Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VI - **Read OP for Mod Warnings**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    think id rather see their psychological profiles to be honest, because some are seriously judgmental

Nah I’d rather see the physical side- because that’s what we are actually talking about and is relevant to Covid 19- if you’re fat you’re much more vulnerable to a respiratory infection and that colours your view completely on things.
    If someone has poor lifestyle choices then that’s their responsibility- not mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,056 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Nah I’d rather see the physical side- because that’s what we are actually talking about and is relevant to Covid 19- if you’re fat you’re much more vulnerable to a respiratory infection and that colours your view completely on things.
    If someone has poor lifestyle choices then that’s their responsibility- not mine

oh ffs! some ignorant cnuts on this site!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

so whats your point?
    think id rather see their psychological profiles to be honest, because some are seriously judgmental

My point is that every opportunity for citizens to prevent obesity should be an easily accessible utility.

It’s also should be encouraged every bulletin by NPHET and every radio show by that flute Duffy, that along with washing your hands you should watch your weight.

I’m not seriously judgemental, I’m highlighting a readily available pre treatment for Covid.

My point is that every opportunity for citizens to prevent obesity should be an easily accessible utility.

It’s also should be encouraged every bulletin by NPHET and every radio show by that flute Duffy, that along with washing your hands you should watch your weight.

I’m not seriously judgemental, I’m highlighting a readily available pre treatment for Covid.

thats fair enough, but obesity is a complex eating disorder, thats truly psychologically based

Really? It’s a fact- deal with it. If all you can come up with is hysterical name calling then that’s your issue- not mine.

thats fair enough, but obesity is a complex eating disorder, thats truly psychologically based

No one said it isn’t - but that doesn’t let people off the hook or change the reality re Covid 19- they are many times more vulnerable.
    Plenty of obese people I know are just lazy- they have a terrible attitude. And it’s nothing to do with psychological problems which many are all too fast to hide behind and excuse themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Penfailed

patnor1011 wrote: »
    It is problematic to declare some news factual and other disinfo when coming from the same source which by the way is considered as not reliable.
    And all that based on your own personal belief or when it supports your narrative.

What information in the article was not factual or what disinformation was there?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, And So I Watch You From Afar

There is really nothing ignorant about that post! The truth hurts and now you cannot even have a debate about things like obesity or you are called an "ignorant cnut"?? Like it or not this has to be spoken about. We all have a responsibility to look after OURSELVES. This is so that we try and remain healthy as much as possible. So we are LESS of a burden on the healthcare system. This goes beyond Covid. It also means less risk for serious health issues like coronary disease, diabetes and associated side effects, hip and knee replacements, back issues, respiratory illness, higher risk pregnancies and surgery.....etc etc.

Interestingly a GP from Cavan was on Newstalk this morning. They have a HUGE increase in Covid cases - over 1000 yesterday alone - highest region in Europe right now. BUT nobody is very sick with it, most have very mild symptoms or none at all. That's likely because this spread is in the GAA community so mostly fit young people who are not overweight.
    People need to be encouraged to look after themselves, lose weight, eat better, cut out take away, take Vitamin D.
    But these days nobody wants to take responsibility for themselves and you get called an "ignorant CNUT" for having a point of view. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭moonage

Is it schools? Is it pubs? Is it meat factories? Is it homes? Is it gyms? Is it shops? Is it clown college? Is it fairy rings?

The problem is that it isn't just any of those places, it is all of those places...

It is a very contagious virus that doesn't affect the vast majority of people that catch it, and so once here it is going to be everywhere. It is already everywhere. So, track and trace? Pump billions into that and what you will end up with is a system that simply tells you that people are catching it everywhere. Close the pubs and they get it in gyms. Close the shops and they get it in schools. Close the schools and they get it in sports. Close down the lot and you bankrupt your country.

What does this mean and why does it matter? It is another example of how the governments response is failing because it is based on incorrect core tenants, basically they are starting off on the wrong foot and so everything is wrong from that point on.

The governments starting point is to try and fight the virus, and everything they have do and have done has led from that premise. Stamp it out, find it, track it, defend against it, fight it.

A government starting from the core tenant of "Live with the virus" would act very differently. Unfortunately we are going to waste a year and throw our kids futures in the bin before finally being forced to understand that "fight the virus" was the wrong starting point.

^^^^ Very good post on why track and trace is a futile way of dealing with the virus. But lots of people mistakenly seem to think if only there was a highly effective track and trace system we'd be able to somehow defeat the virus.

