Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Covid 19 Part XXVII- 62,002 ROI (1,915 deaths) 39,609 NI (724 deaths) (02/11) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

The old line of the dispensable elderly is being replaced by the shiny new line of the hysterical elderly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Well just one example for you . My grandchild is just started walking
    She will need shoes , she needs to be measures and fitted .
    Thats only one small example . How come clothes didn’t seem a huge issue last March when at least we could buy a pair of shoes

That is a good example.
    I seem to remember at some point when shops were previously shut that a local shoe shop was taking private appointments for this kind of thing.

Also, you can buy the Clark's shoe measuring thing online and then buy shoes. Not ideal obviously but better than nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,257 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

AnniePowwa wrote: »
    so after a long week at work you can't get a pint ,you want it so you cant even ate a bit of chocolate , who knew ireland had so many freaks

Yep... After a long week at work you can’t get a pint because of covid. Covid doesn’t give a fuûck if you’ve had a long week at work, a short week petting goats. .... if you end up in a pub environment where distancing won’t and can’t be managed, where the consumption of alcoholic beverages will lower inhibitions, will cloud judgment and decision making... will fuel incidents that will put greater burdens on health services and Gardai..... No way in hell should pubs be open, Jesus. We cannot afford that fallout...

If people want a few drinks at home with the other half, watching Netflix, on their own watching the match they can obtain alcohol in the supermarket. Have their drinks, keeping it at home, distant, safe and responsible.

Alcohol has not been banned. The manner and location in which it can be consumed has been adjusted so as to limit the health risk and burden on an over burdened health service, a health service made up of thousands of people who at the coal face endure high levels of risk for themselves and their families on a daily basis, minute by minute, hour by hour, day after day.

All that is being asked of US is that we don’t go to pubs ?! That’s playing our part... thats a fûcking small ask considering what’s been happening, a tiny ask considering what others, such as medical people are doing for US... let’s do something for them and each other.. we can cook at home, drink at home, we don’t need pubs, keep em closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2020/09/k-overlooked-variable-driving-pandemic/616548/

Very interesting piece in the Atlantic mostly asking why we don’t focus more on dispersion of virus instead of the R0 that’s perhaps not the best way to manage things when evidence suggests 20% of those infected are spreading it the most. Basically rigorous contact tracing back to find the super spreaders and the conditions that make it worse.

Also some interesting comments on cheap mass testing benefits , particularly in a super spreader event. They also feel there is far to much discussion on Sweden with no real benefit to it regardless of your stance.

Interesting point on Japan stadiums opening up but with no chanting. In short we can open up more with some adjustments.

A very good read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭forumdedum

road_high wrote: »
    That the guy who reviews films and that? At least 5 stone overweight? Ok..!

That's him.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

530758.JPG
    ]

3 weeks of national level three is where we are today

14 day incidence down massively

prunudo wrote: »
    I'm not saying its not possible. But he could also have picked it up from a door handle or a petrol pump. He just wanted to blame somebody else, in this case the joggers. He can't say for certain it was them yet he went on a wild rant about their behaviour.

Guess we'd have to ask Bill if he wipes down door handles or sanitises his hands after refuelling his car.

I don't recall it being a wild rant.

I would like like a bunch of sweating joggers passing by close to me. I would be worried.

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Yes people seem to think it's in the air.

I prefer to be safe than sorry. Droplets from speech etc can hit you if wind doesn't blow them away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Evil granny killer sociopath joggers

Stheno wrote: »
    3 weeks of national level three is where we are today

14 day incidence down massively

Only the growth - 14 day incidence seems to have topped out, but is not falling

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Gruffalux wrote: »
    The old line of the dispensable elderly is being replaced by the shiny new line of the hysterical elderly.
    The asshole who gets off on invading the space of passers by hasn't changed since the start though.

They'd want to make sure it's old women they frighten. If they do that and I see it they'll be clogging up the hospital system for a completely different reason.

s1ippy wrote: »
    The asshole who gets off on invading the space of passers by hasn't changed since the start though.

They'd want to make sure it's old women they frighten. If they do that and I see it they'll be clogging up the hospital system for a completely different reason.

Lave him, Slippy, lave him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

bush wrote: »
    Evil granny killer sociopath joggers

qu'est-ce que c'est?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭fits

SusanC10 wrote: »
    That is a good example.
    I seem to remember at some point when shops were previously shut that a local shoe shop was taking private appointments for this kind of thing.

Also, you can buy the Clark's shoe measuring thing online and then buy shoes. Not ideal obviously but better than nothing.

Tip Top Toes in kilkenny are very helpful. Phone them! They posted shoes out to me in April.

( they might suggest leaving her shoes a little while)

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

fits wrote: »

( they might suggest leaving her shoes a little while)

Yep. Learning to walk is better barefoot as much as possible. Or very soft shoe for outside that does not need to be precisely fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

I am seeing very differently, elderly people who were in isolation the last lockdown, got all food delivered etc seem to be in the town multiple times a week now, they are taking a very different approach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

polesheep wrote: »
    I don't see panic myself. What I do see is a difficulty in buying clothes. Even when restrictions were lighter it was next to impossible to try clothes on in shops and sizes actually vary a lot. Apart from a pair of shoes bought online, I haven't been able to buy clothes since last January.

