Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,447 ✭✭✭Ginger n Lemon

I am reading below this morning

"It’s also been confirmed that all arrivals into Ireland, except for certain exceptions, will face mandatory quarantine either at home or in a hotel. "

Erm. So. Who is gonna be checking up on that @ at home? Seeing how Gardai are busy patrolling empty beaches?

More importantly - how?? if they cant enter the house without a judge order?

froog wrote: »
    to be fair, you don't even understand how this virus is transmitted on a basic level. the idea that people staying away from each other will lead to less cases and hence less deaths seems completely beyond your comprehension.

You think lockdown prevented 50M deaths and the economy is grand...

Let’s not get into comprehension on things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

An adult conversation around death needs to take place soon or else we’ll always have posters like Froog suggesting that if we stop living we will be rewarded with less people dying.

Most people’s parents explain the concept of death to them at a young age. But 2020 was the year that lots forgot the lesson.

And now we have MM in the news giving out about social media pressure. Deep down he knows that this is b*llox.

No death is fine, so long as it's not covid related!!!

They figured out that if you flatten the curve insufficiently, when you open up, your curve quickly goes to **** again, leaving you back where you started. You have to crush it.

Impossible to crush something that is endemic

And thats just in Ireland :pac:

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

darconio wrote: »
    When Leo is proclaiming that we won't be able to travel for another year what does that sound to you if not like a forced lockdown on our existence?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/tanaiste-mandatory-quarantine-not-ruled-out-but-if-brought-in-will-probably-be-for-a-year-40010937.html

Well it seems that the majority wouldn't be bothered and for that I rest my case about trying to reason a viable compromise.

Not being able to go were I want when I want is comparable to being locked in a cage: sometimes they let the door open but we are on a very short leash. I regret I didn't fly to visit my family when I had the opportunity because I wanted to be compliant: as a token of appreciation we are now told that I won't be able to do so probably for another 12 months.

Except Leo didn't say that. You'll be able to travel but there will be a mandatory quarantine. They're still 'ifs', 'buts' and 'maybes' though.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Penfailed wrote: »
    Except Leo didn't say that. You'll be able to travel but there will be a mandatory quarantine. They're still 'ifs', 'buts' and 'maybes' though.

And how much will this quarantine cost ?

thousands per person I'd imagine, so another year I won't see my parents or they see their grandkids.

Thanks Leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭alentejo

If foreign travel is off this year, please open the pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,567 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Impossible to crush something that is endemic

The Flu says hi!

TomSweeney wrote: »
    so another year I won't see my parents or

Thanks Leo

I don't know what you are thanking Leo for, the Irish ports and borders have been open.

Lad on here went to Lanza a couple of weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

i said lockdowns around the world probably prevented 20-50 million deaths. why do you keep misquoting me on that? very childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

DeanAustin wrote: »
    My original post was talking about the conspiracy theory stuff whereby people think governments are using Covid to strip away freedoms with a view to never giving them back. That's nonsense for the reasons I've outlined.

The rest of what you've said is fair enough. But it's still politicians trying to manage the narrative that what they are doing (i.e. minimising deaths/cases) is the right thing so that they find favour with the public and get votes next time we go to the ballot box. That's always the end game for politicians - "how do we get as many votes as possible in the next election" rather than "how can we remove everyone's freedom and rule the country without the inconvenience of an election."

The government has set their stall out clearly on covid. Their stated priority is minimising cases and saving lives above everything else. That's their guiding principle so what you've outlined is them being consistent with that aim. The approach is also logical and is being followed by other governments around the world. You can disagree with it but it's a very logical strategy to pursue.

If there is an alternative way to manage this crisis, it's up to the media and the opposition to put that forward. It's not the government's job to challenge their own strategy once they've decided on it.

I sometimes think people think that there is a solution to this crisis. "If only the government did x, things would be much better and this problem would go away." There isn't. Without a vaccine, we're just moving deckchairs around the Titanic. Personally, I think the government have done a decent job - they're managing an impossible situation.

That’s all very reasonable, and your point is a very sincere and well-expressed one.

We do seem to come to a similar meeting point however — even if our thought process for getting there differs — in that we both acknowledge a motivation on the part of politicians to get votes and (ergo) save their own careers. So it leads us, I would imagine, to a similar place where we can both say that it’s within the realms of reason that politicians in this country are susceptible to making decisions on the Covid crisis that they may deem to be the right ones for saving their reputations, rather than out of any burning desire to save lives.

My view on the Covid strategy has been, since the beginning really, that Ireland has particular demographic, geographic and cultural advantages that would allow us to push our risk tolerance upwards. People got scared by Italy — and there were not many taking a step back and asking “what is the actual data From Italy telling us?”. I mean, I spent a large portion of March and early April arguing with people that the virus did not pose a significant threats to young people — and there was still an attitude among many at that stage that the virus was so broadly severe that it could cripple society entirely by also striking down the young and economically active.

The measures we took in the early days were deemed commensurate and proportional to a far greater risk — and time has shown that while Covid is to be taken extremely seriously in its potential to place severe strain on the health service — it is not quite at the level of existential threat to society that was once feared (think the 96,000 Covid deaths by July an academic study in Sweden predicted, when in reality they had 96,000 total deaths by all causes for the entire year of 2020).