The "Living With the Virus" plan should have been called "Not Living With the Virus". Living with it would acknowledge that it is spreading in society and that is fine, provided that the old and vulnerable are shielded as much as possible. That's where the money and effort should have been directed, and into increasing hospital/ICU capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,026 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

So if I'm getting this right, the HSE tried to save a few €100,000 by being tight in in hiring contact tracing staff and that ends up costing the country a few €Billion.

I suppose the Billions don't go on their budget so the big wigs of the HSE must think they're great at managing their budgets.

The same people who brought you Cervical Screening, the New Children's Hospital and The Trolley Crises now are in charge of the country.

The couldn't organise a p1ssup in a brewery. Or if they did, they'd probably serve bottled water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,884 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Obesity puts people at severe risk from Covid.

Not to worry, netflix and gyms shut for 6 months will see to prevent that problem

Nothing stopping people from exercising out in the fresh air. Its actually better for you and a harder work out, which will make you fitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,479 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Yea there was a few in court recently over breaches of the first lockdown.

No there wasn't. Stop spoofing.

Its not true? I know you live in your own little drink driving fantasy world but surely not even you are deluded enough to go down that road? It is absolutely ****ing true and I couldn't give a toss about your imaginary little facts.

I will say, if some health care worker responded to my post then I must have missed it, but I doubt that very much since I wasn't ever even asked the very simple question of where the hospital was. This is just another lie from you.

And as to your point about hospitals having to be even more restricted, even just the question demonstrates the complete lack of nuance you have. Living with Covid in society does not in any way mean that people have to die on their own in hospitals, that you even think that shows yet again that you don't know what you are talking about.

Apologes it wasn't in direct response to your post but it was in the conversation that followed you post here is the quote below. Also I am not saying people should have to die alone, what sort of a person would say they want that to happen, what I am saying is that the evidence and experience I have is that it is not happening the exception possibly being those infected with covid.
    I must say I have worked in two large hospitals here during covid, two of the largest in the country, and in both, dying and critically ill patients can absolutely have family in to visit. It's coordinated between the family and the CNM in charge.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    No there wasn't. Stop spoofing.

Spoofing? You should really make some effort to search to avoid making a fool of yourself. Here is one, first hit on a google search so not very hard to find.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/woman-32-fined-for-breaching-covid-19-lockdown-in-bid-to-stroll-on-salthill-prom-with-boyfriend-39537427.html

Here is another one: https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/he-has-no-excuse-man-broke-covid-restrictions-twice-in-one-day-to-go-fishing-court-hears-39596801.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,627 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Nothing stopping people from exercising out in the fresh air. Its actually better for you and a harder work out, which will make you fitter

Dark wet Winter nights, country roads, great idea.

Seriously though, the government should have launched an initiative to sponsor all citizens to attend a gym for 1 hour per week. Extra gyms should of opened, not shut.

The greatest illusion ever created is that NPHET are concerned with public health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Seriously though, the government should have launched an initiative to sponsor all citizens to attend a gym for 1 hour per week. Extra gyms should of opened, not shut.

The greatest illusion ever created is that NPHET are concerned with public health.

Agree

People really understand how rural parts of Ireland here.

Even in the Dublin suburbs here I have one boring route to run now that is lit (and even not fully) - all the lovely coast/beach/park runs are gone now its winter.

And while the running still helps, the scenery/sounds did as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭KennisWhale

Have been posting the same in the Gyms thread yesterday but you're talking to imbeciles to be honest. The same people who don't see the hypocrisy in the State not banning the sale of alcohol and smokes yet prohibiting gyms from opening are the kind of people who you are dealing with.

They also tend to take a narrow-minded view of a vaccine being a silver bullet to the crisis, it's very much "black-and-white" thinking.

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    No one said it isn’t - but that doesn’t let people off the hook or change the reality re Covid 19- they are many times more vulnerable.
    Plenty of obese people I know are just lazy- they have a terrible attitude. And it’s nothing to do with psychological problems which many are all too fast to hide behind and excuse themselves

you are one ignoratnt cnut, yes it is psychologically based, fcuking talk to any mental health profrssional about this, and they will confirm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,479 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Neither of these cases involve people traveling Connemara from Dublin to holiday homes. Stop spoofing, I know you're intentions are good, but you're doing more damage than good when you're constantly caught lying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

you are one ignoratnt cnut, yes it is psychologically based, fcuking talk to any mental health profrssional about this, and they will confirm

*BREAKING NEWS* You can be lazy without any underlying condition. The world is not black and white.