I went into a few clothes shops when the restrictions lifted and just found the whole thing so much hassle that I bought online.

Things like T-shirt’s are no issue, but I’ve found I’ve ordered jeans and coats that didn’t fit at all and had to return them. It’s actually not that easy to shop for stuff like that online as sizing isn’t very consistent between manufacturers and brands.

Shoes are just a total nightmare for me online. Bought 5 pairs and of those only 1 fits and the rest were returned straight away.

Even shirts haven’t worked out well.

I’m getting to the stage I’m just wearing jeans and jumpers all the time now. I won’t need any formal clothes for the foreseeable future, but I do need a coat and I have had really big issues getting those online before. Sizing isn’t very accurate.

Basically I’m just wearing things until they wear out now.

Between that and COVID hair, I’ve just gone past caring.

I am seeing very differently, elderly people who were in isolation the last lockdown, got all food delivered etc seem to be in the town multiple times a week now, they are taking a very different approach.

I'm not the one saying they are plunging themselves shrieking into bushes upon the approach of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,694 ✭✭✭timmyntc

If that's the case, then why not stay in level3 indefinitely?
    We've found a limit whereby we can still live our lives and stop the virus spread from going out of control?

Surely that's the definition of 'living with covid'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

People like Pat Kenny and Eamon Dunphy certainly give life to this new line of hysterical elderly to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

qu'est-ce que c'est?

People like Pat Kenny and Eamon Dunphy certainly give life to this new line of hysterical elderly to be fair.

No idea. I am blessed to have listened to neither of them in decades.

Strumms wrote: »
    Yep... After a long week at work you can’t get a pint because of covid. Covid doesn’t give a fuûck if you’ve had a long week at work, a short week petting goats. .... if you end up in a pub environment where distancing won’t and can’t be managed, where the consumption of alcoholic beverages will lower inhibitions, will cloud judgment and decision making... will fuel incidents that will put greater burdens on health services and Gardai..... No way in hell should pubs be open, Jesus. We cannot afford that fallout...

If people want a few drinks at home with the other half, watching Netflix, on their own watching the match they can obtain alcohol in the supermarket. Have their drinks, keeping it at home, distant, safe and responsible.

Alcohol has not been banned. The manner and location in which it can be consumed has been adjusted so as to limit the health risk and burden on an over burdened health service, a health service made up of thousands of people who at the coal face endure high levels of risk for themselves and their families on a daily basis, minute by minute, hour by hour, day after day.

All that is being asked of US is that we don’t go to pubs ?! That’s playing our part... thats a fûcking small ask considering what’s been happening, a tiny ask considering what others, such as medical people are doing for US... let’s do something for them and each other.. we can cook at home, drink at home, we don’t need pubs, keep em closed.
    This is so disengenous. We are being asked so much more. Even your example shows your ignorance, 'have a drink with your other half at home'. Not everyone lives in that scenario! We aren't allowed to see our friends, if you don't live with with your other half etc. these are huge restrictions so stop with your pontificating crap.

And is there anything more annoying than people personifying the bloody virus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,999 ✭✭✭Russman

timmyntc wrote: »
    We've found a limit whereby we can still live our lives and stop the virus spread from going out of control?

I doubt the virus can ever be stopped and held at a given level. It seems to me that it will always be spreading or always receding, due to human behaviour. No matter what level we're at, people will take liberties, get careless, get unlucky, whatever, and it will find a way to spread IMO. Then as we lockdown it begins to recede til we open up again. And so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

There is a cloud over the numbers from last week due to contact tracing breakdown.

1k a day is probably too high for the hospitals (if winter flu does come. It may not).

Christmas is coming and whatever restrictions are supposed to be in for christmas there will be mass gatherings in homes, rushes to the shops etc and the r number will spike. We need to reduce the numbers before that.

I would not be surprised to see another lockdown after christmas then level 3 till vaccine is distributed to all vulnerable groups after the cases numbers are brought down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,592 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The Health Service Executive has promised that in eight weeks' time it will have 800 contact tracers recruited to deal with Covid-19

Jaysus, take yer time lads, calm down.

No rush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

AdamD wrote: »
    This is so disengenous. We are being asked so much more. Even your example shows your ignorance, 'have a drink with your other half at home'. Not everyone lives in that scenario! We aren't allowed to see our friends, if you don't live with with your other half etc. these are huge restrictions so stop with your pontificating crap.

And is there anything more annoying than people personifying the bloody virus?

You should just scroll by this lads posts. Anyone that describes a 12 year old child as a ' needy bollix' regarding mental health is not worthy of engagement.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I thought this was originally meant to be the whole plan with opening up. Open up slowly and see what works and what doesn't. Basically find a level of restrictions that keep the virus at a low, steady level that we can manage and deal with. It makes sense.

I haven’t listened to Dunphy for a while. Does he still do that podcast or whatever it is. I must have a listen and a chuckle at his rants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

7-day has been falling since the 22nd, the 14-day will always lag behind.

Assuming the current trend is continuing, the 14-day will probably stay level or increase today, and will start to drop tomorrow.