Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭Coybig_

Yes but people could have died from it and not known that was the cause of death if they were not tested....

My god.

People have died with it but been counted as having died from it. If anything the deaths are overblown.

We are now operating under the assumption that people who died could have had Covid, and that being a cause for fear. This is beyond all levels of sanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

CorkRed93 wrote: »
    As we were told last week this is the "plan" for 9 months. utter carnage.

And, what is the alternative? Zero covid? Impossible unless the UK do the same. Let the virus rip? Hardly palatable. We are approaching it the same way as the rest of Europe, and I guess every country is hoping that a vaccine will arrive sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

HeyV wrote: »
    So, apart from what coverage this gets on the 6 o’clock news this evening, there is no brief being shown today?

No but expect something on 9 o clock news from MM. Only way they can get the message out if no briefing

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

CorkRed93 wrote: »
    Your kids are in poorly ventilated overcrowded classrooms 8hrs a day. Outdoor training is a lot safer.

I completely agree, schools are not handing this well. Within 2 weeks of kids being back everyone in our house had a cold/cough/sniffles. Even got tested - it was negative, so just plain old back to school cold, but goes to show how weak and exposed the back to school plan is.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,719 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Nphet's job is to offer advice it is the job of government to weigh up that advice with other factors. You seem to be confusing the meaning of advice and an order.
    If a group of experts give a recommendation and you aren't going along with it you better have a damn good reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,935 ✭✭✭✭titan18

polesheep wrote: »
    You should hold that to a mirror.

You can socialise without having house parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I can't even get a book from the student library, I don't think students are where we should be looking.

Cause they are 2 busy holding parties

eagle eye wrote: »
    If a group of experts give a recommendation and you aren't going along with it you better have a damn good reason.

A group of experts providing only one data point for consideration by the government. If the government blindly followed NPHET then they aren’t fit for office

Given that NPHET have only one agenda, their advice should not be public IMO. It is just sowing more fear and division

• Registered Users Posts: 39,685 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Tony has damaged himself and NPHET. He was too impatient to make a statement. All he had to do was to highlight serious concerns all week and he would have got his greater enforcement and probably a mix of level 3 and level 4.

Tony doesn't make the decisions.

A whole panel of people do.

The narrative that Tony was dancing around a cauldron naked last night plotting Level 5 for the country is absolute bat shít.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,456 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

This thread is descending into a car crash.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

But but but the White House cant close its borders....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

So if the government can discount NPHET's advice, can we not follow the gov's advice?
    Advice is advice right. Take it or leave it by nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Miike wrote: »
    If Zara King brings up weddings I'm going to have a conniption :pac:

I know, right. Absolutely nobody cares about weddings. Nobody. Well ok, maybe the couples. And maybe their guests. And maybe people who rely on weddings for income. But other than that, definitely nobody.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,441 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Your constant posts about house parties and students suggest otherwise, but okay.

Students are not innocent here, the amount of house parties in college university cities is shocking, while I'm sure there is some students acting responsible others are not

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

They answer to us not NPHET

Yes, they will have to answer to us.

They will have to account to us for their inaction and the deaths and personal devastation that will occur over their dithering.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

20 hours since the NPHET leak and no communication from the government. It's turning into a farce.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,638 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Students are not innocent here, the amount of house parties in college university cities is shocking, while I'm sure there is some students acting responsible others are not
    Neither is anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

This thread is descending into a car crash.

larryduff.png

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

So if the government can discount NPHET's advice, can we not follow the gov's advice?
    Advice is advice right. Take it or leave it by nature.

You can follow nphtet s advice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Nobody is saying students are innocent, but you can't just keep using them (us) as an example when it is the same across all the age groups. Adults planning parties for the kids etc is nearly the exact same... as has been the cause for Donegal being so high if I remember

There are people in each part of society acting irresponsible, so if students can stop being used as the one example by people it would be great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Yay - fcuk level 5

• Registered Users Posts: 16,105 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yes as best I can, I have avoided any large gatherings, had close confirmations and weddings cancelled, is it too much for everyone to play their part and cop on during a deadly virus pandemic

Me too . Have kept well away from any crowds , avoided busy times in shops
    Have been very careful who is in my house and played my part .
    As have my friends and my siblings .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Yes, they will have to answer to us.

They will have to account to us for their inaction and the deaths and personal devastation that will occur over their dithering.

Dithering? They made a decision within hours of the NPHET recommendation.

Yes, the government will have to answer to us. They have made a balanced and appropriate decision.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

And what about the anti vaxxer nutjobs that will refuse to take a vaccine should one be developed? What then?

If you get the vaccine it should be nothing to worry about for you. You are vaccinated = you are safe surely. If theyncatch covid that's their problem why do you even care?

• Registered Users Posts: 85,441 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

As I said, we're all in glass houses.

Well I'm not throwing large parties in my glass house or attending any

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

20 hours since the NPHET leak and no communication from the government. It's turning into a farce.

Caught between a rock and a hard place :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,905 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

tails_naf wrote: »
    On the topic of the GAA, my kids do camogie and while the local club and coaches are amazing, social distancing is nowhere in sight. While we're all avoiding one another like the (literal) plague, training sessions are full on, contact, group huddles, the works. It seems so strange my wife is spaced 2 meters apart, limited to 6 doing non contact dancing while GAA is a free for all.

Video it on your phone. Bring it to your local Garda station. Although they’d be all over it if it was the soccer lads but the GAA are usually a law unto themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Nobody is saying students are innocent, but you can't just keep using them (us) as an example when it is the same across all the age groups. Adults planning parties for the kids etc is nearly the exact same... as has been the cause for Donegal being so high if I remember

There are people in each part of society acting irresponsible, so if students can stop being used as the one example by people it would be great.

Communion/confirmation parties are playing a significant role in the spread.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Renjit

As I said, we're all in glass houses.

Plan is as good as the weakest link of a chain.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,719 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

A group of experts providing only one data point for consideration by the government. If the government blindly followed NPHET then they aren’t fit for office
    They've all been in government before and already proven they are unfit for office.
    Given that NPHET have only one agenda, their advice should not be public IMO. It is just sowing more fear and division
    This fear thing keeps getting mentioned by the anti-lockdown types.
    I know loads of people who are very careful and have kept their kids a home and I don't see fear in any of them.
    It seems to me that all the fear is on the anti-lockdown side of things. They get upset at bad news, get upset at any suggestion if restrictions and keep talking about people's mental health.
    Well all I can tell you is that the people in in touch with who have remained in a lockdown is that they are all in good mental health, happy people with happy children.