Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part XII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

Multipass wrote: »
    I don’t understand why they don’t pause the 30s, and give the over 60s an mRNA vaccine. They are multiples more at risk, they deserve the most effective vaccine.

Can't argue with that at all - was just thinking Adenovirus followed by the same type might work like a second AZ if nothing else.

Either way they should be done before this mass rollout they are doing to try and save some votes. Once again no science based approach.

Martin and cueball are an utter disgrace at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    We don't mix vaccines here at the moment

True if the science says it works we work on fear.

Studies in Manchester showing Adenovirus followed by mRNA may be even more effective than either alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    We don't mix vaccines here at the moment

Time to start then. Or give them 2 doses. It’s daft to be leaving that age group behind whilst vaccinating young people with the most minute risk of death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Responder XY

Multipass wrote: »
    I don’t understand why they don’t pause the 30s, and give the over 60s an mRNA vaccine. They are multiples more at risk, they deserve the most effective vaccine.

Because there's no need - they can finish with AZ within the next two weeks, they wouldn't be able to do much quicker no matter what vaccine they used and it would be slower if they considered a full dose of mRNA was required as effectively that would be to restart the clock and consider AZ wasted.

Also - not my generation, but my parents, parents in law and as far as I know all my aunts and uncles in their 60s got their second dose done now (some got last Friday) - not exactly a good sampling methodology, but good indication that they are well on the way to getting that one done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

TomTomTim wrote: »
    The same science that initially told us not to wear masks?
    Science changes depending on available evidence, its called the scientific method. You should look it up seeing as you obviously left school before it was taught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭growleaves

Can ye stop with the obsessive use of the word cohorts.

There's a certain cohort who keep using the word "cohort".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

growleaves wrote: »

Recohorsion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭Timmy O Toole

growleaves wrote: »

Last year it was 'setting'. Instead of saying pub they'd say a pub setting. Baahaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,111 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Quite a move by Boris today, apparently he's no up to date data, he's saying possibly 50,000 cases a day by the 19th July and whilst I can understand the need for restrictions being lifted, the facemask decision quite a move. I could be wrong but I think he might have gone too far (just a humble opinion, not biting off of heads please)

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Dempo1 wrote: »
    I could be wrong but I think he might have gone too far (just a humble opinion, not biting off of heads please)

I think he undoubtedly has; which isn't really surprising considering his performance pandemic-wise thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Fair play to Boris, enough is enough, vaccines rolled out so getting the show on the road.

Can only hope the Brits colonise us again. Failing that I'd take direct rule from Brussels.

Anything over the spineless gutless crowd we have now, only thing worse I can think of is the opposition.

Fair play to Boris, enough is enough, vaccines rolled out so getting the show on the road.

Can only hope the Brits colonise us again. Failing that I'd take direct rule from Brussels.

Anything over the spineless gutless crowd we have now, only thing worse I can think of is the opposition.

OMG, re colonise us, that's going to get a reaction :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

rob316 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/IrishTimesWorld/status/1411999565297819655?s=20

Look at this rubbish headline. If you actually read the article then you'll learn the following.

-tested 40 hours before the event
    - tests weren't supervised so were naturally tampered with and certs were screenshot and shared around
    - certs were given out straight after vaccination as opposed to the recommended 2 weeks

This is the sort of crap that NPHET will use as an example against the use of anti gen testing and the "dangers" still there after vaccination.

The headline should be "Dutch nightclub ****s up test event"

Ah so not just Ireland some believe ****s up things to do with covid? That a new one alright ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Quite a move by Boris today, apparently he's no up to date data, he's saying possibly 50,000 cases a day by the 19th July and whilst I can understand the need for restrictions being lifted, the facemask decision quite a move. I could be wrong but I think he might have gone too far (just a humble opinion, not biting off of heads please)

There's 2 polls today, one a YouGov and some other one, they YouGov have something like 76% in disgareement with his move to have no requirement for masks indoors and on public transport, his scientific advisor wasn't too enthusiastic about it either when questioned.

