Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Athletics 2021

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,533 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Not a bad night out for Jakob! Hopefully edging closer to his first ever global medal. Tokyo wouldn't be a bad place to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

Great run from Cossie, he csn start to dream of tokyo.

This meet is delivering! Wale misses world record by 0.08.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭4Ad

What a 3000metre race. Ethiopian Wale wins in an astonishing 7.24.98
    8 hundreds of a second off the World Record.
    Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Almost a WR for the 3k!

Great stuff

Thanks for posting the link, great way to pass a lockdown evening. Very enjoyable

TbL

Another World record gone in ladies 1500mts by Tsegay..

Tsegay world record!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Absolutely brilliant running!

Didn't see that coming from Tsegay, for someone that's always struggled with their finishing speed. Equivalent to a 4:10 mile, race to Tokyo just got very interesting.

Great they got the Pom Pom girls from Nirvanas Smell Like Teen Spirit video to turn up !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Coscoran is the real deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Great running there. Unusual to have such big winning margins indoors at that level. Muir blown away and still ran 3.59...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Ceepo wrote: »
    Great running there. Unusual to have such big winning margins indoors at that level. Muir blown away and still ran 3.59...

It was a great performance, but it left me cold. She wasn’t even breathing heavily crossing the finishing line.

I know she ran 3:54 in Doha, but I’m just incredulous that she blew Muir away in that manner, who herself ran brilliantly, going sub-4.

Well I think the gap between them was so profound because Laura initially held back, thinking Tsegay had been led out too hard and she was gonna come back to her. Laura was never running 3:53, but I think it could've been closer if she went out harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭BobBobBobBob

The auld carbon plates spikes....

Tsegay was wearing Adidas Avanti by the looks of things. No carbon plate

https://youtu.be/06cV_j6-KTc

Live athletics from USA tonight.

4Ad wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/06cV_j6-KTc

Live athletics from USA tonight.

Thanks, do you have the program card?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Thanks, do you have the program card?

TbL

https://www.watchathletics.com/article/11329/start-lists-new-balance-indoor-grand-prix-2021

There ya go Sweetcheeks!!!

Mainly sprint events tonight so doesn't hold as much interest for me, but I'll give it a watch all the same. Be good to see Emma Coburn in what I think is her first race of the season. Don't think we'll be seeing any crazy fast time like in Lievin though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Mainly sprint events tonight so doesn't hold as much interest for me, but I'll give it a watch all the same. Be good to see Emma Coburn in what I think is her first race of the season. Don't think we'll be seeing any crazy fast time like in Lievin though.

I wouldn't rule out crazily fast times. A couple of University of Oregon guys ran 3:50 for the mile indoor last night (7th and 8th on the all-time indoor mile list), while the guy who finished 3rd ran 3:53 and then ran an 800 today in 1:45.

Everybody seems to be in great shape right now. It's just a weird time.

Siofra Cléirigh-Buttner is running in the women's 800m at it too, I think. And 5 Irish women have already ran under 2:05 today: Nadia Power, Iseult O'Donnell, Louise Shanahan, Katie Kirk, and Ciara Mageean... I saw on twitter that 5 Irish women have never run under 2:05 in an entire indoor season, so doing it one day shows how far depth in the event in Ireland has come on in the last 12-18 months. Will be very interesting to see how Siofra does.

[Edit: Damn it. Just saw the start lists - Siofra's in the 1500m]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Sacksian wrote: »
    Will be very interesting to see how Siofra does.

[Edit: Damn it. Just saw the start lists - Siofra's in the 1500m]

3rd in 4:09 - a PB and a Euro standard.

Did the stream only start part way through the meet?

TbL

Run img some strange (to me) distances, what’s the purpose of a 300 metres for example?

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭MY BAD

Run img some strange (to me) distances, what’s the purpose of a 300 metres for example?

TbL

One lap of most indoor tracks

MY BAD wrote: »
    One lap of most indoor tracks

I thought most of them are 200?

Great times for Purrier and Coburn there. Purrier 3rd or 4th on the all time list, Coburn 9th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

TbL

Good baseline for 400m runners early in the year.