But as I have said many times, acknowledging this reality and advocating a ramping-up of our risk tolerance requires people in high offices to risk their reputations and the destruction of their careers. Elevating the risk tolerance means elevated deaths and probably a period of health severe service strain — and those who advocate it will in time be destroyed for it. They are done essentially. So it’s much safer to say “the current strategy saves lives” because that’s a fairly bullet-proof moral standpoint, or alternatively it’s also kind of easy to say “if we were to change tactic it should be NZ style”, which is also pretty morally watertight. Defending a policy of upping the risk tolerance is a much more nuanced stance, where you have to say some pretty uncomfortable things and be ready to face the barrage for saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

The numbers (cases, hospitalisations, deaths) go down when we enforce harsh restrictions/lock down. And they go back up when we ease them. Therefore, it's easy to look at that and say, "hey, that works, we should do that." However, when looked at in the light of human rights, I don't think it's clear that lockdowns is what we should be doing, even if it's effective in short term reductions in cases.

Is our current "strategy" a violation of human rights? If so, is it OK to violate them if there's utility in doing so?

From the UN Declaration of Human Rights

"Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person."

"No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile."

"(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state.
    (2) Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country."

"(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association."

Can anyone argue that our current restrictions are not in violation of these rights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

i said lockdowns around the world probably prevented 20-50 million deaths. why do you keep misquoting me on that? very childish.

But yet those nations who didn’t lockdown didn’t have any more excess than those nations who did.

Let’s ignore that though, your imaginary figures are really patriotic

The numbers (cases, hospitalisations, deaths) go down when we enforce harsh restrictions/lock down. And they go back up when we ease them. Therefore, it's easy to look at that and say, "hey, that works, we should do that." However, when looked at in the light of human rights, I don't think it's clear that lockdowns is what we should be doing, even if it's effective in short term reductions in cases.

Is our current "strategy" a violation of human rights? If so, is it OK to violate them if there's utility in doing so?

From the UN Declaration of Human Rights

"Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person."

"No one shall be subjected to arbitrary arrest, detention or exile."

"(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of movement and residence within the borders of each state.
    (2) Everyone has the right to leave any country, including his own, and to return to his country."

"(1) Everyone has the right to freedom of peaceful assembly and association."

Can anyone argue that our current restrictions are not in violation of these rights?

That was all ready tested in our courts by 2 fine christian citizens, they got fúcked out of it and costs awarded against them.

By all means you are free though to take your own case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,696 ✭✭✭Penfailed

I imagine that keeping an entire country confined to their homes for most of a year with no clear path forward is a good policy.

No one, at any stage, has been confined to their homes.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Boggles wrote: »
    That was all ready tested in our courts by 2 fine christian citizens, they got fúcked out of it and costs awarded against them.

By all means you are free though to take your own case.

Well, to that I'll just quote Article 30 from the same document I posted:

"Nothing in this Declaration may be interpreted as implying for any State, group or person any right to engage in any activity or to perform any act aimed at the destruction of any of the rights and freedoms set forth herein."

And I'll re-state the question to you. Do you think that our current restrictions are in violation of the rights outlined by the UN?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Penfailed wrote: »
    No one, at any stage, has been confined to their homes.

Absolutely correct although going by some on here you would think the whole country has been sealed Wuhan style in their homes. Typical of the usual nonsense spewed out by the permanently outraged cohort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭SheepsClothing

What will we crush it with? Hammer? :rolleyes:

Crush it like the zero covid countries have. You know, those countries that are back to basically normal life now, and which have had both the fewest deaths and the strongest economic performance during the pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

But yet those nations who didn’t lockdown didn’t have any more excess than those nations who did.

Let’s ignore that though, your imaginary figures are really patriotic

oh yeah?

541094.JPG

Well, to that I'll just quote Article 30 from the same document I posted:

"Nothing in this Declaration may be interpreted as implying for any State, group or person any right to engage in any activity or to perform any act aimed at the destruction of any of the rights and freedoms set forth herein."

And I'll re-state the question to you. Do you think that our current restrictions are in violation of the rights outlined by the UN?

The High Court says no. But for some reason you want my opinion?

Like I suggested you are free to take a case. Print off your quotes and head on in there.

Boggles wrote: »
    The High Court says no. But for some reason you want my opinion?

Like I suggested you are free to take a case. Print off your quotes and head on in there.

Noted. :)

oh yeah?

541094.JPG

Swedish deaths per million in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 were higher than in 2020.

Froog I know this isnt easy to take, but lockdowns genuinely do not do as much as you think they do.

have you ever wondered why, if lockdowns are so effective and useful, a cost benefit analysis of a lockdown has not been conducted or published by the govt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

Time to book the holiday, quote article 30 to the Garda when stopped happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Swedish deaths per million in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 were higher than in 2020.

Froog I know this isnt easy to take, but lockdowns genuinely do not do as much as you think they do.

have you ever wondered why, if lockdowns are so effective and useful, a cost benefit analysis of a lockdown has not been conducted or published by the govt?

No they weren't
    https://www.statista.com/statistics/525353/sweden-number-of-deaths/
    5 year average deaths Sweden 90,500
    Deaths 2020 98,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭uli84

Some good news from abroad, Map shows Polish businesses reopening in defiance of “illegal” lockdown, glad to see good few court cases won

https://notesfrompoland.com/2021/01/15/map-shows-polish-businesses-reopening-in-defiance-of-illegal-lockdown/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

oh yeah?

541094.JPG

no 2 countries are a perfect match for each other, if you look at a population density map, Sweden is higher.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

oh yeah?

541094.JPG

I am not dismissing this but you need to give a little context.
    Like what is blue and what is red and most importantly in 'excess' to what exactly? 2019? An average of something?

Also mortality tables and excess deaths is measured over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Cerveza wrote: »
    Time to book the holiday, quote article 30 to the Garda when stopped happy days.

I suppose somebody can quote Artice 30 to the Garda all they want. It will at least pass a few minutes while the Garda is taking details before issuing them with the increased 500 euro fine for breach of the travel regulations.

And do you think that's in violation of the UN Human Rights Declaration? If not, why not?