago now. I don't know what plans there are for College Green currently.

In fact, most of these cases of plans facing obstacles seem to have at the heart of them someone rejecting the idea of traffic evaporation or people switching travel modes.

It did look half-thought out and apparently only designed for cyclists and pedestrians. DB, in particular, raised a lot of objections to it. The plaza bit was about the simplest element, yet they looked like they ignored anything outside of that area and left it up to others to figure out.

I can't remember enough about it. I just remember the ABP report had some very questionable approaches when it came to statistically representative sampling, and the author felt that people going around the city on the M50 wasn't acceptable, when the journey through the city would take about the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭crisco10

For that particular example, I think the reality is the horse bolted when the junction was first built. It was only 15 years ago or so, and they didn't even consider that pedestrians/bikes might want to cross the M50 at that point. So now you're left with a situation where the segregated traffic (bikes and pedestrians) have to cross the roundabout twice to safely navigate their way across.

Completely agree with the poster above who says it will increase conflict. People in cars are now going to say either 1) why isn't that bike in that lovely shiney cycle lane? or 2) I can't believe I'm stopped at all these pedestrian crossings to let a single bike navigate the junction.

Sloppily retrofitted pedestrian crossings slow down cars too.

Going forward, you'd like to think junctions like that are a great lesson in the advantages of future proofing at the initial design stage. But alas I'm not hopeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,002 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Ah right, I get you now. It is cyclists AND pedestrians that you want to dictate route choices for, while motorists can do whatever the hell they like, regardless of the damage caused to others.

Thanks for clarifying.

I suppose the big question about cyclists being on the road and not the cycle lane is- so what? What's the actual impact?

Let's not kid ourselves that cyclists contribute to traffic delays to any material extent. It's all the other cars that do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,580 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Grand so Andrew, you'll not be needing Strand Road after all. Noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Alias G

I dare say Andrew doesn't need Strand Road. It is substantial portions of the commuting population yet to be enticed into cycling that will benefit from such infrastructure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,618 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I dont want to have to get cross a busy junction to get into a cycle lane, I want to stay on the side of the road I am on as crossing to get into the cycle lane means I have to cross again 200m up the road. This is a very busy and dangerous road to cross and because it has been anrrowed so much it is dangerous now to cycle with the traffic. I cycled it for twenty five years with no issue and I had no idea a cycle lane was proposed until the workmen arrived.

Absolute nonsense posting,its like talking to five year olds.

I think five year olds can manage right turns on a bike.

Think I'm done engaging with you now. It's mostly just ranting now.

Honestly, for someone comparing others to five year olds, this is like a temper tantrum from a stroppy kid going 'I don't want to, I don't want to'.

In fairness, if I was turning off 200m later, I'd probably stay on the road too. If you find that drivers are beeping you on the road, your problem is with those drivers, not with cyclists and not with the designers. Your problem there is idiots who've been emboldened by the extensive pro-car media (heavily supported by car company advertising) to kick up a strop anytime they find themselves behind a cyclist for 10 seconds. It's OK to be stuck behind other cars for 10 minutes, but not behind a cyclist for 10 seconds.

Your problem is with beeping drivers.

The car drivers are beeping out of frustration.

They see an empty cycle lane which is utilising a third of the road.

Then they are stuck behind cyclists who dont want to cross busy roads to get into a cycle lane that goes nowhere.

And, no, you cant stay on the road because there is no space for you, the road is barely wide enough to allow two cars to pass, you eventually end up having to cycle on the footpath, its all a stressful horrible experience and enough to put me off cycling.

its all such a stupid waste of time and energy and meanwhile other cycling lanes which are heavily used are in an atrocious state.

I am perfectly capable of making a right turn and thats all i want to do, I want to cycle on a road I cycled on for twenty five years and not have to go into a ridiculous two way cycle lane that goes nowhere and has no possibility of ever being extended so cyclists arent thrown out onto a narrow road.

And it is like talking to five year olds, two wheels good, four wheels bad, round and round we go.

No, but I would expect local residents to be leafletted about major changes to the area they live in.

its pretty grim to have to ask workmen what they are doing, as I said covid was used as an excuse to install infrastructure locals werent demanding.

i am complaining for at least ten years aboout pedestrians have to share a path with speeding cyclists on the N11 near stillorgan, complaining too about the condition of the cycling lane in stillorgan park, gave up eventually, utter waste of time and then thousands spent on a two way cycling lane on Carysfort Avenue that has very few cyclists using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,500 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

You know it’s going to be part of a wider network. Why do you keep stating otherwise?