Good test of strength for 200m runners

It's useful early season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Tiffany Porter wearing a mask for her race. Bizarre.

Great 1500 from the Australian

TbL

I thought a false start in the sprints was an automatic disqualification, there seemed to be some debate before they disqualified the woman sprinter with a “red card” What's the story?

TbL

Andrew Coscoran running again tomorrow in Val-De-Reuil. Another stacked field by the sounds of it. Hopefully a link will be available.

Thanks again for the link keep them coming

Saves me having to watch **** like some masked singer dressed as a f’ing burger with Mrs TbL :)

TbL

Thanks again for the link keep them coming

Saves me having to watch **** like some masked singer dressed as a f’ing burger with Mrs TbL :)

TbL

Ah c’mon we don’t need to know what you see in the mirror with the missus...,,,

OOnegative wrote: »
    Ah c’mon we don’t need to know what you see in the mirror with the missus...,,,

Ceiling mirror I only see the bun...:)

TbL

https://youtu.be/dyj2SQ6BtFY

Beatrice Chepkoech broke Women’s Road 5k WR this morning in Monaco, races above.

https://www.watchathletics.com/schedule/watchlive/5461

Stream for today’s meet in l’Eure Val - de - Reuil.

• Registered Users Posts: 44 TeaTotal

Any able to find the timetable for event? Looking for Coscoran's race

TeaTotal wrote: »
    Any able to find the timetable for event? Looking for Coscoran's race

It’s in the link above!

4.15 for finn, imagine its a pb

• Registered Users Posts: 44 TeaTotal

Thanks, don't know how I missed that.
    Good win for M. Finn in 1500m - 4:15

2.04ish for iseult o donnell. winner in 1.56ish. results and start list are hard to come by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Trampas

https://youtu.be/dyj2SQ6BtFY

Beatrice Chepkoech broke Women’s Road 5k WR this morning in Monaco, races above.

It was awful coverage of women’s race. The cameras weren’t even with Chepkoech but other women

Chepkoech beating a record set by Hassan, didn't see that coming wow.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Brian Fay and Luke McCann booking there seat for Torun

DTC now with a full complement

EuM9Ln7XYAQphfx?format=jpg&name=medium

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

KSU wrote: »

Make that 4, Robinson with a 3.39.

When is the last time we had 2 sub 3.40s in a single year?

KSU wrote: »

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/planes-trains-and-automobiles-get-kellys-crew-in-euro-frame-40088542.html

Not all champagne & skittles for them either. Some dedication that.

The glitter of being elite athlete.
    Sean had the highest of praise for his pacing in the Rome Diamond league race, Sean then planned to raced in Kenya last autumn, shortly after racing a 3k in Spain, after the 3k he flew home for 24hrs, had a another covid test, before taking a flight to Amsterdam, there was a delay with his covid results which resulted in him missing his connecting flight to Kenya, had to wait in the airport for 24hrs for the next flight. Landed in Nairobi at 10pm, got to the hotel at 12.30 am, raced that day, rushed out of the stadium back to the hotel, quick shower and had to be back at the airport for 9.30pm to check in for his flight home.

Sometimes we the public don't take any of these circumstances into the equation when we critique how some athletes has performed..

Might be worth remembering that the vast majority of athletics have to endure these trial and tribulations to try earn a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Given his extensive contacts with meet directors across Europe, Bideau has been able to secure slots for DTC members at meetings. The only hitch has been they have been classified as GB runners. “I noticed it when I was checking in before the race,” says Tobin. “I assured them we were Irish, and they promised to change it. But the GB label still came up on television. I don’t know why it happened

That explains the flag I saw on the stream last week and then the French commentator constantly referring to Tobin as "Le Britanique".

https://www.watchathletics.com/schedule/watchlive/5462

Live Athletics tonight from Orlen, Poland. Links above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Trampas wrote: »
    It was awful coverage of women’s race. The cameras weren’t even with Chepkoech but other women

They didnt even know she was leading till she crossed the line.

Coe and Paula were a disgrace though. Wouldn't address why Bahta was suspended, instead said she was off for the year.

Coe also mentioning the hotel, oh that is where we have our big meetings with a laugh.