I'm bone idle a lot of the time. Much prefer sitting around watching tv to running. But every few months i'll realise i'm packing on a bit too much timber and get the runners out and do a bit. I love it when i'm out, but getting there is a struggle and I never stay at it longer than I need to. Haven't run now in about 5 months since I popped my achilles. Could have gone back out any time after about 3 months. Could end up out this weekend. Will all depend on how lazy I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

patnor1011 wrote: »
    But totally true. There is no case whatsoever to wear one outside. None. That means anyone who walks outside with a mask on is afraid. Very afraid. Of what exactly?

It is not judging it is just observing and analyzing situation.

Yes you are judging. How do you know they are afraid.

Maybe they think it's the right thing to do to protect themselves and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,222 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Czech Republic has closed all non essential stores, all non essential trips are banned and people limited to groups of two outside outside family measures.

Spain has said the virus is out of control and tougher nationwide measures are needed.

Guardian also reports panic buying in Germany with the country reporting over 10,000 cases for the first time as consumers anticipate national lockdown measures will be introduced sooner rather than later.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/oct/22/coronavirus-live-news-france-nears-1m-cases-as-four-us-states-see-record-one-day-deaths

Ireland is very much in step with the rest of Europe where the situation deteriorates by the day.

Have been posting the same in the Gyms thread yesterday but you're talking to imbeciles to be honest. The same people who don't see the hypocrisy in the State not banning the sale of alcohol and smokes yet prohibiting gyms from opening are the kind of people who you are dealing with.

They also tend to take a narrow-minded view of a vaccine being a silver bullet to the crisis, it's very much "black-and-white" thinking.

Imbeciles ? Because they dont agree with you

I live in the country and obviously with the dark evenings it's hard to get outside

i have an excercise bike, treadmill, mat and videos to do workouts.

Why should gyms be open for mental health reasons ?

What about people who do other things for mental health reasons.
    The mental health card is being overplayed with the gyms to be honest.

Everyone has something that keeps them going but have to make sacrifices during these 6 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Heard on the radio this morning that the Guards in training in Templemore will be out helping during the lockdown. Also that at any one time there will be 2500 guards out and about. So when it’s to keep people in their homes they are all over the place but when our “ethnic minority” friends are on a crime spree robbing old women down the country? Nowhere to be seen. There is something seriously wrong here lads.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Neither of these cases involve people traveling Connemara from Dublin to holiday homes. Stop spoofing, I know you're intentions are good, but you're doing more damage than good when you're constantly caught lying.

I never said they did. The question was “was there fines handed out in the last lockdown” and the answer was yes.

The poster was not asking were there fines handed out to Dublin people in Connemara nor was I saying there was.

I have no idea how you have managed to interpret my post as referring to Dublin people in Connemara.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Do you know that not everybody goes to the gym to saunter around on a treadmill for an hour? I must have missed all these squat racks, bench presses etc out in the wild.

What evidence is there for this (how is it better for you and a “a harder work out”?) and what specific exercises are you talking about?
    - and we were already exercising outdoors- on Astro turf and had an outside canopy.

Really? This is all says a lot about you and the level of debate you are (not) able to engage in.
    I’ve no doubt they’ll repeat what I said- not all mental health professionals are echo chambers repeating poor me messages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭KindOfIrish

Czech Republic has closed all non essential stores, all non essential trips are banned and people limited to groups of two outside outside family measures.

Spain has said the virus is out of control and tougher nationwide measures are needed.

Guardian also reports panic buying in Germany with the country reporting over 10,000 cases for the first time as consumers anticipate national lockdown measures will be introduced sooner rather than later.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/live/2020/oct/22/coronavirus-live-news-france-nears-1m-cases-as-four-us-states-see-record-one-day-deaths

Ireland is very much in step with the rest of Europe where the situation deteriorates by the day.

All the above is a direct consequence of lockdowns. The stricter lockdown the higher human and financial cost. But politicians who are killing their population and countries will never admit their mistake.

Obesity puts people at severe risk from Covid.

Not to worry, netflix and gyms shut for 6 months will see to prevent that problem

If people become obese due to the gyms being closed I really dont think they can blame anyone but themselves

So by your reckoning anyone who doesnt go to the gym must be obese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Graces7 wrote: »
    On the roads yes. Someone we know got fined,

Fined for what? There were no fines for 5km limit in first lockdown (March-June).

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?