Hurrache wrote: »
    There's 2 polls today, one a YouGov and some other one, they YouGov have something like 76% in disgareement with his move to have no requirement for masks indoors and on public transport, his scientific advisor wasn't too enthusiastic about it either when questioned.

I didn't see his press conference but on captions after it, I didn't see the usual medical experts either side of him.

I think a total removal of mask requirements, particularly public transport etc might not have been wise, I know vacinne roll out successfull but cases really high in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,049 ✭✭✭Storm 10

I didn't see his press conference but on captions after it, I didn't see the usual medical experts either side of him.

I think a total removal of mask requirements, particularly public transport etc might not have been wise, I know vacinne roll out successfull but cases really high in the UK

They were there on either side of him at the press conference

Storm 10 wrote: »
    They were there on either side of him at the press conference

Apologies, I only saw some captions afterwards

Geography lesson required by you, England does not equate to Britain.

Apologies, I only saw some captions afterwards

Chris Whitty said that he will continue to wear a mask because the epidemic is significant and rising at the moment, Vallance of the same view.

Great bit of mixed messaging, but it's Johnson basically saying **** it, don't want to have to deal with this anymore, away yis go and do what you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There's 2 polls today, one a YouGov and some other one, they YouGov have something like 76% in disagreement with his move to have no requirement for masks indoors and on public transport, his scientific advisor wasn't too enthusiastic about it either when questioned.

And if that 76% of people want to continue wearing masks, no-one will stop them.

That is the biggest issue here. A complete loss of ability to make an independent decision and take an action without a Government directive/mandate. It's not exactly something healthy in a democracy either incidentally.

Same problem in this country.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    And if that 76% of people want to continue wearing masks, no-one will stop them.

That is the biggest issue here. A complete loss of ability to make an independent decision and take an action without a Government directive/mandate. It's not exactly something healthy in a democracy either incidentally.

It's not the same problem, and you fail to understand, at this stage in the pandemic staggeringly, the purpose of people wearing masks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭jakiah

So what? You suddenly care about public sentiment about lifting restrictions do you? They should just take the instruction handed down from on high, like you suggest people questioning restrictions on this thread do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Restaurant representative on Drivetime just now saying it’s gonna be a paper based vaccine pass for indoor dining. 1.8m letters or emails proposed to go out in the next 7 to 10 days. App would take months.

Surely that is pointless? There will people scamming the system left right and centre. I’m not vaccinated but no way my publican is gonna stop me from going indoors. Fake email away ya go.

I seen him the other day for the first time and he comes across as a craven weakling. Then seeing him today proved suspicions correct.

Imagine needing a vaccine passport to sit in McDonald's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

TomSweeney wrote: »
    "There are better days ahead" :P

"You are Borg - You will be assimilated"........:eek:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭landofthetree

https://twitter.com/HugoGye/status/1412080015198543874

I agree with this. We need to open up soon or it will be too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Leftwaffe wrote: »
    Restaurant representative on Drivetime just now saying it’s gonna be a paper based vaccine pass for indoor dining. 1.8m letters or emails proposed to go out in the next 7 to 10 days. App would take months.

Surely that is pointless? There will people scamming the system left right and centre. I’m not vaccinated but no way my publican is gonna stop me from going indoors. Fake email away ya go.

Very Irish of us to roll out a system that is immediately useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭landofthetree

Chris Whitty said that he will continue to wear a mask because the epidemic is significant and rising at the moment, Vallance of the same view.

Great bit of mixed messaging, but it's Johnson basically saying **** it, don't want to have to deal with this anymore, away yis go and do what you want.

If we can't get rid of masks it just means that vaccines are usless.

That's the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Hope I am wrong but seems the UK are taking unnecessary risks.

A few colleagues today said similar to me.

I just hope the “great Bozza Jozza” takes full responsibility if it goes down the sh1tter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,684 ✭✭✭Penfailed

No but punters will be allow stay on the premises drinking until 3am as I already stated also.

Not every night.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Personally i like the man in the big house to make all my decisions for me, that way i never have to take responsibility and i always have someone else to blame if things go wrong. I'm a big f*cking infant and i love it.